check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand
This property has multiple rentals

Sue McGrath

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Stunning, moated 16th Century Manor House and 2 Beautifully restored Barns - Blo Norton Hall

25 Reviews
Sleeps18
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms7
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Suffolk House Rental Photos and Description

Accommodation for groups of 18 plus 8 and 6 in additional 2 barns

An exquisite Elizabethan (Tudor) moated Manor House and 2 Beautifully restored and luxuriously equipped barns on the grounds of Blo Norton Hall,in the heart of Norfolk

Blo Norton Hall sleeping 18 in 8 bedrooms with en-suits with further accommodation sleeping 8 in Virgina Barn or 6 in Duleep Singh Barn . They are available all year round as a separate or joint rental with Blo Norton Hall.

The Main house is furnished throughout with antique furniture. Family portraits and other pictures line the grand oak staircase and reception rooms. The entrance hall leads into the Main Hall where access to the drawing room with the hi tech hi fi allowing piped music through out the ground floor and the Sitting room where one can relax watching Tv or just admire the gardens, the fireplaces are a real treat in the autumn to keep you cozy and warm. The large charismatic open plan kitchen is on the east of the entrance hall with direct access into the gardens. Small double bedroom available for the less able.

The first floor corridor leads to six luxurious bedrooms with six bathrooms / shower rooms ( five en-suite).

The second floor provides outstanding views of the surrounding gardens and offers a further king sized bedroom with en-suite and a further large lounging area with TV and Ping Pong Table, ideal for the kids.

Virginia Barn sleeping 8 in four bedrooms, 2 King size with ensuites, 1 twin and 1 bunk bed with shared bathroom on the ground floor. A fantastic space with beamed high ceilings, great for entertaining friends and family, with open plan large kitchen. To the front you will find a patio to enjoy a bbq on those sunny days and to the rear a shared area laid to turf, ideal for the children to safely run and play.

Duleep Barn, is smaller but very cozy and still contains all the items you would expect in a well stocked house. With 2 bedrooms, a Kingsize Master bedroom with ensuite over looking beautiful farmland and a twin room, shared bathroom. There is a sofa bed in the open plan lounge and kitchen. Private patio area with BBQ and shared garden to the rear.

Local Amenities: Redgrave & Lopham Fen National Nature Reserve

(IP22 2HX) Tel : 01379 688333. Fax : 01379 688333

Boundary Farm Riding Stables (IP22 2QP) Tel : 07908 223600

Place of Interest around 2 miles away.

Knettishall Heath Country Park (IP22 2TG) Tel: 0845 606 6067

Place of Interest around 4 miles away.

Bressingham Gardens (IP22 5XR) Tel: (44) 01379 686900

Banham Zoo (NR16 2ES) Tel: (44) 01953 887771

Place of Interest around 5 miles away.

Wyken Hall Vineyards (IP31 2DW) Tel: (44) 01359 252372

Place of Interest around 6 miles away.

Ancient House Museum, Thetford (IP24 1AA) Tel: (44) 01842 752599

Place of Interest around 10 miles away.

Mid Suffolk Light Railway Museum (IP14 5PW) Tel : 01449 672670

Place of Interest around 13 miles away.

Wingfield College (IP21 5RB) Tel: 01206 769607

Grime's Graves (IP27 0TP) Tel: 01842 810656

Place of Interest around 14 miles away.

Bury Saint Edmunds Cathedral (IP32 7BW)) Tel: 01284 748720

Church of Saint Andrew, Wingfield (IP21 5RA) Tel: 01379 586609

Museum of East Anglian Life (IP14 2DF) Tel: 01449 612229

Theatre Royal, Bury Saint Edmunds (IP33 1QR) Tel: 01284 769505

01284 769505

Moyse's Hall Museum (IP33 3BU) Tel: 01284 706183

Nowton Park, Bury Saint Edmunds (IP29 5LX) Tel: 01284 763666

Place of Interest over 15 miles away.

Bradfield Woods National Nature Reserve (IP30 0AL) Tel: 01449 737996

West Stow Country Park (IP28 6HF) Tel: 01284 728718

Stonham Barns Craft Centre (IP14 6AP) Tel: 01449 711755

Newmarket Racecourse (CB8 0TG)

Box Office / Tickets: 0844 579 3010

All other enquiries: 0844 579 3010

More Details

Details for Blo Norton Hall 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18, 7 Bathrooms, 2 half bathrooms

The house is furnished throughout with antique furniture. Family portraits and other pictures line the grand oak staircase and reception rooms. The entrance hall leads into the Main Hall where access to the drawing room with the hi tech hi fi allowing piped music through out the ground floor and the Sitting room where one can relax watching Tv or just admire the gardens, the fireplaces are a real treat in the autumn to keep you cozy and warm. The large charismatic open plan kitchen is on the east of the entrance hall with direct access into the gardens. Small twin bedroom available for the less able. The first floor corridor leads to six luxurious bedrooms with six bathrooms / shower rooms ( five en-suite). The second floor provides outstanding views of the surrounding gardens and offers a further king sized bedroom with en-suite and a further large lounging area with TV and Ping Pong Table, ideal for the kids.
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Groups
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Sue McGrath (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Sue McGrath

Hi my name is Sue MCgrath and I have been managing Blo Norton Hall since my boss Mr Lorimer purchased in 2009 where he refurbished and brought it to life. With such a beautiful property my job is very easy, we love to rent out so you and your families can enjoy the house for the many different events you would like to hold with a large group of people.

Sue McGrath purchased this house in 2009

Why Sue McGrath chose Suffolk

Blo Norton Hall is not modern, does not have great Wi-FI, you cant get a phone signal, the furniture is antique and the floors uneven but what it lacks in Hotel sophistication it makes up for with character and it has bundles of it! I love it for its quirkiness and when children arrive their faces light up, for they see how great hide and seek is going to be. Its very special to me and I am sure it will become to you, some of our guests have been returning year after year, it grows on you.

What makes this house unique

The house is a coming together and a celebration of family events, you find yourselves talking because we do not have Hi tech equipment or X boxes, the phones don't work very well so you find communication becomes key, even the kids join in! We are not one of these places who hike up all the bank holiday rates, we have 3 rates and pass the discounts on to everyone, so you pay a low rate Jan - July, that's right no increase for Easter or May bank holidays, there's a summer rate and of course Christmas and New year. We believe that everyone should benefit especially those with young children. We hope you enjoy as much as I and my staff enjoy working and maintaining it.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you so much for letting us hire beautiful Blo Norton Hall. we have all had a lovely weekend and the weather was so good to us till Monday- but we were going by then so it did not matter so much. We hired Emma to cater for us on Saturday night and that was wonderful-everyone enjoyed it even out picky little ones! Thank you
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.8
based on 25 traveler reviews

Blo Norton Hall
average rating of 4.8 based on 28 reviews
5

A brilliant weekend away - the photos don't do it justice!

  • 5 of 5

This house comes highly recommended. Loads of space perfect for big parties, beautiful surroundings and great service throughout the booking process. Don't sleep, book now! David

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Ancient magic

  • 3 of 5

Blo Norton Hall is a magical house with a strong character in a beautiful, peaceful setting. We very much enjoyed our weekend there. If you don't like old houses with an atmosphere, meandering corridors, rooms and staircases with unexpected twists and turns, this won't be for you. The kitchen worked very well for us - the generous size, island and dining table all in one place made it the heart of the house and the holiday. We also liked one of the smaller rooms with a hearty log fire.

Just a couple of things that we weren't happy about and that brought the star rating down. We arrived at 2.30 pm and the house was extremely cold. We were told that the heating would come on shortly but it didn't come on until 6.00 pm - and then the house took a while to warm up. So while we were unpacking and exploring and preparing our evening meal we were miserably cold. We did phone Malcolm to ask if he could come and change the timing but he wasn't able to get there until after 7.00pm. The existing timing meant that the heating was only on for a short time in the morning and didn't come on again until 6.00. We had it changed so that we weren't shivering over breakfast and could come home to a warm house after a day out. However, this only seemed to effect half the house. One thing you need on holiday, especially in such a big and drafty house, is to be warm. So that was very disappointing. Also one of the downstairs toilets, and along the corridor it was in, smelled appallingly of cats - and that smell permeated the house. Understandable if a stray cat got in - but I think some effort should have been made to try and do something to eradicate the catty odour before we arrived, or at least after we complained about it to the housekeeper.

These are things that could easily be put right - and otherwise we had a grand time.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, I am pleased after the initial chilly start you enjoyed your stay. As you say in a 16th Century Manor house with old single glazed windows its very hard to keep a house this size warm, the group before thought it was too hot so the timers were thus adjusted. The weather this year is catching us out I must say, but I am glad we were able to rectify within a good time and you have those big fires in the downstairs rooms to keep you toasty warm. The Catty odour, I am afraid could be the drain in the outside utility room, this is cleaned on a weekly basis as its not something we can move but Im afraid on some occasions can be a little pongy and for this we apologise for the inconvenience it caused.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

brilliant house, wonderful birthday party, fantastic back garden (for children to play in). Great!!

  • 5 of 5

All absolutely fabulous. We hope to come back for a return visit (as yet unspecified). The house extremely well cleaned and each room warm and welcoming. We all had a brilliant time, as did all our birthday guests ~ and will certainly recommend Blo Norton Hall for other such family gatherings + parties.

Everything was as described, though:

if the owner wishes to set a maximum number for guests, this must be set out in writing prior to booking. Although it was fine in the end (up to 50 guests), we were thrown by suddenly being informed that the maximum was 35 (& had we known this, would not have booked).

the only other minor criticism is about the electricity. The toaster (or toaster + kettle) overloaded the fuses. We found the fuse boxes and sorted it temporarily. But as problem persisted, Malcolm had to come out (on Easter Sunday morning) & go into electrics cupboard in kitchen to deal with problem.

So, overall, we'd tick all the headings below. (Friends in Barn slightly inconvenienced by no pub food available on Easter Monday evening, but I think that's just inevitable...?

So, we've all come away loving Blo Norton Hall ~ children, adults, birthday guests. And hope to come again before too long! Thank you. Jill

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review, its always very welcomed to get feedback good and bad back from our guests. Firstly we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were in the end able to accommodate your party in full once we were aware of the full events. You quite rightly mention that we do not state in the terms about celebration party sizes, we do mention the max people allowed to stay in each property from a sleeping arrangement but not for day guests at receptions, hen / stag and birthday celebrations, reason for this is that it is on a case by case basis. Its imperative in order for us to supply the correct information at the start that we have a full understanding of the event to be held at the time of making the inquiry by the person making the booking. I will however investigate to see if this information can be displayed on the websites so it is clearer. The Toaster unfortunately was faulty and this has now been replaced and was causing the fuses to trip out, we apologise for the inconvenience this caused, it is an old house so can be very temperamental, I am pleased that Malcolm was on hand to address the issue. We look forward to seeing you back with us in the future and thank you for the recommendations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Barns

  • 5 of 5

Had the most amazing weekend here with friends for my 30th birthday.

Beautiful barns which made my birthday extra special. Thank you

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A perfect family gathering place

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time at Blo Norton – the weather was gorgeous, at least on the days that mattered most, and we so enjoyed walking in the fields and woods, and the children swung on the swings… My grandson (aged eight) found frogs, toads, a vole, a mole, rabbits, pheasants and deer, and said it was better than the nature reserve we visited! The house is both beautiful and comfortable (though the beds less so) and there is much attention to detail – even a dressing-up box. I had already read the Virginia Woolf short story which gives you a vivid sense of what it was like to live there in the 16th century, and with the log fires and candle-lit dinners we had the romance plus the comfort of central heating and en-suite bathrooms! The location is convenient for our far-flung family (Germans coming via Harwich, Belgians via Folkestone, natives from Kent, Yorkshire, Lincolnshire, Cambridgeshire and Berkshire) and everyone was so enchanted by the place that we may well choose to come again. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to tell our other guests of your experiences at Blo Norton Hall and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We very much welcome all feedback as this helps us to improve and offer the services our guests deserve. The mattresses are in our works program to be replaced next year, it is a gradual exercise but we plan on having all beds with new mattresses by end of March. We very much look forward to seeing you and your family return in the near future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great spot for team retreat

  • 5 of 5

Blo Norton manor was a great spot for a team retreat of 11 people. Plenty of space to spread out, room for charades etc. in drawing room, and beautiful main hall for dining in the evenings. Music piped throughout the ground floor a really nice touch. Perhaps best of all, the huge kitchen (2 ovens, 2 stoves, 2 dishwashers) made it possible to self-cater for a big group without stress.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
73 Miles
Stanstead
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The White Horse, Thelnetham
Nearest Train
7 Miles
Diss
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The white Horse, Thelnetham
Car: necessary

The Village itself is surrounded by quiet lanes, ideal for walking, cycling and painting and is close to Redgrave and Lopham Fen. Blo Norton Hall is the perfect choice for a relaxed stay in the East Anglian Countryside.

Blo Norton is situated close to the picturesque Norfolk and Suffolk Borders making it ideal to explore all that both counties have to offer.

Blo Norton lies on the River Little Ouse which separates Suffolk from Norfolk.

The Hall reputedly provided the setting for Virginia Wolf’s short story The Journal of Miss Joan Martyn. In the story the main character, Rosamund Merridew, is a historian researching England's land-tenure system

Attractions and Places of interest close by:

Redgrave & Lopham Fen National Nature Reserve,

Boundary Farm Riding Stables,

Knettishall Heath Country Park,

Bressingham Gardens,

Banham Zoo,

Wyken Hall Vineyards.

Nearest Local Towns:

Diss/ Thetford

Garboldisham (0.5) m.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Diss House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Season 2
Jul 18 2016 - Sep 8 2016
3 night minimum stay
$771
From
$842
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,556
 
 
Season 3
Sep 9 2016 - Dec 21 2016
3 night minimum stay
$643
From
$842
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,310
 
 
xmas
Dec 22 2016 - Dec 29 2016
7 night minimum stay
$4,923
 
 
New Year
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$799
$3,009
 
 
Low Season
Jan 6 2017 - Feb 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$643
From
$842
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,310
 
 
School Holidays
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,310
 
 
Low season
Feb 20 2017 - Mar 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$643
From
$842
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,162
 
 
Easter Holidays
Mar 31 2017 - Apr 23 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,310
 
 
Low Season
Apr 24 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$643
From
$842
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,310
 
 
School Holidays
May 26 2017 - Jun 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,310
 
 
Low Season
Jun 5 2017 - Jul 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$643
From
$842
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,310
 
 
High Season
Jul 21 2017 - Sep 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$771
From
$842
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,556
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$643
From
$842
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,310
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $33
Refundable damage deposit $919
Tax Rate 20.0%

Please note Enquiries made on Owners Direct the price advertised is NOT including VAT which is charged on top of at 20%. Home Away Quotes ARE including the VAT. Home Away and Owners Direct are now charging a Service Fee to all guests booking and paying with Credit card, if you wish not to incur a service fee, we can take payments by bank transfer or cheque, but obviously paying by card has its own benefits.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Suffolk House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 18 people
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 7 - toilet
    Bathroom 8 - toilet
    Bathroom 9 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • Bathrooms and ensuites have recently been renovated and updated to luxury standard with power showers.
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Four Poster Double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single , Four poster Queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , Double
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double , Double
    Bedroom 7 - 1 king , King
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Four Poster Queen - guest bed available
    Bedroom 8 - 2 twin/ single , Twin Room
    Bedroom 5 - 3 twin/ single , Triple
  • All double bedrooms and four poster rooms are large enough to accommodate a cot/travel cot and some have an additional Single bed or guest bed should your group not wish to share a bed. Great for Corporate companies.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • MP3 Dock
  • Music Library
  • Piano
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • 1 bicycles
  • 18 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Groups
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • swimming
Notes:
A max of 2 dogs are allowed a fee of £25 per week per dog. Entrance doors are wide enough to accommodate wheelchair access, however, there is no lift/ramp facility inside the house to extend wheelchair access. Ipod dock provided in kitchen.

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...