Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Kitsilano, 1 Bedroom Garden Level Suite

Bedrooms 1
Space 525 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible Bed, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4) We are within walking distance of beaches, parks, tennis courts, museums, fitness centres, many fine restaurants and interesting shopping areas.

With a short ride (bike, bus or car), you have access to downtown Vancouver and University of British Columbia. Local ski lifts are 30 minutes by car. Public transportation is within 5 minutes.

Elaine Keating
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Elaine Keating

Originally from Winnipeg, Manitoba, we came to Vancouver and a few years later made Kitsilano our home since 1976. We've raised 3 girls in this house, all who have graduated from UBC.

Elaine Keating purchased this house in 1975

Why Elaine Keating chose Vancouver

We bought this property because of its location. Kitsilano is the perfect area to have raised our children. Our girls attended the elementary school across the street and later went to the high school about 10 minutes walking distance. The beaches are about a 20 minute walk and UBC is a 20 minute bus ride - our family seldom needed a car to get around.

What makes this house unique

This neighbourhood is unique in Vancouver in that several of our neighbours are a major part of each other's families. We've been extremely fortunate to have developed such close ties over the years. It is the reason none of us have any desire to leave the area.


West Side House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 525 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • bath with shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen size Sofa Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
High chair & Graco travel bed available for infants


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(79 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Kitsilano, 1 Bedroom Garden Level Suite
average rating of 4.886076 based on 79 reviews

Really nice apartment close to buses

  • 5 of 5

Good location to get buses for both downtown and Grenville island. Enjoyed our visit

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable and well located

  • 4 of 5

A very comfortable stay in a well equipped suite and quiet neighbourhood with a short walk to a good range of shops including groceries and a great bakery. We really enjoyed eating out in The Naam, which was about 6-7 minutes walk away. We mostly travelled around on foot and public bus visiting Kitsilano beach, Granville Island (loved the markets and the stop for lunch / beer tasting at Granville Island Brewing), travelling by ferry from Granville across to Hornby Street and downtown etc.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We were very pleased to find such a beautiful apartment upon our arrival!

  • 5 of 5

This suite is exactly as described if not better! It is immaculately maintained and beautifully furnished. The kitchen is well supplied with utensils and kitchenware. It is furnished with a very comfortable bed and bedding. I'd love to be "balanced" and say something negative but I honestly didn't have anything that could be considered a drawback. The closest I could come, and it's a stretch, is the parking situation. Parking is on the street and doesn't seem plentiful, but we honestly didn't have any difficulty. There is parking across the street during the school's off hours.

There are many nice shops and restaurants less than two blocks away. Public transportation is also available within walking distance. We had a wonderful stay and encourage anyone seeking a suite in Kitsilano Beach to consider staying here! We look forward to returning!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

perfet Vancouver get-away for two

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this garden apartment in Kitsilano. We have been escaping to the Vancouver area for years and, most recently, going to Bard on the Beach. This unit is a little further south and west than where we have usually stayed and I was initially concerned that we would be too far away. I was wrong! This is a perfect location. I liked being able to walk either along 4th or along Broadway and each was easily accessible from this apartment - without a significant uphill hike. The neighborhood was quiet but the main streets were bustling with activity, lots of interesting shops, bakeries, restaurants and coffee houses. We were able to walk to Granville Island and back although we were bushed when we got back.

The apartment was very well stocked and appointed. We were able to take advantage of the fresh fruit from the markets and drink espresso from the machine in the unit.

We enjoyed not being at a B&B and having breakfast on our own - when we wanted and what we wanted. I appreciated the IKEA-like modernity of the unit and the efficient use of space. We had a lunch on the small outside patio which was very private.

We both loved the fresh scones and homemade blueberry jam that were there on our arrival.

We stayed three nights and could easily have stayed longer. We will definitely stay here in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pleasantly surprised

  • 4 of 5

On all properties I write pro's and con's. Pro's: Nice district, felt totally safe. Close to a variety of activities. Spotless. Well stocked kitchen with spices and items. Gas stove or BBQ - your choice. Lots of closet space. Clean, good quality towels. Con or Pro? - depends on the person. I found the bed in bedroom too hard for my sensitive back. The hide-a-bed in the front room has a softer mattress so that you can choose what works best for you. Sadly the mattress in the hide-a-bed has a big sag in the center where perhaps kids had jumped on it and damaged it so it might be uncomfortable for two. Parking during the summer is not an issue, however there is a school across the street with restrictive parking regulations during the school season so it would be more of a challenge. There is a side street with parking but it is usually very full. The only issue we had with our stay was the return of the $150 deposit. I wanted to wait until we received it back before making a review. It took an inquiry looking for it, and on the 21st day after our stay that we received the full refund. Elaine explained they were away with no access to the internet to generate the refund.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Val, Sorry you found the mattresses unsuitable for sleeping. It is unfortunate that you did not test the mattresses when you came to view the suite a month prior to your check-in date. At that time you were concerned about parking your large truck but felt that there would be no problem. Again I do apologize about the late return of your deposit. It is usually my policy to return the fee within 5 days. VRBO sent a notice that they have an automatic refund system and I incorrectly assumed it was in effect. Elaine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What's not to like!

  • 5 of 5

Highly recommend this suite! very comfortable for 2 people, great amount of space both inside and out. Perfect location just steps to Broadway with all the amenities. Hosts were very accommodating and helpful. Don't hesitate to book this, we would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
13.5 Kilometres
Vancouver International Airport (YVR)
Nearest Ferry
26.9 Kilometres
Horseshoe Bay Ferry Terminal
Nearest Golf
4.5 Kilometres
University Golf Club (public)
Nearest Train
7.3 Kilometres
Rocky Mountaineer Station
Nearest Motorway
11.8 Kilometres
# 1 highway
Nearest Ski
16.8 Kilometres
Grouse Mountain
Nearest Beach
1.6 Kilometres
Kitsilano Beach
Car: not necessary

We are within walking distance of beaches, parks, tennis courts, museums and other cultural activities, fitness centres, many fine restaurants and interesting shopping areas.

With a short ride (bike, bus or car), you have access to downtown Vancouver, University of British Columbia, Granville Island, Stanley Park, China Town, golf courses and 3 local ski lifts. We are located within 5 minutes of 3 different bus routes.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $40.55
Additional Guest Fee $16.22 per person per night
Damage Deposit $121.66

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Reservations are confirmed once the deposit has been accepted.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties