check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Linda Kriesel

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

STUNNING, ULTRA-CONTEMPORARY, GUESTHOUSE IN HISTORIC DOWNTOWN PHOENIX

24 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Encanto At The Legacy House Rental Photos and Description

Extremely Private and Quite Guesthouse Ideal For Relaxation and Rejuvination

This 1600 square foot, smoke-free guesthouse is tucked behind the main 1924 residence in the Los Olivos Historic District in central Phoenix. The guesthouse is hidden in the latest historic district added to the Phoenix register. The Los Olivos district, though tiny, includes 16 houses built on acre lots in the 1910's and 1920's, and is one of downtown's most elite neighborhoods. Enjoy uptown freedom and downtown convenience. The strengths of this rental are design, location and privacy. This spacious setting accommodates 4 comfortably.

The interior was designed for a sleek, simple, open feel. The sports and cultural offerings of downtown Phoenix are less than two miles away. The central location puts any of the valley’s 200+ golf courses within easy reach.

This newly constructed guesthouse features upscale, artistic, design throughout - a true labor of love by the owner. The kitchen has granite counters with stainless steel accents and includes high-end appliances. The floors are a cool scored concrete. Nine to fifteen foot-vaulted ceilings provide a free, open ambience. Both the great room and the bedroom have floor to ceiling granite fireplaces, flat screen HD LED LCD TV’s (55' in Great Room and 43' in bedroom) with 900 channel digital cable (all premium channels included), WiFi, DVD player. Tall french doors open out to the private retreat patio where the grounds are professionally landscaped amongst grand, mature pecan trees and offer uncommon shade and greenery. Browse the Library for a good read or a foreign DVD.

A 360 square foot workout room with stair climber, elliptical trainer, treadmill, free weights, Universal Weight Machine yoga mats, hula hoops, jump ropes and color TV leaves no excuse not to embark on that fitness program.

A street scape of palm and olive trees lends a cool, green feeling to a desert city. Within walking distance are a major supermarket, fresh bagels, Starbucks coffee, the best martini in Phoenix, a vegan/vegetarian restaurant, and ethnic restaurants including Vietnamese, Mexican and Peruvian.

Keywords: Guest House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Linda Kriesel (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Linda Kriesel chose Phoenix

I wanted to create a destination setting centrally located in Phoenix that is visually stimulating and stylish with comfortable and quite surroundings. It is decorated with the boutique traveler in mind and includes a high-end queen size bed, queen size futon, linens, and towels. The modern decor features innovative local and imported Asian artwork from the landlord's Asian and African travels.

What makes this house unique

This modern yet comfortable retreat is minutes away from the Sky Harbor International Airport, Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center, performance art venues and nightlife. You are only a 5 minute walk to the nationally known Heard Museum, the light rail and fine as well as casual dining.

Reviews

5
based on 24 traveler reviews

STUNNING, ULTRA-CONTEMPORARY, GUESTHOUSE IN HISTORIC DOWNTOWN PHOENIX
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
5

Probably the Best in Phoenix

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I were moving from the Phoenix suburbs to the Phoenix downtown area and we needed a place to stay for a couple months while we were in between homes. We consider ourselves lucky to have found Linda's guesthouse on VRBO. It is a hip, contemporary house located in one of the most beautiful historic neighborhoods in Phoenix. The grounds surrounding the guesthouse are amazing with plenty of bushes, shrubs and large shade trees, something to be appreciated here in the desert.

Linda provides everything you'll need for your stay and is a wonderful host. She's there when you need her, but gives you all the privacy you need. The private exercise room is well-equipped. Large screen TVs in the living room and bedroom are both hi-def. The bed is super comfortable. There's a library with a wide variety of books and DVDs. And the kitchen has everything you will need, but with all the great restaurants and bars in the downtown area, why bother cooking?

We considered a lot of vacation properties and short-term rentals for our 2-month adventure, but nothing else came close to having the location and amenities of Linda’s guesthouse. We really did end up with the best vacation home in town!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A wonderful stay at a beautiful guesthouse!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Linda's guesthouse was amazing. All the comforts of home in a secluded downtown location.We especially enjoyed the beautifully landscaped private yard for relaxing and reflecting on our day. Linda has thought of everything and more that you need on vacation. Linda was so nice but also respected our privacy. Our next visit to Phoenix we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wow!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Having stayed in Scottsdale for extended visits for many years, my wife and I decided to try Phoenix proper. This place was by far the best rental in Phoenix. Beautifully appointed inside and outside in a safe neighbor with lots of eclectic dining establishments as well as historic ones. All within walking distance. Nicely located relatively close to Skyharbor Airport and main thoroughfares yet quiet and serene inside the gated home. If you are looking for a place in Phoenix you can't do much better than this. Reasonably priced and pets on approval. Easy for entertaining for guests in a well appointed but compact kitchen dining area. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely the best!

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed in this home many times.......the lushness of the grounds and peaceful feeling when you are in your own backyard is just fantastic. The guesthouse itself is beautifully contemporary with many pieces of artwork which show Linda's eclectic taste......just when you get use to the serene, relaxing feeling of the house and grounds, you realize that it is only 2/3 blocks to the Heard Museum, the Phoenix Art Museum with its live theater, and, of course, the lightrail.....don't forget the many restaurants and coffee houses also close by.

Linda is a fantastic host...everything you could possibly need has been provided. If you have a pet there should be no problem since Linda is a dog lover and has a beautiful, friendly dog herself. I could not imagine staying anywhere else on a trip to Phoenix!!

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

peaceful, close to everything

  • 5 of 5

Our second stay in this beautiful property! Linda is a gracious host and provided everything we needed and more. Walking distance to the light rail, Heard museum many fine restaurants. We will be looking for excuses to go back to Phoenix and visit our new friend.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Las Vegas, NV United States
5

Historic downtown hole in the wall property

  • 5 of 5

This property is in the top 3 VRBO places that I have rented. The only thing its missing is the ocean, otherwise it would be #1. We like to travel with our two 5 lbs. dogs, hotels are an inconvenience so we use VRBO all the time. We came to Phoenix for a personal matter that require us to stay a week. Linda's hospitality was 5 Stars. The guesthouse nestled in back was very quiet, spacious and comfortable and very accommodating for our pets. Everything you need is near by. Restaurants, stores , markets, starbucks, you name it its within 5 minutes or walking distance. If you're ever in Phoenix try and stay here, because that's what we're going to do. Thank you Linda your property was perfect.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Phoenix
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Numerous within walking
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Over 100 public and private courses
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I10 and 17
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Numerous within walking, Vegan-Peruvian-Vietnamese
Car: not necessary

Walk to the Heard Museum and Phoenix Art Museum, 5 minute walk to fabulous restaurants featuring the best tacos, pizza, Vietnamese, Vegan, Peruvian, old fashion soda bar, Starbucks and beer garden, 5 minute walk to light rail to take you Downtown or east to Tempe and Mesa

Photos

Rates & Availability

Encanto At The Legacy House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Sep 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
5 night minimum stay
$180
From
$195
Fri,Sat
$3,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
winter
Dec 1 2016 - May 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$220
From
$240
Fri,Sat
$4,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
summer
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$165
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$3,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
each added guest / night $15 + Tax
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 12.57%

125$ is retained from the security/damage deposit for cleaning. If you desire to book for a month, no taxes are charged!! VRBO has decided to charge tenants a service fee that is included in your quote. This amount goes to VRBO not to the homeowner.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Encanto At The Legacy House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Spacious shower with a bench. Sleek copper styling, authentic Asian accents, high end toiletries, and plush towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Very comfortable queen size futon in the living room - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size bed, including a extremely comfortable queen size futon in the living room, both with freshly ironed high quality sheets. A fireplace in the bedroom and living room plus flatscreen HD TVS.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
High speed internet access, wireless, plus IPOD station and CD player

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties