check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Yvonne

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Hollywood Hills Tropical Paradise Close to Everything

22 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hollywood Hills Apartment Rental Photos and Description

This exotic apartment is a hideaway amid the action and fun of Hollywood. The lush back garden is a wonderful place to read a book while enjoying a refreshment – the warm Southern California sun streaking through the tall trees. Staying here is worth a trip to Hollywood all by itself, but with the attraction of all that LA has to offer virtually blocks away, the apartment is part of a truly special house. A 1920's cottage with windows everywhere that let in beautiful morning and evening light, staying here is a wonderful experience.

• Self-contained separate apartment in private 1920’s house facing garden (see picture to understand the lay-out)

• Bedroom

• Living room

• Dining area

• Kitchen

• Bathroom with shower

• Use of patio & 1920’s barbeque

• Use of huge tropical garden

• On site laundry for a small fee

• Comfy queen size bed

• Sleeper sofa

• Opium window niche in bedroom

• Hardwood floors

• Fireplace

• Quiet neighborhood

• Centrally located

• Cable TV

• Wifi

• Hardwood floors

• Easy on-street parking

• Friendly atmosphere

• The apartment will sleep 5 people—2 in the bed, 2 on the fold-out couch, and one in the opium niche in the bedroom. However, if the niche sleeper is tall, he/she will have to sleep at an angle.

Footsteps and plumbing can be heard from upstairs, so if you are sound sensitive, you may want to sleep with ear plugs. There are neighborhood cats and a dog on the property which sometimes wander in.

The trees that shade the house keep the house cool in summer except on very rare occasions. Although there is no A.C. as it's normally unnecessary, I do provide fans. Portable heaters are provided for chilly nights.

14% hotel tax due in cash upon arrival. No tax necessary on stays of 30 nights or more.

Not suitable for the handicapped

You might like to also check out the studio apartment on the same property: vrbo 460889

More Details
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Yvonne (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Yvonne

I have known this house since I was a child and always had a deep attachment to it. There is something magical about it. I am a world traveler particularly smitten by the equatorial regions. Planting the tropical garden made this a very happy place to return to when I came home from my travels. I lived away for years--first in the San Francisco Bay Area where I studied art and then in London where I studied fashion design but Hollywood and this house always pulled me back.

I live on the property, so it is more than a business to me. Decorating the apartment was an act of love. Designing and planting the garden (which continually changes) is an act of obsession.

Yvonne purchased this apartment in 1962

Why Yvonne chose Los Angeles County

This house is a hideaway amid the action and fun of Hollywood. Wake up to the music of the birds. The lush back garden is a wonderful place to read a book while enjoying a refreshment – the warm Southern California sun streaking through the tall trees. Staying here is worth a trip to Hollywood all by itself, but with the attraction of all that LA has to offer virtually blocks away, Willetta is a truly special house. A 1920's cottage with windows everywhere that let in beautiful morning and evening light, staying at Willetta is a wonderful experience.

The separate apartment (which is the one available) made this rental a friendly place. When you are feeling sociable you can mix. When you want to be alone, you have privacy. I am happy when guests take advantage of the barbeque and the garden which makes indoor/outdoor living possible here.

What makes this apartment unique

• Self-contained separate apartment in private 1920’s house facing garden (see picture to understand the lay-out)

• Bedroom

• Living room

• Dining area

• Kitchen

• Bathroom with shower

• Use of patio & 1920’s barbeque

• Use of huge tropical garden

• Free on site laundry

• Comfy queen size bed

• Sleeper sofa

• Opium window niche in bedroom

• Hardwood floors

• Fireplace

• Quiet neighborhood

• Centrally located

• Cable TV

• Wifi

• Hardwood floors

• Easy on-street parking

• Friendly atmosphere

The apartment will sleep 5 people—2 in the bed, 2 on the fold-out couch, and one in the opium niche in the bedroom. However, if the niche sleeper is tall, he/she will have to sleep at an angle.

Footsteps and plumbing can be heard from upstairs, so if you are sound sensitive, you may want to sleep with ear plugs.

Guestbook comments from the owner

My friend and I were fortunate enough to stumble upon Yvonne's beautiful looking apartment when searching for a better value stay in the Hollywood area and were blown away with what we found.



Upon arrival we were not disappointed, an apartment that had the feel of being in a quiet and relaxing area but was a short walk from Hollywood Boulevard and incredibly useful amenities! We could not have asked for anything more, Yvonne herself was incredibly welcoming and her neighbour, Michael, was a pleasure to talk to and also helped with any of our queries!



Being our first visit to LA this was exactly what we needed and way more than we could ever have asked for!



All in all a lovely home that you can come back to after a long day of exploring to really relax in, highly recommended.
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.6
based on 22 traveler reviews

Hollywood Hills Tropical Paradise Close to Everything
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 24 reviews
5

Exactly what we needed!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our two days at Yvonne's. The location allows you to be close enough to experience Hollywood by walking to most of it and far enough away to feel you are in a bit of an Oasis. Playing with sweet little Daisey in the garden and conversing with Michael over a cup of tea added to the charm. Thanks Yvonne- we'll be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were such wonderful guests--the whole family. My only complaint is that you didn't stay long enough. You were so great to have around. I hope you return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Host ! Lovely place with a great location !

  • 5 of 5

Yvonne was a great host and made sure that our stay was comfortable ! We had communicated with her before checking-in and she was very prompt and ready to help with our requests. One of my party members is disabled and we made a request for a shower chair for her. Yvonne lost no time in arranging one. I really appreciated this gesture of her.

My kids loved playing with her 3 month old dog in her backyard (though my younger one is a little scared of dogs ! :-) )

Universal Studios was just 10-12 minutes drive. Walk of Fame was under 1.5 miles. I would definitely recommend this place for a nice vacation close to a lot of nice places !

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You have a really wonderful family. Would love to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles
5

Great time in Hollywood!

  • 5 of 5

This was like staying with family. My girlfriend and I brought along our two dachshunds for a quick trip to see a couple of events at the Hollywood Bowl. Yvonne made us feel right at home. She introduced us to her ten-week old dachshund puppy. The dogs all played in the backyard together. The property was just what we needed and having the yard was perfect for the pups. Great time and hoping to find a time to stay again soon. Mostly so I can see her little puppy again...

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As I told you before, to say the video you shot of our dogs is amazing is an understatement. I hope to see you while Daisy is still a puppy. But if you can't make that soon, you can see her as a young lady !! Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, quiet and peaceful. Family loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Yvonne was so nice and informative with the area. My family of 3 loved the place, it was so peaceful and relaxing. Thank you so much for allowing us to stay, we had a great time. We will definitely be staying there again. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Loved having you. My one regret of your visit is that we didn't have time to get to know you better. From the brief time we crossed paths, I know that I would have enjoyed more time with you and your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tampa, Florida
5

A Old Hollywood Bohemian Retreat!!

  • 5 of 5

As a vacation rental owner myself in Tampa, Florida I was very impressed with this Bohemian jewel in the middle of Hollywood. The owner Yvonne was very engaging and responsive to my questions regarding her properties and diligent in getting me booked as she appreciated the value of my time. Her customer service surpassed my expectations. She made my stay delightful. Because of her sincere attitude regarding my satisfaction about my experience my husband and I will be returning the week of Thanksgiving to this magical whimsical retreat.

The property is in the Hollywood Hills centralized to all of the attractions Hollywood has to offer. Conveniently located 15 minutes from Burbank Airport. I appreciated how the wildlife compliments the surroundings and offers you quiet time you deserve.

Each rental has it's own eclectic personality with a splash of Boho Chic. The studio that I stayed in is a petit retreat with a cozy kitchen. The bed was very comfortable. Old Hollywood decor complimented the repurposed whimsical table and chairs very well. I loved staying here because it is so unconventional and avant garde. I appreciated the freedom of color and the use of space that Yvonne delivers to her guests. She is a true artist and created a memorable experience for me on my trip to Los Angeles.

Can't wait to return. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a delight having you and hanging out with you in the garden and at the nail salon and can't wait till you return !!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Cute house and yard but sweltering temperatures inside!

  • 1 of 5

Cute property, nice neighborhood. We visited on a hot weekend and there was NO A/C! This was not mentioned in the property description. There were two small dirty fans instead. There were no screens on the windows so the house was full of bugs at night. Two large windows were painted shut even further limiting air flow. A cat that lived there kept coming in the Windows even after I told the owner I was allergic to cats and she said she would keep him in the upstairs house. The house rules had the nerve to state that guests should supply their own toilet paper. There was a loud banging noise constantly and the complimentary ear plugs were no where to be found. No iron provided so we had to throw my husbands button shirt in the dryer, after asking permission from the other guest who's unit was next to the laundry room. Used bar soap and an old shampoo were left in the shower. We were not able to relax and enjoy the house. To say it's within walking distance to Hollywood Blvd is pushing it. Make sure and check the map closely if that is your plan. It was just way to hot and kind of defeated the purpose of a house rental instead of a hotel. We ended up staying out all day at various places just for the A/C and wasting more $$ than intended because the house was so hot. I called Yvonne after our stay to talk about it and maybe discuss a partial refund. She was very rude and didnt want to hear what we had to say. She said we should have thought to ask if there was A/C and that in the photos there were no screens on the Windows so that was our fault for not noticing. She wouldnt let me talk and abruptly ended the conversation. I had mentioned upon booking that we were coming for a special occasion, our first wedding anniversary, and this was just a disappointment!! Would never stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, you were here during a rare record heatwave. As you can see from my other reviews, the vast majority of guests are happy to be here, as I am happy to have them. If you needed earplugs or found the fans less that clean, I do wish you had informed me at the time. I would have taken care of it immediately. Since I now know, I will be sure to clean the fans and replace the earplugs for the next guests. If any guests have special requirements to be certain their stay is enjoyable, I am always happy when they contact me in advance to inquire. I'm surprised you didn't find Hollywood Boulevard walkable. I'm a slow walker and it only takes me 15 minutes tops to get there. Most of our guests have made it in less. But if you feel that's far, I apologize for the miscommunication. On the subject of toilet paper: I do provide 1 or 2 rolls of "starter" paper; however, I do not supply it for the entire stay. I sincerely hope you have a more positive experience in the next place you stay. My good thoughts will be with you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Hollywood Sign on the same hill

Metro at the W 5 minutes walk

Hollywood Boulevard walk of fame 10 minutes walk

Hollywood Bowl 10 minutes walk

The beach is 20 to 30 minutes away by car

Universal studios 5 minutes away by car

Several film studiios 5 to 20 minutes away by car

Sunset Strip 10 minutes away by car

Downtown 15 minutes away by car

Olvera Street & China Town minutes away by car (short walk from each other)

Union Station (built in the 30's for movie stars coming in from New York) across the street from Olvera Street above

Tons of houses on this street once or presently inhabited by film industry people.

Numerous other attractions close by on foot or by car. Will be happy to discuss when you book and/or when you arrive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hollywood Hills Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$120
$805
$3,340
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Pet Fee $15
Cleaning fee $69

14% hotel tax due in cash upon arrival. No tax necessary on stays of 30 nights or more.

Rates are subject to change before a confirmation is made. Monthly rates are calculated on a 30 day month.

Rent to be paid in full at time of booking for stays of one month or less. Reservation is confirmed at time of payment.
The cleaning fee and the damage deposit are always refunded less any outstanding fees if the guest does not check in.
For a cancellation a minimum of 30 days in advance: 50% or 80% of rental will be refunded for the days, and only for the days, on which a replacement renter can be found—whichever is greater. 50% will be returned within 48 hours of cancellation along with the cleaning and damage deposit, less any outstand fees. The remaining refund, if any, will be paid the day after the replacement guest checks in.
For a cancellation made between 29 and 27 days in advance: 80% of rental will be refunded for the days, and only for the days, on which a replacement renter can be found. The money will be refunded the day after the guest checks in. In the event of a cancellation, every effort will be made to find a replacement renter.
There are no refunds on the rent portion for cancellations made after two days prior to check in. There are no refunds on the rent or cleaning portion for cancellations made after the guest checks in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hollywood Hills Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Toilet, sink, shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1) Comfy, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Full size, Murphy Beds (1) Not really a murphy bed, but no other place to list this.: Opium niche in bedroom. Sleeps person up to 6'2"
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Easy on street parking. Conditioning not necessary. House is shaded by trees and stays cool. Also provide fans

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties