check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Semi-Ocean Front- The only thing you need is a LATITUDE ADJUSTMENT

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
11
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
7 nights

Description

Avon House Rental Photos and Description

NOW TAKING RESERVATIONS FOR THE 2017 SEASON!

This Semi-Ocean -The only thing you need is a LATITUDE ADJUSTMENT, not an attitude adjustment. This Semi-Ocean Front home will shelter you with a dry entry from the shaded parking area to your own delightfully refreshing private pool, with an adjacent hot tub. You will get the right adjustment with wide sun decks and a stunning beach view. Pass by the laundry and storage areas and up to the first level to find four bedrooms: one with a pyramid bunk bed, two with queen beds, and one with two single beds. The upper level has a lovely relaxing great room with wet bar, vaulted ceilings and large windows overlooking the blue Atlantic. The kitchen and dining area are conveniently located on this level as well as a queen master bedroom with TV and a whirlpool tub. Just up the stairs from the great room is a cozy loft with a private sitting area. This home is the perfect spot for enjoying the spectacular Hatteras Island sunsets. So adjust your heading and come on down to LATITUDE ADJUSTMENT.

* VRBO's automated quote service is not accurate with this property. For actual costs, contact homeowner for valid quote*

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Alexandra Alls
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 3, 2016
Call Manager

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Semi-Ocean Front- The only thing you need is a LATITUDE ADJUSTMENT
average rating of 4.111111 based on 9 reviews
Raleigh
3

Relaxing vacation home, great for the discounted spring price

  • 3 of 5

First off,

This house worked great for our family vacation and the price was great for the spring value pricing, The views were decent from the upper decks between the houses to the ocean, was hoping for a bit more ocean view. Unfortunately we booked during construction of a house across the street and had to deal with the construction noise waking us up in the mornings, can't blame anyone for that one. The construction crews did seem to try to keep their noise and mess to a minimum and were off the job site fairly early in the day allowing a relaxing evening for us.

The house was in decent condition but starting to show its age. We had a leak that grew slightly more significant in our master bathroom. A quick email to the management and repairmen were there, 4 times. The repairmen seemed to be coming a bit more that we expected, total of 6 drop ins from various people. We had our dog with us and she can be a little protective of us when strangers walk into the house which caused some stress for our old girl.

The pool was great, though a bit cold... but that is to be expected this early in the season. The hot tub was great for relaxing evenings, though the cover for the hot tub needs replacing and dropped lots of bits into the hot tub, had to skim it before every use. Be careful when walking on the decks as boards were starting to show the age with exposed nails, splinters, and a few warped boards, would recommend wearing flip flops while on the wood.

There were very few screens in the house which allowed lots of bugs into the house when the windows were open and the screen doors need repair/replacement as they are also showing their age.

At the end of the day, the beds were okay. The master bed seemed fine, but other family members complained about the beds on the lower level. The kitchen was well stocked and allowed us to cook many meals as a family and sit around the same table together.

The owners/management were great when issues arrived. The cable company changed to all digital and required new boxes for all TV's while we were there. This didn't really matter much to us as we were out doors a lot, but a quick email and we had the cable guy there the next day.

Off road beach access just down the street, house was nicely located in town with grocery store and few restaurants very close

Will consider renting again during value pricing, but may be a bit disappointed if we paid full summer pricing.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect for a large family getaway

  • 5 of 5

This house was PERFECT for our large family. We had 6 children and 5 adults and it was just the right size. I had noticed that other reviewers had mentioned lack of cell service and lack of shopping. This was not an issue for our family. We had no trouble with our cells and we were there for the beach, so shopping was not high on our list of "must haves" (although, we did trek to Nags Head to hit the outlets one day and that was easy). The home was beautifully furnished and accessing the beach was a breeze. Our entire family left feeling relaxed and happy.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Beautiful Home!

  • 3 of 5

This is a mixed reviewed, and I don’t want to sound negative, but read on.

First of all the accommodations are first rate. We found the place more charming than the photos show. The art on the walls and the furnishings, the views of the ocean were great. Plenty of rooms and comfortable bedding for all. Breakfast at Oceania was awesome and the Food Loin was close by.

The only real negative is that the property does not have a landline and essentially, no cell coverage. Among us we had 8 phones and only 1 got a very weak signal. So weak, that if we got through to someone, they hung up on us. Fortunately, we had rented bikes, and the weather was nice enough for us to pedal over to places to confirm their hours, which gave the older kids something to do. We were concerned about what we would do if we had an emergency and on Friday Night, we would have called the police if we could, the people next door and across the street shouted to each other well into the early hours of the morning. They weren't having a party, just a loud conversation. As we lay in bed, trying to understand how they would be so rude, it occurred to us that they probably didn't have phone coverage either. We would have asked them to meet between their 2 properties, but were worried about what we would do if they became hostile.

Kitty Hawk is less than an hour away. There we hang glided, visited the Wright Brother Memorial, played mini-golf, ate lots of ice cream and fudge.

While we do think this is the perfect spot for people with young children, for those with teenagers, they might as well be in Antarctica.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
3

Beautiful Places but without phone coverage

  • 3 of 5

This is a mixed reviewed, and I don’t want to sound negative, but read on.

First of all the accommodations are first rate. We found the place more charming than the photos show. The art on the walls and the furnishings, the views of the ocean were great. Plenty of rooms and comfortable bedding for all. Breakfast at Oceania was awesome and the Food Loin was close by.

The only real negative is that the property does not have a landline and essentially, no cell coverage. Among us we had 8 phones and only 1 got a very weak signal. So weak, that if we got through to someone, they hung up on us. Fortunately, we had rented bikes, and the weather was nice enough for us to pedal over to places to confirm their hours, which gave the older kids something to do. We were concerned about what we would do if we had an emergency and on Friday Night, we would have called the police if we could, the people next door and across the street shouted to each other well into the early hours of the morning. They weren’t having a party, just a loud conversation. As we lay in bed, trying to understand how they would be so rude, it occurred to us that they probably didn’t have phone coverage either. We would have asked them to meet between their 2 properties, but were worried about what we would do if they became hostile.

Kitty Hawk is less than an hour away. There we hang glided, visited the Wright Brother Memorial, played mini-golf, ate lots of ice cream and fudge.

While we do think this is the perfect spot for people with young children, for those with teenagers, they might as well be in Antarctica.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Penn H, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are so glad that you thought our accommodations were first rate. We greatly appreciate your comments and suggestions. We are truly apologetic that you had a rough bunch of people across the street. We have had our beach homes in Avon for many years, and have never encountered a rough crowd. Hopefully, that does not keep you and your family from visiting us in the future. As for the cell coverage and land line. We discontinued our landline due to the excessive use of cell phones these days, I guess we felt that maybe a landline was outdated - apparently, we were wrong. We will take into consideration possibly re- adding a land line next season. Thank you for your thoughts and we are happy that you enjoyed our home. Thank you. The Alls Family
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
Downingtown PA
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at Lattitude Adjustment! It was the perfect location, the pool was amazing and the hot tub was great for evenings after the pool or beach. The home was great for our family, even our little beagle loved it!! The views from the main deck were stunning in the morning at sunrise, and you could even hear the waves from the ocean the home was that close to the beach.

The only negative, which wasn't that bad, was there was no OnDemand options on the tv-which most homes have, so if we would've gotten a few days of rain, it would've been a little tricky after we ran out of things to do :) . But, as I said, we had PERFECT weather the entire trip and we were hardly inside other than to get ready for dinner or for my son to take quick breaks from the sun :) .

It was a memorable vacation, relaxing , and great to spend so much time all together in a beautiful beach home in the OBX -

We already booked for next year!!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
22 0
Moneta Virginia
4

Nice Place

  • 4 of 5

Everything was great other than there is no community bathroom. You must go through one of the bedrooms in order to get to a bathroom. Other than that, it was great.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0

Map

Rates & Availability

Avon House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
OFF FALL
Oct 22 2016 - Dec 31 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
 
OFF SEASON
Jan 1 2017 - Apr 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,550
 
 
VALUE SPRING
Apr 15 2017 - May 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,750
 
 
MID SPRING
May 20 2017 - Jun 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,575
 
 
PRIME
Jun 10 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,195
 
 
MID FALL
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,900
 
 
VALUE FALL
Sep 16 2017 - Oct 20 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,700
 
 
OFF SEASON
Oct 21 2017 - Dec 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 11.75%

* VRBO's automated quote service is not accurate with this property. For actual costs, contact homeowner for valid quote*

VISA OR MASTER CARD WITH 3% PROCESSING FEE. HOME IS NOT RESERVED UNTIL DEPOSIT HAS BEEN RECEIVED.

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Avon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2), Bunk Beds (1) Pryamid bunk bed with a double on the bottom. Bed Linens Included.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shelling
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
Notes:
FRIDAY TO FRIDAY BOOKINGS

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties