Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean View! Dolphins & Whales from Lanai! 1 Bdrm with Loft Bedroom

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Kona Makai! Top floor unit.

Our beautiful, tropical condo has stunning ocean views in this breathtaking ocean front condominium complex in Kailua-Kona on the Big Island. Thats the sunny side. You can hear the ocean crashing from all rooms in the unit. We have fully redecorated and updated the entire unit in hawaiian decor to enhance your vacation. New lush, beautiful carpet has been installed through out the entire unit in December 2015. The appliances are also new. The unit is extremely clean and beautiful. The gated grounds are impressively maintained and the complex is very quaint, peaceful and private. Snorkeling is fantastic right out front of the unit. There are around 100 units and 3 floors high. From the unit you can see and hear the waves crash from master bedroom with ocean views from the master and front room. Whales and dolphins have seen swimming by while sitting on the lanai. Our Sugar Shack is 1 bedroom with a king size bed. We have a full bedroom loft with 2 twins and the front room has a queen sleeper sofa. We have fully equipped our unit with beach chairs, cooler, beach towels and more for your enjoyable stay. Our kitchen has been stocked with all the comforts of home. The condominium complex is amazing. The lush grounds are maintained beautifully with all the fragrant hawaiian flowers and plants. The ocean side swimming pool has been recently remodeled. At the edge the ocean where the waves crash we have a state of the art BBQ area with tables and lounge chairs to enjoy a meal and watch the sunset. There is a workout room with new cardio equipment, ping pong table, tennis courts, hot tub/spa and free covered parking. Although the unit is air conditioned , a fresh breeze blows through from the bedroom through the open sliding glass doors rarely making the AC necessary. We have ceiling fans and air conditioners in the master bedroom, loft and front room. We also offer private, secure wifi for your use. Our unit is located on the third floor, and there is no car traffic in this part of the complex. There is a fantastic reef right out front of the complex. A variety of tropical fish may be seen while snorkeling or diving.

The heart of the quaint town of Kona is a short walk from the our property (1 mile). There are fun shops and amazing restaurants, galleries and every water sport you could want. The Kona area has the best snorkeling and diving of all the islands. We have beautiful beaches just a few miles from our complex. The active volcano is a cool place to hike and explore. There is so much to do on this island. We have kayaked across the bay and had hundreds of spinner and bottle nosed dolphins swimming and jumping all around our kayak.They had their little babies with them too. What a treat that was. The beaches are large and non crowed. The locals keep the island just as the old hawaii used to be. The tourist are few and far between and the traffic is light.

Having just returned from our condo we had an amazing day swimming with the wild spinner dolphins. We cruised out on a boat with Captain Will and jumped in the ocean with the beautiful dolphins. I can get you the information so you to can swim with these playful dolphins.

Come see this beautiful oasis and have a lovely vacation. Come enjoy the Big Island of Hawaii!

If you do not see your dates available at this condo go ahead and give me a call. I have others in Kona to offer. Some are 2 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms.

YOUTube video of dolphin swim link below

https://youtu.be/Aw5YkkPm5Js?+=52

More Details

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Queen Sleeper Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The complex does not have a elevator.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
29% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
Ocean View! Dolphins & Whales from Lanai! 1 Bdrm with Loft Bedroom
average rating of 4.4583335 based on 24 reviews
5

Best sunsets in hawaii

  • 5 of 5

The lanai has a beautiful view of the ocean, the well maintained pool and lovely grounds. The condo has plenty of room, is very clean, comfortable and well maintained. They have every thing you need to cook or barbeque (on barbeques right by the water!) We watched the sunsets while having a drink, sitting right by the waves. We barbecued several nights and they have a great set up with tables for eating right by the ocean (and pool), It had a very nice community feel and a ping pong table too! Great condo, great location and we will definitely stay there again!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed here several times and always enjoy this condo. What I really like about this unit is the location. I enjoy my walk to town to have breakfast, lunch, shopping and more. I enjoy heading out to the harbor for lunch and visiting with the fisher man. The condo is always clean and comfortable.The owners try and keep things in good working order and updates are continuing often. The new 46 in smart tv was awesome. Mahalo Lynette for your hospitality.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Poulsbo, WA
4

Great location and property, unit needs updating.

  • 4 of 5

The location of Kona Makai is very good, about 1 mile walk from kona shops/restaurants. The grounds, pool, barbecue areas are very nice, sunsets amazing. The unit itself is a nice layout and comfortable- it had everything we needed including beach chairs, cooler, umbrella, the kitchen was stocked pretty well (including plastic containers -always bonus points in my book), but the unit looks a bit worn and outdated, especially the carpet and bathroom. In saying that, you get what you pay for and the unit was well priced for the location and view. We enjoyed ourselves and would come back to this property and unit if it gets updated.

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: "Thank you for the constructive comments Cindy! I am currently staying in the unit while upgrades occur. We have since had the carpets and fabric furnishings professionally cleaned. Additionally the Kitchen floor was replaced, and other miscellaneous upgrades throughout. We encourage you to return to see the changes! Mahalo Lynette
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent bucket list trip

  • 5 of 5

Great property at an excellent location.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Construction ruined our vacation

  • 2 of 5

For me, construction is a deal breaker when I go on vacation. There has been a project going on at this complex for a couple of years according to other people we talked to who stay here, and the on sight manager. We were not notified of this or I would have chosen somewhere else to stay. The workers were there every day, from 7:30 to 5pm or so, except Sunday with jackhammers and forklifts. Unbelievable. There is a noise ordinance in effect from 8am. It's a beautiful property otherwise and we were satisfied with everything else. We planned and saved for this trip for over a year. So disappointed. If you don't mind construction you will likely enjoy this property.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: "Aloha, Thank you for your feed back. We spoke to you about the unscheduled repairs that the complex did not anticipate while you were staying with us. As soon as we found out about the disturbance we did offer you compensation and another unit to move over to. The location is exceptional and the grounds are beautifully manicured. We do occasionally have repairs and maintenance that can be annoying. Reviews from our guests help us improve our service for future guests. Mahalo Lynette"
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary, Alberta
2

Cockroaches & construction

  • 2 of 5

Had I known that solar panels were scheduled to be installed in our building the time we were there I would have come at a different time. Because we were in a top unit there was debris that was loosened and fell all over everything making a mess. I understand the necessity of the construction but would have appreciated being advised of it so I could book a different time period. Also, we were here 6 months ago in another unit and did not see any cockroaches but the top unit had 3 inch bugs (not fun when they fall on your head when you are in bed!).

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: "Aloha and thank you for sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any issues during your visit. We were assured by the complex association that any solar install would not disturb our guests, but as we progress through, we have found that is not the case. We apologize for any debris or noise that resulted. As far as the bugs go, the complex is professionally treated inside and outside for every unit during a quarterly service. An unfortunate part of tropical weather is that we do deal with the occasional intruding bugs. Thank you for taking the time to report this, as it helps us improve our service."
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property Manager

Lynette Byrne
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

About Lynette Byrne

Aloha! We are new owners and are very excited to share our newly remodeled and redecorated beautiful Kona Condo! We have traveled all through the Islands and lived in Maui. Once we found Kona we fell in love. The activities and local Hawaiian flavor was irresistible. Welcome to our Sugar Shack!!

Lynette Byrne purchased this condo in 2012

Why Lynette Byrne chose Kailua-Kona

Kona Makai is an amazing ocean front complex. It boasts stunning ocean views. The grounds are beautifully maintained with fragrant, native hawaiian flowers and trees. There is no car traffic next to our unit which makes it very quiet and peaceful.

What makes this condo unique

The quaint town of Kona is only 1 mile from the complex. The shopping, restaurants and fun nightlife is a short walk.

We have cool, garden breezes flow through out the condo and you can hear the ocean waves crash from the rooms in our unit.

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Restaurant
1.3 Miles
Kona Inn
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Huggos
Car: recommended

We are located about one mile from the heart of Kona town.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $135
Tax Rate 13.6%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Cancelation Policy (Call owner)
Free Parking
Hawaiian Taxes apply to rate

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.