Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

JUNE SPECIAL $200- Downtown HR Charming 3 BR Home w/ 180 River Views

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

HR Downtown 3 BR Charming Home with Sweeping River Views

Charming craftsman home with 180 degree river view. Three-minute walk to downtown Hood River restaurants and shops. 1/2 block to the park and 2 blocks to the library for kids.

3 bedroom, 1.5 baths, 1400 s.f. Fully furnished, stocked kitchen (newly remodeled in 2014), Wi-fi, flat screen tv, Cable, washer/dryer, Storage for sports gear of all types.

Bedroom 1: King bed, walk in closets, river view

Bedroom 2: Queen bed, large closet, river view

Bedroom 3: Full bed, Garden view

Full Bath completes upstairs

Downstairs has open floor plan with living room, dining room, large newly remodeled kitchen. 1/2 remodeled bath off kitchen. River views from all windows.

Large deck off of dining room with BBQ and full river view.

Large storage area attached to the house. Large backyard, front porch with swing chair & garden.

More Details

Owner
Sunnie & Joe
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, Korean
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017

About Sunnie & Joe

We met on the banks of the Columbia River 15 years ago and have been coming back ever since that day. Now with 2 children we are discovering more ways to enjoy the Gorge's diversity and beauty. We strive to offer a clean, well appointed home close to all ammenities for your vacation. We sincerely hope you enjoy your stay and come back.

Sunnie & Joe purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Sunnie & Joe chose Mount Hood

The location is perfect: incredible water view, charm and character, space, great and quiet neighborhood, walking distance to downtown.

What makes this cottage unique

Great river view

Charming character

Walk to Kids Park

Walk to Downtown

View Deck

Lots of storage

Amenities

Hood River Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Garden view
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , River view
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Very spacious with 2 closets; Full river view
  • Pack and Play available
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Large secure storage area, Porch Swing, yard, garden, fruit, walk to downtown.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

JUNE SPECIAL $200- Downtown HR Charming 3 BR Home w/ 180 River Views
average rating of 4.25 based on 20 reviews
3

Expectations were not quite met!

  • 3 of 5

Although spacious and clean with lots of beds I found it lacking in basic maintenance.

At issue were:

1. TV remote batteries were dead

2. Filter replacement light was on in Refrigerator

3. Outside garbage cans were full to overflowing

4. Oven cleaner was not completely wiped out of oven leaving it

unusable unless I cleaned it out.

5. The windows throughout the house were Very Dirty!

As one can see the June Special for this property is on this site. It was also on site

when I selected the house. However the special was not given at time of paying

and when I contacted owner the explanation was that it was for last year. He did agree

to remit the amount in the cleaning refund.

Conclusion: Although it is a great location and views of river are wonderful especially

from the deck, which was also a Plus, the basic up-keep caused some frustration. Neighborhood quiet except for intermittent barking dogs which was

annoying. The neighbors tied two small dogs up just below the house and left them

out there to bark. Also the business part was very efficient and smooth....and owners

were very attentive. So, with some small issues corrected this would be great, especially

for a family with kids with the nice big backyard! Reminder: this house is very old!

(Nice art work on walls)

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, Elaine. Some responses to your feedback: (1) Since our cleaning person does not test the TV, or we are unable to check the house in between guests, the extra batteries are placed in the junk drawer in the kitchen. We will make sure to put them in a more noticeable place for guests to use. (2) Thanks for letting us know on the filter light. We ordered the filter and will be replacing it as soon as it is delivered. (3) Yes, the city missed the pickup leaving us with 3 week full of garbage. We contacted them and they are picking it right away. (4) We spoke to our cleaning lady about the oven and the windows. She has cleaned the inside of the windows but could not reach to clean the outside. We will call a contractor or a service who can do this. Thanks again for letting us know. (5) We have updated the rate for June to calculate correctly. Thanks for letting us know on this as well. (6) Reg. neighbor's dogs, usually he keeps his dogs inside. We will talk to him next time we visit and see them. We appreciate your feedback. These are the things that will help us improve our house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston
5

Charming, cozy home with breathtaking views.

  • 5 of 5

Stop looking and book this precious home full of charm and coziness. We love sitting on the porch swing and enjoying the view. We loved being so close to town that we could walk to a new adventure everyday. It was a short drive to the gorge to kayak etc...how perfect. We were in town for a wedding and everyone ended up at our rental to hang because of the prefect location and the ideal indoor/outdoor space to gather.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Functional house in a convenient location

  • 5 of 5

We are a family of 6 with four young children (4 yr-old and under), so functionality of the house and location were high on our list. The house has all 3 bedrooms upstairs, which worked great for us. One of them has a low queen bed, which was perfect for our two oldest kids (falling off the bed is low-impact!). We also enjoyed the good-size living area downstairs, with open floor plan. Bonus was the deck with views of the river, from which we enjoyed several dinners. As noted in other reviews the house is on the older side, so the floor is creaky upstairs, etc. If you've never lived in an old house this may feel weird. We were fine with it.

Location was perfect. There is a great playground on the street the house is located on (a level street, which you'll come to appreciate in Hood River). Super convenient with the kids who could use their scooter to get there (a 3 minute walk). Oak street is a 5 minute walk going, 10 minute coming back. It is STEEP. We could not push our double stroller with the older kids in it on the last stretch (7th street). But the very steep sections (on State and 7th) are short.

Overall very satisfied.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house in Hood River

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here in early August. House is clean, in good condition with lots of charm, in a quiet neighborhood, and in a great location. Easy to get in and out of town for day hikes. Also enjoyed being close enough to town to walk to restaurants and early morning strolls to the waterfront. Kitchen was perfect size for what we needed and all appliances worked well. Awesome views of the river from the deck. Nice storage area off the kitchen if you have equipment to store (we did not use this space, but is nice amenity for those that need it). Master bed was very comfy and supportive. Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location for Hood River fun!

  • 4 of 5

Blue Sky Cottage worked out so well for our MN, OR , WA reunion. The main floor was especially great for meals & game playing. We enjoyed the view from the deck and barbecued every night. Three bedrooms gave everyone their space & privacy & we rested well. The location is great for Hood River activities. Good food, good drink & phenomenal sight seeing. We would rent this home again.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bothel
4

Very classic family vacation rental

  • 4 of 5

Traveling with a family, then this is a good property to consider. Great location, walking distance to all downtown spots. The home features a large yard, a big deck with lots of views and an open main floor which works well for families. Great storage area for bikes and windsurf gear too. The home is older, but the appliances are up to date.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Portland
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Wine tasting
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Indian Creek
Nearest Train
0.2 Miles
Mt. Hood RR
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
HWY 84
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
3 River Grill
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Mt. Hood Meadows
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Event site/Kite Beach
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hood River Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
June Special
Jun 14 2017 - Jun 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Peak Season
Jun 29 2017 - Sep 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$220
 
 
Late Season
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$220
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$220
$1,470
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $95
Tax Rate 9.0%

** We allow fill-ins (< 7 days) between week-long bookings during the peak season. Please contact us close to your arrival date with your inquiry even you do not meet the minimum stay. Nightly rate: $220

*** International/Canadian Credit Card Fee: additional 3% for VRBO or 4.4% for PayPal (Please let us know in advance. If forgot to mention at the time of reservation, we can deduct it from the deposit.)

**** Cancellations:
We ask that you give us at least 30-day notice to cancel your reservation for a full refund. If cancelled within 30 days of arrival, we will refund your deposit and all of the days we are able to re-book. Cancellation Fee: 5% of total amount.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties