check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Vacasa, OR - Mt Hood / Hood River

Member since: 2001
Speaks: english

Modern, cozy mountain retreat with hot tub!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Rhododendron House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Huckleberry Haven: A Rhododendron vacation rental cabin feel with modern appeal!

This vacation rental cabin is a cozy two bedroom offering two full bathrooms. Snuggle up next to the wood fire while watching your favorite shows, entertain friends in the great room or take a dip in the hot tub after an adventurous day.

A bright and cheerful retreat right in the heart of the Mt. Hood National Forest, this cabin is nestled between Steel Creek and the ZigZag River. Both waterways are just a short jaunt from the front steps of the cabin. Stroll over the footbridge set above the ZigZag River to the little village of Rhododendron, where you can rent a movie or buy a bottle of wine.

Looking for adventure?

The historic Timberline Lodge is the ultimate stop for skiing, boarding and gourmet dining. The lodge is about 15 minutes away from Huckleberry Haven. Hiking and biking options are endless! Visit the ZigZag Ranger Station for maps of the surrounding trails. French's Dome is a lone andesite crag located on the flanks of Mt. Hood. The setting is quiet and tranquil, and invokes a feeling of solitude in the old-growth forest.

Spectacular views of Mt. Hood abound, and crowds are few. Perhaps your an angler or fly fisher. World-class Salmon and Steelhead fishing can be found along the Sandy River.

The Huckleberry Haven is your ticket to adventure!

Please use the link below to check real time availability, view more pictures, and book securely online!

Vacasa - Vacation Rentals Made Easy:

Professionally managed and cleaned homes

Local assistance 24/7 for emergencies

Secure INSTANT booking

www.vacasa.com/unit.php?UnitID=553&HALI=1

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Vacasa, OR - Mt Hood / Hood River (Property Manager)
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english

About Vacasa, OR - Mt Hood / Hood River

Thanks for considering a Vacasa home! We provide full-service management for privately owned vacation homes, and like to think that we offer our guests the best of both worlds: the unique experience of staying in a one-of-a-kind vacation home, with the peace of mind that comes from knowing that the home you book for your special vacation is cared for by professional housekeepers and property managers.

<br>

<br>

Vacasa began in 2009, simply because our founder and CEO Eric wanted to find a better way to share his wife’s family’s summer home in Long Beach, Washington with guests as a vacation rental. Eric and his early team worked to build Vacasa on the premise that local employees can do what they love most (taking care of guests, homeowners, and properties), while the hands-off tasks of vacation rental management—things like marketing, filing taxes, and maintaining a website—could be handled by a specialized central support team.

<br>

<br>

Our passion is connecting travelers with the unique experience of staying in a vacation home, and we would be honored to be your host. Please contact us with any questions about this home—our team is standing by!

Reviews

3/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)
Modern, cozy mountain retreat with hot tub!
average rating of 3.0 based on 4 reviews
2

Cute - but not comfy

  • 2 of 5

Cute little house when you arrive. We didn't mind the closeness of other houses which several folks on HomeAway complained about. But when you start to get settled, several things made this house uncomfortable. Their description is a bit extravagant: "great amenities, and an unsparing taste for elegance."

The house was cold when we arrived (they ask you to turn the thermostat to 55 before you leave). The hot tub wasn't even warm so we couldn't use it until the 2nd day. When we did get in, it smelled really moldy and gross, so we only used it for 10 minutes, but paid $10/day for it. The beds were uncomfortably soft. The TV screen was broken, and no wifi meant no shows or movies.

Probably won't be staying here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful place we will be back for sure

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful place we will be back for sure

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Cozy property, Cheap amenities

  • 3 of 5

This place is cozy. It's cute. My friends and I had a great time. We cooked a bunch of food, drank beer and wine, hot tubbed, hiked, walked by the river, explored at night, and made fires. Totally worth it.

Negatives:

Probably the most bother some was that "One fire will be included with the stay." They left us 1 log. ONE log. No kindling, no paper, 1 quarter round. I'm going to leave out the expletive even though that seriously infuriated me. We also arrived with the cabin at 55 degrees. I've worked in hospitality and you don't do that. It's seriously cheap. We also found numerous wet dish towels in the cabinet in the kitchen which is just kinda gross.

Once we found the stash of cord wood outside I was a lot happier.

To echo another poster, the beds were definitely soft, so heads up.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Oregon
2

Cute Cabin but with issues.

  • 2 of 5

This is an adorable cabin, but it has issues and restrictions that a potential customer should know about prior to contracting with the property management company. First of all, its surrounded by other cabins. Everything is very close, and very crowded. Ants are a problem, at least in the summer. The cabin smells musty and damp. (They could fix this with a dehumidifier.) The beds are super soft (not in a good way) but if you like that you are in luck. They allow dogs, but not on the beds or furniture (they should tell you this upfront). Apparently the neighbors are full-time residence and they call the police after 10pm if you are noisy which wouldn't take much given their close proximity. There is an open space behind the cabin that leads to the edge of the river, but you can't use it because it's private property and not well marked until you are already trespassing. The inside is cute, the kitchen seems to be well stocked and the owner has made the place inviting. Unfortunately, the smell took away from the cabin and made it uninviting. With a few tweaks, and full disclosure this could be a great place.

The property management company, Vacasa, is eager to take your money, but not eager to respond to issues. An email was sent around mid-night of the first night we arrived indicating our dissatisfaction, and we didn't receive a response until 11pm, almost 24hr later. I would avoid any properties managed by Vacasa.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to see that this cabin was not a good fit for you and that we apologize that we were slow to respond to your email; we are doing our best to keep up with the busy summer season and are sorry to see it negatively affected your stay. We will do our best to get rid of the ants and will ask the owner about a dehumidifier. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the house and hope you were able to relax in the hot tub.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking. For a full rate quote and live availability, please contact us or visit the Vacasa.com website!
  • .
  • US Dollar
  • .
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rhododendron House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Parking
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties