check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Alexa Fischer

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Private Jungle Cottage - Waterfalls, Natural Pools, Ocean Vistas

21 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Huelo Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Summary

Perfect for active people who enjoy uncrowded beaches, waterfalls, exploring, adventures, hiking, dramatic scenery and peace and quiet. Central enough for easy day-tripping into the resort areas. 30 minutes from the airport; 15-20 from Paia Town, Haiku, Makawao and a dozen great uncrowded North Shore beaches.

Earthy, peaceful and private; perfect for couples and a solid value.

The cottage sits on two acres directly adjacent to miles of undeveloped jungle, up on a ridge built on stilts overlooking the jungle canopy. Words can’t begin to describe how special it is to relax out on the lanai or in the livingroom listening to the sounds of nature.

Large windows are everywhere, bringing the outside inside. Bedroom with queen bed, plenty of light, large closet with shelves, hanging and luggage space. Open and airy living room; Full kitchen with granite counter tops. Bathroom with tub and shower.

Details

About five minutes down a narrow, windy, bumpily paved jungle road (any car can navigate it.) The area is largely undeveloped, but it is also not an isolated grass hut in the backcountry jungle!

This kind of lodging is perfect for nature lovers. While there is a ton of diversity in flora and fauna, the land is not heavily landscaped and this is the jungle – so stuff grows like…well…a jungle! (If things like the lawn getting tall between cuttings is something that horrifies you, well, we can show you loads of more tamed and manicured places!)

Pineapples grow next to the house. Hibiscus, plumeria, night blooming jasmine, heliconias, ginger, lilikoi, coconut, tangerine, and many other flowers and fruits are all around the property.

The cottage is environmentally designed with solar power, rainwater catchment & green/repurposed construction. The house was also designed and positioned to catch tradewinds and natural light perfectly.

Living room has a small TV with an extensive digital video library with plenty of content for both kids and adults. There is also a DVD, NetFlix and Hulu Plus. Large windows are everywhere, bringing the outside inside.

Tap water comes from rainwater catchment. This is a giant tank of rain water which is regularly treated to sanitary specifications, so washing dishes, toothbrushing, etc. are all fine. There is a reverse-osmosis filtered water spigot for drinking water.

The quality bath towels, linens, comforter and pillows are replaced very frequently to be keep in new condition. There is also wireless internet, wireless VoIP telephone and a CD player & small selection of excellent Hawaiian music provided.

Full kitchen with granite countertops, double-stainless-steel-sink & mid-size propane fridge. Fully stocked with amenities such as microwave, coffee maker, blender, dishes, glassware, tableware, pots, pans, knives, etc.

The lanai has two tables and the stars are spectacular at night. When evening rains come in, the lanai is such a special spot to watch the raindrops stream though the sunlight falling into the jungle. (Most of Maui’s rain comes from tradewind cycle, typically blowing in windward late afternoon or overnight. Since tradewind clouds come from the east, the afternoon sun often still shines brightly, giving Hawaii plenty of rainbows!)

If you can tear yourself away from the lanai, there is an inside dining table with high cafe style swivel chairs to bring you right into the view.

Location

The location is the perfect place for visitors who want to escape the pre-package touristy resort areas that for a more genuine experience, yet still be based centrally enough to day-trip all over our incredible island.

You can walk right into the jungle from the cottage, swim in natural pools and waterfalls, walk, hike or relax at dramatic cliff side ocean vistas, take yoga classes from our neighbors, world renowned yoga teachers, or even experience a guided hike of areas tourists rarely experience.

Very close to Twin Falls, a couple miles into the unofficial start of the famous Road to Hana, at the edge of the rainforest. Since Maui is small, and the resort areas are not centrally located, this private and “remote” area is ironically quite central for active people looking to experience the huge variety Maui has to offer.

This unique cottage is a great choice for those who want privacy, serenity and a peaceful off the beaten tourist path place to base their adventures around Maui.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Alexa Fischer (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Why Alexa Fischer chose Maui

The location is perfect for our active family of six. We can walk out our door and be swimming in waterfall pools or hiking jungle in minutes. We can drive to a dozen beautiful uncrowded beaches in 15-20 minutes. All the rest of this spectacularly perfect island is an easy reach.

What makes this cottage unique

Being an author and with four active kids - we're all over Maui, all the time. Having this location as our home base has been perfect for our busy family because it allows us to experience living in the serenity of the true, natural Hawaii while still being within easy reach of everything the island has to offer.

Reviews

4.5
based on 21 traveler reviews

Private Jungle Cottage - Waterfalls, Natural Pools, Ocean Vistas
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 21 reviews
1

Unfortunate

  • 1 of 5

My family arrived and liked the location and charm of the house. It was as described. However, we noticed a "bank" of exposed batteries sitting outside which concerned us since we have little children. My husband, myself, and both of our children also noticed what we considered to be a heavy odor of propane or some other type of gas or oil. After about 30 minutes it started making us feel uncomfortable and even a little ill. We contacted the manager and while he was on his way, we made the decision to leave the property. We did not feel comfortable enough to return to the house and ended up staying elsewhere. Unfortunately after our vacation we reached out to try and negotiate a refund and were unsuccessful. We received a lengthy response explaining why our claims were unfounded and our request for a refund was baseless and therefore denied. Overall, I'm sure this cute unique property has provided many happy memories for other families. Unfortunately our experience in dealing with the whole situation was extremely unpleasant.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Karen - I'm so sorry that you had a scare and chose not to stay. Please understand that we took these complaints very seriously and I came immediately upon being notified (in around 30 minutes) but you had already chosen to depart. The house is legal, licensed and was recently inspected by the County of Maui as well as a licensed home inspector. While the solar setup may be an unfamiliar sight, it was installed by a licensed electrician, passed multiple inspections by experts in safety and electrical code. As to the odor, it was determined that it was a patch of asphalt that had been applied to the driveway weeks prior, having baked in the sun for the day. It was not a particularly strong odor, but in looking very carefully or sources of the "petroleum odor from the driveway area" (as your husband described it), it became clear when myself and two other people were confirming there were no leaks that perhaps he had mistaken this odor for propane due to the proximity of the tank to the driveway. I'm sorry that it alarmed you and you mistakenly feared it was the propane. Had you waited for my arrival this confusion could have been avoided. We are so sorry you had a scare, but per our rental contract (and is standard in Maui) cancelation refunds are subject to rebooking and we were unfortunately unable to rebook without any notice. I truly wish you would have hung out for the short time it took me to get there, as I'm certain considering the lovely (and quite kind) comments you gave about the house and location otherwise, the scare and departure could have been avoided and your family would have had a wonderfully memorable time in our very special place. That all said, I recall you communicated that you are regular visitors to Maui, so please contact us for your next visit and we will be happy to give you a very generous discount so you can make wonderful memories - I;m sure you will want to return again and again :) Warmest Alohas, Mark
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Berkeley, CA
5

Perfect hideaway

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I rented this house for 3 nights during a weeklong stay in Maui. Alexa and Mark took care of everything—they were even kind enough to let us store our groceries in the fridge a few hours before check-in. The place was spotless, it had everything we needed, down to a charcoal grill, a loaner copy of a great guidebook, and an awesome CD of 50 Hawaiian classics on the stereo. We loved the slight elevation just above the jungle canopy. And, of course, the easy hike to the pools! Only the occasional barking of a neighbor's dog ever reminded us that there were other people anywhere near us.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
United States
5

Fun little cabin in the jungle

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful place in the "jungle". Feels like real Hawaii. Exiting the main highway and taking the road to the house, immediately you feel like you are in a scene from Jurassic Park! Lush, tropical and refreshing. We took one of the recommended hikes right from the cabin, and found our way traversing through ocean-side pastures and down an old trail that leads along a cliff edge, down to the rock beach. We followed the stream to a small waterfall. We took our kids, ages 10 and under, and they had the adventure of a lifetime! Also, just around the corner by car is Twin Falls, another easy walk to beautiful waterfalls and a natural pool (we swam!) along an old sugar ditch. We didn't get to try the homemade smoothie stand (closes at 4), but reviews say the treats are delicious! The road to Hana feels shorter departing from your jungle home. The ONLY drawback is along with jungle, come jungle "bugs" (mainly mosquitos) -- bring plenty of DEET and anti-itch. We would definitely recommend the rustic cabin and location, especially for those looking to get away. The cabin was equipped with everything you need. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Delray Beach
5

True Beautiful Maui- The Real Thing

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful rental house!! We looked at sooooo many VRBO listings trying to find a rental not located on someone else's property/ back yard or in a neighborhood and reasonably priced as well for what we were looking for. Most of the north side rentals seem to be in peoples yards. We are very very private people who love the outdoors and solitude and wanted to experience the real Maui. This house was truly perfect!! My whole family kept saying.. you scored mom! The road to the house off the Hana Highway is about 1.5 miles long and incredibly scenic and beautiful. Lush rain forest jungle hugs the road forming a beautiful canopy and it's great for a walk in down time. Its location is close to everything- scenic highway, waterfalls and Paia and Macawow. The house is within a short walking distance to the ocean with a private cove you can access as well by stairs. No swimming though- too dangerous but very beautiful and well worth the visit. The house also sits beside a small stream which empties into a larger creek with several waterfalls and swimming holes all for your own very private enjoyment. The scenic beautiful trail leading to this area is in the back area of coconut trees, and there is a lot to explore outdoors in general. The house is totally surrounded by jungle. There are two neighbor houses in the area but you can't see them. We loved the lanai over looking the jungle canopy and spent most of our time out there. The stars, light rain and sun when we got it, was enjoyable and an activity in it self. The house was very clean, new and up to date with granite, tile, nice kitchen etc. and the bed was the best!!!!!!!!; hard to get out of. Also plenty of snorkel equipment so no need to rent. You need to be mindful of power consumption as the house is off the grid, although we did fine with five people over an entire week with basically no sun because of the typhoon storm in the fiji area to the south. We didn't need the generator and contrary to what we read, the directions are NOT confusing or too numerous. The house could use a couple more lamps in the living room for ambiance lighting as opposed to overheads and the outdoor shower area could use some vegetation sprucing. It DOES have plenty of hot water. Mark was incredibly helpful and friendly and chocolate macadamia candy awaited our arrival. I would definitely stay again!!! Great location, wonderful house! Five Stars. We will be back for sure! Thank you Mark.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Vancouver, BC Canada
4

Liana S

  • 4 of 5

This property was perfect for us. We wanted something out of the way, where we got to experience the "true Hawaii". We loved the banana grove, the walk to the lookouts, ocean, and pools. This was truly an amazing Honeymoon spot! Easy to find and in the best area of Maui.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Just right degree of "off the beaten path"

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the cottage for 8 days, looking for some peace and quiet as well as a good jumping-off point for touring Maui. It was a great choice: private but not too remote, easy access to most of the island's major natural attractions, and a flat-out beautiful area in its own right (thank you, Mark, for the excellent suggestions and directions that were waiting on our arrival!) [and the chocolates, too] The cottage is modern, clean and very well appointed. The cooler came in particularly handy for day trips, and it was great fun harvesting breakfast from among the bananas, pineapples, and lilikoi. Evenings here are marvelous: sweet smells, all kinds of critters making noise, and allllll those stars.

Be aware that this place is off the grid: solar power, cistern water, no AC/cable but lotsa bugs/geckos, and a couple of lumpy, one-lane miles between you and the nearest road to anywhere. If any of that is cause for concern, you should probably look elsewhere. If not, you will likely love it here.

We felt very much at home at the cottage; it was hard to leave. Thank you, Mark and Kira, for your hospitality, and Alexa for helping to take care of the gory details!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Kahului Airport
Nearest Barpub
13 Miles
Charlie's Restaurant and Saloon
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
Pukalani Country Club
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Hana Highway
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Colleen's at the Cannery
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Hookipa Beach Park
Car: recommended

Dozens of natural pools and waterfalls make their way down the mountain to the ocean. These waterfalls and pools aren't in the tourist guidebooks, so you will almost always have them all to yourself!

The shoreline here is dramatic, there are several walks and hikes along the shoreline and down to the ocean.

Twin Falls is practically our neighbor.

The Bamboo Forest is just 4 miles away.

We're close to Pa'ia, and Makawao.

The Road to Hana begins here.

Closer + avoid traffic bottlenecks to Kula, Ulapalakua and Haleakala Park vs. staying in resort areas.

About the same drive-time to Iao Valley and Kahului as the resorts are.

About twenty minutes more to drive to either resort area vs. staying in one and driving to explore the other (and you should explore it all!)

Drives on this side of Maui are incredibly beautiful, enjoyable and scenic, making day-tripping all over the island an absolute pleasure and a must-do!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Huelo Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
March - December 2016
Mar 1 2016 - Dec 20 2016
2 night minimum stay
$219
From
$219
$1,316
 
 
December 21 - January 7, 2017
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
$265
From
$265
 
 
January 8 - February 2017
Jan 8 2017 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
$1,533
 
 
March - December 20, 2017
Mar 1 2017 - Dec 20 2017
2 night minimum stay
$219
From
$219
$1,316
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.41%
Cleaning USD150

Notes

  • Contractual booking deposit: 20.00% rent
  • $165-$269/nt.
  • US Dollars
  • May 15 through June: All bookings of two weeks or greater we will pay the entire
  • base-fee* for a rental car from Car Rental Hawaii!
  • 2013 - 2014 Rates:
  • March - December*: $165/nt. 7+nts (2-6 nts: $188/nt.)
  • January* & February: $199/nt. 7+nts (2-6 nts: $219/nt.)
  • *Christmas/NY Time: $269/nt.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Huelo Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Rural
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Tub & Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties