Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxurious Soundfront 'Aquaholic'

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms9
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

7 Bedrooms with Private Baths Soundfront with Elevator

Water enthusiasts will enjoy 'Aquaholic', a stunning 7 master bedroom soundfront home with all the amenities. Enjoy beautiful sunsets and front-row views of the kite boarders, wind surfers and sailboats that dot the sound, or just experience the starry night sky and the calm of the salt marshes.

The beach is less than a quarter mile away, visible from our balconies and a short walk or bike ride waya. Your rental also includes access to the newly-restored 'Black Dog Harbor', located two lots south. Enjoying fishing, kayaking, paddlboarding from the private harbor, dock and gazebo..

You'll be greeted by an old live oak tree encircled in a bench with gorgeous landscaping, a park grill, ample parking plus a basketball hoop for outdoor play. The swimming pool has a pool bar and poolside basketball.

Decorated in 'beach glass' colors, Aquaholic is handicap accessible and includes an elevator. The lowest level features a game room with a pool table, regulation championship foosball table, and card table and television. The bar area has an icemaker, dishwasher, microwave and refrigerator. Enjoy movies, television, or gaming in the private theater with a huge projection screen with BlueRay player. This floor has one hotel-style bedroom with two queen beds and private bath, plus one bedroom with two sets of bunkbeds, television and private bath. Two sets of washer/dryers complete this family-friendly space.

The top floor has a wide open floor plan, vaulted ceilings and views of both the sound and the ocean, with front and rear decks and a hardwood floor. Plenty of comfortable seating accommodate your large group, with two dining tables. A flat-screen television with BluRay player sits above the gas fireplace and a stereo with exterior speakers provide a soundtrack for the sunset. The gourmet kitchen features two refrigerators, two dishwashers, a six-burner gas range, separate ice maker and walk-in pantry. The top floor also features a spacious deluxe king master suite that opens onto the large soundfront deck, with a television, whirlpool tub and double shower.

The middle floor has another soundfront deluxe master bedroom suite with a television, whirlpool tub and double shower, two additional king suites with bathrooms and televisions, plus a handicap accessible suite with a queen-sized bed. Relax or play games in the library that opens onto spectacular views of the sound.

Explore the sound in a kayak, canoe or paddle board. Or play on the wide, sandy beaches. Convenient access to world-class windsurfing and kite-boarding, fishing, surfing, state parks, pirate lore, historic sites. The perfect combination of nature and vacation, beach and sound at the 'Aquaholic'.

More Details

Owner
L.A. Brickner
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

About L.A. Brickner

We have enjoyed vacationing in the Outer Banks since we were children. We have close family friends who own a home in Salvo so we started bringing our children when they were babies.

L.A. Brickner purchased this house in 2012

Why L.A. Brickner chose Cape Hatteras

We enjoy the quietude and stunning nature of Hatteras Island. We were able to purchase the nearly-new home and furnish it to our exacting standards to be our Hatteras retreat that we will share with select renters.

What makes this house unique

Although we love the ocean, the sound front properties provide the ability to create a nightly 'sunset festival'. We love to play music and marvel at the kite boarders and windsurfers. We also appreciate that each bedroom has a private bath, a feature that is appreciated when multiple families share a home. As we started furnishing the home with brightly-colored 'beachy' decor, the prevailing color was aqua -- hence the house name Aquaholic.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Some wonderful things we did: Wild horse tour, Wright plan tour, dove with sharks, discovered beaches, shops, restaurants, ice cream ships. Details that mattered: all being together, playing games, laughing. Hope we can come back next year. It was wonderful. (posted from Guest Book)
May 2014
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Salvo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Maximum occupancy is 18, including children and visitors.
  • You are have been offered Travel Protection insurance and you are encouraged to purchase it.
  • No refunds for mandatory evacuations for any reason.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 9 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
    Bathroom 7 -
    Bathroom 8 -
    Bathroom 9 -
  • 9
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • King size beds (4) Two deluxe king suites with double shower and whirlpool tub; two king suites., Queen size Beds (3) Two queens in 'hotel-style' room; one queen in handicap suite., Bunk Beds (4) Two sets of bunkbeds.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Luxurious Soundfront 'Aquaholic'
average rating of 4.84 based on 29 reviews
1

We had to evacuate after just one day and got no refund of not even half what we paid

  • 1 of 5

The house was great there was no named storm coming on shore they evacuated visitors but the home owner told me they were evacuating the whole island after telling me it would be fine i had a whole week we could have stayed but wasn't aloud ive had more bad weather than they got back at home and wasnt evacuated (harvey) we had no were to go and not enough money for another stay some were we are all on set incomes and the home owner would not refund anything we didnt get to see any of the islands as we arrived late and was told to get out at noon the next morning beware they give no refunds at all and the owner never introduced her self as such when she was there telling us to leave or when sbe was there as cleaning lady i had to call her and ask was that you that lied to me and said everybody off the island by 12 turned out to be just visiters all of us ages 52 to 78 scrambling to hurry we were told at 10 30 and thought we be in traffic because was everybody on island if i knew the truth we would have been able to go at better pase some got sick from the scrambling to pack and leave the whole thing was just wrong we got screwed out of our vacation we saved for none of us have money just laying around the owner has no heart

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for noting that "the house was great". Unfortunately, a mandatory evacuation of visitors was issued due to Hurricane Maria. We encourage all guests to purchase trip interruption insurance and clearly state that no refunds are given due to to evacuations. With such a short rental season, the risk has to be assumed by the renter, and you'll find that all the local rental properties have this requirement. The cost for the rental policy is minimal, and unfortunately we cannot add it as a mandatory cost for the quote -- the guests get to decide if they'll risk it to save a few dollars. We own another home, Harbormaster, located next to Aquaholic. Coincidentally, we received the following 5 star review from the guests who stayed there the same week: Beautiful home Unfortunately, our stay was cut from 1 week to 1 night due to hurricane Maria. A complete disappointment after driving 17 hours. But it was a gamble we took being the time of year we selected. We would have loved to stay and enjoy the amazing location and gorgeous home but due to a mandatory evacuation that was not possible. Mrs. Brickner could not have been more helpful during the entire process. She answered all emails and calls promptly. We look forward to booking another time. We did purchase the trip insurance and are hoping to get a refund. We will be back to try again. Submitted: Oct 16, 2017 | Stayed: September 2017
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect house in perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

This house is gorgeous, spacious, bright and has everything you need to have a great time!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

House was amazing!!!

  • 5 of 5

There was plenty of space for everyone. We loved waking up in the morning with that gorgeous view. We looked forward for sunrise and sunset. The house well equipped and very clean. We highly recommend this place and we're definitely coming back next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An amazing home!

  • 5 of 5

Aquaholic was all it was described as and then some!! We were 4 families vacationing together (17 total) and this home was perfect for us! We never felt crowded and frequently had no idea where some were at times (The movie room)! The views were amazing, and the sunsets even better!! The house is VERY well stocked and beautifully decorated!! Super clean, and well taken care of! The pool and hot tub were perfect after a long day at the beach (vacations are rough)! Don't hesitate to book this home!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful house and beautiful view!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing week in Salvo at Aquaholic. The rooms were beautifully decorated, comfortable, and clean. We enjoyed the large open top floor for family gatherings and stunning views. The property had everything we wanted and more. We would definitely go back.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Large Family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful well maintained home! Great for large families. Everyone loved that section of the islands.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Top Dog Cafe
Lisa's Pizzeria
Rodanthe Fishing Pier
Nearest Ferry
31 Miles
Hatteras to Ocacroke
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Cape Hatteras National Seashore

With our wide, sandy beaches and refreshing waters, it is easy to see why the Outer Banks is a popular vacation destination. The sound of ocean waves, the starry night sky, or the calm of the salt marshes -- you can experience it all. Shaped by the forces of water, wind, and storms these islands are ever changing. Whether you are walking on the beach, kayaking on the sound, or climbing the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse there is something for everyone to explore!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.75%

Maximum occupancy is 18, including children, no exceptions.
No pets are allowed. No smoking on the premises.
Bed linens and bath towels are included.
Deposit (minus $250 administration fee) only refundable if the week can be re-booked.
Trip cancellation insurance is offered through VRBO/Homeaway.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund