Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Large Summer Cottage on the Water's Edge - East Shore

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths2
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

This home is a classic lakeside retreat that lets the rest of the world slip away. A private pier serves the cottage and is perfect for swimming and sunning. The front yard stretches from front door to water’s edge with a couple of shade trees for sitting. The back yard is ideal for group activities and games. The enclosed front porch looks out on the lake and wraps around the side of the house. The dining room can seat 12-14 people, and the kitchen has all the amenities of a home with a small table and a grill on the back porch. There is a large laundry room with full washer and dryer. The living room has a cozy television area and a computer table with a desktop provided and wireless access. The master suite downstairs has a king, a private bath and walk-in closet, and its own television and internet access. All linens, including beach towels, are provided.

The quaint town of Culver has numerous fine restaurants and shops including a grocery and drug store. Two public golf courses are available for play. Culver Military Academy is 2 miles away (an eight minute drive around the lake), and boats may be rented from the local marina for a leisurely lakeside tour or skiing.

During the summer our rental period begins each Monday at 4:00 pm and ends the following Monday at 10:00 am. The rent is payable one month in advance with security deposit due at time of signing contract. Four day minimum rental in the summer.

Amenities: Phone, Cable TV, Stereo, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, All Cooking Utensils/Pots/Dishes, Linens, Grill (BBQ), Clothes Washer and Dryer; No air conditioning or heat.

More Details

Owner
Mary Thompson
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 29, 2017

About Mary Thompson

We are 4th generation owners of this wonderful lakeside cottage. A true cottage loved and enjoyed by many families.

Mary Thompson purchased this cottage in 1917

What makes this cottage unique

Front porch offers full view of the lake. Two couch swings on the porch help pass the lazy afternoons with naps or reading while others play card games galore. Fun place to watch storms come across the lake. It is so peaceful that you completely forget your life at home and really relax.

Amenities

Culver Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , master bath downstairs
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , downstairs
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , upstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 6 - 1 king
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (4), Baby Cribs (1), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 8 garden chairs
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Large Summer Cottage on the Water's Edge - East Shore
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
5

Wonderful time, passed too quickly. Family fun!

  • 5 of 5

Great time with our family. Home was supplied with all our needs.

Hope to visit again.

Smith family reunion

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay and do come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Definition of a family lakehouse getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This wonderful cottage was just perfect for our family vacation. First off, coordinating 10 adults and 4 kids (ages 4 and under) isn't easy. We had many questions prior to booking. Not only was Mary quick to respond but there was a an answer/solution to everything because the house and town of Culver had it!

We brought food for the week. Making dinner was never an issue with a fully stocked kitchen as well as gas grill. And eating arrangements was never an issue because there was a long table that held all the adults and a little table for 4 that the kids sat at (optional high chair). Not to mention the breathing taking view of the lake!

As for sleeping, not an issue with space. There are 5 bedrooms upstairs with 1 downstairs- all the adult kids with little kids slept upstairs while the grandparents slept downstairs. We had plenty of space to set up a pack n play in 2 of the rooms. The 4 year olds loved the bunk bed room!

When we arrived, the house was so clean and welcoming. There even were towels folded on the bottom of the beds!

The most important part for us was outside entertainment...wouldn't have wanted anything else! The beach area was perfect for the little ones to play (safely). There are stairs off the dock (in the middle) so the kids could jump and jump off the dock! The water depth was perfect for them- my 4 year old could touch there. Oh and not to mention, the water was warm and the bottom was sandy! The house has 2 kayaks that we all took advantage of! Kids were able to sit on our laps and enjoy the ride. My brother brought his small fishing boat so were able to go for some boat rides. But no issues with pulling up to dock for kids to get on and securing that to a pole overnight. Right along the house is a creek, which the kids could try to catch frogs and also where a mama duck with her 6 baby ducks would come every morning. Of course we had to feed them. There is a small fire pit that we used many nights for smores or just to sit around. Of course we spent most of our time outside but the kids did need some downtime inside- TV had cable which included some kid channels but there also was a DVD player. Basically, there was endless fun!

By end of week, everyone was sad to be leaving but was talking about next year!

Highly recommend this wonderful home for a family getaway, especially with little kids!

Thank you, Mary and family for the excellent hospitality!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our home and what the town of Culver has to offer! It is perfect for all ages as was evidenced by your review. We hope you do come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South Sutton, NH
5

Perfect family gathering place!

  • 5 of 5

We were so blessed to find this fantastic home. There is so much character in this house and it just welcomes you right in. We brought the whole family + a few extras and it was perfect. The rooms as so cute and unique that you actually enjoy spending time in your room. The downstairs is laid out perfectly for fun with a great card table that was always in use. Being able to step right out of the house and into the water was very special as the lake was just the right temperature to cool us off. We also really enjoyed sitting on the lounge chairs at the end of the dock for sunning and reading our books.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Loved that you enjoyed your stay and found its charm and family atmosphere so inviting! Come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding in every respect!

  • 5 of 5

Most outstanding rental in every respect. Mary was very easy to work with throughout the process. The home was very clean, everything worked and the photos well represent the home. The views were amazing, we loved everything about it and hope to rent this home again in the future!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Gainesville, FL USA
5

Back again :-)

  • 5 of 5

We had so much fun last year we came back and once again Mother Nature smiled and gave us beautiful weather. Our family love it so much they are now calling it "our lake house". We cooked all our meals - your kitchen is so well equipped - the newly painted cabinets are beautiful. Once again we brought our kayaks, canoe - and a small sailboat. The little ones spent hours in the water and collecting shells and rocks. We did have a couple rain showers but your toy and puzzle cabinet in the family room kept them happily entertained. The rooms are so well insulated upstairs those who wanted to sleep in could do so. The sunsets are gorgeous and sitting in the lounge chairs at the end of the dock in the cool evening breeze - so relaxing. Thank you again for sharing your beautiful summer cottage on the lake. We're already talking about next year :-)

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Gainesville, FL USA
5

Perfect for Our Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5

We spent an awesome week on the lake with family and this house was a perfect fit for our needs. The master bedroom downstairs with private bath was great for my 84 year old dad and the rest of us had our own room upstairs and the beds were so comfortable. The house is very well insulated for those who wanted to sleep in in the mornings - couldn't hear a peep from downstairs. With all the bathrooms available no one had to wait "in line" ever. The decor is beautiful and cozy - the love for family shines throughout. We had a five year old and two year old and they loved playing in the shallow water of the lake right in the backyard. They had quite a collection of small pebbles and shells by the end of the week. The long dock was great for us older "kids" to jump in the water off the end and with the lounge chairs provided we could sit out there in the evening and enjoy the cool breeze. We brought a canoe and kayak with us and were able to launch from the sandy beach. The trees in the backyard gave us plenty of shade in the afternoon. We enjoyed cooking out all our dinners on the gas grill and the kitchen had all the utensils, cookware and dishes we needed. The extra refrigerator came in handy too. The sunsets in the evening were spectacular ! Mother Nature smiled on us and gave us temps in the 80s during the day and 60s at night - we loved being able to keep the windows open and let in the fresh air. It was a relaxing week and we all came away with special memories of our time together. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us - we hope to return again next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the glowing review. We think it is a pretty special place too and are so glad it fit your families needs just perfectly! Come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,500
Tax Rate 7.0%

Security Deposit due with lease signing. Full Rent due 30 days prior to rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund