check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Shady Glen (Quiet Log Cabin, nestled in the oaks and ceders tree's

59 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pinehurst Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Spacious 840 sq. ft. log cabin with large bedroom loft near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park. The forest belt of the western Sierra Nevada begins here and extends upward into the mature giant Sequoia groves and the cool realms of red fir and lodgepole pine. In the mild climate of the Pinehurst area. This location provides seclusion and privacy with a feel of living in the forest, and the property includes a seasonal creek. The mountain environment is extended indoors with furnishing of wood and stone themes. The log walls and steeply pitched roof of this cabin blend perfectly with the surroundings.

While sitting on the outdoor deck, you will be surrounded by mature ceder and oak trees and have a view toward the creek bottom, habitat for numerous wild birds including Steller jays and acorn woodpecker. A short walk on the creekside trail provides blackberry picking opportunities, or sit under the sprawling canopy of the mature Valley Oaks and listen to the wind.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Kimberli Taylor (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Kimberli Taylor

This cabin us built in 1956 by William Bell were he lived till he passed away, I am now the property owner and would love to see it enjoyed by those that are looking to escape the city and get back to nature, a place to unplug and reconnect with your spirit, kids and heart.

Kimberli Taylor purchased this cabin in 1956

Why Kimberli Taylor chose Kings Canyon

I am most at home in the mountains and have lived here 33 years. The Pinehurst area provides the mountain environment while being reasonably close to the cities of Visalia and Fresno. This particular property is nestled amongst the, cedars, and oaks and is right off the main road to Kings Canyon. Wildlife are attracted to the creek which flows seasonally through the property.

What makes this cabin unique

Peace, quiet, and seclusion, opportunities for walking, birding, horseback riding, and nature study. Artists (writers, painters, musician and composers) will enjoy the opportunity for introspection. Close to Dunlap (archery center) parasailing and hang gliding (Dunlap flight park) General Grant Grove of Giant Sequoias, and Giant Sequoia National Monument.

I also will take well behaved pet's $15.00 dollars per pet per night pet need to be house broken and well behaved, pets are not to be lift in the cabin when guest leave, if you don't want to take your pet on your outing, you can leave them in the kennel that I have provided for them.

Reviews

4.8
based on 59 traveler reviews

Shady Glen (Quiet Log Cabin, nestled in the oaks and ceders tree's
average rating of 4.762712 based on 59 reviews
2

Great location for Grants Grove.

  • 2 of 5

First the good, the cabin is very nice and the location is perfect for visiting the Grants Grove section of Sequoia National Park. The cabin had everything you needed, including tons of movies, games, toys, linens, cooking supplies, etc. There are a lot of down trees, old metal sheds, and old tires spread around the property which did diminish some of the beauty of the property but the cabin was perfect.

The only reason I am not giving it five stars is due to the owner. The owner came to the cabin and visited us everyday we were there. This was really unusual and has never happened at any other VRBO we have done. She asked me to move my vehicle so she could turn her vehicle around, she came in the house to put a rug down, she came to measure windows so she could replace them, etc. At times it felt like we were in her way in her rental. The other thing that I thought was completely out of line, she took $50 off our DAMAGE deposit for our breakfast dishes in the sink. We had done all the dishes and cleaned the house the night before and she had called and asked if we could leave early because she needed to get to the house. So trying to accommodate her, we left the dishes in the sink and then she charged us a $50 damage fee due to the dishes. Not sure the legality of this, due to it was not damaged. Be careful and read the rental rules very carefully or you may end up paying large sums of money for what she considers extra cleaning.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: OK, Well It is true that I did stop by twice, the first time was to put toilet paper and paper towels in the cabin and put a rug down in the bath room, and since you were there, we went over how to use the swamp cooler, and answer any questions, and I also let you know that I had just put children lake toys in the cabin which you did enjoy using, because you left them wadded up on the deck in the sun, And I left, I did not stay and visit I also had other things to do, as for the second time, I did have a small triangle window in the door that I did have to measure, So that I could get an estimate, I apologized to you for any inconvenience, and I explained to you that the guest before you had broke the window... It would seem that you would be able to understand this, since you did say that you rent your house on VRBO as well.... I also explained to you that I thought that you would be gone at this time of day, since I did try calling you and no one answered the phone, I didn't even have to enter the house, at the most I think I was there 5 minutes, I told you I did not need any thing from inside the house, I was out as soon as I could. It is never my intention to bother, any of my guest, I understand people want there privacy, but I do like to meet with guest at less once, it is not that often that I get the opportunity, to see anyone. As for why you did not get your full deposit back, Where do I start! You did leave dishes in the sink and the dish drainer, you said that the drainer was full Sorry about that but dishes need to be washed, so that we can put them away dry, also the Indian blankets that you had laying on the ground we're not put back over the railing, these are not play things, there only for show, I had a basket of toys down stairs, that we're not put back I found toys all over the house, not only where the children's toys all over the house, but you let your kids play with the board games and not just kids game, but games I have bought for older guest, I still can't find all the pieces, as of now I will need to replace three board games because you let the kids tear them up. and you think it was just the dishes! PLEASE You're are lucky you got back any of your deposit.... There is a list of things that should be done before you check out, one of which is that things need to be put back. I don't expect the cabin to be perfect, but I do expect guest to clean up after them self's
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We definitely enjoyed our time at Shady Glen. The property was very clean and well supplied. We loved the seclusion and the birds and the deer!! We were very close to the parks and it was nice to come home in the evening and sit on the deck!! Highly recommend Shady Glen.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for stay at my cabin and for taking such good care of my home, you were wonderful and pleasant guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pinehurst is a Beautiful property! Quiet, peaceful!

  • 5 of 5

Kimberli has thought of everything! She recommended areas we could hike, items we should bring, great directions, immediate feedback whenever a question. The cabin was stocked full of anything you could possibly need - especially if you forgot something. Lots of towels, condiments, spices, washer & dryer. You name it, I think she had it! Very comfortable & cozy. Even a swamp cooler (I think that is what it was called). Like an air conditioner, but not. Cooled the house really well!! Everything was clean & neat. Would recommend this to friends & if ever back in the area, we would stay there again!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review.. I try very heard to make it a place for my guest to enjoy and step out of there reality for a short time, where they can unplug and listen to nature, or just set back and enjoy the night sky. come back any time
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful cabin and lots of wildlife

  • 5 of 5

Shady Glen is a very well appointed cabin with everything you might want for a stay in the forest. It was spotless and very comfortable. Kimberli made sure we knew everything we needed and had lots of food out for the birds and other animals which made for a very enjoyable experience. We enjoyed it very much and I recommend it highly. It is very convenient to the Grant's Grove area of King's Canyon National Park

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice and quiet place surrounded by nature

  • 4 of 5

This is a cozy wooden cabin. We saw a mother bear and her cub on our way up to the cabin. We enjoyed the deers feeding several times outside of the house. We recommend this peaceful and gorgeous place to stay with your family.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay, perfect location

  • 5 of 5

My family had a lovely stay at Shady Glen. The cabin is as charming as it looks in the pictures. When we arrived, the place was spotless and ready for us. It was perfect for four of us - two in the loft, one in the bed in the living room, another in the bed in the entry area. The kitchen was well stocked and had what we needed. We had some very hot days while we were there, and the swamp cooler and fans cooled things down in no time, so we were always comfortable. The nights were cool so we were able to open windows and sleep very comfortably. Kimberli was a gracious host and responded right away when we needed more propane for the gas grill but otherwise we had the place to ourselves for a quiet family getaway.

The location was perfect for our itinerary of spending a couple of days in Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Park. We did not have reservations in the park and didn't want to stay in a hotel, so this was just what we were looking for. It is about 15 minutes to the entrance of Kings Canyon. When planning your driving distances, remember that the roads are curvy and it takes some time to get places within the parks. We used Google Maps to help us find Shady Glen and had no trouble finding it, but the roads are very windy and you would not want to make the drive in the dark.

One bonus: the food at Pinehurst Lodge just down the road was fantastic! The woman at the horse rental place in King's Canyon recommended it to us so we had dinner there one night. The place may not look like a five star restaurant, but the woman who cooks knows what she is doing. What had prime rib, a cheeseburger, and fettucini alfredo, all of which were better than the fare we had an expense San Francisco restaurant.

Another bonus: the wildife! Kimberli has bird feeders and we saw the most beautiful birds and there were deer grazing when we arrived. We saw a black bear cub a ways off and spent the better part of an hour watching him eat from inside the cabin. What a treat. All in all, we had a great stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Well Summer time is in full force! and half way through... Full is just around the corner, book early to come and see the full colors, I would also like to encourage anyone that is looking to get away for the holidays to book early. I charge Full pricing for holidays! Well worth it . gather up the family or friends for a out of the way experience.

Or if you are living with family and just need a chance for some breathing room for a couple of days.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pinehurst Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Labor Day
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
$510
Flat fee
 
 
winter
Nov 1 2016 - Mar 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$140
$945
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
$510
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$510
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$165
$1,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $70
Pet Fee $15
cleaning $30

The rental is based on a two person occupancy, should you wish to have more, a $15.00 fee will be charged per person per day, if you fail to disclose additional occupants, you will be charged $25.00 per person extra per night, OR asked to leave the property. PLEASE BE HONEST ABOUT THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE IN YOUR PARTY.
Children 12 and under are no charge.
If it snows guest will need to walk a short distinct to the cabin, and park at the top of the driveway, guest should be prepared for snow, and winter conditions. Fire wood is not provided, if I can I will leave some wood for my guest.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pinehurst Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 bathroom with separate shower, and tub
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • (1)Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Pack and Play available upon request
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Massage available, $55.00 in offices and $65.00 house calls for 1 hour massage, please call in advance for appointment's . Kimberli 559-909-5051 or 559-337-2383

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties