Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Laughing Gecko Greens - Huge sunset ocean views! End unit on golf course.

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Wireless Internet
  • children welcome


About the property

1 bed / 1 bath in small complex w ocean & mnt views

Laughing Gecko Greens is a delightful large studio condo set right on the Robert Trent Jones Jr. golf course in Waikoloa and sports one of the best ocean, coastal and mountain views in the Village. Sit and relax on your private lanai and look over miles of lush green golf course to spectacular sunset ocean views.

This condo comes fully equiped with everything you need for your stay. If you are looking for a sweet spot to base yourself for your Big Island adventure at an affordable price, you won't do better than this.

The complex is small and quiet, with the best views in Waikoloa. Right accross the street is the golf course club house, Village recreation center with pool and tennis courts, and Banji's Restaurant - a great 'happy hour' spot right on the greens.

It's just a 10 minute walk to the Highlands Shopping Center where you will find all the goods and services you need, and just a few miles to the Kohala Coast's best beaches and resorts.

Whether you are an eco tourist, thrill seaker, golfer, water baby, gourmand, or just want to chill out, this is an ideal spot; and you can't beat the price.

This unit was originaly a studio and has been remodeled to work as a one bedroom. A large wall divider separates the bedroom area from the living area. The interior of the unit is over 500sf and ample for two. The lanai (where you will live!) is big and private with incredible ocean views. Interior and exterior are very comfortably appointed with everything you need for an enjoyable stay. There are steps from the parking lot to access the lower golf course level of this unit.

Keywords: Condo, apartment, one, bedroom, ground floor, flat, Hawaii, Big, Island, pool, garden, lanai, beach, waikoloa, village, kohala, coast, luxury, affordable, golf, tennis, Hawaii, Big Island, resort, vacation, rental, furnished, holiday, big island, kohala coast, waikoloa villlage,

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 24, 2017

About Bookings

This property is a member of the Laughing Gecko Hawaii family, managed by HI Real Estate Broker Ali Blackmore, Kohala Property - 808-333-0302. If you are visiting Big Island to look at or buy property Ali would be delighted to assist you with your search and purchase.

Bookings purchased this condo in 2012

Why Bookings chose Kohala Coast

This unit is located in the Waikoloa Village Condominiums complex, the first built in Waikoloa Village. As such, it is in the best location with the best view, and generouse common areas. A small complex of just 38 units, it is arguably the best spot in the Village with unsurpassed views.

What makes this condo unique

Affordability. Let's face it, if you are going to be out and about all day, why spend a bundle on a place to sleep? But, of course when you do come 'home' to relax, why not have a delightfully charming place to stay with a jaw dropping view?

Guestbook comments from the manager

Good morning Ali !

We are all set, we are leaving now for Hilo.

We have had a great time here enjoying the apartment, its view and the beautiful beaches.

Have a nice week end.


Sep 2014
  • 1 of 2


Waikoloa Village Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 2
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) rental available
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • alternative lifestyle
  • smoking allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
beach gear, mobile library


Good! 3.9/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Laughing Gecko Greens - Huge sunset ocean views! End unit on golf course.
average rating of 3.9230769 based on 15 reviews
Seattle, WA

Tasteful, affordable, excellent location with beautiful view

  • 4 of 5

Great location, great apartment, great value. Perfect for daily excursions to one of several beaches within 15-20 minute drive. Nice having the pool and tennis courts right across the street too. Everything you need in the unit for basic vacation cooking. Have stayed at other vrbo units and after many trips to the big island I keep coming back to this unit (and others managed by Ali).

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and thank you for your kind words. I couldn't agree more. And you will simply have to keep coming back, unless we can find you a perfect permanent nest of your own! Kind regards, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Gatos, California

Small but pretty little condo

  • 3 of 5

This condo was a bit of a surprise when we first arrived; it looked larger in the pictures to me. It is actually a studio, about the size of an average hotel room, separated with a partial divider to create a space for the bed. The closet is full of furniture (a highboy dresser on one side and a desk and TV table on the other), so there is nowhere to hang clothes or put a suitcase (we used the dining room chairs). The small space is beautifully decorated and has a very nice view of the golf course from its first floor location.

Pretty tropical bushes on either side of the patio provide privacy from the other condos; however, there are no curtains or blinds to provide privacy from the front of the unit. Since it is on the first floor, this was uncomfortable for us, especially at night. The noise from the upstairs neighbor woke us up at night, so bring your earplugs. As mentioned in another review, the unit and patio furniture do smell slightly of cigarette smoke from neighbors or previous renters. More importantly, however, the unit is extremely clean and well maintained.

We enjoyed our stay once we adjusted to the size of the studio. It has a great location. There is a market just down the street, and it is a quick 15-20 minute drive down to the beaches. The pool and clubhouse are right across the street. If you are a golfer, this is the place to be. The owner also provides three folding chairs and an ice chest for excursions.

The unit is what it is: a clean, cute, small, reasonably priced condo in the sea of golf course condos known as Waikoloa Village. It may be just what you are looking for as a single traveler or golf couple.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and thank you for your review. These condos right on the golf course are 500sf interior living space with 170sf lanai for a combined 670sf. the sleeping area is cozy for sure, but in Hawaii not many people spend much time there, other than to sleep. My favorite is the lanai, which is very roomy and has an amazing view. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your kind words. i will suggest to the owner removing some items from the closet to create additional hanging space. Perhaps move the dresser. Great suggestion! thanks. For readers, the complex does have quiet hours which are enforced so please do let management know if a neighbor is not adhereing to them, and for renters, please remember not everyone is on vacation and working folks need their precious sleep. Kind regards, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kapolei, HI

Pleasant stay in Waikoloa Village

  • 4 of 5

We visit neighbor islands often and were looking for an alternative to the more expensive condos that we usually rent for our weekend trips.This unit was not only very clean, but had everything we needed in the kitchen, a comfortable bed and great water pressure for showers, which may seem like a small comfort, but one that's important to us! It was not large, but perfect for two people. We enjoyed the sunset and ocean views as well as the many beautiful birds on the golf course. Our deposit was quickly returned and we would visit this location again.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and mahalo nui loa to fellow island residents. From you we take this review as a representative reflection of what we offer, as you clearly have a great comparative basis of local rentals. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. kind regards, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Incredibly disappointing, not what we expected

  • 1 of 5

First off, the rental agency staff are very kind and respond very quickly. However when we walked into the unit, we were shocked and incredibly disappointed.

Our first impression was affected by the chain smoking neighbor who sits outside and smokes all day making it impossible to open the slider and enjoy the Hawaiian air.

The unit smelled old and musty with a hint of cigarette smoke. My husband has asthma and it was definitely difficult to deal with, especially since we couldn't open the slider.

The furniture was very well worn and in tough condition. When we rented this unit, we specifically asked about the bed. It did not turn out as advertised. It was so uncomfortable that I ended up sleeping on the little couch for our full stay. There was lots of movement in the bed frame so when one of us rolled over, the other woke up. Not to mention the overall discomfort of the bed itself.

Then came the shower. After spending all day at the beach all we wanted to do was wash off the sand, but the shower doesn't drain. So you stand there, ankle deep, in your own filth. Not pleasant.

The 6am wake up call from the resident lawnmower was unexpected as well. I completely understand that it is on a golf course and that it is out of the rental agency's control, but a heads up or a schedule would have been welcomed.

Overall our experience was depressing. We found ourselves dreading the evenings. While this allowed us to get out and experience more, having a nice place to come back to would have been a relief. I would not recommend this listing to anyone, especially if you are wanting to spend time at the beach seeing as how the unit is a 15-20 minute drive to the nearest beach. Very disappointed in our stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Vanessa, Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I only wish you had called me right away to let me know of your concerns, so I could fix them for you and enable you to have a better experience. This is a no-smoking complex. Smoking is not permitted anywhere on complex so you absolutely should not have been bothered by this; it's against the house rules, and it would have been dealt with immediately, had the homeowner's association been informed. This is not only upsetting to you, but to me, and the owner. Please know this issue will be followed up on. On the slow draining water it is true the Association had a drain line issue in another building that they dealt with very quickly, but this may have affected the rate of drain in D building for a brief time. I am happy to say they moved very fast to fix the problem and it is not an issue now, but this may have co-incided with your stay. I am also happy to report that the owner is putting in new furnishings shortly, as you rightly point out it has been enjoyed. This you and I did communicate about before your rental and I have to say I'm surprised to read your comments about the bed because it is new and of good quality. I will spend a night myself to test it out. We have amazing beaches nearby - it takes me about 10 minutes by car to A Bay. We all drive differently but I believe the distance is 7 miles. Most condos are on the golf course and they do mow early because this must be done prior to players arriving. It's just a fact of life on the golf course whether it be Four Seasons Resort or Waikoloa Village. I will be sure to note that in the write-up. Thanks for the tip! I truly appreciate your feedback and only regret it wasn't sooner, since your stay was in November. I would have been grateful for the opportunity to address your concerns at the time to make sure your stay was more enjoyable. Kind regards, Ali Blackmore RB
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Beautiful Views!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here from 10/14 - 10/18.

This condo is on the bottom floor, right off the golf course, facing the west- so the sunset views are gorgeous!

It is a tiny modified studio, but it was EXACTLY what we needed!

It has a full size fridge, stove & dishwasher, a nicely stocked kitchen with a coffee maker, blender & toaster.

Most importantly, it has a washer & dryer- if I would have planned better, I wouldn't have had to pack so many clothes!

The condo is in the Waikoloa Village- about 9 miles from Waikoloa Beaches and Resorts. The Waikoloa beach was closed when we stayed, because they are repairing a retaining wall for the Kuualii fishpond, but if you head North on the main road a bit and you will find Kapuna State Park Beach. This is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen!! Clear blue waters, soft white sand and well maintained bathrooms and outdoor showers! I was in love with this whole area!

The condo had towels, beach chairs, a cooler and other beach toys to use during our stay!

The Village has a lovely grocery store and several restaurants. My favorite was the Island Lava Java Brew & Bistro. They had the best coffee and breakfast around! Good prices too!

The condo gets really warm in the afternoon, but we were rarely there during the day. At night it cools off with the windows open and they have a table fan stored in the closet for extra circulation.

We heard the Laughing Geckos at night, which was fun! During the day you will see the Wild Turkey and Nene walking around the golf course.

We spent a lot of time on the Lanai, especially in the morning- drinking coffee and planning out our day.

The next door neighbor is a sweetheart, we were worried about disturbing her, but she wasn't bothered by our chatter on the lanai.

The golfers play close by, but not close to the unit.

We loved our stay at The Laughing Gecko- Ali made the whole process very easy and we received our security deposit quickly (2 days after our stay)!

I would highly recommend this property! Mahalo!!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kimberly, Thank you! i just felt your enjoyment reading this review. It made my day! I was right there on the beach, at Lava Java having coffee, lying in bed listening to the laughing geckos, watching sunrises and sunsets on the lanai, etc.. I really appreciate your lust for life and extracting enjoyment from all you do! I feel that way too. I have a big smile on my face right now. So, thank you! All the best to you. aloha, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kew Gardens, New York

Clean and serene

  • 3 of 5

This apartment was small and very clean and well kept. There is no air conditioning so I was very uncomfortable at night since we could not keep the front door open. But for a few days stay it was perfect. The location at night is very peaceful as it is located on a golf course and the sceneries are spectacular.

The instructions to the place were easy to follow and the location and area are great.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ivelisse, Thank you for your review and kind words. For fellow future guests please note it is okay to sleep with the door open. There is a screen door. It would be much cooler with the door open and screen door closed. Kind regards, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Waikoloa Village Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning $95 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Rates quoted are for 2 person occupancy.
Last minute bookings ask about shorter stays and discounts.
Cancellation 60+ days from booking full refund less processing fee.
PLEASE NOTE - rental agreement on VRBO is a TEMPLATE ONLY and not accurate. Manager will e-mail your completed Rental Agreement with all correct information for signature. Fully executed Rental Agreement and Payment required to confirm booking.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message


Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Nearest Golf
0.01 Miles
Waikoloa Village Course
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Queen K
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
A Bay
Car: recommended

Volcano, observatories, waterfalls, historic Hawaiian villages, heiaus & temples. Jungle, whale watching, swim with dolphins, coffee farm tours, ATV tours, caving


Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties