check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

John Vollino

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Cozy Cute Historic Sea Spray Cottage #1

23 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Nags Head Cottage Rental Photos and Description

ANY QUESTIONS OR FOR A QUOTE, PLEASE EMAIL ME, JOHN, by CLICKING "SEND EMAIL" NEXT TO OUR PICTURE >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

IF YOUR DATES ARE NOT AVAILABLE IN COTTAGE #1, CHECK OUT OUR OTHER COTTAGES (there are 5 in total)- SEE THE LINK TO OUR WEBSITE AT THE BOTTOM LEFT OF THIS LISTING

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE "AVERAGE NIGHTLY STAY' IS A MEANINGLESS NUMBER WHAT IS RELEVANT IS THE RATE FOR THE DATES/WEEK YOU ARE INTERESTED IN

If you are looking for a unique vacation opportunity where you do not have to invite 25 of your closest friends and family members, Sea Spray Cottages is the place for you. The location is ideal, Mile Post 11.7, just south of Nags Head Pier and just north of Snow Bird's Soft Serve Ice Cream; you will be centrally located to many attractions.

Built in 1950, the cottages provide guests with a feel of what vacation was like on the Outer Banks during a less complicated era. The cottages are equipt with modern conveniences that will make your visit relaxing and enjoyable. Linens and towels not provided. Check in is at 3:30 and check out is at 10:00.

Our family use to vacation in this unit so it enjoys many personal touches that result from our living there for 2 years. The open floor plan is unique and lends itself to relaxed and enjoyable stay. We have also opened this cottage up to nightly stays, even during the summer, which is also unique to the outerbanks.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
John Vollino (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About John Vollino

My wife had been vacationing on the Outer Banks of North Carolina since she was an infant and introduced me to the area when we were dating. We purchased our first vacation cottage a year after we were married in 1991 and purchase the Sea Spray Cottage Court in 2007. The cottages were built in 1950; there are four in total.

John Vollino purchased this cottage in 2007

Why John Vollino chose Outer Banks

The cottages were slated for demolition and sale of the bare lots. We purchased the cottage court to save them from the wrecking ball. Our intent is to preserve and revitalize a little piece of old Nags Head so that we and others can enjoy a bit of history and vacation in a comfortable and uncomplicated way.

What makes this cottage unique

At the Sea Spray Cottages you will not have to vacation with 25 of your closest friends and family. Given the size of the cottages, you can enjoy your vacation with your immediate family or with a few close friends at a very affordable price. There is plenty to do in Nags Head including enjoying the beach, which is across the street. Cottage #1 has a large comfortable front porch were you can sit, enjoy your favorite beverage and watch the world go by.

Reviews

4.7
based on 23 traveler reviews

Cozy Cute Historic Sea Spray Cottage #1
average rating of 4.7391305 based on 23 reviews
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Very nice place to stay. All the comfort of home and a great location. John is very nice and good to do business with. I would recommend Sea Spray cottages to anyone.

Thanks for a great vacation.

Frank Regali

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location! Nice, clean, as advertised cottage.

  • 4 of 5

Great place. Located just out of range of all the chaos of the main drag. Easy walk to the beach and across from the dunes.

The four of us had plenty of room. The cottage seems bigger than the pictures suggest.

The beach is busy, suggest you take a day and visit the beaches closer to Hatteras if you're looking for a more secluded feel.

Would recommend for small family not looking to spend a ton of dough or vacation with 20 of their closest friends and relatives.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Baltimore, MD but Virginia girl at heart!
5

loved this cottage!

  • 5 of 5

Our happy place is the Outer Banks and we had never been there in December. We were there to make arrangements for our daughter's 2016 wedding. We usually vacation in the Corolla area but needed a place that would accommodate our dog. This cottage oozes charm. It was comfortable and incredibly clean. The owner was a pleasure to deal with and I would be happy to make a December trip to this Outer Banks home every year! You won't be disappointed with this rental!

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great cottage!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I had a great stay at this cottage. It's in a great location, and it's a charming yet comfortable place for a beach vacation. We would highly recommend it for couples or families and close friends. The owner was friendly and responsive, and everything was professionally managed. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love Sea Spray Cottages!

  • 5 of 5

Just lost a more expansive review but will quickly repeat: great cottage, very clean, fun retro old Nags Head experience with all the necessary comforts of home. Owner is awesome, was very accommodating when we were stressing out about Hurricane Joaquin possibly ruining our vacation. Thanks John, and thanks for preserving Old Nags Head with such care!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Salisbury, NC
4

Partial-week stay, kid- AND dog-friendly!

  • 4 of 5

The Sea Spray Cottage #1 was everything we needed for our trip. It was kid-friendly, dog-friendly, and close to everything AND we had the option for a partial-week rental (which can be a difficult list of pre-requisites!). The kitchen was well-equipped, the new outdoor shower was a bonus, the fenced-in area for the pup was perfect, and the porches were an added living space for all of us. I also appreciated being able to do laundry with no charge. This house is perfect for any family with a similar wish-list for a rental. The owner, was awesome to work with... accommodating, flexible, and quick to respond to all inquiries. This was really an easy rental, and I was so thankful not to have to wait in the long lines typical of beach rentals on "change-out day."

My only recommendation would be on cleanliness, but I guess this may come with the need of having a pet-friendly place. While the places you really want to be clean WERE clean (bedrooms, kitchen, bathroom), I couldn't help but notice other dogs' hair and dust in the annoying-to-clean places like under the coffee table, on the bookshelf, and on the legs of the chairs.

All of that said, I would definitely return to the Sea Spray Cottages for all of the good things mentioned about our stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and our flexibility in accommodating your vacation needs. I must apologize for the pet hair. Your stay followed a visit from regular guest that has two Bernese Mountain Dogs. The guest usually visits earlier in the season, but had a conflic with dates. The week they were in town the temperature prematurely skyrocked and the dogs starter to molt their coates. The other guest immediately contacted me to let me know they were doing all they could to minimise the impact. It took my cleaner, my wife, and I cleaning the cottage to get most of the hair up, but you must have experiences some of the residuals. I think it is gone by now. Just a reminder, if you have a pup that is not yet house trained or an older dog losing his or her faculties. please crate your pet. Many thanks. /john
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
across the street

Photos

Rates & Availability

Nags Head Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Mid-Season
Sep 18 2016 - Oct 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
$150
$1,000
 
 
Post-Mid
Oct 2 2016 - Oct 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
$125
$900
 
 
Off-Season
Oct 30 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$125
$700
 
 
Off Season
Jan 1 2017 - Apr 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
$800
 
 
Pre-Mid
Apr 2 2017 - Apr 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
$900
 
 
Mid-Season
Apr 30 2017 - May 13 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
$1,000
 
 
Value Season
May 14 2017 - May 27 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,100
 
 
Pre-Peak
May 28 2017 - Jun 10 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,300
 
 
Peak Season
Jun 11 2017 - Aug 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,750
 
 
Post-Peak
Aug 27 2017 - Sep 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,300
 
 
Value Season
Sep 3 2017 - Sep 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,100
 
 
Mid-Season
Sep 17 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
$1,000
 
 
Post-Mid
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
$900
 
 
Off Season
Oct 29 2017 - Mar 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$125
$800
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 12.75%

ALL RATES INCLUDE THE CLEANING FEE

Cottage #1 Rent nightly, even in the Summer; there is a 3 night minimum in the Summer, but we will allow less nights f there are less than 3 consecutive days open at a give point on the calendar.

It also rents weekly in the Summer starting any day.

Dogs are always welcome, but not more than two please. The pet fee is $50 for the two of them for the stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Nags Head Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Sheets not provided
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Sheets not provided
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , sheets not provided
  • We provide pillows, quilt and blankets. Sheets and towels not provided.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers