Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakefront Cabin, 2 bedrooms downstairs, 2 upstairs in loft - Sleeps 8

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Enjoy a peaceful cabin getaway on Apple Lake, 5 minutes from Highlands, NC. Highlands is a small charming mountain town with great restaurants, spa, theatre, music concerts, and shopping. At over 4100 feet in elevation, there is rarely a hot summer night. This cabin has large cathedral ceilings, a huge wood burning stone fire place, and jacuzzi. Minutes from scenic waterfalls, and hiking trails. Enjoy cooking your own meals, paddle a kayak on the lake or fish for bass or brim, sit on one of two decks and watch the hummingbirds fly by. Wonderful for a family vacation or romantic getaway!

Pet Policy:

We permit Dogs ONLY (no cats, birds, snakes, etc.) on a case-by-case basis for an additional fee. Visiting pets must be on a Flea Prevention program.

More Details

Owner
Mary Ann Badovinac
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2017

About Mary Ann Badovinac

Our family of five has enjoyed visiting and playing at the cabin for over twenty-five years. We moved to Atlanta, Ga. to be closer to the cabin and share our love of nature with our 3 children. We hike, swim, fish, kayak and enjoy sharing our cabin with friends and guests.

Mary Ann Badovinac purchased this cabin in 1984

Why Mary Ann Badovinac chose Highlands

We bought this cabin because it is next door to our family cabin of 54 years. Enjoying the cool summer weather and outdoor activities this area has to offer has been our summer fun for as long as I can remember.

What makes this cabin unique

Our home was originally owned by an artist couple who designed it after their loft in Paris. They became close family friends. When we bought the cabin we expanded it, trying to keep the light airy feeling of the original cabin. From our decks we view a variety of wildlife and birds. At night we only hear the sounds of the bullfrogs in the lake. So peaceful.

Amenities

Highlands Hills Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • shower/jacuzzi tub downstairs shower/ tub upstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1, downstairs - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2, downstairs - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3, upstairs in large loft - 1 double
    Bedroom 4, upstairs in large loft - 1 double
  • Queen size Beds - one in each downstairs bedrooms, Double Beds - 2 double beds, one in each upstairs loft bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The following activities are available in the area: hikes to mountain vistas & waterfalls, white water rafting, horse back riding, fly fishing, golf courses, lake & river swimming, picnic areas, gem hunting, boutique shopping, American crafts, antiquing, wonderful restaurants, spas, live concerts and theater, lectures at Nature Center, and exhibits and art lessons (pottery, painting, stained glass etc.) at the Bascomb museum.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Lakefront Cabin, 2 bedrooms downstairs, 2 upstairs in loft - Sleeps 8
average rating of 4.6 based on 15 reviews
5

Exactly as advertised

  • 5 of 5

Cabin was perfect for our needs and the owner was helpful and accommodating. Great location was close to town but not too close! Giant deck and boat dock were a great bonus.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Place for a Short Stay

  • 4 of 5

I and my two brothers needed a place in the Mirror Lake area for four nights and this place was perfect for that. Unfortunately there was some miscommunication with the cleaning person and the sheets and towels had not been washed nor the beds made when we arrived that first evening. The cabin was otherwise pretty clean. We resolved the problem ourselves and received a sincere apology along with an immediate refund of our cleaning fee and damage deposit from the owner. The next day was very clean and tidy, beds freshly made and a sincere apology from the cleaning person for the mix up. The cabin was certainly adequate for our needs including the loft area which realistically is only a semi-private sleeping area. Kitchen is well appointed and everything worked well.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your response. I am so sorry for the problem with the house cleaning. This was the first time it has happened in my five years of renting the cabin. The cabin has always been comfortable for my family of five, and I do highly recommend it for families.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely visit to a open, clean, well stocked home!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed during the Thanksgiving 2016 holiday. I packed most of my cooking needs, but inevitably forget a few (rolling pin, glass baking dish, etc..) and was pleasantly surprised to all my forgotten items in the kitchen! The house was open, clean and very spacious! The lake was low due to the drought, but it didn't keep my 18 year old from getting out on the water in one of the owner's supplied boats. All the owner's suggestions on hikes and restaurants were spot on! Particularly loved Wild Thyme! Wonderful stay for making treasured family memories.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at the cabin. I am happy you enjoyed visiting the local sights and hikes. Please consider our cabin for your next Highlands vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another relaxing girl's getaway

  • 5 of 5

This is the second year my friends and I have stayed at Mirror Lake and we felt like we had come home. The owner is so friendly and helpful and we got to meet her this year. The weather was perfect and there is plenty for everyone to do in the area. One of my favorite features is the fireplace and we needed a fire (with s'mores) every night.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for returning to the cabin. I hope you enjoyed the kayaks on the lake. It was so nice meeting you all. I appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again on your next visit to Highlands! Best Regards, Mary Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA
5

Great Cabin

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in this cabin. It had everything we needed. The kitchen was well equipped and even had paper towels. The family room was comfortable with a fireplace and t.v. Little things like a lighter and s'more sticks were easy to find. The open loft rooms worked out for us since since I had 4 kids with me. The lake was pretty and the kids loved using the boats and exploring around the lake. We would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for selecting our cabin for your Highlands vacation. Please think of our cabin for your return visit to Highlands. We loved having you! Sincerely, Mary Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Lake House Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We rented this cabin for a girls' weekend and it was the perfect getaway. The house is incredibly roomy with a large cozy living room and four full size beds, so we each had our own space which was perfect. There is only one shower and a separate bath with a jacuzzi tub. It is only a few minutes into the heart of downtown Highlands and very close to wonderful hikes. The owner was incredibly responsive and easy to work with. The only hard part about the area is spotty cell phone reception, especially if you are AT & T, but the point was to get away from it all so it was kind of nice to be unreachable. We had a lovely time at this cabin.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your positive review. I really appreciate it, and hope you return to the cabin. The two beds downstairs are queen size and the two beds upstairs are double beds. We have an AT&T 3-G cell tower in the cabin. In the cabin notes sent to each guest we ask if guests have AT&T, and if so, they can give us their cell phone numbers to link to the tower. I am so sorry you missed that part of the cabin notes. In the future, I will inquire via email about cell phone service so guests are aware of the AT&T cell phone service availability. Thank you again for choosing our cabin for your Highlands visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

This lakeside cabin, is just a few minutes from beautiful waterfalls, hiking trails, the quaint town of Highlands - fine restaurants, shopping, live theatre, music concerts, spa, nature center, museum, art, and a recreation center w/swimming, gym, and tennis. Drive a little further for white water rafting, flyfishing, and horseback riding.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Highlands Hills Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 12 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,575
$5,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
$5,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $125
Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties