check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Luxury spacious 6-bdrm family chalet; walk to Blue Mtn Village

17 Reviews
Bedrooms 6
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
1 - 3 nights


The Blue Mountains Chalet Rental Photos and Description

3,000sqft; 6bdrm; 3 bathrooms; great mtn view! Fab location!

Right at the base of Blue Mountain and walking distance to the Village, this 3,000 square foot chalet offers 6-bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and 2 large family rooms as well as an enormous eat-in kitchen with stunning views of Blue Mountain. There is plenty of space for large family gatherings. Sleeps 10 Adults maximum based on local bi-laws that are being enforced.

The chalet opens into a great hall with vaulted cathedral pine tongue and groove ceiling and a large fireplace.

The enormous, fully equipped kitchen is designed for entertaining

and is the ideal place for a gathering of family and friends with plenty of counter space. The dining area seats 14 and offers a spectacular view of Blue Mountain.

BBQ or suntan on the gigantic deck, while watching the tennis players in action, play games, chit chat over cocktails and really unwind.

Enjoy the spacious master suite with walk-in closet and Jacuzzi tub to completely pamper yourself. Relax on the canopy bed or read a book stretched out on the chaise-lounge under the cathedral pine ceilings and tall windows. A second large bedroom on the top level also offers a canopy bed and private lounging area with its own television.

It comes fully equipped with cable, internet, furniture, flatware, dishes, dishwasher, washer and dryer, coffeemakers, pots and pans and many other amenities, 3 televisions, CD and DVD players. All you need is sheets.

Only 90 minutes from Toronto and walking distance to Blue Mountain and Intrawest where you’ll find year-round activities and the bustle of enticing restaurants, shops, activities and cafes.

Also, a short drive to Devil’s Glen, Georgian Peaks, Craigleith, Meaford and Thornbury. Georgian Bay with Wasaga Beach and many other beaches very close. Fabulous golf right at your fingertips (7 courses) and some of Ontarios best hiking minutes away (Bruce and Georgian Trails). Fantastic cycling opportunities for both the road and mountain biker abound (both designated trails and on-road riding).

The Town of Blue Mountains recently implemented licensing requirements for properties that are rented on a short term basis. Blue Pioneer was the first to aquire this license and you can rest assured that the property is safe for you and your group. This also ensures a nice, quiet escape as noise levels are closely monitored.

As a guest at Blue Pioneer Chalet you willh ave access to the semi-private pool just behind the house. It is open weekends only in June and full-time from the beginning of Canada Day weekend until the end of Labour Day weekend. 6 people from 1 property are allowed in at 1 time. A good way to cool down close to home. You can also cool down at Craigleith/Northwinds beach, just 2 kilometres away or visit Splash!, the mini water park in the village.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Jacqui Snyder
Member since: 2012
Speaks: french, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2016
Call Owner

About Jacqui Snyder

I've been renting Blue Pioneer Chalet since I purchased it in 2008. I live in Toronto where I rent residential apartments, run a travel company and teach cycle safety in the summer and skiing in the winter. I've spent a fair amount of time in Collingwood over the past several years and love it there! As such I love to share it with others and hope they get the same enjoyment I do out of it

Jacqui Snyder purchased this chalet in 2008

Why Jacqui Snyder chose Ontario

I purchased this particular property for a number of reasons. I saw a need for larger properties in the rental market as well as personally having an extensive network of family and friends that it can accommodate. The location is excellent, at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, 2 blocks to the Blue Mountain Inn and another block to the Village at Blue. Views of the mountain are unobstructed and being at the end of the cul-de-sac, its unlikely that anything will ever be built up in front of it. I love the feel of space in the chalet and particularly love the large table in the kitchen where I've squeezed in as many as 14 people on several occasions for great meals.

What makes this chalet unique

The huge deck at the back of the house allows lots of room to relax, BBQ and watch the tennis in the courts behind the house. At the front, the patio offers spectacular views of the sun setting over the mountain ridge! Perfect for pre-dinner cocktails. The master bedroom is spectacular with high ceilings, a chaise-lounge and a unique large ensuite with a double-size jacuzzi tub. It's so nice to hang out in the living room in the winter with a glass of wine, snacks and friends in front of the river-rock fireplace I recently had built. There are also many little spaces to hide out in if you want some alone time. Then there's the billiards room in the basement with a 2nd kitchen space. The layout is fabulous! I'm a skier and cyclist so love that I can step out the door to participate in the activity of the day without having to get in the car unless I choose to do so. For golfers, there are at least 7 courses in the vicinity. The village is vibrant if I'm looking for energy, or I can relax in the quiet of the chalet, depending on my mood. Since everything is so close others in the group can come and go as they please.


based on 17 traveler reviews

Luxury spacious 6-bdrm family chalet; walk to Blue Mtn Village
average rating of 4.4117646 based on 17 reviews

Blue Mountain Chalet Rental October 2016

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here during the 2nd week of October with friends from an Atlanta Georgia Obstacle Course Running Club of 50+ Age Groupers and we all enjoyed our visit. The Chalets location was perfect with the event being held at the Blue Mountain Village Ski Resort. The main venue, at the village, was less than a 1 kilometer walk from the chalet. The chalet had a beautiful, large fireplace that we all enjoyed. The house was large enough for our group of 10 providing both individual privacy and yet enough room in the great room for all of us to comfortable lounge as a group. Jacqui was great to work with being extremely responsive to our questions and flexible when accommodating special requests. I strongly reccommend renting this property as well as any other properties that Jacqui may own.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jack: Thanks for your fantastic review and for staying at Blue Pioneer Chalet. It was a pleasure hosting you. I'm happy to hear everything worked out so well for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not as advertsed

  • 1 of 5

Note: Apparently the owner has now removed the listing from VRBO, but is still listed on Home Away. When the lease arrived for signature, the cancellation clause differed from the clause in the VRBO lease which she agreed to change. Property was advertised as air-conditioned. The master bedroom and accompanying spa bathroom were not air-conditioned. As the temperature in the bedroom approached 100 degrees on 6 of 7 nights, neither was usable. The washing machine was broken and not usable. The pool table was unusable as all the queues were broken. Although there are 3 TV's, only one was hooked up to the cable. The perimeter of the property was ringed with cigarette butts. The oven needed a good cleaning. The caulking around one bathtub was covered in black mould and the shower head required attention as water shot out of the top and soaked the bathroom.

I requested a rebate of $ 500. and was offered $ 100. and reluctantly settled for $ 200.

Rent at your risk.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Harold: Further to our discussions, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at my chalet. As you can see from other reviews most people have been extremely happy and meny return year after year. Unfortunately we can't really help sort things out for you unless we know at the time that you are not happy with things. We always do what we can to make our guests happy and comfortable. You were there at the hottest time of the year so heat was a small factor. There were things that we could have done to help you with this if you had communicated with us. All the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice home

  • 4 of 5

Really enjoyed our stay at Jacq's place. Very clean and plenty of room. We had a family of 8 but theres enough room for 12 people easily. Great access to the Blue Mountain village, within walking distance, as well as a short drive to Collingwood. The only problem we had was access to the community pool. We were expecting it to be open, but found out , prior to Canada Day, the pool was only open on the weekend. All in all a great time.


  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Dale: Thanks so much for your stay and your review. I'm happy you had such a nice time there. I will update details on my site and contract with respect to the pool. We look forward to hosting you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very spacious and comfortable home.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at Jacqui's chalet. We were 3 families with young children. The home was well maintained and beautifully decorated. We had plenty of room to relax and socialize. The pool table was a welcomed feature. Had a little trouble figuring out the fireplace - thermostat had to be set high enough for it to turn on. Hurried up from Toronto on a Friday evening because check in stated we had to be there before 7pm or we would not get the keys. Not true - check in desk was open until 9pm. Also, check in desk did not have notice we would be renting and initially did not want to release the keys. Eventually after attempting to call the owner they gave us the keys when I showed them the VRBO reservation on my phone. Despite these minor hiccups we enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nicole: Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for staying with us at Blue Pioneer Chalet. Your business is greatly appreciated and your comments help us improve our services. I will clarify the pick-up timing for keys as it seems to have changed without notification. If guests cannot make the set timing they can let me know in advance and alternative arrangements can be made. Directions on how to use the fireplace are included in the information package that is sent to all guests in advance and the property managment company is just a phone-call away if you need any assistance. Also I always have my cell and can be called, texted and emailed. I will certainly make some adjustments to my processes in order to minimize these minor challenges. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Sincerely, Jacqui
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable and well-situated chalet

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at this chalet for a weekend family getaway. Our party consisted of a family with four young children, young aunts and uncles, and grandparents. Communication with the owner beforehand was great, with prompt friendly replies to all our questions and concerns.

The chalet is on a quiet street very close to the Village. The location at the end of the cul-de-sac is very nice. It was neat and clean, and the huge kitchen table with bench seating was great for our group! The view from the kitchen window was lovely, we could see the mountain and the ski runs. The kids loved the pool table in the basement, and the main room had comfortable sofas for relaxing and spending time together. The house also has a really neat sun-room with stairs to a loft that leads to the master bedroom, and the kids loved going into that "secret passageway" room.

We paid for linens and towels, and we hit a snag when we found ourselves short a set of sheets on the first night. Luckily, some of our party had been delayed and couldn't come until the following morning. By then, the management had supplied the missing sheets and everything worked out fine.

The ensuite bathroom has a very strange bathtub set-up, where the jetted tub has a slanted side for reclining. However, that side was the only side from which you could enter the tub, and the rest was enclosed by a glass wall. This made for some precarious entries and exits, especially for a couple of the children. The tub also drained extremely slowly. That was the only really weird thing about the chalet.

We had a fun and very comfortable stay here! Thanks for a great family experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Carol: Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review. It helps other people who may be interested in staying and helps me realize areas that I can improve on. The property management company is a phone call away and respond promptly to any issues that arise. We now have an additional set of linen to replace the set that seems to have disappeared and I am already looking into the water drainage in the bathtub. Yes, it is a novelty tub, (big enough for 2 that holds lots of water) and there are 2 other tubs in the house that are much easier to access. Thank you for your stay and I hope we can host you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hamilton, ON

Amazing Stay!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at this chalet with 10 other ladies for a quiet weekend away. I was so pleased with the owner's diligence and accomodation in our contact before our stay. As we arrived we couldn't have been more pleased! The pictures didn't even do the place justice! SUCH a beautiful chalet, located in a perfect area, close enough that we went for a walk through Blue Mountain's village and enjoyed ourselves tremendously. The chalet is beautifully clean and comfortable and even our follow-up with the owner was wonderful. I would definitely HIGHLY recommend this chalet and would love to return with my own family for a visit!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Robin: I'm so happy you and your group had such a wonderful time in Collingwood! Certainly we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is greatly appreciated. All the best!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Collingwood Regnl 4NM or Pearson Intl approx 175K
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
0.25 Kilometres
Nearest Train
5 Kilometres
in Collingwood
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Kilometres
The Pottery
Nearest Ski
0.25 Kilometres
Blue Mountain
Nearest Beach
2 Kilometres
Craigleith Beach
Car: recommended

There is so much to see and do here year round! Visit local quaint towns to shop or dine; Go to the scenic caves to hike the caves and try the eco adventure zip line and suspension bridge. There are weekly activities and events in the Village of Blue Mountain including Plunge pool complex, climbing wall, chair lifts to the top of the mountain for a scenic tour or rent a downhill mountain bike and have a tour. Try out the newest roller coaster ride! Put the kids in camp; take a segway tour; fish in the pond in the village; go to the local spa, Le Scandinave; golf at one of approximately 8 great courses in the area; cycle up the escarpment for spectacular views of the Bay; sample one of Ontario's finest craft beers in the town of Creemore; go down to Craigleith beach or venture a bit further to the sandy beaches of Wasaga. Alternatively, there is a fabulous pier you can jump off in the town of Thornbury. In the winter there are a multitude of downhill ski hills and some of Ontarios best cross-country skiing. You can also experience ice skating on the pond in the village, snowmobile, snowshoe and virtually any winter activity you can think of! There are many great festivals that everyone should experience at some point including the annual Elvis festival; the biggest and longest running such event in Canada. Come out for the cycling Centurion in September or the Blue Mountain Half Marathon in October. Rent a kayak or go on a guided kayak tour of Georgian Bay or one of the many rivers in the area. Alternatively, hang out at the chalet, play tennis just behind the house and swim in the local semi-private pool. The pool is open weekends only in June and daily after Canada Day. You can swim for free there or at Norhtwinds/Craigleith Beach. Go to Splash! in the Village for a small water park or the indoor pool at The Blue Mountain Inn (both for an additional fee). At the end of your active day settle in the lawn chairs on the back deck with a cocktail in hand before enjoying a bbq or strolling into the village for a bite and some night-life. Then have a night-cap in front of the big river-rock fireplace under the cathedral pine ceiling. What a life!


Rates & Availability

The Blue Mountains Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Sep 6 2016 - Dec 15 2016
1 night minimum stay
Winter 16/17 1
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 29 2016
3 night minimum stay
Winter 16/17 2
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $261

Week-long and monthly rentals are from Friday to Friday or Sunday to Sunday. Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Summer and Winter have a minimum stay requirement of 2 nights on weekends. Rate calculator may not account for Holidays and long weekends, please call to confirm. Perfect for quiet mature groups and families. Local noise bi-laws are followed and enforced. Failure to follow these may result in loss of your damage deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


The Blue Mountains Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , Double sink; glass shower; spacious; 2nd floor; master
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Elegant. Main Floor.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , In the basement off the Billiards room.
  • 3
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Couch, TV
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Cozy room large cupboard. Main Floor. Slight hill view.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Huge master; large ensuite; big jacuzzi tub; vaulted ceilng
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Nice view of mountain; brass bed. Large closet.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Walkout to deck. Main floor.
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Basement bedroom. Large cupboard.
  • Queen size Beds (2) 2 queens on upper floor, Double Beds (3) 3 doubles on main floor (slightly oversized so bring queen sheets); 1 double bed in basement, Twin or Single Beds (2) 1 twin bed in basement bedroom and 1 in master, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) In alcove off billiards room in basement.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • jetted tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Lots to do and see in the area for people of all ages! Hike Bruce Trail, Golf one of the many professional courses in the area; fabulous cycling on the roads, trails including Centurion with spectacular views of Georgian Bay! Mountain biking is great in the area and there are downhill lessons and rentals at Blue Mountain...just a short walk from the chalet. Rent kayaks, canoes or paddle boards at Craigleith beach or go on a day-long trip with Eagle Adventures or Free Spirit Tours. Do the Eco Adventure and hike at the Scenic Caves with spectacular views of Georgian Bay. Visit the Town of Creemore and sample the famous local beer. Shop in Thornbury and jump of the large cement peer! Browse through other quaint surrounding towns including Stayner. The Village at Blue is always teaming with activities and festivals. Don't miss the Elvis weekend July 27 to 29th in the town of's one of the largest in North America and a site to see! Relax at Le Scandinave Spa !

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties