check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Hawaii Vacation Rentals Pattie Freeman

Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Speaks: french, spanish

Fall Discount! Bamboo Cottage 2 Bedrooms Walk across to Ocean

3 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 - 14 nights

Overview

Waimea Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Hawaii Vacation Rentals, Relax, Rejuvenate, Explore, Swim, Dive, Snorkel, Sunset

Hawaii Vacation Rentals, Inc. CALL PUAKO PATTIE (808) 882-7000

Almost on the beach without ocean front price! Walk right across the street to the ocean and have your own private cottage on large grassy yard that backs up to wilderness and spectacular views of Mauna Kea Mountain.

2 bedrooms side by side each having it's own bath on the ground level. King size beds with high quality linens for a good nights sleep after playing in the ocean all day.

There is a private garden shower on the lower level as well where you can rinse your gear and yourself from the beach.

Upstairs through an outside staircase enter the Living Room/Kitchen area with an additional bathroom with shower as well as extensive covered lanai that looks across the street to an ocean view. Pass through kitchen window out to lanai.

This cottage is located on a large lot at the end of Puako Beach Drive and offers affordable accommodations for 4 people right across the street from the ocean! Snorkel, watch the sunsets, BBQ on the lanai, watch the stars, the Mauna Kea Mountain...beauty and peace every direction you turn.

Tax ID: W01880946-01

NOTE: Balance due 60 days prior to arrival

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Hawaii Vacation Rentals Pattie Freeman (Property Manager)
Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Speaks: french, spanish

About Hawaii Vacation Rentals Pattie Freeman

This property is managed by Pattie Freeman, Real Estate Broker for Hawaii Vacation Rentals, Inc. who has been in the vacation rental business in Puako since 1994. Pattie's properties are professionally maintained and she is available to answer your questions and help you with her years of experience of activities and events on the Big Island. Her friendly, authentic personal care for her guests keeps guests returning year after year.

Hawaii Vacation Rentals Pattie Freeman purchased this cottage in 1998

Why Hawaii Vacation Rentals Pattie Freeman chose Kohala Coast

The owner of this cottage purchased this home many years ago when he fell in love with Puako. He has since purchased others and updated this one to make it a charming vacation rental. There is an additional property next door which will be able to rent as well, so two families could have house side by side.

What makes this cottage unique

Situated right across the street from the ocean at the very end of Puako Beach Drive which is not a through street. Have the benefit of almost ocean front without paying the price of oceanfront!

Privacy, views and quiet serene setting make this cottage a delightful place to relax and enjoy the beauty of the Kohala Coast on the Big Island

Guestbook comments from the manager

The house is fantastic, and great snorkeling right outside of our door.
Apr 2015
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

5
based on 3 traveler reviews

Fall Discount! Bamboo Cottage 2 Bedrooms Walk across to Ocean
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
5

Perfect for our family right across the street from the ocean!

  • 5 of 5

“The cottage is perfect! It's across the road from the ocean in a very chill part of the island. The caretaker took such good care of us! She helped with suggestions and even found a coconut for my mom who was desperately looking for one. Thank you for such a great stay! We hope yo visit again.”

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Olympia,WA
5

Puako, just call it home.

  • 5 of 5

Upon our arrival to the Big Island, we got into our jeep and headed to Puako, the Bamboo Cottage.

As we drove down toward the house, we past the local mart. We stopped in and of coarse were greeted with aloha! It was so cool because it was just like coming home! It is local you know!

Then we arrived, all the lights on and doors open. Inside a couple bottles of cold beer some fresh fruit and beautiful flowers. When you get there you will meet Sheila, she is the caretaker of the place and she knows everyone, so NO WORRY, BE HAPPY!

Everyday we would get up and enjoy the surf outside our doors. Go up to the Lania that wrapped around the house and watched the locals come check out the surf. We would walk with our coffee across the road and down to the beach, just like being at home. Everyone is so nice, the surfer boys were so sweet to my mom of 83!

I loved to just wonder and take pictures of the surf and flowers, right outside our door.

Some days we never left the cottage, you did not have to, you still got to watch the moms and dads jogging by pushing their kids in strollers, or the locals just taking their morning cruise with their dogs.

Anyway, if you want to go shopping or to a nice restaurant, it is so close and a beautiful drive. And I would also say go up Country, there is were the locals stay!

Hapuna beach is right there and great little surf, that is were I love to spend the day, then go to Da Fish house for some fresh Poke!

Oh and then for me, to find out one of my best friends from high School lives just down the road from the cottage made it even sweeter!

If you want a real taste of Aloha, and the peace to enjoy your holiday, and still have lots and lots of options, then I recommend the bamboo Cottage...in writing this I hope I have not ruined my perfect secret!

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Cara and Dodie, It warms our hearts to read reviews such as yours and know that your visit to Bamboo Cottage in Puako meant so much to you! We look forward to your return and appreciate your Aloha Spirit! So happy you felt like home immediately! Fondest Aloha, Pattie
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Canada
5

7 Heavenly Days at the Bamboo Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the Bamboo Cottage was everything we wished for - a quiet place across from an uncrowded beach, mornings and evenings with only the sound of tropical birds as the sun broke over the garden and sank behind the ocean waves. All this yet only a short drive to mile long sandy beaches and contemporary shopping. The cottage overnight became 'our home'. Spacious, comfortable, thoughtfully appointed - coffee for our first morning, fresh fruit and avocados!!! So many memories of our time at the Bamboo Cottage will stay with us, until our return.....Mahalo to all who made our short visit a lovely memory.

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
"Great spa and restaurants while staying at the Mauan Lani Fairways http://www.vacationbigisl..."
Puako Petroglyphs
"You can see this by walking to the park near the Fairmont Orchicd"
Hapuna Beach Park
"Always rated as a number 1 beach in Hawaii! Just a 10 minute drive from Mauna Lani"
Hapuna Golf Course
Spencer Beach Park
Brown's Beach House
"Always a beautiful setting for sunset dinners and Hawaiian Music"
The Shops at Mauna Lani
"Several nights a week there is live Hawaiian music and dance"
Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club
"Right on the private beach at the Mauna Lani Beach Club. "
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
"Great food, lively at Waikoloa Beach Resort. 5 minute drive from Mauna Lani Fairways 905 ht..."
Bamboo Restaurant
"Food is always good and the restaurant is just what you would expect in a small town like Ha..."
Lava Tube Cave
"Get a good idea of what an active lava flow can form. About a 2 hour drive to the Volcano f..."
Hulihe'e Palace
"So much to see and do!"
Hiilawe Falls
Mauna Lani Resort Courses
"Enjoy two courses when staying at Mauna Lani Fairways http://www.vacationbigisland.com/vacat..."
Mauna Kea Observatory
Mauna Kea Visitor Information Station
Mauna Kea Beach Golf Course
Ocean front Aina Malia on Waialea Bay ~ RA6259
Nearest Airport
23 Miles
Kona International Airport at Keahole (KOA)
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Kawaihae
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Mauna Kea Resort
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Queen K Highway
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Mauna Lani Resort Browns at the Fairmont Orchid
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Hapuna Beach
Car: recommended

Write or call us for better rates than listed on VRBO! (808) 936-0395

Puako Beach is a charming beach community nestled between the Mauna Lani Resort and Hapuna Beach on the Kohala Coast of the Big Island. Puako is still the only ocean front residential community along the Gold Coast/Kohala Coast of the Big Island nestled between the Mauna Lani Resort, Fairmont Orchid and Mauna Kea/Hapuna Resorts.

Hapuna Beach State Park, just a few minutes drive from here, has earned the reputation of being one of Hawaii Island's finest beaches. It is the largest White Sands Beach on The Big Island and consistently rates on Top Ten lists internationally. Hapuna Beach offers some wonderful opportunities for swimming, bodysurfing, bodyboarding, sunbathing and snorkeling and is just a mile from Puako. You can even drive the back road to Hapuna Beach and not get on the Highway. Local shore fisherman can be seen daily enjoying the great reef fishing.

Puako Beach Drive has no thru access which keeps it virtually still undiscovered by many. Original beach shacks next to stately homes as well as charming beach cottages that some owner's have preserved. There are homes along the ocean side as well as across the street from the ocean. There are six separate 'beach' accesses along this stretch of beach. Although there is not a tremendous amount of sand, there are tide pools and the extensive protected reef is remarkable. During low tide, small pools dot the entire coastline and these pools are filled with small sea life that make excellent areas to explore for all ages. If you enjoy shore diving, kayaking and snorkeling you can find a spot along this stretch of shoreline to enter the water. Offshore the reef is home to a wide variety of fish and many days you will see dolphins playing right from the shore. Enjoy the Whales who return each year to mate and give birth in the tropical warm waters during the winter months.

Puako is a place of activity and rejuvenation. There is so much to do or nothing at all. Sunsets are celebrated by most who live and visit Puako every evening.

The views of Mauna Kea Mountain will take your breath away when you turn around to the East on a clear day. In the winter months you might have the opportunity to sit at the beach and see snow not the mountain.

Along the Kohala Coast, the Puako Petroglyph Archaeological Preserve features more than a thousand petroglyphs, or kii pohaku, lava rock carvings etched into stone centuries ago by Native Hawaiians. Although the true meanings of the petroglyphs are unknown, it is generally thought these carvings are records of births and other significant events in the lives of the people who lived on Hawaii Island long ago.

Just a short walk to the Fairmont Orchid Hotel, Holoholokai Beach (a well manicured beach-park with facilities) and the Mauna Lani Resort, or from the South end of Puako, start at Paniau Beach and walk along the coast to the Petroglyphs and you can see the carvings of human forms, canoes, turtles and others in the captivating petroglyphs fields of Puako. Take the kids on a petroglyph hunt and ask them what they think these ancient symbols could mean. On a full moon some of has have been known to walk to the petroglyph field from the South end of Puako where the lava is so lit up from the moon that we haven't needed a flashlight. It's been said that the ancient Hawiians walked at night as it was cooler.

Hapuna Beach offers some wonderful opportunities for swimming during calm seas offering crystal clear water and beautiful scenery, bodysurfing, bodyboarding during periods of high surf with waves reaching 3 feet high for experts! During these high surf times there are dangerous rip currents and pounding shore breaks so those not familiar should stay out of the water. There are Lifeguard services. Sunbathing (and looking at all of the sunbathers) with limited shade, so if it's not windy, umbrellas can be seen lining the beach. Snorkeling is a favorite activity at Hapuna Beach and is just a mile from Puako. You can even drive the back road to Hapuna Beach and not get on the Highway. It is located off Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway (Highway 19, 2.3 miles south of Kawaihae Harbor and is open daily during daylight hours. There is a coastal trail called Ala Kahakai Trail that goes from Kawaihae-Anaehoomalu mostly along the coast. 61.8 acres with restrooms, picnic pavilions, picnic tables, showers, trash cans, drinking water, payphone and lifeguard services and lots of parking. In recent years there has been a beach hut cafe to purchased food.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Waimea Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer / Fall - 2016
May 1 2016 - Nov 22 2016
5 night minimum stay
$225
$5,355
 
 
Thanksgiving - 2016
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$295
$7,021
 
 
Winter - 2016
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 17 2016
5 night minimum stay
$300
$7,140
 
 
Holiday - 2016
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 5 2017
14 night minimum stay
$450
$9,818
 
 
Winter Peak - 2017
Jan 6 2017 - Apr 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$375
$8,925
 
 
Summer / Fall - 2017
May 1 2017 - Nov 22 2017
5 night minimum stay
$250
$5,950
 
 
Thanksgiving - 2017
Nov 23 2017 - Nov 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$375
$8,925
 
 
Winter - 2017
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 17 2017
5 night minimum stay
$300
$7,140
 
 
Holiday - 2017
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 5 2018
14 night minimum stay
$450
$9,818
 
 
Winter Peak - 2018
Jan 6 2018 - Apr 30 2018
5 night minimum stay
$375
$8,925
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$275
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200 + Tax
Reservation Fee $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $59
Damage Protection Insura $59 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

We are happy to speak with you over the phone to assist you with your decision of where to stay on the Kohala Coast and most specifically Puako. (808) 882-7000.
We like to get to know our guests and offer information to plan your vacation.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Waimea Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (2), We can arrange to assist you with renting a crib
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The beauty of this cottage is that it is right across the street from the ocean on Puako Beach Drive. Paniau Beach is right across the street and when surf is up it is a favorite place for local surfers to enjoy the surf! It is a great place to wander across and watch a spectacular sunset or go for an early morning coastal walk, shore dive or snorkel. Close enough for a shoreline walk to the Fairmont Orchid Hotel at Mauna Lani Resort.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties