check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

June Finfer

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish

MODERN STUDIO APARTMENT

27 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 31 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

North Side Studio Rental Photos and Description

Available September 1 2016

Everything you need is in this compact two-level apartment on the first level of a vintage building. A queen-size bed, upper level dining area, bamboo hardwood floors, amarble bathroom, kitchen lined with subway tile and a terrazzo floor, mid century modern furnishings, all the linens and kitchen utensils you need, private entrances -- and a lovely garden for dining al fresco. Architect-designed and master carpenter built, this is a unique apartment.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
June Finfer (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish

About June Finfer

I live on the top floor of this building, which my husband, an architect, and I bought thirty years ago. We have enjoyed living here and renting to interesting people who share our love of this Mediterranean style vintage brick building. It's on a corner of two quiet streets, but only minutes from lively areas on the north side where I grew up.

June Finfer purchased this studio in 1982

Why June Finfer chose Chicago

We bought this building because of its location in a real Chicago neighborhood, its proximity to music and theatre events in the center city and the north shore,

and because we love to take walks and see people from all different backgrounds enjoying the park. Cycling paths are nearby, and O'Hare airport is a short drive away. We call it 'the old country' because so many people we meet who have moved way out to the suburbs are from this area, and remember it with fondness. Young people are once again moving here, and it's great to see all ages, all kinds of people living together in these vintage buildings.

What makes this studio unique

We had been renting a large apartment of the same vintage (1928) just east of here, and when we decided to buy a building we discovered this area, just a mile from our apartment. We called it 'Brigadoon' because it just seemed to appear one day -- it had 'old world charm' and Mediterranean arches and ironwork. The apartments were flooded with light from tall windows with no other buildings nearby (on a corner). We completely rewired the building and improved the kitchens, and the final touch is completing the lst level apartment that we are offering for vacation and short term rentals. We enjoy our tree-lined street, the shady backyard with a new trellis and hope you will, too.

Reviews

4.5
based on 27 traveler reviews

MODERN STUDIO APARTMENT
average rating of 4.5185184 based on 27 reviews
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed my stay here. Very clean and comfortable ground floor studio apartment. Nice area. Unusual layout, which I really liked. June is also a great and accommodating person to work with. Would definitely recommend; in fact, I hope to go back again soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Northeast Ohio
4

Rogers Park effeciency

  • 4 of 5

Nice place, plenty of room for 2 or 3. Good value as well. Interesting diverse neighborhood, clean & safe.

Parking was a challenge especially late at night. I would stay there again. Approx 30 minutes from the Loop.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Quaint and Modern

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had a great mini-vacation here. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We loved that it was off the beaten path, but close enough to public transportation. We also liked that it was fairly close to Andersonville. June allowed us to use the bicycles (with locks) which we loved and we used to go down to the Lake a couple of times (about a mile away). All in all, a very nice stay. Loved the back patio too.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Madison WI
4

Comfortable and convenient

  • 4 of 5

Stayed here while visiting nearby relatives for the holidays. Everything worked and it was a nice weekend. Bumped my knees several times on the wooden bed frame. Careful!

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Linda: Thanks for the review. Sorry you bumped your knee! Maybe I can pad the bed frame so that won't happen in the future. Happy Holidays! June
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

1st VRBO experience

  • 4 of 5

I came to Chicago to attend my nephews birthday. I wanted a nice quiet place to stay at a affordable price. I hit the jackpot on both accounts. The studio was in a quiet neighborhood. The price was very affordable. The property was very clean, well stocked with pillows towels and blankets. The kitchen was well stocked with necessities. You need to bring your food and beverage preferences. The internet access was good. The TV channels were limited. Bed was comfortable. I would recommend this property wholeheartedly.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Leslie: Thanks for your review. I'm glad the Studio was comfortable and that you had a good visit. As I try to make clear, that TV gets only network channels, not cable, but I hope that was not a problem. Come again! June
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Louisville, KY
5

Relaxing Studio!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful anniversary trip! My husband and I enjoyed the clean and spacious studio and found it a relaxing safe haven after spending the majority of each day exploring Chicago and nearby cities. The apartment and neighborhood was quiet, and with the use of public transportation (local bus stop and L train) we did not have to move our car once during our vacation until it was time to leave. Thank you June for being so accommodating! We enjoyed preparing breakfast meals in the kitchen each morning before heading out and slept soundly on the comfortable bed. We would recommend some more kitchen utensils such as spatulas, baking dishes, and cookie sheets for future guests. Overall an excellent stay and we will be returning in the future!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tiffany and Aaron: I'm glad your stay was convenient and comfortable. Thanks for the hint about spatula, cookie sheets, etc. for the oven. I hadn't thought of that, and they are now provided along with other cooking supplies. Happy New Year! June
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

The Fireside Restaurant
"indoor and outdoor beer garden/restaurant"
Pauline's
"good breakfast place"
Lady Gregory's Bar and Restaurant
"good burgers and beer, Andersonville location"
Forever Yogurt
Nearest Airport
5 Miles
O'Hare
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Morse Avenue
Nearest Golf
0.1 Miles
Warren Park
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Metra/CTA
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
94 and Lake Shore Drive
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Fireside, Pauline's
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Loyola, Pratt
Car: not necessary

Rogers Park/West Ridge is a residential area one mile from the beaches of Lake Michigan and one block from a regional park with a golf course, tennis courts, basketball and outdoor ice rink. This diverse neighborhood offers ethnic restaurants and shops from all parts of the world. A nearby YMCA has an Olympic swimming pool and fitness center available for a daily fee. Street parking is available in this quiet island near lively activities. Downtown Chicago is a short drive away on beautiful Lake Shore Drive. Public transportation is nearby.

Photos

Rates & Availability

North Side Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
31 night minimum stay
$1,550
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
cleaning $50
Tax Rate 5.5%

minimum stay is 31 days

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

North Side Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 480 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Marble tiled bath Vintage sink Shower in tub Heater
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , extra cot available upon request
  • Queen size Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Get to know a quiet Chicago neighborhood close to the lake and train and bus to Loop. A new large grocery store just opened nearby !

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties