Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

3 BR, 3 bath condo, Maui Sunset, Kihei, Maui

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 BR, 3 bath, ocean view. One of the best values in Maui.

3 BR, 3 bath condo at the Maui Sunset in Kihei, HI. Unit A422 is completely furnished with linens, laundry, kitchen utensils, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, glass top stove and oven, flat panel cable TV, and high speed wireless internet. Master BR has king bed and other BR’s have twin beds which can be configured for king size. This unit is located on 4th floor at the end of the building closest to the water. The view from the lanai affords an unsurpassed 270 degree view including the coastline and Mt. Haleakala as well as the large pool and grounds. Whale watching from the lanai during whale season (January – April) is a favorite pastime. Windsurfers provide a colorful view daily. Unit sleeps 6 plus sofa bed in living room. Maximum occupancy 8 persons. Unit refurbished in October 2012. We have many repeat visitors and we do not believe you will be disappointed if you should choose to be our guests.


Owner
Donald L Starkey
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2017

About Donald L Starkey

At the time we purchased this property, my partner and I both lived in Phoenix, AZ. One of us moved to Georgia in the '90s. We are both retired physicians,

Donald L Starkey purchased this condo in 1977

Why Donald L Starkey chose Maui

We looked for several years at properties but this one appealed to us because of the incredible view. We originally purchased this property because of the incredible view. The condo is very well situated to local businesses and tourist interests. It also has the amenities that most guests are looking for including pool, tennis, volleyball, putting green, barbecue facilities, concierge and absolutely beautiful grounds.

What makes this condo unique

All photos are taken from the lanai , the interior of condo or in the courtyard below. Visitors tell us that the view from the lanai is the best in the entire complex. Being on the 4th floor not only provides increased security but also exposure to increased ventilation which requires very little air conditioning, if any.

During the past 15 months, all 3 bathrooms have been remodeled and new furniture and decor have been added to the 3 bedrooms. New decor also in the living area.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for the good review of our property. Our goal is to do all we can to allow our guests to enjoy their stay on the island of Maui. We especially appreciated the way these guests treated the condo, as if it were their own. Thank you again, it was our pleasure to have you.
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , May be configured to king size on request
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Twin beds may be configured to king size on request
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King size beds (2) Optional--twin beds can be configured to king size in 2 bedrooms., King size Beds (1) Master BR, Twin or Single Beds (2) 2 BR's have twin beds convertible to king size, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
6% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3 BR, 3 bath condo, Maui Sunset, Kihei, Maui
average rating of 4.875 based on 33 reviews
Elkridge, MD
5

Great location and comfortable home!

  • 5 of 5

We rented A422 Maui Sunset for almost a week in October 2017.

The unit is on the 4th floor at the end closest to the ocean. Walking down the corridor to the unit you are seeing many sliding doors and A/C units hanging out and thinking oh man this place may not be what I had hoped it was. You open the door and see the unit and it is huge!!

Okay, so it needs quite a bit of updating (replace carpet, sliding doors and update kitchen) to meet the standards we set for 2017, but the unit is comfortable and clean. It has 3 comfortable king beds and 3 updated bathrooms and A/C units in each room that work very well and aren't your typical window units. The kitchen is also dated, but has everything you need, pots/pans, crock pot, coffee maker, etc.

Previous renters leave condiments in the fridge, which is kind of disgusting to me, I mean who wants to use an open jar of peanut butter left by someone that may have licked the knife and then dipped it back in to get more and then left the open jar for someone else to use, yuck!! I see maybe the salad dressings in bottles, but not stuff you use utensils for (mayo, relish, pickles, etc). Many leftover spices are here also, which is fine.

The living/dining area is huge, two couches and two chairs and decent flat screen TV. A large table that seats 6 and a breakfast bar that seats 3.

The main Lanai is great, very large and comfortable and you can see great sunsets from it. The double sliding door is also a great feature, although there is no way to lock it and it too should probably be replaced. We did not use the lanai off the master, no chairs were out there and there was a support holding up the floor for the lanai above, so figured we would just use the main lanai, great views from this one too, although much smaller.

There are many "extras" left for your use, beach chairs, beach towels, tennis rackets, a cooler, snorkel equipment and other items that can make your stay much more comfortable as you venture out to the beach or pool.

Overall I would recommend this unit, as long as you just want to have a comfortable place to stay in Kihei and you aren't looking for a posh, updated unit. I would surely bring my family back to Maui Sunset A422 to spend some time in Maui. Although I did hear a complaint from another visitor while checking out about how her kids were told to be quiet at the pool and this was during the day and not the quiet hours of 10pm-8am, really?!?!

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review of our property and happy to hear you had a great visit to Maui. Sorry about things left in the refrigerator that were not supposed to be there. We try to leave items that are only suitable to be left such as spices, coffee, etc. The lanai doors are purposely left without a lock on them, being on the 4th floor makes it nearly impossible to access the lanai short of using a truck with a lift on it. We hope you will return at some future date.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Apartment and amenities are great and very convenient.

  • 3 of 5

Very disappointed to discover at check in that the apartment had not been cleaned. We had to find a backup lodging solution for one night. We finally got a 2 bedroom apartment in the same property. Way too small, for one night only. We had to move again the next day to the one we had originally booked.

At that time relaxing vacation really started. Nice pool for the whole family, beach next door for paddle boarding. Within 15 min drive, beaches for body boarding or snorkeling.

Great place!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review but we are so sorry about the unit not being ready for your arrival. There was a communication glitch with the email I sent regarding your reservation. Your's was a rather last minute booking and apparently the email failed for some unknown reason. Again we apologize for this but glad that you had a great time during the remaining time you were in Maui.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Colorado Springs, CO
5

Great views and very comfortable property.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed the stay. Great value for the property! We had 8 adults in the property and no one was tripping on anyone else! Definitely on our list for future visits!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for leaving the condo so nice and clean. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. You are welcome to return anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic stay, really lovely condo and facilities. Great views, well equipped, quiet at night

  • 5 of 5

This condo is one of the best in the development due to it's size (3 bed/3 bath, 2 balcony) and location (closest to the ocean, overlooking the pool). The development is quiet and very well maintained and has a nice pool. The beach is pretty but stony so you may want to walk 100 yards up or down the coast if you are swimming barefoot. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of our property and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Someday you will return, we hope. Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing view in a clean, spacious condo.

  • 5 of 5

Seven of us (4 adults and 3 children) stayed here for 4 nights, and had plenty of space. The view is amazing. Both the living/dining area and the master bedroom have a panoramic view of the ocean. I spotted whales nearly every time out there. The living area had plenty of space, and getting 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms at this price is an amazing deal. The place is a little dated (other than the recently renovated bathrooms), and some things don't work perfectly. So if you are really picky, you may want to find another place. But you will have to pay 2 or 3x's as much to get so much space, and such a great view. I wold stay here again, and recommend it highly.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. I am sorry the living room AC failed while you were there. It took a week or so to get it replaced but there is a new one there now. We hope you will return again soon. Aloha!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle
5

Beautiful view, spacious condo, great for family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We were so happy with the size and amenities in this condo! It was very clean and comfortable. A few of the appliances were a bit dated, but since we spent most of our vacation dining out, they were more than adequate. There was a large selection of kitchen appliances too. We would happily stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: recommended

Aquarium, Plantation, Iao Needle and Valley, Haleakala at sunrise, trip to Lanai on Trilogy and drive to Hana and beyond.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $750
Tax Rate 13.25%

The rate shown above is for 2 persons. Additional persons will be charged $16/night/person up to 8 persons total. Example: 6 persons would be $309/night plus Hawaii tax of 13.25% for a 7 night or longer stay. For stays longer than 21 days, please contact us. Holidays may have an increased rate. A cleaning fee of $100 is added for stays of less than 7 nights.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.