Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

TIRED OF THE ORDINARY BEACH CONDO RENTAL?? Then try our home...you'll love it.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Our beautiful beachfront, 3 bedroom/2 bath, 8th floor condo in the 'B' building at the desirable Summer House complex is where you want to be. The B building is the one closest to the beach and, unlike Building A, has unrestricted beach views (Building A's view to the west is blocked by Building B). We purchased this dream in June 2012 and invite you to be our guests in our long-awaited beach home. We have been coming to Orange Beach several times a year since 2005 and have learned what we like and dislike about rental condos. We don’t like white/beige walls, wicker and bamboo furniture, and cheap beach décor that owners often put in their units because it’s strictly an investment for them. This truly is our second home, and we welcome you to enjoy it as we do, to create memories, recharge your batteries, and escape your worries. In our condo you will find a warm, soothing, beachy wall color, comfortable furniture, and classy décor that lets you know you’re on vacation at the beach without screaming it at you. We’ve updated the entire unit.

We chose Summer House because it is in a perfect location just 5 miles east of highway 59, and within walking distance to shops and restaurants, is gated, has indoor/outdoor pools, a sauna, hot tub, tennis, handball, and basketball courts, playground, exercise room, free wi-fi, and grilling area.

One of the best features of this complex is the private, massive balcony that overlooks the Gulf and beautiful white sand. This unit has unrestricted beach views in both east and west directions. There is so much space that it will accommodate everyone with plenty of room to spare, and yet it’s cozy so that you and your loved one can enjoy the romantic sunsets. And you'll want to spend a lot of time out on the balcony because we've furnished it with soft, cushioned furniture. No cheap plastic or uncomfortable furniture here! There is access to the balcony from both the living room and master bedroom.

The living room features all newer, comfortable furniture including a queen-sized sleeper sofa (which has an awesome memory foam mattress - you can't even tell you're sleeping on a sofa), a flat screen tv, a dvd/vcr player, and blackout curtains so anyone sleeping on the sofa can sleep as late as they want without the sun waking them up early in the morning.

The kitchen has been remodeled with new cabinets, countertops, appliances, custom stone backsplash, and is fully-stocked with everything you will need to cook any kind of meal. There is even a built-in ice maker so that you never run out of ice. And we have plenty of plasticware so that you can safely take your beverages/meals out on the balcony, down to the pool, or onto the beach without fear of breaking glass.

The master suite features a tiled floor, king-sized mattress, upscale furniture and bedding, a flat screen smart tv (so you can watch a movie on your Netflix account), dvd/vcr player, and room-darkening curtains so that you can sleep in if you want to. The en-suite bathroom has all been updated beautifully. It now has a tiled, walk-in shower with glass doors, new vanity with granite countertop, and new lighting.

One of the guest bedrooms features a queen-sized bed and the other guest room has two queen beds. Both rooms have high thread count, super soft sheets, tiled floors, ceiling fans, plantation shutters, flat screen tvs/dvd players, and share the guest bathroom (which was also totally gutted).

The unit also has a full-sized washer and dryer, clothes iron/ironing board, board games, books, kid dvds, and even a high chair, pack-n-play, and a bouncy seat for your little one so you don’t need to bring it from home.

Please keep in mind that Summer House is one of the nicest complexes on the beach and has every amenity, is gated, extremely well maintained, and is beachfront. You will be able to find less expensive complexes, but they won't be the same.

POLICIES: Absolutely no renters under age 25. This is strictly enforced. A copy of the renter's drivers license will be required and must be returned along with the rental contract which will be emailed to you upon the reservation being made. Absolutely no smoking in the unit. If there is a smell of smoke or any other evidence in the unit upon check out, you will be charged an extra cleaning fee. No pets of any kind are allowed. This is the Summer House policy, not ours. Our unit is spotlessly clean and well maintained and these are ways that we keep it that way. If any of these policies are abused, the renter will be evicted and no rental fees will be returned.

$250 security deposit required when reservation is made. This is refunded within 7 days of checkout date, provided there is no damage or theft of property. All rental fees are due 30 days prior to check-in date. If reservation is made within 30 days of check-in date, all fees are due at time of reservation. Check and credit cards are accepted. THE CANCELLATION POLICY AS SHOWN BY VRBO ON THIS SITE IS INCORRECT. Owners have to select one of the 4 pre-set VRBO options available to show on the listing and can't create a custom one, so we just have to pick one that isn't correct. My policy is as follows: The security deposit is non-refundable if reservation is cancelled. Cancellations 30 days before arrival full refund except security deposit. Cancellations 30 to 7 days before arrival will be refunded 1/2 of rental amount, and no cancellations later than 7 days before arrival.

My calendar is kept up-to-date, so please check it before contacting me regarding availability.

More Details

Property Manager
Cindy Porter
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 25, 2017

About Cindy Porter

We live in the Nashville area, have been spending time in Orange Beach since 2005, and have dreamed of owning a beach condo there ever since. We are so excited our dream has came true and we look forward to sharing it with you. We are the parents of two boys, ages 12 and 9 and they're growing up loving OBA as much as we do. If you're visiting OBA for the first time, we know you'll love the area just as much as we do. If you're a returning visitor, we hope your upcoming visit will be your best one yet. Please let us know if we can help you in any way. We are very familiar with the area and have a lot of recommendations for good food, fun things to do, and even some great places to go on a short day trip.

Cindy Porter purchased this condo in 2012

Why Cindy Porter chose Alabama Gulf Coast

We rented a unit in Summer House several years ago and loved the property. When it came time to purchase one, we narrowed it down to three complexes based on our 'required items' the complex had to have. After looking at the three complexes, the other two didn't compare to SH. They just couldn't compete with the location, the amenities, the environment, and the overall package that SH offers.

What makes this condo unique

Beautiful, spacious, beachfront pool area, gated entrance, complex cleanliness, family-friendly environment, indoor pool for those yucky weather days, huge balcony for all of the time you spend outside enjoying the view, convenient location.

Amenities

Orange Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 8
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Both bathrooms were completely gutted and remodeled in November 2012.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • King size beds (1) Super comfy mattress!, Queen size Beds (3) Guest Room 1 has a queen and Guest Room 2 has two queen beds. Baby Cribs (1) We have a pack-n-play for your convenience, along with a high chair/booster and a bouncy seat. So, you don't have to lug all of that with you from home. :-)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Lit tennis courts, handball and basketball courts, grassy area directly in front of building where the kids can run around, sauna, gated entrance, sun deck, short boardwalk to beach with a wide, uncrowded beach area.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
TIRED OF THE ORDINARY BEACH CONDO RENTAL?? Then try our home...you'll love it.
average rating of 4.888889 based on 45 reviews
5

Great family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We vacationed and stayed in Cindy's beautiful condo from July 15th - 21st and had a wonderful time. From the moment we booked our vacation, Cindy was immediately a wonderful host. She was answering my many questions and doing so in a very timely manner. I had no doubt that she was available for any issues the entire time before, during or after our vacation. Her condo was perfect for our family and it was beautifully decorated. The kitchen had plenty of room and the cabinets had plenty of dishes/serving utensils that you would need for meals, etc. The bathrooms/showers had very hot water. The ice maker was the best!! You do not realized how much ice you go through on a daily basis lol. We ate a couple of our meals outside on the balcony where we had a great view of the ocean. Getting back and forth to the beach was very easily accessible and no trouble. Overall, the only thing that could have been better was more time! We enjoyed everyday and my daughters and son-in-law are already making plans for next year's trip. Cindy's condo and her hospitality were everything you want when on vacation. Our family has wonderful memories, great stories and hilarious hashtags that made the trip one we will not forget. We will definitely be back!! Carrie Roberts Hot Springs, AR

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Ancient appliances--had to purchase coolers so food wouldn't ruin.

  • 2 of 5

Place seems to need a general update overall--bedding, cushions, etc. The ice machine was helpful and there was plenty of hot water!

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, what an unfair review. I must say I am completely shocked. First of all, let me just say that the appliances are nowhere near ancient. There isn't a single thing wrong with any of them. Granted, they aren't fancy or stainless steel, but they are just fine. What you failed to say is that you called me at 7:12 a.m to tell me that the refrigerator was not cooling normally and I immediately called the appliance repair service, and they came out and repaired the refrigerator just a few hours later. Unfortunately, appliances break occasionally, and the thermostat had went bad and needed replaced. Those things happen. Sorry that it happened while you were there. But, I don't appreciate that you didn't bother to say anything about how quickly it was taken care of by myself or the appliance repair service. I pride myself on taking care of my guests and my home. Now, as far as everything else needing an update, I personally find that offensive as I put more money and attention into keeping our home perfect then any other owner that I know. I am constantly purchasing new items and replacing things. In fact, I just left there yesterday and while I was there I replaced a bunch of bath towels, the rug on the balcony, the cushions on the balcony chaise lounges, and several decorative items. I also had all of the living room furniture, bedroom and living room drapes, the bedspreads, all of the tile inside and on the balcony, and the area rugs all professionally cleaned. I do all of that regularly. Since we purchased the condo five years ago, I have completely updated the whole unit and continuously do so. I can honestly say that no one gives their home more attention than I do. And I believe all of the wonderful, positive reviews and comments made by former guests and the fact that I have so many return guests will back that statement up. Take care.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Condo and easy access to beach.

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a great time. It was very relaxing and loved the patio! Definitely want to come back!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great for Families!

  • 5 of 5

We had two adults and two children under 5 at the condo. It had everything we needed: cooking equipment, room to move, and even a small toy box with activities for the kids. It was great! I may have missed the playground in the pictures, because I never saw one. However, it looked like the offices were across the street, so it is possible it was over there. We didn't venture out much. Also, the location is across the street from restaurants, grocery stores, and souvenir shops. This is the only place I've ever stayed where I thought I would actually come back. Thank you Cindy!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place and great owners.

  • 5 of 5

This is our 2nd time staying in this condo. Cindy is amazing to work with. We will be back again next year (hopefully). We had a group of 50 that stayed at the Summer House and it is in a great location.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great girls trip!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Cindy Porter for sharing your adorable condo with us older ladies that love the beach! We had a wonderful time! We spent a great deal of time on your fabulous balcony laughing and telling stories on each other! Pool was very nice and the weather was perfect. Hope to get this trip together again next year!! Love Summerhouse and your condo was great!!

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Summer House is located in a prime location 5 miles east of Highway 59 and within walking distance to several souvenir shops, grocery stores, restaurants, drug stores, etc. We are also located within a mile of go-kart tracks, miniature golf, amusement rides, and a 10 minute drive of Waterville. Our location can't be beat!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Orange Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Peak Summer
Jun 18 2017 - Aug 13 2017
3 night minimum stay
$380
$2,150
 
 
Early Fall
Aug 14 2017 - Sep 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,750
 
 
Fall
Sep 10 2017 - Sep 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$260
$1,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Sep 19 2017 - Sep 19 2017
5 night minimum stay
$260
$1,500
 
 
Fall
Sep 20 2017 - Oct 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$260
$1,500
 
 
Late Fall
Oct 9 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Winter
Dec 1 2017 - Feb 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,000
$1,950
 
 
Spring 2017
Mar 1 2018 - May 18 2018
3 night minimum stay
$310
$1,700
 
 
Early Summer
May 19 2018 - Jun 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$360
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Housekeeping $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

11% taxes and housekeeping fee of $125 are not included in the rates listed above.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties