Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Modern, cozy, dog-friendly mountain retreat w/private hot tub & central location

Bedrooms 2
Space 701 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 4

Huckleberry Haven: A Rhododendron vacation rental cabin feel with modern appeal!

This vacation rental cabin is a cozy two bedroom offering two full bathrooms. Snuggle up next to the wood fire while watching your favorite shows, entertain friends in the great room or take a dip in the hot tub after an adventurous day.

A bright and cheerful retreat right in the heart of the Mt. Hood National Forest, this cabin is nestled between Steel Creek and the ZigZag River. Both waterways are just a short jaunt from the front steps of the cabin. Stroll over the footbridge set above the ZigZag River to the little village of Rhododendron, where you can rent a movie or buy a bottle of wine.

Looking for adventure?

The historic Timberline Lodge is the ultimate stop for skiing, boarding and gourmet dining. The lodge is about 15 minutes away from Huckleberry Haven. Hiking and biking options are endless! Visit the ZigZag Ranger Station for maps of the surrounding trails. French's Dome is a lone andesite crag located on the flanks of Mt. Hood. The setting is quiet and tranquil, and invokes a feeling of solitude in the old-growth forest.

Spectacular views of Mt. Hood abound, and crowds are few. Perhaps your an angler or fly fisher. World-class Salmon and Steelhead fishing can be found along the Sandy River. There are plenty of great places for walking your dogs - they're more than welcome for a small nightly fee.

The Huckleberry Haven is your ticket to adventure!

* Please note that there is no wifi at the home and cell service can be spotty in this area.

More Details

Property Manager
Vacasa, OR - Mt Hood / Hood River Office
Member since: 2001
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2018

About Vacasa, OR - Mt Hood / Hood River Office

Thanks for considering a Vacasa home! We provide full-service management for privately owned vacation homes, and like to think that we offer our guests the best of both worlds: the unique experience of staying in a one-of-a-kind vacation home, with the peace of mind that comes from knowing that the home you book for your special vacation is cared for by professional housekeepers and property managers.



Vacasa began in 2009, simply because our founder and CEO Eric wanted to find a better way to share his wife’s family’s summer home in Long Beach, Washington with guests as a vacation rental. Eric and his early team worked to build Vacasa on the premise that local employees can do what they love most (taking care of guests, homeowners, and properties), while the hands-off tasks of vacation rental management—things like marketing, filing taxes, and maintaining a website—could be handled by a specialized central support team.



Our passion is connecting travelers with the unique experience of staying in a vacation home, and we would be honored to be your host. Please contact us with any questions about this home—our team is standing by!


Rhododendron Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 701 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub


3.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
Modern, cozy, dog-friendly mountain retreat w/private hot tub & central location
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 6 reviews

Cozy cabin in a great area

  • 5 of 5

We loved this little place. It was perfect for our family of 4 + a dog. Cabin was well stocked and is clearly a much loved family retreat. Nice and clean and a good hot tub as well. Far enough from the highway that we didn’t hear the road. Close access to ski areas, restaurants, and groceries.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely stay/ some needed approvements could make it an easy 5 star!

  • 3 of 5

This place is so adorable! It was just my husband and I but you could comfortably have 6 people. The hot tub was a priority of ours and it was hot, clean and ready when we got there. The location is cool how it is set back in the woods. A heads up on the road conditions would have been good to know as the terrain was rough and a small car could have slight troubles. Also, you can only see the road sogn from one direction and it was set back. There was no wifi, which is fine, but we also didn't have any service using our own data. It would be nice if that was highlighted better. It didn't look like much extetior up keep had been done with sweeping the deck, etc. Also, not sure if this was a VRBO or VACASA thing (they may be the same thing) but a 4pm check in was later than we expected. They have instructions for you to gather dirty bedding and clean the dishes, etc which seemed funny especially because their cleaning fee was so high. Overall, great stay. With a little more attention to detail, this place would be awesome. I probably won't go through VACASA again. I didn't like the corporate non-personal feel of it.

The mountain was fabulous!!

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Cute - but not comfy

  • 2 of 5

Cute little house when you arrive. We didn't mind the closeness of other houses which several folks on HomeAway complained about. But when you start to get settled, several things made this house uncomfortable. Their description is a bit extravagant: "great amenities, and an unsparing taste for elegance."

The house was cold when we arrived (they ask you to turn the thermostat to 55 before you leave). The hot tub wasn't even warm so we couldn't use it until the 2nd day. When we did get in, it smelled really moldy and gross, so we only used it for 10 minutes, but paid $10/day for it. The beds were uncomfortably soft. The TV screen was broken, and no wifi meant no shows or movies.

Probably won't be staying here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Beautiful place we will be back for sure

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful place we will be back for sure

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Cozy property, Cheap amenities

  • 3 of 5

This place is cozy. It's cute. My friends and I had a great time. We cooked a bunch of food, drank beer and wine, hot tubbed, hiked, walked by the river, explored at night, and made fires. Totally worth it.


Probably the most bother some was that "One fire will be included with the stay." They left us 1 log. ONE log. No kindling, no paper, 1 quarter round. I'm going to leave out the expletive even though that seriously infuriated me. We also arrived with the cabin at 55 degrees. I've worked in hospitality and you don't do that. It's seriously cheap. We also found numerous wet dish towels in the cabinet in the kitchen which is just kinda gross.

Once we found the stash of cord wood outside I was a lot happier.

To echo another poster, the beds were definitely soft, so heads up.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Cute Cabin but with issues.

  • 2 of 5

This is an adorable cabin, but it has issues and restrictions that a potential customer should know about prior to contracting with the property management company. First of all, its surrounded by other cabins. Everything is very close, and very crowded. Ants are a problem, at least in the summer. The cabin smells musty and damp. (They could fix this with a dehumidifier.) The beds are super soft (not in a good way) but if you like that you are in luck. They allow dogs, but not on the beds or furniture (they should tell you this upfront). Apparently the neighbors are full-time residence and they call the police after 10pm if you are noisy which wouldn't take much given their close proximity. There is an open space behind the cabin that leads to the edge of the river, but you can't use it because it's private property and not well marked until you are already trespassing. The inside is cute, the kitchen seems to be well stocked and the owner has made the place inviting. Unfortunately, the smell took away from the cabin and made it uninviting. With a few tweaks, and full disclosure this could be a great place.

The property management company, Vacasa, is eager to take your money, but not eager to respond to issues. An email was sent around mid-night of the first night we arrived indicating our dissatisfaction, and we didn't receive a response until 11pm, almost 24hr later. I would avoid any properties managed by Vacasa.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to see that this cabin was not a good fit for you and that we apologize that we were slow to respond to your email; we are doing our best to keep up with the busy summer season and are sorry to see it negatively affected your stay. We will do our best to get rid of the ants and will ask the owner about a dehumidifier. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the house and hope you were able to relax in the hot tub.
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking.
  • .
  • US Dollar
  • .