check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Gail Kimrey

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Cozy Cabin in the woods on the Lake!! Fishing, swimming or just some R and R

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Scottsboro Cabin Rental Photos and Description

A relaxing, getaway place on the lake in the woods

Visit Lake Guntersville, one of the most well known bass fishing lakes in the US. Located right off of Hwy 79 between Guntersville and Scottsboro, the cabin is close to the numerous fishing tournaments at Goose Pond Colony and Waterfront Grocery. A 5 min. drive to the Mink Creek boat launch, this lakefront cabin has great fishing, duck hunting, swimming and boating for a relaxing getaway in the woods. Perfect for any season. Large dock for tying up your boat, swimming, catching a beautiful sunset or just watching the world go by. Electrical hook ups available at the dock. a short 30 minute drive. *** Please note there are about 50 steps(with railing) from the parking area to the house if steps would be an issue. The lake is about 10 steps from the house to the dock. Enjoy close up views of the water and wildlife on the screened in porch and large patio. Take a nap in a hammock or swing on the lakeside swing. This rustic home is reminiscent of old times at the lake. Large great room lives big with kitchen/living room combination in a relaxed setting. Shop in the quaint city of Scottsboro at Unclaimed Baggage or visit Cathedral Caverns and the Walls of Jericho, all within a short 30 minute drive.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Gail Kimrey (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Gail Kimrey

I grew up spending weekends at Guntersville Lake and have wonderful memories on the lake with my family fishing, boating, swimming and just hanging out. Wanted my children and family to enjoy the same experiences that I had and for us to make many memories for years to come.

Gail Kimrey purchased this cabin in 2011

Why Gail Kimrey chose Alabama

Deep water(8-9 ft) for swimming and boating was a priority for us as well as being close to the main channel. The house is located close to the water, you feel like you are right by it from the house. You can hear the waves lapping at the sea wall at night, watch herons dip down and catch a fish and see fisherman catch fish after fish right by your dock. It is 45 minutes from our home, so a day trip, weekend trip or all week are all convenient. It is also close to the city of Scottsboro, so that a quick trip to town if you need Walmart or the grocery store doesn't take all day. Easy to find off the highway, but you feel miles away from home.

What makes this cabin unique

From the first time we walked into the cabin, I knew this was the one. We wanted a cabin that everyone could enjoy and not worry messing up but would enable us to sit and relax and enjoy the company of those around us. Everyone comments on how cozy and relaxing it is--they don't want to leave. From the screened in porch, to the stone patio to the large dock, there is a space for everyone to find their spot;.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful time and REALLY enjoyed the cabin. Much rest and relaxation - which was just what I (we) needed.



We found some kind of large green/white tree frog - and also ran into a few armadillo's -- I think we saw muskrats - not sure what else it would have been. And we heard coyote across the lake one evening.



The unclaimed baggage center didn't have anything we couldn't live without ! We did go to Cathedral Caverns and the Sauty Cave



THANK YOU!
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(67 traveler reviews)
Cozy Cabin in the woods on the Lake!! Fishing, swimming or just some R and R
average rating of 4.7014923 based on 68 reviews
North MS
5

Cozy cabin by lake

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the cozy cabin by the lake. Reminiscent of a cabin I stayed as a child. Perfect for my family of four. The kitchen has everything you need. Our favorite spot was watching the sunset from the outdoor patio. Hope to visit again!! I was amazed at the day trip to Cathedral Caverns. It is definitely worth seeing. Thanks Gail for sharing your cabin! We had a great time !

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad that you enjoyed your time at our rustic cabin. I agree, watching the sunset from the patio is also one of my favorites times of the day-so beautiful and peaceful! Thanks for coming, and I hope you will come back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect, we will be back.

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very clean, comfortable cabin. It was very cozy and had everything we needed. One of the nights we had 5 adults, 2 kids and an infant and we were still quite comfortable. Initially there was one small discrepancy in what was advertised and Miss Gail rectified the issue in mere moments, thank you for that ma'am. The view of the sunset from the cabin and the dock was breathtaking. Fishing was great, swimming was great and the neighbors were as nice as they could be. You really do not need to bring anything from but clothes, food, fishing gear and floats as the cabin has absolutely everything you need and then some. As I said in the title WE WILL be renting this property again. Thank you again Miss Gail for you detailed attention and your kindness.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad the cabin worked for your family and I do hope you will be able to come back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Truly enjoyed this beautiful, peaceful place.

  • 5 of 5

My family and myself spent 3 nights and 4 days at this lovely cabin, and we will definitely be going back. Everything was just as it was described in the ad I'm actually even better than we first thought. The place had everything you would need and more. One of the nights there were 5 adults and 3 kids and we were all quite comfortable. Upon arrival there was one small discrepancy that we found in what was originally discussed, I contacted Gail and she rectified the issue within minutes. Truly loved this place. Thank you so much Gail. I strongly recommend this cabin to anyone that is considering it.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Heaven

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was just what we ordered. Extremely clean and fully stocked . We have two boys 13 and 14. Our family loves to fish and that's what we did for 4 days. The canoe was an extra plus. Only time we left cabin was for ice cream, other than that we enjoyed every minute at cabin. If your looking for peaceful family time this is your place. Mrs. Gail checked on us throughout our stay. Her response time before and after trip was within 1 hour. We will be back again. Thanks for a great vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad your family enjoyed our cabin. And I was thrilled to see your picture of the huge catfish you caught from the dock! Hope you can come back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Lots of steps

  • 2 of 5

Property came out much more expensive than advertised when I put credit card info in. We were three women in our early seventies and the stairs were hard to do. Furnished comfortably but not much more. If you used the canoe it may be worth renting.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you found it more expensive than you anticipated. VRBO now charges a service fee on all reservations made which owners have no control over. Most other properties also charge a cleaning fee(mine is minimal) and state and local taxes. Those are detailed in the quote provided to you. So sorry you may not of realized that.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Horrible!!!

  • 1 of 5

please think twice before you rent this cabin!! First there are 47 steps to walk up and down to get to the cabin. There are an additional amount to get to the boat dock! When we arrived the cabin smelled horrible. It was musty and old smelling. We sprayed febreeze and bought a candle to burn. Being four senior citizens we just wanted a few days to fish and relax. When we turned on the tv it wouldn't work. I called Gail the owner and reported the problem. She gave us suggestions on how to use the remote but still no tv. She then told ME to call the cable company and see if it was a cable issue. Just what I wanted to do on my vacation. The cable people said it was the tv! So the next day she sends out some man to look at the tv. He confirmed what the cable company said. So about six that evening Gail comes dragging a tv down the fifty steps to the cabin. One of the guys with us had to put it together and set it up. We told her that this was stressful to us and we negotiated a refund of half our stay. My husband has two replaced hips and the steps were killing him along with no tv to watch was making our trip not to relaxing. The tv stopped working again after she left. So she suggested we call the cable company again!! Are you serious? The whole trip was a horrible experience. Later the evening of our last three night stay she sent me an email explaining she could not refund me half of my stay because she had to pay her cleaning service!! To top it all off she sends me an email today telling me we left to much laundry and she was keeping fifty dollars of my deposit!! How could we have left to much laundry? We only slept in two of the four beds!!! We each took a shower and used a towel two nights!!! We stripped the beds started the washer and did the dishes before we left. We even swept the place out!!! I don't see how this lady sleeps at night!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that you found our cabin unsatisfactory for your fishing vacation. I am also sorry you did not see in the description nor in several reviews about the steps to the cabin. I will certainly double my efforts to make sure people are aware of them. After you notified me at 9am in the morning about the TV not working, I suggested you calling the cable company because I was not at the cabin and could not follow the instructions they give to restart the cable service. Once notified the TV for sure was not working, I stopped everything I was doing, bought a brand new TV, drove 45 minutes to the cabin and set it up. I appreciated the help offered by your group to set it up. We both agreed that It was working perfectly when I left the cabin. I was very generous as promised in my accommodating your frustration with the TV. Unfortunately, my cleaning crew reported that all the linens(clean and dirty)from the linen closet as well as the beds and bathroom had been left on the floor and all had to be washed, resulting in double the normal cleaning rates. Again, I am sorry our rustic cabin did not work out for your fishing vacation during your 3 day stay. In spite of the TV not working for less than a day, I hope you were still able to enjoy the beautiful lake view, great sunsets, hammock by the lake, shady porch and fire pit on the patio as well as the great weather at the time of your visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Scottsboro Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
In Season
Jul 5 2016 - Sep 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
$150
$975
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
In Season
Sep 5 2016 - Nov 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$150
$975
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
$600
Flat fee
 
 
Off-season
Nov 28 2016 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
$825
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$450
Flat fee
 
 
New Year's Eve
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
Flat fee
 
 
Valentine's Day
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 11 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
Flat fee
 
 
In Season
Mar 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
$975
 
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
Flat fee
 
 
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$600
Flat fee
 
 
Labor Day weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
Flat fee
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$600
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$600
Flat fee
 
 
New Year's
Dec 29 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $35
Cleaning fee for up to 5 people $60
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 14.0%

$200 security deposit reserves your dates. Full payment is due 15 days before arrival. After full payment is made, instructions on how to enter the cabin and some misc. information will be emailed to you. No refund for cancellations made 30 days or less before arrival. Effort will be made to re-rent the cabin w/ partial refund less a $50 administrative fee. Holiday rates are $150/night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Scottsboro Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed
    Living Room pull out couch - 1 queen
  • BR #1 King size bed, BR #2 Queen size Bed and set of Bunk Beds, Queen size Sleeper Sofa in living area
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Notes:
hunting, fishing, sailing, hiking, birding, golf, cycling, water skiing, swimming, jet skiing, boating, sight seeing, antiquing, restaurants, cinemas, shopping, boating. Hammock on premises.

Partner Offers