check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ron & Susan Oleson

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Historical Ambience, 3 min to downtown, convention/cnt/Zoo Sleeps 2-8

24 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Golden Hill House Rental Photos and Description

Surrounded by tropical ambiance this cozy and charming one bedroom house is the perfect place to get away. Comfortably sleeping up to 8 people, the kitchen is spacious with a table for 6. Located in the heart of the old, unique and beautiful neighborhood of Golden Hill, this is a prime location for a visit to San Diego. Located on a side street there is ample, safe and free parking. This

Within just a few blocks you have the choice of delicious local eateries. Cook your own steak at the legendary Turf Club, enjoy Humberto’s famous carne asada fries, or have a stone oven pizza while enjoying the outdoor patio of Luigis.

Just 4 minutes away you can visit the baby panda’s at the zoo or take in a museum and a walk through beautiful Balboa Park. Head less than 1 mile straight down Broadway into the lively downtown, Gaslamp or Little Italy.Extremely convenient for Convention Center visits. If you are too tuckered after a busy day downtown, grab a bus as it drops you off just 1/2 block from the bungalow. Want to see a spectacular view of the San Diego bay? Hop on the ferry and cross the bay to Coronado for a day on the island. Golden Hill has easy access to all the major San Diego highways, making a trip to most San Diego beaches just 10-20 minutes away.

The bungalow is the perfect home away from home to return to after a funfilled day in San Diego. Beautiful 9 ft high ceilings and an antique fireplace in the living room With granite countertops and stainless steal appliances, the kitchen provides all the amnemities needed to cook your own fish tacos! Pots, pans, cooking utensils, dishes are all provided. Sit under the avocado tree, and enjoy the dual BBQ and charcoal grill on the newly designed shared patio/lounge area while relaxing in our comfy lounge chairs.

Sit back on the couch and enjoy the flat screen tv with HDTV or hop on the internet with our free WiFi. Did your clothes get sandy at the beach? We have on site laundry with complimentary soap provided.

Each room is decorated with the comforts of home in mind. Sheets, towels and blankets are all provided as well as dish soap, toilet paper and paper towels.

Your safety and peace are our priority and we provide 24hour video survellience for the extra layer of security.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Ron & Susan Oleson (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Ron & Susan Oleson

Retired college professor is owner. Since we travel extensively, we are familiar with amenities that people desire. Spend time making sure Decor in unit is restive and comfortable. We use experienced and honest staff for cleaning/gardening. Owner is bilingual, Spanish for those from Spanish-speaking countries.

Ron & Susan Oleson purchased this house in 1990

Why Ron & Susan Oleson chose San Diego

Very centrally located; less than one mile to Bay of San Diego, and 10 minutes over the bridge to Coronado with it's own beaches & Historic Hotel. Zoo & Balboa Park are a must see with it's multiple museums, Spanish Village free art studios, & great restaurants & close to Park. From this unit you can reach the park in 4 minutes. Also, Balboa Park Golf Course is 5 blocks away. Beaches are 20 minutes away on freeways; going East Casinos in 30 minutes.

What makes this house unique

Original house was built by famous architect, Gill. Has leaded glass windows with coved ceilings; 135 years old. Has been updated with heating/air conditioning. The one bedroom is very large with plenty of windows in all of the rooms. The decor is soothing and makes a comfortable stay for any couple or small family.

Reviews

4.4
based on 24 traveler reviews

Historical Ambience, 3 min to downtown, convention/cnt/Zoo Sleeps 2-8
average rating of 4.4166665 based on 24 reviews
Waukesha, WI
5

Wonderful Experience!

  • 5 of 5

My family rented this Golden Hill house while staying in San Diego for my sister's wedding. The location is PRIME. We were a mile away from the reception site downtown at the Palomar Hotel, walking distance to a pre-wedding reception at CounterPoint restaurant and bar, and walking distance to our daily morning coffee at Influx. This home is quaint and exactly as described and pictured online. It was clean and well supplied with all of the amenities you'd need while on vacation. We appreciated Terry's quick response to any questions we had along the way, and found it a very easy process, as this was our first experience with VRBO. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 13
5

Charming, convenient to everything

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 7 stayed in this cute home while visiting San Diego for 3 nights. It is charming and convenient to everything. We visited the waterfront, Balboa Park, Ocean Beach, Coronado, Little Italy, Old Town, La Jolla, Torrey Pines. It was a perfect "home base", was clean and well maintained. Loved the convenience of having a washer/dryer to use. The beds were adequate--majority of the sleeping arrangements were futons, as shown, so OK, but not the most comfortable. The one bed in the bedroom was very soft and fluffy--so much so that I sort of felt like I was rolling off the bed unless I laid smack in the middle of the bed. I would definitely recommend this property. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us! I do have one suggestion for owners---the master bathroom shower curtain could use a plastic/vinyl liner. The existing fabric curtain does not prevent water from spraying through--totally soaking the floor and leaking onto the bedroom carpet.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute little unit! Close to beaches.

  • 4 of 5

The owners were great to work with. One of the shower heads was leaking and they put a new one in within a few hours. The space was very clean and nicely remodeled.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Enjoyed our time

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our time in San Diego. This was very close to several places to eat. The house was very clean and very attractive inside. We had our son and his wife and two girls and our dog with us. The house had everything we could have needed. There were even boogie boards for the girls to use, water was to cold for us adults but kids didn't mind, haha! Thank you for sharing your home with us. The only negative was that because we had so many we needed to use all of th futons so in the evenings there was no place comfortable to sit and relax and watch TV but it wasn't a big deal.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

A disappointing stay

  • 2 of 5

We stayed here for 8 nights in june/july 2015, 2 adults and 2 "children", aged 18 & 20. Im afraid we, as a family, were all very disappointed with both the accommodation and the area. On our arrival we were greeted with a stale smell in the living room, left in part by the half finished coffee cup sitting on the desk. Goodness knows how long that had been there. In the bedroom, which is a great size, the hoover had been left plugged in and stretched across the room,although the carpet had not been cleaned! Although only small issues, it did not help our first impressions. The main bed was very comfortable, however neither of the other beds were. In addition the sheets and pillow cases for the other beds appeared to be years old and definitely need replacing! Once settled in the fun started!! The walls are paper thin which is a big problem. During our stay one of the units were having some work done. Unfortunately this unit was next to the main bedroom. Our neighbour started banging and hammering at 7am, and with the walls being so thin it was like he was working at the end if our bed!!! I emailed Terry and Kate asking if they could contact the owner, if they knew him, and ask if he could delay his work until 9am. I got no response!!! I emailed a 2nd time with another issue which they answered, but still they never responded to my request about the noise.

The unit is quite a distance from the town, so walking was a problem, especially as one family member has mobility issues. We did have a car, but parking in the town is not easy! Unfortunately we were unable to find any nice restaurants or cafes in the immediate area to spend our time.

All in all a big disappointment, and not a property that i would recommend to friends and family

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Patricia for your feedback. Unfortunately you arrived shortly before check in time and were were in the process of finishing up cleaning The house cleaner was drinking a cup of coffee while cleaning, so it was just a couple of hours old. We are happy to hear you found the bed comfortable. When we received your email about the noise we contacted the people doing to construction, which is why the noise stopped after you contacted us. We did email you back to let you know that it should not be a problem any longer. We are sorry you did not receive we were having difficulty with our outgoing emails. We are surprised you found downtown to be too far away. It is actually just one mile away, about a 20 minute walk. In addition, the bus stop is just 1/2 block away and the #2 bus goes straight downtown. Again, we are surprised you were unable to find an eatery in the area. 2 blocks away there is Humberto's, legendary Mexican Food, Panchitas, fresh Mexican bakery, Kabob House, a brand new Russian eatery, Turf Club cook your own steaks, 2 coffee houses, Luigi's wood fired pizza and a wine bar. These are located within a 2 block radius of the apartment. We again are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Kate and Terry
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

we loved staying here, comfortably slept 5 within short walking distance golden hill and a longer walk to downtown. It was very convenient having the driveway and 1 showers!

  • Submitted: May 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jessica for taking the time to write us a lovely review. We loved to read that you enjoyed your stay, and the easy access to San Diego fun. You are welcome back anytime and we hope to see you again. Terry and Kate
Did you find this review helpful?
0 6

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Lindbergh Field
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
On Broadway, goes to Coronado
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Mission Beach
Car: recommended

Just 4 minutes away you can visit the baby panda’s at the zoo or take in a museum and a walk through beautiful Balboa Park. Head about 1 miles straight down Broadway into the lively downtown, Gaslamp or Little Italy, extremely convenient for Convention Center visits. If you are too tuckered after a busy day downtown, grab a bus as it drops you off just 1/2 block from the bungalow. Want to see a spectacular view of the San Diego bay? Hop on the ferry and cross the bay to Coronado for a day on the island. Golden Hill has easy access to all the major San Diego highways, making a trip to most San Diego beaches just 10-20 minutes away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Golden Hill House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$154
$975
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $90
Pet Fee $25

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Golden Hill House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Two separate bathrooms which makes it convenient for larger groups.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 8
  • King size bed (1) Pillow-top mattress that is super comfy., Baby Cribs (1) Brand new crib stored in master bedroom closet., 3 Sofa beds 55"x 76" Double/Standard sleeps 8
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Good location, comfortable setting, bus line on corner. If you have a car, beaches are 10 minutes away. 1 mile from the convention center.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties