check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Lake Front and across the road from ATV/Snowmobile Trail

5 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


Mercer Cabin Rental Photos and Description

one Acre Lake Front Property with accomodations for up to 17 people

Location.location.location. Just ride your ATV or Snowmobile down the driveway and hook into Iron County Trail #10 to join in hundreds of trails.

Self sufficient cabin (towels & linens provided), Gas Fireplace and Lakefront windows for a great breeze and view. We offer picnic table, charcoal grill and stackable outdoor chairs for sitting around the campfire & enjoying the stars and sounds of nature!

The lake is a DNR Quality Lake with clear water, sandy bottom and fisherman weeds. The lake is terrific for fishing; boating, tubing, skiing, or ice fishing. You are provided a rowboat/oars/lifejackets, a motor is available for rent. You also may keep your own private boat at the dock once launched at the public boat landing.

Kitchen is fully equipped right down to crockpot to cook dinner as you are out snowmobiling or fishing for the day. Cabin has two tv's with 60 channels of cable; plus a DVD player & VCR. We also stock DVD/VHS movies for your enjoyment. We also offer nintendo and board games for the occassional rainy day. Rollaway beds are available if needed for a nominal fee.

Two night minimum stay required. You may rent for multiple days, weekly or monthly.

Pets are allowed with prior approval.

Air Conditioning is available. So much for nature's natural air conditioning!

We are located just 1.5 miles outside of the town of Mercer. Not too close to town and not far out in the wild and wooly.

We have an adjacent 'West' cottage sometimes available for rent too.

More Details

Janet & Ed Calahan
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 7, 2016

About Janet & Ed Calahan

Ed and I decided to buy this property as we found ourselves renting private homes over the past 30 years for snowmobiling, atving and summer weekend and weekly getaways. We thought this location is perfect from trail #10 and not too far from town. Nice lake and so much beauty from the woody area and the sound of the loons. Abundant wildlife of squirrels, otters, eagles, deer, fox, coyote, wolves and bear. We have even seen a bobcat on our webcam! Now you can enjoy too as we made it feel like home away from home when we cannot be there to enjoy it!

Janet & Ed Calahan purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Janet & Ed Calahan chose Northern Wisconsin

Location, location, location. Cleanliness, comfort and affordability. It gives us great pleasure to be able to share our accommodations for a reasonable fee when we cannot take advantage of the property. Hopefully, many others will create lasting memories and traditions as we had with our family.

What makes this cabin unique

Just down the driveway is Iron County ATV/Snowmobile Trail #10. Quiet, serene, peaceful - but not too far away from anything should you want to get somewhere. During the winter you can snowmobile across the lake to cut into the trail too! Not a resort but a two private homes on nearly an acre of land! Ample parking for trailers and sleds/atv's.


based on 5 traveler reviews

Lake Front and across the road from ATV/Snowmobile Trail
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews
Wausau, WI

Awesome 4th of July/Bday Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, I, our 10 year old twins, and our dog (a chiweenie) rented this cabin over the 4th of July holiday for 4 nights. We also had my parents and my sister from PA come along and enjoy the vacation. The house was very updated... A very nice kitchen with all appliances, kitchen-ware, etc. that we could possibly need, and a great amount of cabinet space. Everything in the cabin was wonderful. One bedroom had 2 sets of bunk beds, twin over full along with a TV and cable channels, and 2 dressers. The main bedroom has a queen size bed with dresser and nightstand. There are ceiling fans in the living room, kitchen, and both bedrooms (we never even had to turn on the AC with all of the fans going and windows open). There is a smaller, but very nice, deck off of the living room overlooking the lake, picnic table, and charcoal grill. The yard is huge with a dropdown to the lake, dock, and firepit. The dock is larger with a nice bench for sitting, and can tie up several boats (in addition to the boats that are provided with the rental). Janet and Ed (the owners) came up for the holiday weekend and we had the great pleasure of meeting them. They were so nice and hospitable! They let us know of the parade in town, and the fireworks show right on the lake there, so my family went out on our boat to watch the fireworks from the middle of the lake..... I can tell you that it was THE BEST show that any of us have ever seen!! The fireworks were outstanding, and to have them going off right over us was amazing, nothing like we've ever experienced before!! After we got back to the cabin, Janet & Ed allowed us to have our own fireworks show with what we had brought along. We also did some fishing (our twins had a blast... every cast right off the dock caught a fish, granted many of them were small and we threw them back in, but they LOVED it!). Caught a very nice bass right off the dock that we kept, and witnessed other fishermen yelling from their boats that they reeled in some walleye and muskies. My husband, I, and my sister also went tubing out on the lake (on the 4th, which was beautiful) and just floated out there for hours... it was amazing!!

There is also a great public beach/playground right down the road, and the town of Mercer is wonderful - tourist shops, restaurants/diners/bars, bait & fishing equipment shop, awesome grocery store with a huge liquor and specialty beer section. We will definitely want to go back for another memorable vacation!!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wowza Jennifer! Thank you for the wonderful review. You captured everything we try to say with our website and listings. I think you deserve a good discount on your next stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Holmen Wisconsin

Cabin West average too close to east.

  • 3 of 5

Could have been quieter the homes on both sides were sawing through out the day. It was nice to be close to the lake. Fishing wasn't good at all but it was nice to be out in the boats. The grandkids really enjoyed being able to together and gi tubing and kayaking. The lake was nice and calm weather was great which made for a nice vacation. It was great to be able to have our dogs with us. it was also nice to be away from town yet close to it.

If the place was mine I would cut down the scrubbier trees and brush right in front of the cabin to open up the view of the lake for cabin west and give it a neater area. We had a relaxing week which was much needed for all.with both places so close together it was nice not having any one in east for most of the week. A suggestion- have someone go to the property shortly before renters are to come and clean up all the duck poop down near the lake where people sit around. We were walking in it until my husband bought a rake and cleaned up that area. Also have someone check the cabin for spiders and spider webs on the Windows.the Windows were pretty dirty. I'm not complaining just making suggestions. All in all we had a good week there.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ellen, The cabins are on almost an acre lot, at least 40' apart (as the space between them is storage). The lawns are separated by terracing. They are just as close together as one might find at a resort. Unfortunately you chose a week the 'non-resident' neighbors were building a deck and created noise. They usually only come for a few select weekends throughout the year. Fishing and goose poop is nature, not much I can do about that as weather is usually a factor. As it is the peak of summer, spring overgrowth has yet to be cut back but will be done to give a treehouse effect from the deck and a view of the lake. In the northwoods cobwebs can appear overnight in between screens and glass but are cleaned regularly by our staff. I am glad you found the cabins convenient, clean, comfortable and had FUN ! We would love for you to come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Tough to recommend

  • 1 of 5

I take no joy in writing this, but I think it's only fair based on our experience and may at least help someone else thinking about staying here. We had a really, really difficult time. Some of that was our circumstances, but the overwhelming majority of it was the near incomprehensibility of dealing with the owner. We were visiting Mercer a weekend in June following the memorial service for my grandfather so that we could spend a few extra days with family. We found this location to be very convenient to where the rest of the family was located. With small children, we knew we needed some place where we could have peace and quiet where the kids could go to bed earlier without intruding on everyone else staying up and connecting. I booked for three nights because we were driving 6 hours from the service and we weren't sure if we would want to do it at night while the kids slept or during the day. So we booked Friday - Sunday nights, but ended up arriving Saturday afternoon. Thank god we did that because the directions were very very difficult to understand IN DAYLIGHT. After all was said and done, I looked back and wasn't sure if the address was even included. After finding the place, I looked back at the email the owner sent to us, which had a lockbox code for the cabin and after some confusion as to which lockbox was right, got in. The pictures matched exactly what was on the website so I felt pretty sure we were good to go and unload our things. Just to confirm, I called the owner and left a message saying we had arrived and wanted to be sure we had the right place. No word back in 45 minutes so I left another message. After that, life went on, we began to visit with family and went out for dinner. Literally three hours after I left the first message, the owner calls and explains that I was in the wrong cabin and they had mistakenly sent me the code for the wrong house. About to sit down to dinner with two small children and the rest of our family, I left the restaurant to move all of our things to the other house, which upon entering smelled very strongly of what I found out later was carpet shampoo. It was overpowering and did not go away throughout the night. Keep in mind we had booked Sunday as well and this was Saturday, but since the owner couldn't get someone in to clean the house on Monday we had agreed to essentially leave the next day. It was a nightmare. I didn't ask for a refund, though I think we were more than due one. Stay in an inn.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Graham, unfortunately this all arose as I was in limited cell service which is quite common in the northwoods. My limited availability to cell service forced me to act hastily by sending you arrival info for the WEST cabin; wherein you were renting the EAST cabin. What you failed to mention, was I apologized when I realized I sent incorrect information for the EAST cabin. and sent the correct information and asked you to delete the previous email. You were trying to gain access on a storage door, thinking it was EAST cabin, while not marked as either cabin; and as entry didnt work, it was convenient for you to enter the WEST cabin. Please take note, you did not delete the email as requested as you referred to it to gain entry to the WEST cabin, to which signage was clearly visible. Wrong cabin, you knew you were renting EAST. Bottom line, you entered the WEST cabin and your contract stated EAST cabin. Yes the website shows actual pictures so it would look correct for either cabin. I will agree I could not call you back for a couple hours due to no cell service. What has been learned is, our caretaker contact number will be on all arrival information should I be unreachable. I am sorry you didnt like the carpet shampoo fragrance as that is an individual preference. As for a refund, we offered it to you and you stated, "I really don't care about the money." During our 9 years of service, this has never happened nor have we had a guest give a bad review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Location!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights on a snowmobile trip. The home was perfectly clean with all the amenities that we could wish for. Only about a mile or so from town and right across the street from the snowmobile trail. We had a great time. The whole process of booking, payment and checking out was smooth as silk. Great communication. Even when we were running late they gave us a call to see if we were OK. In my mind that is priceless. We will definitely be back at least once if not more next winter to enjoy the great trails and great property. Thanks again. Bob and Keri.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow. Thank you Bob & Keri! That is what we strive for. We sincerely value the patronage of our guests, and only want the BEST for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Racine Co.

Mom & Dad Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Home was clean and ready for us upon arrival. Perfect house for a 4 day getaway. Home kitchen has all basic needs. Boat pier was easy to use and we were able to dock our boat all three nights. Neighbors were friendly and considerate, asked if we minded fireworks at night for the kids. My husband fished all day, everyday. He caught approx 30 Bass, 20in Bass was the largest. Thank you for a nice home to relax in and sitting on the front deck at night was truly relaxing. Parking in back for our truck and boat trailer was ample.Recommended resturants were great!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nykki, thank you for the positive feedback. We aim to make everyone comfortable and have an enjoyable time! We hope you will become one of our repeat guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Around the Corner, Johnnys, Heart of the North
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Tahoe Lynx on FF
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Beaver Lodge, Mercer
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Big Powderhorn, WhiteCap, Indian Chief
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Carrow Park, Mercer

We are just 1/4 mile down the road from a playground, public park and public beach that offers addtitional swimming. This park includes a basketball court, tennis court, and baseball diamond. Can walk to park and it is on the same side of the street.


Rates & Availability

Mercer Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
3 nite minimum
Jul 16 2015 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $5 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee per pet per nite $5 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Mercer Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 is in 'East' cottage - toilet , combination tub/shower , Bathroom in West cottage has shower no tub
  • Bathroom 2 is in 'East' cottage and has toilet,tub/shower combo
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen sleeper sofa in living room
  • Queen size Bed (1), Two twin Beds plus 1 twin rollaway available for extra charge, 1 queen sleeper sofa . The other two bedroom cottage (West) has 1 queen, 2 bunk beds (full sz on bottom/twin on top), and 2 twin rollaways available
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers