Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oak Tree Retreat-Walk to Village and Lake

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property


This house gets its name from the beautiful 120 year old huge oak tree that is the centerpiece for the back deck! The deck is 30 feet long anchored by a large OUTDOOR SPA (NEW hot tub). When you must travel back to technology, you can do so by hanging out in the living room by the fireplace.. In there you will find wifi internet, Satellite TV, 43' TV High Def., DVD player, CD player and Media Center (ROKU, NetFlix streaming video). You also snuggle up to the fireplace.The cabin also has WiFi Internet access if you want to bring along your ipad or laptop. When its time to say goodnight, you can have your choice of 2 bedrooms. One bedroom has a King and second has twin beds.

If you fall asleep in the living room, do not fret because there is a queen sofa sleeper and a single sofa sleeper. This cabin will comfortably sleep 6, which is the number of steaks to have on the BBQ that is on the deck. Enjoy a glass while you're waiting on the steaks. The cabin itself is open beam and mountain flavored. You are also within walking distance to the village and the lake. Be prepared to stare in awe of nature! Also, an upgraded and remodeled kitchen!

More Details

Pete/Pat Reggie
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2017

About Pete/Pat Reggie

We bought this house in 1993 so our family could enjoy the amenities associalted with mountain living. Since our children have grown, we have decided to let others have the same enjoyment as we have.

Pete/Pat Reggie purchased this house in 1993

Why Pete/Pat Reggie chose Big Bear

Our home is situated close to the Village (downtown) and close to the lake and ski areas wthout being caught up in trafic. It is family friendly with Direct TV HD, 42 ' flat screen HDTV, internet, DVD and CD player, a 30 ft Deck, Spa and barbeque,. It contains linen and towels and other accessories. The property is enclosed by a chain-link fence. It is within walking distance to several restaurants

What makes this house unique

Have Media Center (ROKU). Streaming player. With the remote you choose what you want to watch. If you have Netflix, your subscription allows you access. Hulu Plus, Amazon Instan Video, Crackle,HBO Go, Epix and many are free movies, etc,


Big Bear Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size bed (1) Pine headboard, (2) Twin beds,second bedroom, 1 Queen sofa bed in den
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(59 traveler reviews)

Oak Tree Retreat-Walk to Village and Lake
average rating of 4.423729 based on 59 reviews

Best little cabin!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was perfect for a family vacation. Everything there needed to cook a nice meal and relax. The hot tub is amazing as is the location. Close to village but away from any hustle.

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fun weekend stay with the family

  • 4 of 5

The house is very cozy and my kids loved the back yard space. If you are going with 4 people it is perfect, any more than that and it can start getting tight. It's in a great spot, only a quick drive to downtown or a 5 minute ride up the road to the mountain. Overall we had a lot of fun and really enjoyed the house. Also on a side note there were a few things that we needed to figure out once we got there and Pete the owner was always available by phone to help.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good but needs some work done.

  • 3 of 5

The property is nice but needs some repairs. Guttering and blinds are broken.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Smelled like mildew

  • 2 of 5

When we first walked in I had to open the windows to air out the smell. The enclosed porch in the back was the worst. Strong smell of mildew. Then we realized the carpet in front of the bedroom and bathroom was soaking wet. We put towels down but our socks were still drenched from walking in and out of that bedroom. Also, the carpet and other parts of the home are in desperate need of updating. Everything was very worn. The back porch and yard was so fun for sledding and making snow men so we had a good time.

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: first of all, the carpeting is new. The wet carpet was due to extra heavy snowfall. I had to separate contractors look for the leak, but could not fine it. The roof is too covered with snow to check for leaks around the pipes I keep my home always to code and up to date By the way, he broke my coffeee maker Pete Reggie.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Overall the place was pretty dirty. The dishes were not caked in food, but just sort of greasy as was everything in the kitchen. The carpeting was filthy, turning white socks brown after only a few minutes of arrival. The beds were uncomfortable, and the pillows were the worst.

The owners keep a lot of their clothes in the closets and drawers which is fine, but just not ideal when trying to get cozy and the drawer has a sign "don't touch owners clothes".

The worst part was that the back porch smelled like a wet dog, making walking out to the backyard very unpleasant. It was so strong - we couldn't go out that direction. Also, the spa is average at best, duck tape all over the cover - nothing high-end.

The owner previously replied to a different bad review. He stated that the visitor/complainer never called to complain. I did not call either - I did not see the point. The place was gross, smelly and dirty, but he had my money and there wasn't anything I could easily do about it. I made the best of the trip with my family.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy and Quaint

  • 4 of 5

Cute house, even with the 4feet of snow surrounding it. We all enjoyed our stay, though we wish the deck and front entrance walk way had been shoveled. The kitchen had the essentials needed to cook any dinner. Even though the snow was not really an issue, the hot tub didn't work properly and though a maintenance person was suppose to come out and fix it, they never showed up. Hope it's working for the next renter. Overall it was a nice stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Big Bear City
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Old Country Inn
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Snow Summit
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Big Bear Lake House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jan 3 2017 - Apr 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
Apr 17 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
May 26 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Charge $75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties