Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Hollywood Hills Tropical Paradise Close to Everything

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

PLEASE READ ENTIRE DESCRIPTION PRIOR TO BOOKING.

This exotic apartment is a hideaway amid the action and fun of Hollywood. The lush back garden is a wonderful place to read a book while enjoying a refreshment – the warm Southern California sun streaking through the tall trees. Staying here is worth a trip to Hollywood all by itself, but with the attraction of all that LA has to offer virtually blocks away, the apartment is part of a truly special house. A 1920's cottage with windows everywhere that let in beautiful morning and evening light, staying here is a wonderful experience.

• Self-contained separate apartment in private 1920’s house facing garden (see picture to understand the lay-out)

• Bedroom

• Living room

• Dining area

• Kitchen

• Bathroom with shower

• Use of patio & 1920’s barbeque

• Use of huge tropical garden

• On site laundry for a small fee

• Comfy queen size bed

• Sleeper sofa

• Opium window niche in bedroom

• Hardwood floors

• Fireplace

• Quiet neighborhood

• Centrally located

• Cable TV

• Wifi

• Hardwood floors

• Easy on-street parking

• Friendly atmosphere

• The apartment will sleep 5 people—2 in the bed, 2 on the fold-out couch, and one in the opium niche in the bedroom. However, if the niche sleeper is tall, he/she will have to sleep at an angle.

Footsteps and plumbing can be heard from upstairs, so if you are sound sensitive, you may want to sleep with ear plugs. There are neighborhood cats and a dog on the property which sometimes wander in.

The trees that shade the house keep the house cool in summer except on very rare occasions. Although there is no A.C. as it's normally unnecessary, I do provide fans. Portable heaters are provided for chilly nights.

14% hotel tax due in cash upon arrival. No tax necessary on stays of 30 nights or more.

PETS: Once approved, there is a fee of $15 per night per pet. If you have ticked off the pet section when booking with VRBO, you have already paid for 2 nights of one pet. The balance is to be paid either via PayPal prior to arrival or in cash upon arrival.

Not suitable for the handicapped

You might like to also check out the studio apartment on the same property: vrbo 460889

More Details

Amenities

Hollywood Hills Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • 14% hotel tax to be paid in cash upon arrival. Animals: $15 per animal per night. Fees less already paid to be paid in cash upon arrival
  • There are no refunds for cancellations made after two days prior to check in or early check out. Details: See Rental Agreement
  • For all other refund policies see rental agreement
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Toilet, sink, shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1) Comfy, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Full size, Murphy Beds (1) Not really a murphy bed, but no other place to list this.: Opium niche in bedroom. Sleeps person up to 6'2"
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Easy on street parking. Conditioning not necessary. House is shaded by trees and stays cool. Also provide fans

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(49 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
6% Complete
2% Complete
6% Complete
Hollywood Hills Tropical Paradise Close to Everything
average rating of 4.428571 based on 52 reviews
5

Very tranquil and cozy for being in the city

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay here. Yvonne was very sweet and accommodating.

The place is well equipped and very comfortable. The yard goes on forever and

is very much a paradise! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed your stay. I enjoyed having you. Hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Unique + True to Hollywood, CA

  • 3 of 5

I enjoyed my time here. Definitely unique + one of a kind - offering guests an idea of what it might actually be like to live in Hollywood as a (starving) ‘artist’. The unit I stayed in was on the lower level (#3) or below the owner, who lives upstairs and it was surprisingly quiet, given the age of the building. I would describe the decently sized space as almost ‘cottage-like’, rustic and authentically aged - and as clean as one could get it. If you are wanting ‘new’, modern with a fresh sterility - you might want to consider other options. I was solo and spent most of my time off property. I ate out and never used the kitchen - I didn’t want to.

Other tenants and/or guests staying and/or living at the property were pleasant - including the owner. I was glad that there was ample FREE street parking within a close distance to the house and also happy that there was laundry facilities (keep in mind in a space that is DEF a BASEMENT!). Upon my departure, one of the guests asked to switch to my unit (no.3) - I’m guessing that mine may have been of better quality (or slightly bigger) - so, if considering, I can only speak to and would recommend the unit I stayed in. Safe neighborhood and close to (and just far enough away from) the ‘action’.

Overall, the space is definitely worth the price tag and the experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great hideaway spot in the Hollywood Hills.

  • 5 of 5

We had a fun time in Hollywood, thanks Yvonne. Friendly, clean and very unique experience. Loved waking up and stepping into the lovely garden with a cup of tea. Another big plus is the location. It’s just a few minutes walk to get to Hollywood Boulevard, yet it feels like being in the country.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed yourself. Loved having tea and conversation with you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A tropical experience

  • 5 of 5

We have had a great experience staying here. We extended our stay and upgraded to this larger space. A quaint, cozy flat, nicely decorated with great views and unlimited access to a beautiful, lush zen garden.

Yvonne, the owner is very responsive and accommodating. Street parking is available. We chose not to use the parking pass and have not had any issues so far with parking or safety.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the nice review. I have LOVED having you and yours stay here.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Property Description Needs To Be Updated

  • 1 of 5

Based on the majority of positive reviews and photos, my husband & I were looking forward to our 2 night stay. Our email exchange with Yvonne was positive and she had a quick response to our questions. Although we arrived a half hour before check-in time, I called Yvonne first and she agreed we could check in early. Based on her unfriendly vibe on the phone, I started to feel uneasy about our stay. Although the parking description states "plenty of free parking" the majority of the nearby street parking is "permit only" between 6:00pm - 8:00am. After you commit to the reservation, you find out she'll give you a parking pass for $100 cash or Paypal refundable deposit! Why a deposit?! Why would someone not return a parking pass? Since we didn't want to search for free parking, we gave her our cash deposit. We were disappointed in the amenities too. Although the dining table had a nice table setting for two, the kitchen was supplied with thrift store rejects. The kitchen counter was unsealed, moldy wood. The bathroom had no hand soap -- only a half-used bottle of hand sanitizer. There are two WARNING signs in the bathroom regarding the old plumbing, the signs practically yell at you, not a "please or would appreciate," etc. The bedroom didn't have a smoke detector! The only smoke detector was far away in the kitchen. The "niche" is an oversized bay window with a cushion, not a bed that "can sleep someone up to 6'2"". Per the rental instruction sheet provided, if you use the BBQ, and there's bamboo near the chimney, YOU have clear it away! With what? The backyard area is nice and private, however all the outdoor furniture was filthy so you wouldn't want to eat or sit on any of it. Based on the photos/description, we were very disappointed with the property. When I went to check out, Yvonne asked if I had a good stay. Since she had her family visiting, I politely said we didn't spend much time on the property. Yvonne said, "well if you have a good review say so, if not, shut up". I was stunned and still stunned by her final comment.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you found so many things to make you unhappy. I am also sorry if you found me not to your liking. As you can see from my other reviews, fortunately, this is not the usual experience of the majority of my guests who stay here. To answer some of your concerns: The reason I require a deposit for the parking pass is that I have had other guests accidently drive off with the pass. I can only have 2 at a time (I have two guest units) so I want to be certain to have the passes available to anyone who wishes to use one. Had the previous guest not returned the pass, I would not have been able to supply you with one. All the same, many guests have opted not to use the pass since the restricted parking is limited to the length of around 6 houses and parking can generally be found within 30 seconds walk. I used to have more mild/polite signs to warn about the plumbing. But I still had guests who threw wipes, feminine products and heavy paper towels down the toilet and plugged up the plumbing, so I changed to signs that cannot be ignored. I am sorry they offended you. The kitchen items were purchased from Target. The kitchen counter is not moldy. It is discolored. The outdoor tables sit under trees and constantly have leaves and pollen landing on them, so no matter how often they are cleaned, they still have to be wiped just before using. If you had wanted to use the outdoor barbeque, you need have only mentioned it to me at the time and I would either have supplied you with clippers or if you preferred, trimmed myself. Finally, I apologize for my parting comment which so stunned you. It was my (obviously failed) attempt at humor.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Place to Stay in Hollywood!

  • 5 of 5

I was visiting my brother in Hollywood in October. Instead of staying in a hotel, I decided to stay right in his neighborhood and found this great rental! The apartment was clean, quiet and very accommodating. The owner Yvonne was very nice and was available if I needed anything. The neighborhood is quiet and safe. The location is perfect and within driving distance to the mountains and beach and walking distance to downtown. I hope to stay there again in the future!

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed yourself. I certainly enjoyed you. Just to be clear to anyone reading this, by "downtown" you mean downtown Hollywood--not downtown Los Angeles. Anyhow, I would love to have you again. Yvonne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Owner

Yvonne
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

About Yvonne

I have known this house since I was a child and always had a deep attachment to it. There is something magical about it. I am a world traveler particularly smitten by the equatorial regions. Planting the tropical garden made this a very happy place to return to when I came home from my travels. I lived away for years--first in the San Francisco Bay Area where I studied art and then in London where I studied fashion design but Hollywood and this house always pulled me back.

I live on the property, so it is more than a business to me. Decorating the apartment was an act of love. Designing and planting the garden (which continually changes) is an act of obsession.

Yvonne purchased this apartment in 1962

Why Yvonne chose Hollywood Hills

This house is a hideaway amid the action and fun of Hollywood. Wake up to the music of the birds. The lush back garden is a wonderful place to read a book while enjoying a refreshment – the warm Southern California sun streaking through the tall trees. Staying here is worth a trip to Hollywood all by itself, but with the attraction of all that LA has to offer virtually blocks away, Willetta is a truly special house. A 1920's cottage with windows everywhere that let in beautiful morning and evening light, staying at Willetta is a wonderful experience.

The separate apartment (which is the one available) made this rental a friendly place. When you are feeling sociable you can mix. When you want to be alone, you have privacy. I am happy when guests take advantage of the barbeque and the garden which makes indoor/outdoor living possible here.

What makes this apartment unique

• Self-contained separate apartment in private 1920’s house facing garden (see picture to understand the lay-out)

• Bedroom

• Living room

• Dining area

• Kitchen

• Bathroom with shower

• Use of patio & 1920’s barbeque

• Use of huge tropical garden

• Free on site laundry

• Comfy queen size bed

• Sleeper sofa

• Opium window niche in bedroom

• Hardwood floors

• Fireplace

• Quiet neighborhood

• Centrally located

• Cable TV

• Wifi

• Hardwood floors

• Easy on-street parking

• Friendly atmosphere

The apartment will sleep 5 people—2 in the bed, 2 on the fold-out couch, and one in the opium niche in the bedroom. However, if the niche sleeper is tall, he/she will have to sleep at an angle.

Footsteps and plumbing can be heard from upstairs, so if you are sound sensitive, you may want to sleep with ear plugs.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Host greeted us at the gate despite our delayed arrival. Yvonne showed us in and got is settled in the absolutely lovely flat. It was a perfect place to stay. Comfortable and convenient to everything. Back patio and garden were perfect for coffee on quiet mornings. Would love to spend more time here again.
Aug 2017
  • 1 of 3

Map

Hollywood Sign on the same hill

Metro at the W 5 minutes walk

Hollywood Boulevard walk of fame 10 minutes walk

Hollywood Bowl 10 minutes walk

The beach is 20 to 30 minutes away by car

Universal studios 5 minutes away by car

Several film studiios 5 to 20 minutes away by car

Sunset Strip 10 minutes away by car

Downtown 15 minutes away by car

Olvera Street & China Town minutes away by car (short walk from each other)

Union Station (built in the 30's for movie stars coming in from New York) across the street from Olvera Street above

Tons of houses on this street once or presently inhabited by film industry people.

Numerous other attractions close by on foot or by car. Will be happy to discuss when you book and/or when you arrive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $30
Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning fee $69

14% hotel tax due in cash upon arrival. No tax necessary on stays of 30 nights or more.

Pet fee above applies to 2 night for one pet. Additional pets/nights will be charged at $15 per night per pet. This can be sent in advance vial PayPal or paid in cash upon arrival

Rates are subject to change before a confirmation is made. Monthly rates are calculated on a 30 day month.

Rent to be paid in full at time of booking for stays of one month or less. Reservation is confirmed at time of payment.
The cleaning fee and the damage deposit are always refunded less any outstanding fees if the guest does not check in.
For a cancellation a minimum of 30 days in advance: 50% or 80% of rental will be refunded for the days, and only for the days, on which a replacement renter can be found—whichever is greater. 50% will be returned within 48 hours of cancellation along with the cleaning and damage deposit, less any outstand fees. The remaining refund, if any, will be paid the day after the replacement guest checks in.
For a cancellation made between 29 and 27 days in advance: 80% of rental will be refunded for the days, and only for the days, on which a replacement renter can be found. The money will be refunded the day after the guest checks in. In the event of a cancellation, every effort will be made to find a replacement renter.
There are no refunds on the rent portion for cancellations made after two days prior to check in. There are no refunds on the rent or cleaning portion for cancellations made after the guest checks in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties