check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kevin Ehlers, Owner

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Hood Canal Waterfront. Union City Beach House. Amazing views, near Alderbrook

40 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Union House Rental Photos and Description

Unobstructed, magnificent views. Hood Canal at its finest!

Welcome to a the most private beachfront rental in the heart of Union. Guests are greeted with SPECTACULAR, UNOBSTRUCTED VIEWS of the Olympic Mountains and the famous "Great Bend " of Hood Canal that are sensational from the deck and nearly every room in the house. Our comfortable waterfront home is 1050 square feet, has a newly renovated kitchen, two queen bedrooms, and an updated bathroom. The home accommodates a maximum of 4 guests (5 with owner approval only). To keep you connected, the home has high speed wireless internet and a flat screen HDTV.

Just 2 hours from Seattle and 2.5 hours from Portland, the beach cabin is at water's edge and has just the right touches to make guests feel cozy and at home. A large private deck overlooks awesome views of he mountains, water and wildlife. Guests can easily and safely step down from the deck to the beach and water using the heavy duty, aluminum, marine grade ladder. In the summer, guests are provided a propane grill and plenty of seating for outdoor dining, basking and relaxing.

Resting on the shores of Hood Canal and surrounded by the Olympic Mountains, the home is at a CONVENIENT CENTRAL LOCATION. In the city of Union, you are just 2 miles from Alderbrook Resort and Spa. The beach home is a great spot for a bride and groom, their guests, or members of a wedding party to stay at leading up to the big day. The Union City Beach House is just a 4 minute walk away from groceries, the Hood Canal Marina, the Public Boat Launch, and the 2 Margaritas Family Mexican Restaurant.

The PRIVATE BEACH has expansive tidelands for the kids to explore and sweet succulent pacific oysters and delectable Manila clams are easy to collect and do not get any fresher and tastier than this!

A unique advantage to this vacation home is that there is a surprising amount of privacy as compared with other waterfront homes in the area. This peaceful location is the ideal setting for a romantic retreat or to just rest, relax and rejuvenate!

The water is warm and great for kayaking, boating and numerous other water activities. The scenery is awe-inspiring and ever changing. Our guests delight in nature as seals, bald eagles, great blue heron, belted kingfisher and many other migratory birds and ducks abound. The abundant wildlife and phenomenal sunsets provide ample opportunity for captivating photography.

Besides the numerous water related activities, there are many things to do at Hood Canal, especially for the adventurous! Head to the Olympics and hike Mount Ellinor, Staircase or other more or less challenging trails nearby. Several highly ranked golf courses are close by including, Alderbrook, Salish Cliffs at Little Creek, Gold Mountain and others. Nearby casinos include Little Creek and the Lucky Dog. Gourmet dining is available nearby at The Alderbrook Resort and Spa and The Robinhood Restaurant and Pub. Other activities include wine tasting, antiquing, spa treatments, excursions and listening to live music at local venues.

There is really no place like our Union City Beach House at Hood Canal. This is a place where memories are made. Whether you are looking for a home base for recreation and adventure, a private location for a romantic getaway or just want to enjoy nature and the beauty of Olympic Peninsula without being deep in the woods, we invite you to be our guests, enjoy the comfortable accommodations and discover all that Hood Canal has to offer.

A minimum $150 refundable damage/security deposit is required.

Keywords: Cabin, House, waterfront, Alderbrook, pet

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Kevin Ehlers, Owner (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Kevin Ehlers, Owner

Contact us directly for booking or property information

Kevin Ehlers, Owner purchased this house in 2003

Why Kevin Ehlers, Owner chose Hood Canal

We love the beauty of Hood Canal and the many nearby recreational opportunities like fishing, boating, hiking and golfing. Even though the home is only 90 minutes from the Seattle area, you feel like you are a million miles away from the fast paced daily grind. In the picturesque town of Union, basic amenities are just minutes away. The Union Country Store has the essentials such as groceries, ice cream, beer and wine, coffee and gifts. The public boat launch and marina (with kayak rentals) and a popular Mexican restaurant and bar are also within walking distance. Full amenities are available 15 minutes west at Hoodsport, 15 minutes south at Shelton and 25 minutes east at Belfair.

What makes this house unique

The Union City Beach house is the perfect vacation spot! This peaceful location is just a four minute walk to downtown Union, the Marina and boat launch, the Country Store and the 2 Margaritas Mexican Restaurant. The home is right over the water at high tide and at low tide you can venture hundreds of yards out onto the mudflats. This property has a unusually private setting compared to most other waterfront homes in the area.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Copy of review from guest on the vacation rental site airbnb 3/8/14.

The owner was very communicative before my stay, promptly and thoroughly answering my questions. The beach house itself was far better than I had even imagined it, and the photos do not do it justice! The views from all three water-facing sides of the house were absolutely stunning, and during high tide I felt as if I were on my own private island. The views of the mountains were also tremendous, and I even though I visited during late-winter, when the sun was out, the water was deep and blue and mesmerizing. The house itself is tastefully decorated and fully equipped with everything you need for any kind of vacation, from relaxing to active, and the views from the master bedroom are like the cherry on the top of the cake. The location is also perfect: it feels very secluded, but you're a short drive from restaurants, supermarkets, etc. In short: The Union City Beach House at Hood Canal is a real gem, and I can't wait to go back!
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.8
based on 40 traveler reviews

Hood Canal Waterfront. Union City Beach House. Amazing views, near Alderbrook
average rating of 4.8 based on 43 reviews
marysville, wa, usa
5

Super nice place!!

  • 5 of 5

Right on the water, very pleasant, quiet, very well kept home, well stocked. Landscaping was awesome. Plenty of places to sit outside & enjoy watching the seals bob their heads out of the water. Very comfortable furniture to sit on. Really enjoyed our time at this rental. Owner is very helpful, pleasant & responsive. I will rent this vacation home again during the spring or summer. Great & easy launch for kayakers.

Jan

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

The home is in a wonderful location. A walk away from two small grocery stores, a marina, and a mexican restaurant. There is only one neighbor to the right of the house, and you are completely secluded from them. The house is right on the street, but there was no noise that we could notice.

The view off of the back deck is really why you're looking at this house, and it's amazingly beautiful. Mornings, evenings, sunsets, wildlife, etc. I could have slept out there if it wasn't so cold at night.

The house itself is larger than it seems in the pictures online. Sunlights and large open windows allow for beautiful natural light that dissuades any need to turn on a light. The bathroom is well appointed, clean, and has a nice touch of heated floors for added comfort.

Overall, the house was great and we would definitely stay again. 25 minutes to Hoosport, which is where you would enter the National Park to head towards staircase and Mt. Ellinor. Kevin is a luck man to be able to stay here whenever he wants!

Regards,

The Beadlings (Dallas)

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We spent a couple of nights here Sept 9th thru Sept 11th, 2016. The house is clean, cozy and well stocked with everything you need. The location is absolutely perfect and the weather was awesome as well. Nothing like sitting on a deck on the water, sipping coffee in the morning and watching the seals play. We will definitely come back! Thank you for everything Kevin.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect spot on the south end of the Hood Canal.

  • 5 of 5

This was our 2nd time at this property and it was even better than the first time !!

Great beach at your fingertips and the dozens of bald eagles to observe daily was an extra treat !!

One of the best properties on the Hood Canal for the price !!

We will be back many times in the future for sure !! Thank you Kevin.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dormagen (close to Cologne)
5

Kayaking with Seals - what an experience.

  • 5 of 5

We just have had a wonderful stay in Kevins house and enjoyed every minute. My sister and I did some kayaking while seals coming along with us. My parents also enjoyed the stay and the wonderful views. We had been lucky with the weather too. We will bring some stories back to Germany. Thanks to the provided beach shoes which saved our feet from cuts of the oysters shells just in front the house. We got our first oyster license and ennjoyed also digging for Manila clams right in front of the house.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing weekend getaway

  • 4 of 5

We had a delightful stay at the house. The beds were comfortable. The house was clean and ready for us when we arrived for a long weekend getaway. The views from the house was the best part of the stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am pleased that you had a good experience at my vacation rental at Hood Canal. Thanks for letting me know the DVD player was broken. I have purchased a new one. Cheers, Kevin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Potlatch State Park
Lucky Dog Casino
The Restaurant at Alderbrook
Visitor Information Center / Hoodsport Ranger Station
Robin Hood Restaurant and Pub
hoodsport winery
Hamma Hamma Recreation Area
Xinh's Clam & Oyster House
2 Margaritas
Lake Cushman
Alderbrook Golf & Yacht Club
Nearest Airport
76 Miles
Sea Tac Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
3 Margaritas Family Mexican Restaurant
Nearest Ferry
29 Miles
Bremerton Ferry
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Alderbrook Golf Course
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Hood Canal Marina
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Robinhood Restaurant and Pub
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Union Country Store
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Alderbrook Resort and Spa
Car: necessary

Wine Tasting, Scenic Flights, Boat Tours

Photos

Rates & Availability

Union House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 5 2016 - Nov 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
$185
From
$205
Fri,Sat
$1,200
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 26 2016
2 night minimum stay
$220
 
 
Winter 2016
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$180
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,200
 
 
Christmas to New Years
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,400
 
 
January 1 - June 1 2017
Jan 1 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$210
Fri,Sat
$1,300
 
 
June 2017
Jun 2 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$220
Fri,Sat
$1,350
 
 
July 4 Holiday
Jul 3 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$335
 
 
July, August 2017 -High Season
Jul 7 2017 - Sep 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$268
From
$299
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,875
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$260
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $90 + Tax
Non-Refundable Cleaning fee $125 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 10.5%

Non-Refundable Cleaning Fee - $125
50% Deposit to confirm booking. Final 50% due 30 days prior to check-in
Refundable Security/Damage deposit $150 minimum, owners discretion.
PETS with owner approval only, $30 PER NIGHT
Additional guests>4, with prior owner approval only. Add $30 per night
Until confirmed, rates are subject to change. Tax 10.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Union House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1050 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Bathroom was renovated in January 2014
  • Tile shower surround and tiled floor with floor warming. 48" granite top vanity and undermount sink.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Den - 1 twin/ single , 18' high Therapedic air bed ideal for children or teenagers
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Water and Mountain views
  • Queen size Beds (1 in each bedroom) (1) 18' high twin sized AirBed, ideal for children or teenagers. Set up in room off entry.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Complementary soaps, shampoo, conditioner. Starter Starbucks coffee packets and tea. One complementary Duraflame fire log, Deck towels provided in summer. Limited video library and games.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties