Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy Cabin in the Woods of NW Montana, Peaceful & Relaxing!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

The perfect cabin for a quiet getaway! Gaze at the stars under a clear Big Sky night! Enjoy wildlife right outside your front door and wake up in the morning to a peaceful mountain view. This cabin is located on our 32 acre property. It backs to logging land with a path that leads to it just off the cabin. You have access to miles of trails for moutain biking, hiking, cross country skiing and snowshoeing.

While the cabin is located on our property, rest assured that you will have complete privacy to enjoy the beauty that surrounds us. There is a queen size bed on the main floor, a queen bed in the loft which is accessed by a ladder and a full size futon on the main floor.

We are located within 40 minutes of Glacier National Park, 45 min from Whitefish, Big Mountain, Bigfork, the Jewel Basin or Flathead Lake and we have countless trails within walking distance or a short drive. The options are endless for what you can do from this location. This is also a perfect base for hunting big game in Montana ( you must obtain your own license). There is fishing in Smith Lake which is 10 min away, or you can drive to Flathead Lake and take a day trip out on one of the many charter boats. White water rafting is another activity that is fantastic on the Flathead River!

We can help you plan any of the activities that you would like to enjoy. Please let us know what you're looking for and we're happy to help make your stay more enjoyable.

HORSE BOARDING is available through our neighbor less than 1 mile away

More Details

Owner
Doug or Mimi O'Neill
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2017

About Doug or Mimi O'Neill

We are Mimi and Doug O'Neill recent residents to Montana from Maine. Mimi is originally from Charleston, SC and Doug is from Evanston, Illinois. We met in Charleston 19 years ago and have been married for 9 years and both have children from previous marriages. Our immediate family consists of 3 Golden Retrievers and one Ragamuffin cat. Our 2 oldest Goldens Elle and Bean are brother and sister and they are 9 1/2 years old along with our newest addition Bella who is 26 months old. Our kitty is 7 years old named Heidi. Prior to moving here we visited Montana many times and chose the Flathead Valley as our home. We welcome you to visit our home and stay in our cabin and enjoy the serenity and beauty of Montana. Feel free to hike and enjoy our 32 acres and the surrounding forest that encompases our property.

Doug or Mimi O'Neill purchased this cabin in 2012

Why Doug or Mimi O'Neill chose Kila

As you enjoy your morning coffee on the cabin deck or a cold beverage at night rest assured the deer will be abundant along with the solitude that we have to offer. There will be no highway noise and no lights to hinder your view of the sky at night (Big Sky Montana) just the sounds of wildlife near you.

What makes this cabin unique

We are 15 to 20 minutes to Kalispell and 40 minutes to Glacier National Park. Flathead Lake and Big Fork are about 25 minutes away with other lakes nearby to enjoy-either fishing, boating or swimming.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Doug and Mimi what a beautiful place you have. Thanks for allowing us to stay for a few days. MIMI THE BREAKFAST WAS DELICIOUS. It was truly delightful to spend my 40th birthday here.



TAKEN VERBATUM FROM GUEST BOOK
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 16

Amenities

Kila Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bathroom w/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2) There is a queen bed on the main floor and a queen bed in the loft which is accessible by a ladder, in addition there is a full size futon on the main floor, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Homemade full breakfast is provided as an option to include homemade pastries, seasonal fruit, homemade butter, jams and hot breakfast casserole--different menu everyday Adult $12.50 children under 10 $10.00 Lunches available: Bag lunch, Romantic picnic for 2, Hiking Power Lunch. 24 Hours Notice required. Pricing available.orange juice is included with breakfast;freshly squeezed OJ is an additional $3.00 per person!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Cozy Cabin in the Woods of NW Montana, Peaceful & Relaxing!
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 38 reviews
5

Peaceful place

  • 5 of 5

Stayed two nights. Beautiful, serene, great owners. We saw deer, stars, Glacier and got in lots of quiet time. Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much..you are welcome here anytime maybe next time you can stay longer and see more Doug and Mimi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing, serene and off the beaten path.

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is very cozy and delightful. If you are searching for solitude this is the place. Deer every day on the property during our stay. The owners Doug and Mimi were great hosts and Mimis' breakfasts were delicious. The only thing that I didn't care for was not being able to park at the cabin. Parking was at their home which isn't that far but at times was inconvenient.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the kind words. Putting in a road to the cabin would not be cost effective and also would take away the ambiance of the cabin experience. I'm glad you had the chance to come to Montana and stay with us Doug and Mimi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not worth dealing with rude owner...

  • 2 of 5

Initially the owners were pleasant to deal with and agreed to let me stay only 1 night even though home away was setup to pay for 2 nights at a time. They agreed they would refund me the 1 night lodging fee. I had to cancel last minute so I knew I would be paying for the 1 night. I requested that the exorbitant cleaning fee be at least partially refunded since I didn't even enter the premises. The owner response was extremely rude and they tacked on an additional fee for a breakfast I didn't eat. I'm lucky I got any money back from these people. Their cabin may be nice, but I would recommend to stay away because of how they treat their customers. I will say that Doug seemed reasonable, but Mimi was someone I would never want to deal with again.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: it is unfortunate that i have to write this rebuttal regarding Nathan...our policy is a 2 night minimum stay and he requested us to waive that policy and stay only 1 night.Because he was in the service , i asked my husband if we could allow this and we both agreed. i offered to reimburse him for the 1 night stay in cash for his convenience and he agreed. The night of his arrival he called and cancelled at 7:30 and inquired about his refund...i informed him i had the cash. he was to come by the next day to pick it up...he didnt! He had ordered breakfast for 2 and the food was bought and prepared and only needed to be baked in morning. throughout our entire correspondence, he asked for various charges to be waived...cleaning fee, breakfast charges, etc. I informed him that it was not our policy to waive charges and that the cleaning fee was part of the rental and it didnt matter how many days you stayed.Our cleaning fee is also NOT exorbitant...it is the lowest in our area! Also, it is not LUCK that gave him back his refund, it was that i had given him "my word" and I followed through unlike him! I bent over backwards from the beginning to allow him and his family to stay with us,overriding our 2 night policy. It is unfortunate with people like Nathan, I dont believe anything i did would have made him happy!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington, DC
5

Wonderful stay at this adorable cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at Mimi's adorable cabin on her property. While it is small and cozy, it has everything you need for your stay. The kitchen was well-equipped with a toaster oven, microwave, full size refrigerator, and all the cooking utensils you would need. We got by without a stove/oven and were able to use the grill for some of our meals. The beds were very comfortable and we were pleasantly surprised to find an additional air mattress that comfortably slept two people at the house in addition to the futon that was listed. While we didn't get a chance to partake in all of the additional amenities that Mimi provides, we had a great time at her home. She was extremely hospitable and kind to our group even in the midst of a hectic time for her family. We would definitely stay here again if we're back in Montana!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very cozy and comfortable. Clean and well kept. Great for two couples or a small family.

  • 5 of 5

Mimi and Doug are wonderful hosts. Patiently answered questions prior to arrival and were so accommodating during our stay. Mimi is great with personal touches. She even surprised my grandmother with a birthday cake. The breakfast she prepared was delicious. Highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Russell thank you very much..please stay with us again. Your grandparents are also fantastic..I could sit and drink coffee with your grandparents all day and not broach a subject twice..it was a great experience meeting y'all Doug and Mimi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Albuquerque, New Mexico
3

Cute cabin in the woods...be wary of owner

  • 3 of 5

First let me state that I was going to give this cabin 4 stars, but after dealing with the owner, I can only give it 3 stars. Beware if you stay here, the owner, Mimi, is a bit obsessive. She has a rule book of about 30 rules, I personally have never seen this kind of detail ever in all my vacation rental travels. She will take your credit card information to have "on file" and then use it for any little thing she deems as broken. We were charged for a crack in a coaster that we didn't even know was broken. And she accused us of deliberately trying to hide it. :( She seems a bit quick to make judgements.

For the good... the cabin itself is in a beautiful area in Kila. It's a bit off the beaten path, so be prepared to drive way back in the woods to get to it. I, personally, loved the location! It is so quiet, has dark skies, and lots of beautiful wildlife. The cabin is small, but very cute. Lots of little touches make it very homey. The owner, Mimi, is very crafty so just about everything you see in the cabin is for sale. She has ornaments, homemade vanilla, photos on the wall, etc. They have bear spray for sale ($40) if you choose to use that while you hike. It's pretty convenient. Upon arriving, we met Doug and Mimi. Both seemed very friendly.

For the inconvenient...the cabin has a poor plumbing system. The water in the bathroom sink does not drain quickly enough and fills up while you're trying to brush your teeth or wash your face. The water that comes from the shower head randomly gets very cold for about a minute and then goes back to a normal temperature. The cabin is not noise friendly. You hear every little creak and step. It's especially bad if you have someone sleeping just above you in the loft. The loft bed is creaky and anytime someone turns over, it is loud. You hear each footstep. We learned to deal with these inconveniences, but probably wouldn't recommend for more than 2 people. For a couple, it would be fine. No one to keep you up all night while you're listening to the cabin noises.

I cannot recommend this cabin based on my interaction with the owner. At first impression, she is very sweet. But after reading all the rules and then being charged for a nominal item (that we didn't even know about), we were disappointed in this rental. I also can't deter people from renting because someone else may have a completely positive experience. This is why I gave it 3 stars, right in the middle.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our rebuttal to Kristy 1. Beware of owner... very brutal! 2. Book in cabin is for convenience and safety of our guests- only 6 items , not 30. I.e.: trash put on porch of owner b/c of wildlife, no fires as our state is in extreme fire conditions as we have many fires that are active, be careful in the morning as the steps could have frost on them, etc. Other items in the book are attractions, restaurants, etc. including phone #s to make reservations! 3. Credit card is on file in lieu of a damage deposit .. we do this to keep out of pocket expenses low for our guests. The cc is used ONLY if damage occurs! Kristen stated that I charge for whatever I "deem" broken- I would like to know how you "deem" something broken... either it is broken or it is NOT! The item was a coaster that was broke in the upstairs b/room, turned over so I could not immediately see the break, and it WAS broken! There was no accusation of it being deliberately hidden by Kristy- she actually stated that it was her husband who replaced the items on the table, so it was not that they did not know that it was broken! 4. Stated off the beaten path... be prepared to drive way back into the woods to get to it... advertised as " cozy cabin in the WOODS" It is 3/4 mile off the paved road onto a gravel road!!! 5. Only a few items for sale in the cabin.. I am an artist! 6. Bear spray is NOT for sale- it is provided for the safety of our guests and is only asked to be replaced if used! 7. Plumbing just checked at beginning of season ... as it is every season! All good! Have a " on demand" water heater so always have hot water! I clean cabin after each guest and the bathroom sink is fine! 8. This is a CABIN, for goodness sake, some creaks are expected.. once again not in a city condo! 9. Loft is a loft- it is above the first floor! The bed in the loft is a normal bed and not excessively loud! 10. Kristy, your recommendation of how many guests is not asked for! My character assassination was not at all mecessary and a bit petty as you do NOT know me! Mimi and Doug , owners!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Glacier International Airport
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
Kalispell
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Kila Pub
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Whitefish
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Big Fork

We are 14 miles from Kalispell in a quiet secluded area in the mountains. Wildlife to include deer, elk, etc. Other activities are 14 miles away in Kalispell to include dining, shopping and Glacier National Park 40 minutes away.Trails on the property will invite you to hike and see nature at her best. Farmers market, rodeo, craft and Christmas shows are available.

You can explore during the day and come back to serenity and wildlife viewing. A fire pit is available to cook or just sit and enjoy.

HORSE BOARDING is available through our neighbor less than 1 mile away

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80

We accept Visa, Master Charge, Discover cash and checks(travelers and personal)
Please note there is a $10 additional charge per individual per night over 4 people. There will be a $80.00 cleaning fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties