check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Anna Gove

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Villa Caribe, a Modern Colonial Masterpiece

24 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Barrio de Santiago House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)

Villa Caribe is situated in one of the most desirable areas in the historical centre of Merida, a pleasant three-block stroll takes you to the popular Santiago square, where Tuesday nights are alive with big band music and dancing under the stars, and only a short walk away takes you to the beating heart of colonial Merida: Plaza Grande, Merida’s main square where you can take in all the cultural activities.

This historical home of Villa Caribe sitting on a rare bus-free block in Merida boasts a large array of features. The 1800 square foot Colonial has been lovingly restored to its former glory but with all the modern amenities you could want, including air conditioning in every room! With open concept living/dining and gourmet kitchen area; 16 foot ceilings with original wood beams and custom made pasta tile floors, this floor plan is perfect for entertaining. Make dinner in the gourmet kitchen and enjoy it in cool comfort while sitting at the dining table with views to the pool and tropical garden, or dine alfresco in the large covered outdoor dining area next to the pool. Every detail has been thought of at Villa Caribe including adding ceiling fans to the covered terrace so on those nights with no breeze, you can create your own and dine in comfort.

Wake up in your luxurious king size bed in the master bedroom and watch the hummingbirds feeding on the sweet nectar of the tropical plants or just gaze out at the blue water of the infinity edge pool. The master bedroom includes a walk-in closet and a oversized master bathroom with double vanity and a large shower.

After a long day of taking in the sites, head back to the Villa for a dip in the pool or maybe just gently sway in your hammocks in the quiet tropical garden.

After dinner retire to the den and watch a movie or kick back and read a book. Villa Caribe is the perfect home away from home, and has everything you need for the perfect holiday. Enjoy!

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Anna Gove (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Anna Gove

Anna and Alan realized their dream of buying and remodelling a colonial home in Mexico, in the beautiful city of Merida. Their connection to Mexico goes back through fifteen years of travel to the Yucatan, and they were married on the beach in Playa del Carmen. They first encountered Merida on vacation in 2004, and knew right away that it would be part of their lives for a long time.

Anna is a designer and decorator, and her passion and keen eye is reflected in every aspect of Villa Caribe's design. They are both passionate about culture and cultural travel, and are happy to share their experiences in helping you plan your Mexican vacation, and give you all the inside scoop on the colonial gem that is the city of Merida.

Anna Gove purchased this house in 2010

Why Anna Gove chose Merida

The city of Merida is one of the most vibrant and fascinating cities in Mexico, and the historical centre brims with life and culture. Villa Caribe is situated in one of the best locations in Centro, only a short stroll from some of the city's main attractions.

What makes this house unique

Importantly, Villa Caribe sits on a rare, bus-free street, assuring quiet days and nights free of buses outside your door. There's nothing like swaying in your hammock in the back garden of Villa Caribe, or swimming in the pool, surrounded by exotic tropical vegetation.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Sanctuary in Merida"

I had the pleasure of staying at Villa Caribe for 23 days in February 2013, with spouse, niece, nephew and a girlfriend coming and going during that time.

The house was very well situated; in the very authentic Santiago neighborhood with an easy 1/2 mile or so walk to Merida's central plaza or easy to flag a cab on nearby Calle 59 to anywhere.

The décor and floor plan of the house are perfect for relaxing: stylish but practical, peaceful and beautiful. The stunning, very private (we rarely heard noise from neighbors), walled back garden area with pool was the most popular feature of the house (we were all Seattleites so a pool is a treat) but the large, modern, high-ceilinged kitchen within the open concept design was also a hit.

I was particularly fond of the view of the back garden from the spacious beautiful master bedroom each morning, sometimes watching hummingbirds in the flamingo bush.

The house is well designed for adults since the master bedroom is separate from the remainder of the house with a private entrance from the side yard.

The information regarding Merida provided at the house was very good, but even better, the owner, Anna, was available continuously by email and provided great suggestions for activities as well as managing a few tweaks needed at the house.

Probably the unexpected bonus of the stay was anna's recommended guide/driver Polo Garcia. We initially arranged for Polo to drive us from Chichen Itza to the house, but then took advantage of his warm personality, great English and wonderful suggestions, for excursions to Progreso, Lol-tun and Uxmal, a working hacienda and Celestun and for shuttling our guests back and forth from the airport.

We hope to return to Villa Caribe.
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.9
based on 24 traveler reviews

Villa Caribe, a Modern Colonial Masterpiece
average rating of 4.875 based on 27 reviews
5

Adorable!!

  • 5 of 5

This little house was such a breath of fresh air! Modernly redecorated, yet designed with a Mexican feel. So close to the city center, yet far enough away to enjoy quiet and privacy. The courtyard and patio area, with the pool, is as refreshing in person as it looks in the pictures. Loved our stay at Villa Caribe and hope to return again.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Best of Merida

  • 4 of 5

Lovely property, close to all of Merida. Bring mosquito repellent.....

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at Villa Caribe for our honeymoon in October 2015 and we were not disappointed! This property is stunning and has everything you need - it is clean, spacious and modern with a Mexican flare! We did not encounter any issues during our stay (A/C worked great, so did the other appliances), the only thing I would caution travelers of are the ants and mosquitos (and that may be due to the time of year we went). If you pack bug spray you will be fine.

The location is great, approximately a 10 minute walk to the Grand Plaza where you will find many restaurants and shops.

Anna was an exceptional hostess, she went well out of her way to accommodate our needs and make us feel at home. Anna answered emails quickly before and during our stay. She went above and beyond what you would expect from any property owner (especially one with a property manager). Thanks you Anna!

Jen & Nick

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jen and Nick, Thank you so much for your kind words and the lovely review. We are so honoured you chose to stay with us for your honeymoon and wish you both all the best in the future. Warm Regards, Anna
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Redwood City, CA
5

An Exceptional Home

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful home that exceeded my very high expectations. The home has a thoughtfully styled interior and private and relaxing outdoor space. It really was more lovely than the photographs. I have been traveling to Mexico for over 30 years and have stayed in some amazing residences and this is by far one of my favorite homes. In Merida you want a home off the bus lines , this location is perfect as it get minimal traffic. Major pluses: The manager is very experienced in assuring the home is clean and responds immediately. She arranged a car so I could get around easily to various locations. After spending time in Centro, the area of museums, restaurants, it is so nice to come away to a quiet place. I walked to areas for shopping, restaurants, galleries, within 10 minutes.

The owner was quick to respond to my questions, and made arrangements for my stay to be perfect! Most definitely recommend Villa Caribe it isa delight.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Relaxing and Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

It was a pleasure staying at Villa Caribe. Beautiful, peaceful, modern, well equipped villa in the heart of a bustling robust city. Merida is a mix of colonial and Maya culture where the people are friendly. Behind the façade of the house is a quiet oasis. There were several days we didn't even leave the house, just lazed by the pool with a cold drink and relaxed. We enjoyed the birds that visited the pool daily for a drink, particularly the very entertaining "Great-tailed Grackles". The pool is also a treat after a day of walking or sight-seeing. The Villa is not far from the bus stations where you can catch buses to visit nearby towns and attractions such as Progreso, Izamal, Celestun, Uxmal and more. It is only a short walk to nearby parks and the historic Centro. We would recommend Villa Caribe.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Truro, Ma
5

Quiet oasis in the white city

  • 5 of 5

Loved our stay at the Villa Caribe. The house is an old colonial villa redone with exquisite modern taste. Opening the front door one enters a serene oasis in a pulsing alive city. What a treat is was to come back from our many excursions-there is so much to see in and around Merida - to this lovely place.

We had rented a car and visited Chichen Itza, Izamal, Progreso, Uxmal and The flamingo reserve in Celestun.

It was great to jump into the pool( our own private cenote) after all the visiting.

The kitchen is great and so are the bedrooms with comfortable mattresses and bedding. We just loved it.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Merida Cathedral
Dzibilchaltun Ruins
Parque de las Americas
Palacio Canton
Mercado Lucas De Galvéz

Merida is the cultural capital of the Yucatan, featuring dancing, live music, art galleries, a symphony orchestra, local cultural presentations, fine dining, and numerous Mayan ruins within an easy drive from the city. A short drive or bus ride also takes you to the beaches of the Gulf of Mexico and the coastal resort town of Progreso.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Barrio de Santiago House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season - Fall 2016
Oct 30 2016 - Dec 10 2016
3 night minimum stay
$210
$1,275
 
 
Holiday Season
Dec 11 2016 - Jan 7 2017
5 night minimum stay
$250
$1,575
 
 
High Season 1 - Winter
Jan 8 2017 - Feb 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$210
$1,275
 
 
Carnival
Feb 5 2017 - Feb 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,575
 
 
High Season 2 - Winter 2017
Feb 13 2017 - Apr 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$210
$1,275
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$165
$975
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $125
Refundable damage deposit $350

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Barrio de Santiago House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Master bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) Second bedroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • roller blading
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties