check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

'Walls of Glass on the Sand' Malibu oceanfront beach house

30 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
6 - 7 nights


Eastern Malibu Townhome Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom, 1 1/2 bath oceantfront unit


55 LINEAL FEET OF OCEANFRONT (a most significant asset)

23 LINEAL FEET OF OCEAN FACING GLASS ('Walls of Glass on the Sand')

BIG ROCK BEACH (malibu's most beautiful and picturesque beach)

50' OF CONTINUOUS BALCONY AND DECK (total outdoor dining and recreation)

'KEYLESS' PERSONAL CODE, KEY PAD ENTRY ('self' entry/secure stay)

attached, private beach access staircase with outdoor, hot water shower (warm rinse off).

night time surf lights for 100 yard surf light up at night (vacationer favorite)

reserved parking spot (absolute essential)

tile kitchen counter tops, stainless steel appliances, hardwood floors, Amelia Earhart ceiling fans, 55' HDTV's living room and bedrooms, WIFI, premium TV package






fully functional kitchen

two indoor dining and/or computer areas

outdoor dining area

king size bed

linens, towels and everything you need for your vacation (just bring your computer and cell phone)


CLOSE IN LOCATION just 10 minutes from Los Angeles.

AREA'S BEST SWIMMING AND BODY SURFING BEACH directly in front of the property.

ABOUT THE SAND AND THE EVER CHANGING BEACH: In the spring, the tide begins to carry sand in from the ocean and deposit it on the beach. The sand on the beach becomes deeper each week and by late summer can be several feet deep. During the winter, the process is reversed. The tide carries the sand back out to the ocean. At times, there can be no sand on the beach exposing cobble (football sized rocks ordinarily covered by sand) which can be difficult to walk on.

3 miles from Malibu City Center

beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards provided

bicycle and kayak rental nearby

shopping, supermarkets, restaurants, coffee houses in close proximity

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Don Tollefson
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 25, 2016
Call Owner

About Don Tollefson

I started out as a high school teacher in 1968. After 4 years I stopped that nonsense (it was a great job for which I wasn't suited) and went to law school. I passed the bar in 1979 and became an attorney (another great job for which I wasn't suited). That same year started a construction company. All along the way I bought property (back in the beginning property was cheap). In 2008 I added the vacation rental business. I still don't know what I'm going to be when I grow up. My insight? 'Youth is wasted on the young!'

Don Tollefson purchased this townhome in 1987

Why Don Tollefson chose Malibu

As a young man I never had much money (still don't). So even though property was cheap, I could only afford distress property and/or property in downtrodden areas. I mostly bought property in a nearby slum area called Venice (where I live to this day). I bought this particular Malibu vacation rental property as a distress property. It was in the Big Rock Mesa slide area. The slide area was a quarter mile section along the coast that was sliding aggressively toward Catalina Island. I gambled and it all worked out. Because the County stabilized the slide and everyone knows what happened in Venice. People tell me I was smart. But, I wasn't smart. I was lucky. My insight? If you have a choice between lucky and smart, pick lucky.

What makes this townhome unique

I'm 'unfamiliar places' and 'new things challenged.' Being thus 'challenged,' I'm aware of the frustrations that can accompany a vacation. So, I set things up so vacationers can 'hit the ground running.' My photos are unembellished. My video is unembellished. My booking process is dunce level simple. My follow up is compulsive every step of the way. I'm always accessible by phone, text or email. I provide a comprehensive printout for arrival. I've labeled light switches, fans, heaters and remote controls. I oversee cleaning. I oversee every turnover. I make certain everything is re-stocked, fully equipped and working. I refund security deposits promptly and make certain they clear. And I offer a 'repeat offender' discount for returning vacationers. My insight? It must be working because 25% of my vacationers are 'repeat offenders.'


based on 30 traveler reviews

'Walls of Glass on the Sand' Malibu oceanfront beach house
average rating of 4.9666667 based on 30 reviews

a perfect venue to relax.

  • 4 of 5

My family and I throughly enjoyed our stay. Having direct beach access and meals / sundowners on the deck definitely added to our whole experience during our visit. We spent hours on the beach with our 4 year old granddaughter and enjoyed the daily sightings of resident seals and occasional pods if Dolphins from the deck and through the walls of glass.

Owner, Don was extremely responsive from time of booking to check out. The unit itself served our needs well and accommodates up to

4 comfortably. Don has shared some future renovation / upgrade plans for the unit which should improve the overall functionality. We look forward to our next stay.

Sarah and Andrew / Brisbane Australia.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Andrew, it was indeed a pleasure have a vacationer come from far away Brisbane. I felt fortunate to have met you and Sarah and enjoyed the pictures of your fabulous home. I got some great ideas from the photographs and intend to incorporate some of them into "Walls of Glass on the Sand in the near future. Don
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Thompson family - Solihull, England..

  • 5 of 5

What a great time we all had, Don's Wall of Glass on the sand did not disappoint, the accommodation had everything required for a Ocean front rental.

Waking up to pods of Dolphins swimming by and cheeky hello's from the Seals was a perfect start to a perfect holiday day. One morning a Whale even gave us a visit.

This accommodation is a perfect base for exploring all California has to offer.

My family (2 teenagers) loved the beach and its privacy. Reading on the sand or on the deck with a cold beer or glass of wine at the end of the day ticked all the boxes.

With Supermarkets, restaurants all close and Malibu and Santa Monica 5 minutes away made for a hassle free holiday.

Don was great and easy to communicate with. We will be back as we all had the best of times and will return to this special place.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Paul, for a great positive guest review. I agree, the location is amazing. I like people to think that years ago when I purchased the property it was due to my uncanny vision into the future value of its location. But, the truth is, it was just "dumb luck." The property was substantially discounted due to a myriad of problems and it was the only property I could afford. I won't tell if you won't! Come back soon and ask for my special "European Repeat Offender" discount. Don
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Point Pleasant, N.J.

Bill D. Point Pleasant, N.J.

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough about this rental ! Don (the owner) was a pleasure to deal with ! Very kind and assists with all needs and questions pronto ! The view is amazing ! Dream come true- falling to sleep listening to the ocean waves ! My family and I LOVED this special place ! The unit has everything you need to get settled in quickly ! I truly could have sat on the beach or deck for 7 days straight ! Very few people on the beach !! WONDERFUL Time in Malibu !!! Thank you Don !!!!!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Bill. Your comment about not very many people ever being on the beach is the first time a vacationer has mentioned it in the 7 years "Walls of Glass on the Sand" has been a vacation rental. I never really thought about it, but, Big Rock Beach is really a secluded, infrequently used beach. It has poor public access and there is dry sand only during parts of the summer. This combination is probably the reason. There are certainly better beaches. But, they are packed with people. Thanks for mentioning it. Don
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Place -- Exactly as Described

  • 5 of 5

This place on the ocean was great -- exactly as described -- just very tough to leave it on the last day!

Excellent communication and prompt deposit refund. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Gary, great guest response. Cuts right to the chase without a lot of verbiage. You're the first to ever mention my prompt refund of the security deposit. That's a surprise because it's important so many vacationers (I generally get security deposits charged back the day of departure). Don
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Paradise Valley, AZ

This place is outstanding!

  • 5 of 5

While this is an older house, if you are looking for a great place to relax on the beach it gets no better! The house is clean, well equipped, sleeps 4, and the view is spectacular! You are literally 100ft from the water...less during high tide. the stretch of beach in front of the house has no rocks and great waves to surf and body board. The owner, Don, is very helpful and a very nice man. If you are looking for a beach get away it gets no better!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Baron. It's definitely an older house. Built in 1946. But, remodeled and comes with all the benefits of an older house (55' of oceanfront, great location, best swimming and boogie boarding beach in the area). Glad you had a good time. Come back soon, Don
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Marcie Delaney

  • 5 of 5

Everything was perfect! What an ideal spot on the beach. So relaxing… No need to go anywhere. I would recommend this home to anyone who loves the beach. Five stars!

  • Submitted: May 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Marcy, you're the greatest. Glad you and your mother had a good time. I'll look forward to you returning soon. Don
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Nearest Motorway
Pacific Coast Highway
Nearest Beach
Big Rock Beach
Car: necessary

Located between Malibu and Santa Monica. 3 Miles from Malibu city center. 8 miles from Santa Monica.


Rates & Availability

Eastern Malibu Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
6 night minimum stay
November, December
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 31 2016
6 night minimum stay
January February
Jan 1 2017 - Feb 28 2017
6 night minimum stay
March, April, May
Mar 1 2017 - May 31 2017
6 night minimum stay
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
6 night minimum stay
Aug 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
6 night minimum stay
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
6 night minimum stay
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
6 night minimum stay
November, December
Nov 1 2017 - Dec 31 2017
6 night minimum stay
January February
Jan 1 2018 - Feb 28 2018
6 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $175
Pet Fee $175
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.0%

Return visitors ("repeat offenders") get a 5% discount. Rates are subject to change until reservation is accepted.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Eastern Malibu Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , lav
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1) California king
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers