check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Efficiency Apartment in quiet Gated Community

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Sweetbriar Farms Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Efficiency apartment is located below private home, nestled on two wooded acres in gated community with rolling hills and paved roads. We are very Motorcycle-friendly.

The apartment provides everything one or two people need for a stay. It has a fully equipped kitchen, a queen bed, pull-out couch and eating area. We wash all mattress cover, pillow covers and blankets after every stay. Wi-Fi and TV/DVD with dish network service. There is a flag stone-paved outside sitting area with a table, chairs, bench and room for two hammocks. A fire pit and gas grill is on the premises for you to use. We have chickens (no roosters?) and gladly share our fresh eggs. Our chickens do make some noise, especially when they get ready to lay.

There is plenty to do in the area. Asheville’s Biltmore house, antique shopping in nearby charming towns (Hendersonville, Saluda, Tryon or Landrum), pick-your-own apples during apple season, ski Sugar or Beech Mountain, hike or rock climb Chimney Rock, or fish or swim in Lake Lure and zip-line through nature. Most of all, the reason we moved here, is the motorcycle riding. We have an abundance of twisty roads with little or no traffic, and gladly share our knowledge of roads we discovered. If you choose to do nothing or do it all, our location gives you the option.

Our neighbor hood is very private, with only a hand-full of full time residents. Our roads are perfect for walking, jogging and serious cycling, but watch out for the deer and the turkeys.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Evelyn Irwin
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 27, 2016

About Evelyn Irwin

I grew up in Germany and moved to the USA in 1968 and later joined the military. I retired from the Air Force after 33 years of service. My husband still works for a major Oil Company. We moved to Lake Lure permanently four years ago. We enjoy living in an area with four seasons and with awesome motorcycle roads. Our community is secluded, with only a few full time residents. Our neighbors are also our friends. We have chickens for the enjoyment, and fresh eggs which we often share with neighbors.

Evelyn Irwin purchased this apartment in 2006

Why Evelyn Irwin chose Lake Lure

We purchased our property in this area because of my husbands love for riding motorcycles. We have put a great deal of work into our property and are very proud of what we have done. We enjoy the outdoor area of our home. Our community also allows us to have chickens. We built a very nice chicken coop and run and enjoy sitting outside watching our girls. It's better than TV. :)

What makes this apartment unique

Our Efficiency is only about 350 sq', but there is so much to do in our area, we feel that it is more than adequate after a long day of sight seeing and riding. We have a nice size sitting area with a small water feature where you can relax with a glass of wine or in my husbands case, a glass of Rum and a cigar.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just a brief note to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay at your rental. The weather couldn't have been more beautiful and our stay was very relaxing, comfortable, and enjoyable. Thank you for your hospitality. We look forward to possibly making another reservation for next year.
Oct 2016
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

Efficiency Apartment in quiet Gated Community
average rating of 4.972973 based on 40 reviews
Longwood Florida
5

WONDERFUL EFFICIENCY IN QUITE GATED COMMUNITY

  • 5 of 5

Having lived in Lake Lure years ago, we were unfamiliar with Sweetbriar Farms area, What a hidden gem. Not commercialized, peaceful you felt a million miles away from everything yet it was just around the corner from anything you needed. We will be back. Never heard the chickens, we saw them!!! The place was acceptably clean and owners very very nice. It sure beats the higher priced VRBO in area!!! You will be glad you stayed,

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Couple desperately seeking rest

  • 5 of 5

I absolutely loved our stay at your beautifully and meticulously laid out property. It was wonderful to walk down to the "creek" and sit in silence and drink our coffee beside the small pond. You have every movie we could want for movie night and the best thing is when that horrific storm came through and knocked out the power for a couple of hours, you even supplied the candles that we could use to play backgammon and drink our wine on our date night. I was definitely challenged in my walks around the paved neighborhood streets for my morning walks and enjoyed meeting all the neighbors. And it was so simple to drive into town. I needed a respite away from the hustle and bustle and we got it!!!! Thank you so much. I can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love hearing that our guests enjoy this quiet, laid back area as much as we do. Thank you so much for your kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lake Worth Fl. USA
5

One of the best we ever stayed at

  • 5 of 5

Try it you'll like it. Spent 9 nights around Memorial Day .Came to explore and so we did. Everyday a new area. We really enjoyed ourselves. Evelyn and Chris were great, Couldn't have asked for nicer host to stay with. We cannot say enough how every like thing was there for us, And talk about clean and restful. I got some my best sleep in the mountains. Nice and cool at night, and warm not hot during the day. Evelyn went above and beyond with some medical supplies that were sent to me during our stay. So for the next two months they kept sending the supplies, And Evelyn would mail them to us. It took 3 months to straighten this out. So I know if we ever go back the area again we will give Evelyn a call, And stay again with them

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We were glad to help. Look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cramerton, nc
5

Lovely getaway....

  • 5 of 5

Wife and I stayed at this lovely and quiet one bedroom for 4 nights. Evelyn and Chris were PERFECT hosts. Even tho this place is attached (underneath) to Evelyn's home it is very private. All amenities have been thought of and the word "clean" is an understatement. We already have reservations to return in Sept...

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are looking forward to having you back. The weather should be more cooperative for a full round of golf. :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and tranquil

  • 5 of 5

We spent three nights here as part of a road trip, and wished we could have stayed longer. The property was exactly as described and was finished to a high standard as well as being spotlessly clean. The location was particularly beautiful and tranquil. Evelyn and Chris were very gracious hosts who provided us with much useful local information; it was nice to know they were on site but they were not intrusive. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vero Beach
5

Awesome place to Rest, Relax and Recoup!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at Evelyn's home while in town for a wedding. I just want to say how amazing the experience was, this being our first time using VRBO. Evelyn at every step of the way was quick to respond to questions and upon arrival met us and showed us around. Now, the home was very clean and stocked with the essentials that you would have in your own home. There was even a store card for the nearby supermarket to grab a few groceries and be able to use their discounts if needed. It was both beautiful both inside and out and outside there are steps which peaked my curiosity and after getting to the bottom, it was simply refreshing to see what was there. I sincerely cannot think of one negative thing except to say we should have planned to stay longer as the few days were over too soon. We didn't interact much with Evelyn as both her and her husband were true to their words to give us our privacy but be available which was perfect. We are definitely looking into planning our next trip to this area with more days to R & R & R. Thank you for opening up your home to us Evelyn!

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Simone for leaving your review. It always means a lot to us when a guest appreciates the efforts we put into our place. We do hope you get a chance to come back to our area for a longer visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Biltmore Village, Chimney Rock, Grandfather Mountain, Mount Mitchell, etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sweetbriar Farms Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Standard pricing
2 night minimum stay
$65
 

Additional information about rental rates

Potential renters need to allow adequate time to submit deposit. Last minute rental will most likely be turned down unless it is a repeat guest. Pet policy, no children and minimum age is strictly enforced.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sweetbriar Farms Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 350 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa (1) In addition to queen bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties