check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Michele Martin

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Best views in Orosi Valley! Esta es la vida!

32 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Cartago Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Finca Good Life is a small working goat dairy farm...that just happens to be on top of a mountain. We make our own cheese and fresh natural yogurt. You are welcome to participate in our daily activities or just relax on your patio enjoying the view. We share our lives with geese, chickens, three dogs and a 'barn cat', who doesn't know he is a barn cat:-) We also grow avocados, have an organic garden and greenhouse and are slowing working towards a self sustainable lifestyle.

Our property is suitable for honeymooners and couples of all ages.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Michele Martin (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Michele Martin

My husband Ray and I retired to Costa Rica June 2009 to enjoy a simpler life. We waved goodbye to Corporate America and said hola to paradise! We have embraced our new home with passion and enthusiasm. A farmers lifestyle somehow was created....it just fits!

Michele Martin purchased this cabin in 2009

Why Michele Martin chose Cartago

We built our cabina in 2010 for friends and family. Finca Good Life is a beautiful small hobby farm in the mountains of Penas Blancas. We have breathtaking views in every direction....we bought the property on our first visit to Costa Rica! We knew the moment we planted our feet on the mountain....we wanted to spend the rest of our lives right here.

What makes this cabin unique

Returning to Georgia and leaving our newly found love behind was truly sad but the dreams of a life to come was delightful. Those dreams didn't include goats, geese, chickens, dogs and a cat mind you, but all that has evolved has been a wonderful experience. You can be just about as active as you want to be. Or....you can just sit back and listen to the sounds of nature.

Reviews

5
based on 32 traveler reviews

Best views in Orosi Valley! Esta es la vida!
average rating of 5.0 based on 32 reviews
5

Mountain paradise!

  • 5 of 5

Finca Good Life is an amazing opportunity to bask in the warm hospitality of Ray and Michele whilst reaping the benefits of beautiful views and fantastic facilities close to great national parks and the pretty villages of Cachi and Orosi. I can't say anything that hasn't been said before..........the views are truly spectacular and you have a massive balcony to take full advantage of them. The casita has everything you need (and all of superior quality) and Ray and Michele's generosity extends to delicious coffee, eggs, goats milk and goats cheese. We came ready with ingredients to take full advantage of this and enjoyed every bite. The farm is beautiful and it is so special to spend time with the goats and exploring to see all the great things they are doing up above the clouds in their garden and farm which are bursting with life. I went with my husband and our 10 month baby just to relax and spend some quality time together and we found the perfect spot. We are really looking forward to going back and I'm hoping to take my parents in December. Ray and Michele are truly inspirational and we recommend this home whole-heartedly to anyone looking to experience the lesser known beauty of Costa Rica's central valley. Thank you both for sharing this with us!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5

I had a few extra days in Costa Rica and didn't want to spend them in San Jose. Finca Good Life was a great escape from the city. The views were fantastic; the cheese and eggs in the fridge were awesome; and I enjoyed a couple of days just relaxing, reading, and wandering around the property with the dogs. The casita was clean, well-furnished, and extremely pleasant. Ray and Michele were gracious and very hospitable. It was a welcome respite in the midst of a busy trip. Thanks so much and I hope to stop in again.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Laura! We look forward to your return....with Mark! The Tres Amigos miss their walks with you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Cheese Queens

  • 5 of 5

Finca Good Life is overwhelmingly beautiful!! The views, the property and casita are amazing. From the moment we stepped out of the car Ray and Michelle treated us like family with great big hugs. The dogs and cat added their welcome as well. This little slice of heaven is a good jumping off spot for sightseeing the nearby volcanos, coffee plantations, and Orosi valley. There was plenty to do on the property as well, especially if you don't mind helping with the goats. My teenage daughters and I were treated to cheese making lessons from the milk the girls milked from the goats. How amazing!!! Thank you Michelle and Ray for all they wonderful experiences!!! Lola and the cheese queens

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Lola! It was our absolute pleasure to have you and the girls here at Finca Good Life. Making cheese with them was super fun and full of laughter. We will welcome you back with open arms and big hugs anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Palm Coast, Fl.
5

PURA VIDA

  • 5 of 5

Pura Vida says it all! We were so blessed to have found "Finca Good Life". Ray and Michele provided us with a vacation that we will remember for years to come. The cabina , the views and the heartwarming hospitality were wonderful.......PS Ray, Thank-you for coming to our rescue! Blessings to you both, Dean & Anita Martindale.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words! We miss you guys a lot and have added you to our extended friends and family list!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Like a 5 star hotel!

  • 5 of 5

The best place we have been to! We stayed almost a week with 2 small kids. Perfekt little cottage with everything you need, high quality furnishing and utilities, beautifully decorated, hugh balcony with stunning views. Lovely, helpful, very friendly hosts, nice dogs, a cat, geese, goasts, tucans , fireflies,.... We absolutely loved everything and are just so sad that we won't be able to return soon enough to this amazing place! Thanks Michele and Ray!

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed your stay! We loved having you here and your children are adorable.....sweet, sweet family!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, Texas
5

Little slice of heaven!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Finca Good Life in December 2015 and definitely want to return. Michele and Ray were gracious hosts, always ready to provide guidance about local dining, shopping and activities, and were truly a wealth of information, including sharing their experiences of creating Finca Good Life and building a life in Costa Rica. The cottage had a stunning view, was beautifully appointed and had a gourmet kitchen. Loved the daily visits from the dogs, cat and geese. Never got up early enough to help with the goats, but perhaps on the next visit!

Michele and Ray, I can't thank you enough for making us feel welcome, and truly hope to visit again very soon.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Sherri.....we so enjoyed spending time with you guys and look forward to your upcoming visit!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Finca Good Life enjoys a majestic 360 degree view, which includes Volcan Irazu and Volcan Turrialba to our north and the white cliffs and water falls of Penas Blanca to our south. Rain forests border the propery on the east and west. We are part of the beautiful Orosi Valley which includes the magnificent Tapanti National Park. Zip lines and white water rafting are within a 30 minute drive. Orosi Valley is abound with hot mineral pools, coffee fields and endless shades of green forests and agriculture.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cartago Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$65
$440
$1,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Rates are based on double occupancy. An additional fee of $10 per person per night will be charged.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Cartago Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Trundle bed (1) Will sleep two young children or one teen/adult.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties