check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Elaine Keating

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Kitsilano, 1 Bedroom Garden Level Suite

62 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kitsilano House Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible Bed, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4) We are within walking distance of beaches, parks, tennis courts, museums, fitness centres, many fine restaurants and interesting shopping areas.

With a short ride (bike, bus or car), you have access to downtown Vancouver and University of British Columbia. Local ski lifts are 30 minutes by car. Public transportation is within 5 minutes.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Elaine Keating (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Elaine Keating

Originally from Winnipeg, Manitoba, we came to Vancouver and a few years later made Kitsilano our home since 1976. We've raised 3 girls in this house, all who have graduated from UBC.

Elaine Keating purchased this house in 1975

Why Elaine Keating chose Vancouver

We bought this property because of its location. Kitsilano is the perfect area to have raised our children. Our girls attended the elementary school across the street and later went to the high school about 10 minutes walking distance. The beaches are about a 20 minute walk and UBC is a 20 minute bus ride - our family seldom needed a car to get around.

What makes this house unique

This neighbourhood is unique in Vancouver in that several of our neighbours are a major part of each other's families. We've been extremely fortunate to have developed such close ties over the years. It is the reason none of us have any desire to leave the area.

Reviews

4.9
based on 62 traveler reviews

Kitsilano, 1 Bedroom Garden Level Suite
average rating of 4.903226 based on 62 reviews
5

Amazing place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Myself, my husband and almost 2 year old spent 9 days in this beautiful garden suite! Ted and Elaine were great hosts. We arrived to fresh baked biscuits and delicious homemade jam.

The suite is well equipped with everything you could possibly need...they even supplied a travel crib for our son to sleep in.

The location is perfect, close to both 4th and Broadway for shopping, dining, coffee shops etc. 15 minute walk to Kits beach and pool, close to public transportation but easy to park on the street if you do have a car. Granville island was also walkable and it was in easy spot to drive to anywhere else.

We had a great time here, loved Kitsilano and will definitely stay here again when we return to Vancouver!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gracious hosts and lovely place

  • 5 of 5

I've been remiss in leaving timely feedback regarding Elaine and Ted's charming place in Kitsilano. My family and I stayed here near the end of June for a quick getaway in Vancouver, and found this to be in the ideal location. The unit was very clean and had a very cozy and warm feel. The location was near a Safeway supermarket (only a block away which was great) and had many nice restaurants all within walking distance. The neighborhood was extremely safe as we saw many pedestrians walking at all hours of the day. Elaine and Ted were very welcoming and gracious as they welcomed us with a small bottle of milk, scones and a dab of butter for our first morning breakfast. Being visitors from California, we didn't know the local parking laws near the stop signs, and one morning my rental car almost got towed, which would have made for a wasted vacation day. However, Ted noticed from his window what was transpiring and stopped the tow truck driver from towing my car. He saved my bacon that day! At the end of each day exploring Vancouver, we enjoyed coming "home" to Elaine and Ted's place and relaxing on the couch. Thank you to Elaine and Ted for allowing us to stay at and welcoming us to their fabulous home. If we ever visit Vancouver again in the near future, we would love to stay there again.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Superb Kitsilano suite in great neighborhood!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at this suite was very, very nice. Elaine was so nice and thoughtful. What a treat it was to meet her and stay here. The unit was clean and comfortable and provided everything we needed. Well managed and cleverly organized. This is exactly what we hope for when choosing a VRBO over other options. We loved the neighborhood feel. We walked to the grocery store and nearby restaurants; took public transportation south to the "Richmond Night Market" and north to Downtown Vancouver; enjoyed the nearby Kitsilano Pool and the amazing beaches and parks nearby. Parking was easy. Perfectly enjoyable stay. We highly recommend this rental and would love to stay here again soon.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely suite

  • 4 of 5

Great location, lovely suite, really well-equipped. Lots of games for children. Would definitely come back!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Homey and Cozy Place!

  • 4 of 5

The property is very accessible to everything like attractions,beach,park restaurant you name it. It is very clean and feels like you are staying in your own home. Met the owner (Ms Elaine) who is so thoughtful, sweet and warm person. She made sure all our needs are met. Made my first VRBO booking so special. I will definitely come back and stay in here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Orangevale, CA, USA
5

Couldn't ask for a better homeaway home!

  • 5 of 5

The moment we walked into the suite, we just fell in love with it. Everything inside is nicely and neatly arranged. The suite is situated in Kitsilano area which is a great neighborhood with a lot of unique shops and eateries, all within a walking distance.

The first night we arrived, we walked to the nearby Greek Restaurant, Olympia Pizza, for dinner. Excellent place for Greek cuisine. The restaurant has just celebrated its 50th year in business. One of us was first introduced to Greek food 38 years ago in this restaurant, the other one of us was just introduced to Greek food for the 1st time. Isn't that something!

The first morning we walked to Kitsilano Beach in 15 minutes. Beautiful secenary around the water, people are friendly. Safeway grocery store is 10 minutes walk away, we walked there everyday, grabbed whatever looked good to fix breakfast or dinner at home when we were tired of eating out.

The suite provides us a wonderful homebase to enjoy our time in Vancouver. We have been in Vancouver many times before, but this is the best place we have ever stayed. We will definitely be back here again, because we haven't finished shopping all the stores on 4th Ave and West Broadway yet!

Thanks for letting us share part of your beautiful home, Elaine!

Best regards,

Grace, Patrick, Ling and Fred.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13.5 Kilometres
Vancouver International Airport (YVR)
Nearest Ferry
26.9 Kilometres
Horseshoe Bay Ferry Terminal
Nearest Golf
4.5 Kilometres
University Golf Club (public)
Nearest Train
7.3 Kilometres
Rocky Mountaineer Station
Nearest Motorway
11.8 Kilometres
# 1 highway
Nearest Ski
16.8 Kilometres
Grouse Mountain
Nearest Beach
1.6 Kilometres
Kitsilano Beach
Car: not necessary

We are within walking distance of beaches, parks, tennis courts, museums and other cultural activities, fitness centres, many fine restaurants and interesting shopping areas.

With a short ride (bike, bus or car), you have access to downtown Vancouver, University of British Columbia, Granville Island, Stanley Park, China Town, golf courses and 3 local ski lifts. We are located within 5 minutes of 3 different bus routes.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kitsilano House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$107
$694
$2,287
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $38
Refundable damage deposit $114

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Reservations are confirmed once the deposit has been accepted.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kitsilano House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 525 sq. ft.
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • bath with shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen size Sofa Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
High chair & Graco travel bed available for infants

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties