check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Stunning Mountain Views, Decks Galore, Gas FP, TV, W/D, Free Wi-fi, Movies

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Asheville Area House Rental Photos and Description

From 1 BR/1.5 baths TO 4 BR/3.5 baths

When you stay at our Mountain Vista Home, you will enjoy the BEST panoramic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and spectacular sunrises with your morning cup of coffee. Or, you can relax in the evening with twinkling lights in the valley below with a glass of wine. With two decks facing the mountains, you may just sit in our rocking chairs and enjoy the view all day long!

Only 15 minutes from downtown Asheville, this gorgeous space has soaring ceilings filled with windows to bring in the light and the view! We recently remodeled all the bathrooms and painted throughout. We have added some great art from local Asheville artist Brad Pomoroy to make you feel right at home in the mountains!

The living room has a cozy fireplace to snuggle by in the winter and large screen TV with free Netflix Movies. The master suite bedroom has a queen size bed, walk in closet and bath. The second bedroom room upstairs also has a queen size bed and it's own bath. The kitchen has granite countertops and stainless steel appliances including dishwasher and toaster oven. We have provided for all the comforts you need. Enjoy 3 private decks: one with rocking chairs; one with a gas grill, table and chairs to enjoy dining al fresco, but both with panoramic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

The huge deck in the back overlooks 100 acres of forest. Watch from the swinging porch seat for bears, deer, wild turkeys and an occasional cow or horse! The carport allows you stay dry if you get caught in a gentle spring rain.

Even though you are minutes away from the best restaurants in Asheville, you may just want to stay in, cook and enjoy the views. (Please note that we do not allow children under the age of 17 because of the high decks and we maintain a policy of no smoking and no pets for our guest's comfort). Book your stay today! (Some photos provided by RCrowell, a recent guest. thank you!) .

Please note our 2 night minimum stay except 3 night minimum during holiday weekends.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Gwen Croft (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Gwen Croft

I moved to Asheville after living in NYC for 11 years, Originally from Chattanooga, TN, I needed to come home to the south - but not just 'anywhere' would do after the Big Apple. After doing a lot of research and visiting Asheville a number of times, I knew this would be my home for the rest of my life.

Gwen Croft purchased this house in 2011

Why Gwen Croft chose Asheville Area

After living closer in West Asheville, I decided I really wanted to experience the meaning and have a closer relationship with the mountains. I had been looking for the right property for a couple of years. This one just knocked my socks off the minute I saw it. The air felt clearer, my spirit felt lighter - it just felt like a place that I could share with friends, but enjoy solitude.

What makes this house unique

The mountains have their own personality. Their 'mood changes daily, sometimes hourly. Sometimes the sky is clear and the sun reveals every nook and cranny with its clear light. Other times, especially in the mornings or after a rain, interesting shapes of fog and mist hang over the mountains. It's just a delight to experience the subtle yet perpetual changes the mountains provide.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)
Stunning Mountain Views, Decks Galore, Gas FP, TV, W/D, Free Wi-fi, Movies
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 45 reviews
4

Spectacular Views, highest on the hill

  • 4 of 5

This two bedroom has ample room for four. Updated kitchen and bathrooms add to the experience. Summer views were awesome. Top two decks allow for great socializing. Close to downtown Asheville and worth the drive.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

stunning views

  • 4 of 5

Attention to details could do with improvement but great location and beautiful views.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great mountain get hideaway

  • 4 of 5

The property was nice overall. We really enjoyed the stay there. It's close to downtown and really all the amenities of Asheville while still being nestled in the mountains away from popular civilization. The house was nice although a few things didn't work. The couch, the DVD player, and the piano were all broken. There wasn't really hot water. It was warm and enough to shower with but not so hot where you really could enjoy it. To be fair, we did not contact the owners about any of that because we made it work and they weren't big problems for us. The views were great and the porches were just right for a relaxing sit after a long day of sightseeing. Over all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Savannah, GA
5

Beautiful mountain getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay in the house. It's in a quiet location with an incredible view, but still only about 15-20 minutes from downtown Asheville. The house is set up with a great kitchen and multiple decks, and the owners take excellent care of it. We absolutely loved it.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. Ron and I are alway happy to have great guests like you and your friends who appreciate the effort we constantly are putting into the property. We truly enjoy sharing our beautiful place. We hope you will come back and visit again soon! gwen and ron
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great view! Plenty of space!

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful get away for one or two couples! You will be away from it all, in the trees, looking over the valley at the mountains. The rooms are large, well furnished, everything you will need! The bonuses were the decks and access to Netflix! Communication with the owners was excellent.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clearwater, FL
1

property is nice but landlord is not trustworthy

  • 1 of 5

There are two parts to this review:

1) The property: this property was very nice and the views were spectacular.

2) The landlord: this landlord is very sneaky! She entered the property when no one was home under the guise of feeding the plants. She apparently snooped around the cabin as she accused us of having more than 4 people stay at the property. She said she saw 5 suitcases in the house and also said that there 5 wooden chairs on the deck. To begin with, there were never more than 4 of us at the cabin. We had 5 suitcases as one of them contained our karaoke machine...and she had to look in the closet to see one of the suitcases. She said she noticed that there were 5 suitcases while she was just walking up to feed the plants. Also, we never moved any of the chairs: all the chairs (5 of them) were there when we entered.

We think this landlord was very rude and had no right accusing us of having another person stay at the cabin just based on her observations. She (Gwen) never visited the cabin when we were there. She never took the time to visit with us when we arrived or at any other time. There was not a welcome or anything!

We will never stay at this property again! If you value your privacy, you won't either. No one needs to go through what we went through. It was an extremely negative experience dealing with Gwen and she needs to know that she can not treat her clients in such a rude and disrespectful manner without suffering some kind of consequence.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First, I’m glad the reviewer and her friends enjoyed the property and the views. They are spectacular. She is correct. We don’t have the time to come and welcome each guest since we work other jobs. If we can't be there, we always text and let our visitors know. A couple of days into these folk's visit, I asked permission to come up and water the flowers since it has been very hot and dry. Unfortunately, the top deck is only accessible through the house. I rushed out to the house between appointments. I was there for less than 20 minutes to water the flowers on all 3 decks, and was in the house for less than 2 minutes. On my way up the stairs I observed an extra bed made on the floor in the piano room with 2 pillows. I didn’t look in any closets and didn’t touch any of their possessions. I did observe clothes hanging near the extra bed they made. There was also a suitcase by it. It was a natural conclusion that they might have more than the 4 people who paid to stay in our property. I texted her to inquire if she had more than 4 people at the house based on my observations. I was never rude and never disrespectful. Her explanation was plausible and I didn’t pursue it or accuse her of anything. I’m sorry she felt she had a bad experience with me. We always treat our guests with respect and recognize that they are staying in our home to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and the great city of Asheville.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Biltmore Estate
Laughing Seed Cafe
Grove Arcade
Eating Asheville Walking Food Tours
Battery Park Boox Exchange and Champagne Bar
"Great coffee or glass of wine/champagne in a fabulous atmosphere. You'll love it!"
Battery Park Boox Exchange and Champagne Bar
"Great coffee or glass of wine/champagne in a fabulous atmosphere. You'll love it!"
Car: necessary

Located at the top of Jay's Mountain in West Asheville (Enka/Candler area),15 min. from downtown, 5-10 min to restaurants, groceries, horseback riding, hot air balloon, coffee shop, and banks. Property backs up to a 100 acres farm that has a walking trail. Property sits on 1.4 acres and secluded from other homes. Views are spectacular!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Candler House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer/Fall 2016
Jul 5 2016 - Aug 27 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,375
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Late August
Aug 28 2016 - Sep 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
$190
 
 
Labor Day 2016
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 5 2016
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer/Fall 2016
Sep 6 2016 - Sep 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$190
$1,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
October 2016
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,525
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Nov 2016
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,375
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
December 2016
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 21 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,375
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Holidays 2016
Dec 22 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,525
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,190
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $85 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.25%

THIS IS A NO SMOKING HOME. No pets allowed.

Rates quoted are for 2 people.
Additional $30 per night per person over 2 people.
Holiday Fee/Per Person $25.00

Rates/info subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Asheville Area House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - With Master Suite on Main floor
    Bathroom 2 - Main floor powder room
    Bathroom 3 - Full Bath 2nd Floor
  • 1.5
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - Main Floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2nd Floor
  • Queen size Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties