check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kimberli Taylor

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Shady Glen (Quiet Log Cabin, nestled among the Oak and Cedar trees

63 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pinehurst Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Spacious 840 sq. ft. log cabin with large bedroom loft near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park. The forest belt of the western Sierra Nevada begins here and extends upward into the mature giant Sequoia groves and the cool realms of red fir and lodgepole pine. In the mild climate of the Pinehurst area. This location provides seclusion and privacy with a feel of living in the forest, and the property includes a seasonal creek. The mountain environment is extended indoors with furnishing of wood and stone themes. The log walls and steeply pitched roof of this cabin blend perfectly with the surroundings.

While sitting on the outdoor deck, you will be surrounded by mature ceder and oak trees and have a view toward the creek bottom, habitat for numerous wild birds including Steller jays and acorn woodpecker. A short walk on the creekside trail provides blackberry picking opportunities, or sit under the sprawling canopy of the mature Valley Oaks and listen to the wind.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Kimberli Taylor (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Kimberli Taylor

This cabin us built in 1956 by William Bell were he lived till he passed away, I am now the property owner and would love to see it enjoyed by those that are looking to escape the city and get back to nature, a place to unplug and reconnect with your spirit, kids and heart.

Kimberli Taylor purchased this cabin in 1956

Why Kimberli Taylor chose Kings Canyon

I am most at home in the mountains and have lived here 33 years. The Pinehurst area provides the mountain environment while being reasonably close to the cities of Visalia and Fresno. This particular property is nestled amongst the, cedars, and oaks and is right off the main road to Kings Canyon. Wildlife are attracted to the creek which flows seasonally through the property.

What makes this cabin unique

Peace, quiet, and seclusion, opportunities for walking, birding, horseback riding, and nature study. Artists (writers, painters, musician and composers) will enjoy the opportunity for introspection. Close to Dunlap (archery center) parasailing and hang gliding (Dunlap flight park) General Grant Grove of Giant Sequoias, and Giant Sequoia National Monument.

I also will take well behaved pet's $15.00 dollars per pet per night pet need to be house broken and well behaved, pets are not to be lift in the cabin when guest leave, if you don't want to take your pet on your outing, you can leave them in the kennel that I have provided for them.

Reviews

4.8
based on 63 traveler reviews

Shady Glen (Quiet Log Cabin, nestled among the Oak and Cedar trees
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 63 reviews
4

The cabin was clean. There are many games and DVD's. Very cozy and peaceful...

  • 4 of 5

Very secluded with lots of birds and deer. We very much enjoyed eating out on the deck in the screened gazebo and star gazing at night. Deer and quail come to eat and drink the food and water put out by Kimberli. I noted one or two reviews on this place that were pretty negative. But, to be fair to Kimberli, the forest is suffering an extreme drought leaving many trees dead and dying. Some of which are needing to be removed on her property and she is working to do this. She cannot be blamed for things like this which are out of her control and are affecting all property owners in the area. We will certainly be staying here again if we return to the area. Thank you Kimberli and God bless you.

Regards,

Ben and Carla

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind and gracious review and understanding. I have got all of the died trees cut down on my property the ones that are lift belong to my property line neighbor, and I have asked him if he would be cutting them down, it does not sound like he will be anytime soon. The cabin looked great, I appreciate it when guest clean up after themselves thank you, please come back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location for national parks cabin was very comfortable and lots of wildlife to see!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful 4 day stay with my wife, 8 month old, and my parents. They all loved how remote and quiet the cabin was. There was a deer theat came to a salt block the owner had put out. My son got to see his first deer! We loved the homey feeling of the cabin and my mom and wife loved the decor and personal touches. We also loved how close the cabin was to Kings Canyon and Sequoia Nat parks. We walked among the huge Sequoias one day and relaxed at Hume Lake another. Would definitely recommend!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind and gracious review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lexington, KY
5

The perfect get-away; just what we needed

  • 5 of 5

Two colleagues & I had been working hard 16+ hr days for 2 weeks, a component of a challenging project in the heat & under high expectations. When all of the project's field crew were given a "mandatory" long weekend to recuperate we investigated options for a quiet cabin in the mountains to escape the heat of the Central Valley. With short notice & desiring to keep our costs less than that of usual hotel rooms (to smooth things over with our bosses, justifying a cabin in the woods), our options were somewhat limited.

Kimberli's cabin was the stand-out so we went for it. She was very quick & responsive to our reservation & our questions. The location was amazing, so close to an entrance to King's Canyon Nat'l Park. The interior of the cabin was top-notch, obviously lovingly restored and maintained, clean & tidy. The kitchen was so much better than we anticipated and we were able to produce some epic breakfasts and wonderful dinners. The sleeping situation worked very well since we are three guys but, while not an issue for us, two of the beds lacked in privacy so that may be a concern for some groups. The sleeping loft was quite private but still had no door to close so sound did travel. The washer/dryer were quite new, in good repair, & greatly appreciated. The water in the kitchen & bathroom ran very hot which was nice. We never turned on the TV but the cabin had a very impressive stock of DVDs & VHS cassettes. Kimberli's library, too, was great, with a wide selection of guidebooks and maps. One colleague's degree is in ornithology, he loved looking over the birding materials. The woodstove looked as good as new, too, although we had no need for it.

The wildlife was delightful, it's obvious that Kimberli loves our feathered & furred earthly neighbors & she provided ample accommodation for them, which we especially enjoyed each morning. In the evening we also enjoyed the bats swooping around, gobbling up insects & doing their sonar-informed aerial dance. It was fun to discover the bat house under the eaves.

I could go on and on! The cabin was ideal & I highly recommend it, but be sure to be respectful of it as it has a considerable history and a palpable peaceful energy. Kimberli was a super hostess! Very engaged but unintrusive.

The listing pics almost don't do it justice, was even better in person. Although my travels rarely bring me to this part of the country, I would make a trip back just to bring a friend, parent, or lover to Shady Glen.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying at the Shady Glen, and thank you for such a wonderful review. I wish I had the time to, take you up on your offer to come an visit you and your friends, maybe next time, It's not often that I get to sit and visit or even see my guest. But I do no when people respect my cabin and the animals and forest, happy to no you all enjoyed your time at the Shady Glen.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great location for Grants Grove.

  • 2 of 5

First the good, the cabin is very nice and the location is perfect for visiting the Grants Grove section of Sequoia National Park. The cabin had everything you needed, including tons of movies, games, toys, linens, cooking supplies, etc. There are a lot of down trees, old metal sheds, and old tires spread around the property which did diminish some of the beauty of the property but the cabin was perfect.

The only reason I am not giving it five stars is due to the owner. The owner came to the cabin and visited us everyday we were there. This was really unusual and has never happened at any other VRBO we have done. She asked me to move my vehicle so she could turn her vehicle around, she came in the house to put a rug down, she came to measure windows so she could replace them, etc. At times it felt like we were in her way in her rental. The other thing that I thought was completely out of line, she took $50 off our DAMAGE deposit for our breakfast dishes in the sink. We had done all the dishes and cleaned the house the night before and she had called and asked if we could leave early because she needed to get to the house. So trying to accommodate her, we left the dishes in the sink and then she charged us a $50 damage fee due to the dishes. Not sure the legality of this, due to it was not damaged. Be careful and read the rental rules very carefully or you may end up paying large sums of money for what she considers extra cleaning.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: OK, Well It is true that I did stop by twice, the first time was to put toilet paper and paper towels in the cabin and put a rug down in the bath room, and since you were there, we went over how to use the swamp cooler, and answer any questions, and I also let you know that I had just put children lake toys in the cabin which you did enjoy using, because you left them wadded up on the deck in the sun, And I left, I did not stay and visit I also had other things to do, as for the second time, I did have a small triangle window in the door that I did have to measure, So that I could get an estimate, I apologized to you for any inconvenience, and I explained to you that the guest before you had broke the window... It would seem that you would be able to understand this, since you did say that you rent your house on VRBO as well.... I also explained to you that I thought that you would be gone at this time of day, since I did try calling you and no one answered the phone, I didn't even have to enter the house, at the most I think I was there 5 minutes, I told you I did not need any thing from inside the house, I was out as soon as I could. It is never my intention to bother, any of my guest, I understand people want there privacy, but I do like to meet with guest at less once, it is not that often that I get the opportunity, to see anyone. As for why you did not get your full deposit back, Where do I start! You did leave dishes in the sink and the dish drainer, you said that the drainer was full Sorry about that but dishes need to be washed, so that we can put them away dry, also the Indian blankets that you had laying on the ground we're not put back over the railing, these are not play things, there only for show, I had a basket of toys down stairs, that we're not put back I found toys all over the house, not only where the children's toys all over the house, but you let your kids play with the board games and not just kids game, but games I have bought for older guest, I still can't find all the pieces, as of now I will need to replace three board games because you let the kids tear them up. and you think it was just the dishes! PLEASE You're are lucky you got back any of your deposit.... There is a list of things that should be done before you check out, one of which is that things need to be put back. I don't expect the cabin to be perfect, but I do expect guest to clean up after them self's
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We definitely enjoyed our time at Shady Glen. The property was very clean and well supplied. We loved the seclusion and the birds and the deer!! We were very close to the parks and it was nice to come home in the evening and sit on the deck!! Highly recommend Shady Glen.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for stay at my cabin and for taking such good care of my home, you were wonderful and pleasant guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Pinehurst Lodge
Sierra Endangered Cat Haven
"Kids will love being able to get up and close with wild cats, learning opportunity, while sa..."
Kings Canyon National Park
"Must see, "
Big Meadows Campground
"Lookouts have been around for years, and a valuable part in finding and helping fire fighter..."
Car: necessary

Well Summer time is in full force! and half way through... Full is just around the corner, book early to come and see the full colors, I would also like to encourage anyone that is looking to get away for the holidays to book early. I charge Full pricing for holidays! Well worth it . gather up the family or friends for a out of the way experience.

Or if you are living with family and just need a chance for some breathing room for a couple of days.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pinehurst Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
winter
Nov 1 2016 - Mar 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$140
$945
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
$510
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$510
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$165
$1,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $15
Refundable damage deposit $70
cleaning $30

The rental is based on a two person occupancy, should you wish to have more, a $15.00 fee will be charged per person per night, if you fail to disclose additional occupants, you will be charged $25.00 per person extra per night, OR asked to leave the property. PLEASE BE HONEST ABOUT THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE IN YOUR PARTY.
Children 13 and under are no charge.
If it snows guest will need to walk a short distinct to the cabin, and park at the top of the driveway, guest should be prepared for snow, and winter conditions. Fire wood is not provided, if I can I will leave some wood for my guest.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pinehurst Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Church toilet, set for the little one in training
  • 1 bathroom with separate shower, and tub
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • (2) Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Pack and Play available upon request
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Massage available, $55.00 in offices and $65.00 house calls for 1 hour massage, please call in advance for appointment's . Kim 559-909-5051 or 559-337-2383

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties