Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled


Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Astounding views and many recent upgrades including 5 new flat screen TV's and deck furniture. Privately situated overlooking John's River Gorge and Pisgah National Forest, this beautiful home offers all the creature comforts and ample room for a group of family/friends or plenty of room for 2 or 3 couples to spread out and share this retreat setting. Located about 5 miles from downtown Blowing Rock, you are only 10 minutes away from most everything--Price Lake, Blue Ridge Parkway, the village shops and restaurants, Grandfather Mountain. . .

From the loft library overlooking the two story great room to the dual dishwashers in the kitchen and a dining table that seats 10, the home is set up for guests/friends to enjoy. Upstairs, in addition to a private office, there is a very private bedroom with double bed and private bath with shower.

On the main level, the massive double sided stone fireplace anchors the 2 story great room which overlooks the gorgeous views and opens to the deck/porches. The first master suite has both large shower and spa tub and deck access. The kitchen is fully equipped with wall oven, microwave and gas cooktop. There is a powder room on this floor also.

The lower level has a spacious den with built in large screen TV, bar and second stone fireplace. The second master suite is on one end of the den and on the other side down the hall is a large shared bath and two more bedrooms--one with queen bed and the other 2 twins. Laundry facilities are on this level.

More Details

Property Manager
Gail Smart
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017


Blowing Rock Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4.5
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1) Two King master suites, Queen size Beds (1) Queen bedroom on lower level features antiques and shares a large hall bath with twin BR, Double Beds (1) Charming upstairs bedroom with private bath, Twin or Single Beds (1) two twin beds in 5th bedroom
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting


Very Good! 4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

average rating of 4.0 based on 9 reviews

One word....WOW!

  • 5 of 5

We so enjoyed our weekend at this fantastic property. The views stand alone, but the house was incredible! Exactly what we wanted for a sweet sixteen party for my daughter and four of her friends. They had the entire bottom floor and all the privacy they wanted. We enjoyed the top floors and and deck areas.

The kitchen is well equipped and we used it every breakfast, lunch and dinner to cook for the girls. The location is also excellent and we spent spent a good bit of time in downtown Blowing Rock as well.

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. We hope to return again soon!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Orlando, FL

Beautiful home with amazing views!

  • 5 of 5

We would like to express our gratitude for being able to rent this home over the Christmas holidays. We drove up to the home with Christmas Lights shining in the dark. It was so welcoming and a perfect start to our vacation.

The home is very spacious. The kids had their own area to get away from the "adults" in the downstairs living area and we really enjoyed having a glass of wine by the two story stone fireplace each day. The location provides a peaceful retreat while still making it easy to get around. The kitchen was very well stocked. We enjoyed being able to cook meals and eat as a family around the huge round dining table. Fortunately, the weather was warm enough for us to spend some time on the deck and enjoy the amazing views. We will definitely miss the views!

I am impressed with the management company. Everything was ready for us when we arrived and we really appreciated the follow up when we had trouble with the pilot light on the fireplace on Christmas Day. We would love to come back and stay again. We only wished they accepted dogs. That is the only hesitation of booking this home again. We schedule a summer trip to NC each with additional family and our dogs but this home won't work for our summer vacations, although I would like to rent the home again if I can work it out.

Thanks to the management company for all their work to prepare the home to allow us a wonderful vacation.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michelle, thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how much your family enjoyed their holiday stay at Bellavista. It truly is a welcoming family lodge type property and yes, the views are amazing. We continue to upgrade items in this house--flat screen TVS are the next thing on our list, so please come back so that you can enjoy these improvements on your next visit! We will definitely speak with the owner about the possibility of allowing a well behaved dog or two, especially for repeat guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Charlotte, NC

Cannot beat this view!

  • 5 of 5

This home was perfect for our weekend with ten girls. We have rented several houses in the area and this was the best fit so far. The view was spectacular and we had plenty of space. We were all able to sit at the round dining table for dinner which was a treat. Our booking process was seemless and Gail and her team at BR Properties even called me to remind me to send the contract back in when I forgot. Gail personally delivered ice melt to the house when we requested it and left us a fancy welcoming basket complete with great wine and cheese. Lastly, I'll mention that we requested that the house have enough chairs on the porch for our whole group and low and behold, a new set of outdoor furniture was there when we came! Little did we know it would be snowing and we wouldn't get to sit outside. What the house is not: great for lots of young children who can't navigate steps yet or within walking distance of the town. But if you are looking for a view, privacy and lots of bedrooms this house has it. We are already planning our next get away and will be renting this house again.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ashley, so glad that the house suited your "girls getaway" weekend perfectly and thanks for taking the time to review the home. Sorry you didn't get to enjoy the beautiful new deck furniture--snow in mid November is not the norm! You and your group are welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice, but news updating

  • 4 of 5

Took five couples for a working retreat. Broker was very efficient and had no trouble booking or reserving with rapid communication turn around. Spectacular views. The one criticism is that the place needs some updating and a good cleaning. Very dusty (so bad that one lady had an allergic reaction and had to go home early), dirt in the corners, hair in the showers, etc... Porch furniture is very weathered and aging-to-unstable. Not enough towels out. Linens were thin. Went to use two glasses that were cracked and knicked my lip on one of them. The house is beautiful and spacious, but just needs some TLC especially in light of the healthy rental fee. Nothing so bad that we felt the need to demand immediate action, but definitely an opportunity for improvement.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dan, thank you for taking the time to review Bellavista and for the 4 stars. I have spoken with the owner, and, while the home is booked for the season by one couple and they are quite content there, we will go in once they leave and thoroughly evaluate the home's condition and replace items that are in need of replacing, including new porch/deck furniture as needed. Hopefully you will return and allow us the opportunity to receive 5 stars on your next visit! As you mentioned, the views are spectacular and the house is spacious and handles a larger group well and only 10 minutes from Blowing Rock with all paved access and adequate parking, a rare combination for our area!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Raleigh, NC

Friendly Getaway

  • 2 of 5

We had previously stayed at this wonderful home a year prior to this stay and our experience is what led us back. Unfortunately a lot had changed over the course of a year. The view from this home is second to none. The spacious style was exactly what we were looking for considering our large party. Aside from these things the home was very much unremarkable in terms of positives.

Last year we had a hot tub, this year the tub was out of commission. This of course was no longer on the listing so we take responsibility for having that as an expectation that wasn't met.

The cleaning of this home was less than stellar. The bathrooms were poorly kept. The linens on the beds we actually had to clean before we slept in them. Two of them had stains on them and smelled of stale cigarettes. This was a major turn off, however we were determined to have a good time and in our eyes was a fairly easy fix.

The fireplace on the main level works great it just takes a little time to learn how to properly work it. The lower level fireplace I would highly advise against using. Having grown up in a home that has a fireplace and a properly working flue, the flue in this home clearly doesn't work properly (poor design) or it just hasn't been cleaned...ever. The smoke actually prolapsed back into the home and before we knew it and could put the fire out it had filled the lower level rooms with smoke. This was a poor design. I would suggest focusing on the upper level fireplace that is gas.

Generally speaking we were dissatisfied with the home with our second go around. The home could really use some TLC. There were several minor repairs that could be performed to bring this home back to the beauty we felt it had held a year ago. For the price and size I would also recommend a better cleaning service. Also, we do take responsibility for it, the hot tub was a major let down. Most homes this size and price point offer hot tubs.

To the point, we will not be renting this home again. My hope is that new management can take over and clean things up, fix the small problems that are expected on an overly used rental property. Thanks for letting us stay in your home for two years in a row. I hope is that this home can become the jewel that it had once been.

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alice, it is most disheartening to receive such a negative review when we were never even contacted during your stay regarding any issues at all and have to hear of your dissatisfaction with a property that you were already familiar with several weeks later and in a public forum. We do take our responsibilities seriously, and would have wanted to know as soon as possible if you found the home unsatisfactory in any way that we could remedy, such as sending the cleaning service out immediately or having a technician look at the fireplace. Other than the hot tub, which was not offered as an amenity any longer, the home is in substantially the same condition as one year ago. If the hot tub was so vital to your enjoyment of a property, then we wish that you had verified that it was still available when you saw that it was no longer listed as an amenity rather than have the lack of a hot tub negatively impact your stay. We do our best to take care of any minor maintenance items promptly and the owner has planned for some more major renovations (new exterior doors on view side of the house) to be done the first of the year. Most guests who stay here are happy with the home and love the views and great location.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

October Suprise

  • 2 of 5

The home has been neglected and allowed to run down. Lights are burned out drapes and rods are broken and do not work. The grounds and home have not had a deep cleaning and there is dust and dirt through out the home. All in all an unhappy experience. I called the property manager but was not satisfied with their excuses. The view is a good one but overshadowed by the total lack of upkeep and deferred maintenance. I will not rent from the agency again or this home.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is hard sometimes to respond to a review that is meant to harm. This home had a very thorough 3 day cleaning prior to the rental season beginning, including cleaning all area rugs professionally. The guest who wrote this review never said a thing until mid way through the stay, at which time we sent the maid out to clean whatever they needed. The lights in the house were all checked prior to their arrival--they do work including lamps but are controlled by wall switches. The house is thoroughly cleaned after each guest leaves and routine maintenance is regularly performed. We do our best to insure that all our homes are as good as they can be prior to our guests arrival, but realize the old adage is true, you cannot please everyone, no matter how hard you might try. Perhaps a more productive path for this guest would have been to call us immediately upon checking in if they felt the home was unsatisfactory in any way and given us a chance to remedy it or even move them to another home.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Located just outside the charming village of Blowing Rock, NC and close to Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking, Price Lake, Moses Cone Park, restaurants, Grandfather Mountain and all High Country activities/amenities. Tweetsie Railroad is just a few minutes away yet you are completely private in this grand mountain lodge with gorgeous views to the south.


Rates & Availability

Blowing Rock Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Peak Summer
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
Fall Peak
Sep 30 2017 - Oct 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
MLK Weekend
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
Presiden'ts Weekend
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
2 night minimum stay
Mar 1 2018 - Jun 14 2018
2 night minimum stay
Peak Summer
Jun 15 2018 - Sep 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
Peak Fall
Sep 28 2018 - Oct 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
Oct 29 2018 - Nov 17 2018
2 night minimum stay
Nov 18 2018 - Nov 25 2018
7 night minimum stay
Nov 26 2018 - Dec 19 2018
2 night minimum stay
Dec 20 2018 - Jan 6 2019
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $195 + Tax
Rental Damage Insurance $39
Processing $35 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.75%

Minimum stays do apply and vary throughout the year
Weekly rate available - Stay 6 nights get the 7th free. We also offer Monthly rentals.

50% of rental amount is required to book with remaining balance due 30 days prior to check in.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.