check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Bright and Spacious 2bd/ 1 ba, Wifi, Views and Walk to GGP and UCSF

50 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Inner Sunset Apartment Rental Photos and Description

A peaceful and light filled retreat in San Francisco: Curl up and read your book. Enjoy a cup of coffee while you look at the view. Watch the sun set in the distance at the horizon over Ocean's Beach. Listen to your iPod, bring your own laptop and use our wireless internet. Have this home as your base as you explore all that San Francisco has to offer!

Great afternoon sun and natural light

Great space with views

High Ceilings

Shared Outdoor Courtyard

A leisurely walk to Golden Gate Park (De Young, Cal Academy, Japanese Tea Gardens, Botanical Gardens, Playgrounds, Buffalo, and so much more). Time your visit just right and be walking distance to one of the amazing and sometimes FREE music festivals such as Hardly Strictly Bluegrass.

Features: Hardwood floors, 2 people can comfortably sleep in the queen bedroom & 2 people can sleep on the full sized bed in the 2nd bedroom. There is also a twin bed in a small extra room/ office for 1 person without any doors (however, there are curtains in the doorways in lieu of doors). And, a couch in the living room. The bathroom was just renovated with a shower over tub, two side-by-side sinks and a washer/ dryer in the closet. High speed wireless Internet, just bring your laptop to access movies and shows online.

This flat is in a three unit building with a separate entry door.

The flat is on the top floor up 2 flights of stairs.

Parking is limited to street parking, but is fairly easy in our neighborhood.

Walking distance:

N Judah Line (1 block away) - straight ride to downtown area.

UCSF Medical Center

Golden Gate Park

9th & Irving - Inner Sunset (boutiques, restaurants)

Grand View Park (small 360 view hilltop park)

Mt. Sutro Park (wooded trails behind UCSF)

20th & Irving - Central Sunset (Asian food)

Andronico's (gourmet grocery store - 4 blocks away)

Variety of local restaurants (Cafes, Japanese/ Sushi, Brunch, Peruvian, Ethiopian, Italian/ Pizza, Local Brewery, Thai, Vietnamese, Vegetarian, Mexican, and so much more)

For those whose shoes were made for walking -

Walk to other nearby neighborhoods - Cole Valley, Haight Ashbury, Ocean's Beach, explore every trail of Golden Gate Park (larger than NYC's Central Park!), the Panhandle, the local and trendy restaurants in NOPA (North of the Panhandle), and more.

Bike lanes are on Kirkham Ave. and throughout the city for those who enjoy exploring on wheels! Bikes not provided, but are available for rent at various locations throughout the city.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Anne McGinty
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 9, 2016

About Anne McGinty

I am from Atlanta, GA and my husband is from the Bay of Islands, New Zealand. After attending Trinity College in Hartford, Connecticut, I worked in Australia and traveled in New Zealand where I met my husband! We love San Francisco and our light filled and peaceful apartment. We have recently relocated to Sonoma County to raise our growing family and enjoy coming into the city periodically to walk the neighborhoods we know so well.

Anne McGinty purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Anne McGinty chose San Francisco

We originally lived in the Inner Sunset, then moved to Pacific Heights (which is also a great neighborhood, but with a completely different feel) and ended up moving back to the Inner Sunset. The Inner Sunset has a great location and is a wonderful neighborhood for living like the locals do. There are local restaurants for every budget from $-$$$$. And, we love being near Golden Gate Park because we enjoy the green space on a much more regular basis when it's right there!

What makes this apartment unique

We fell in love with the view and how light and airy the place feels. Sometimes the Inner Sunset feels like one of the undiscovered neighborhoods of the city - it's GREAT and recently some very established boutiques and restaurants have decided to join this increasingly popular spot. The Inner Sunset is the main neighborhood for anyone working at UCSF, including new interns and residents! It's down to earth and you can grab a burrito for $5, but it also has some of the best award-winning restaurants in town including Ebisu (Japanese) and Marnee (Thai). Soon to open is a Nopalito (Mexican) and Pasion (Peruvian in the Fresca Restaurant family) are great date spots for a slightly pricier dinner. We love the peace and quiet with the close proximity to the boutiques and restaurants... It makes for a great walk home after dinner.


based on 50 traveler reviews

Bright and Spacious 2bd/ 1 ba, Wifi, Views and Walk to GGP and UCSF
average rating of 4.7 based on 50 reviews

Great View, and Location

  • 4 of 5

Hi Annie,

We enjoyed staying at your place. We loved how close it was to everything. My husband has family up there, and they were 3.5 miles from your place. The Zoo was 3.9 miles, and Golden Gate Park was only a 12 minute ride by car. Loved how close the food store was, and if you wanted to walk into town, you could. I enjoyed having coffee, and watching the great views from the main room/kitchen while cooking breakfast one morning. Ashley, the propriety manager, was very helpful when we needed firmer pillows, coffee mugs, and unlocking the closet door, for child safety gate.

However, you need to update a few things in the home.

1. All the beds need to be replaces. They are all too soft, and zero support. My husband had to sleep one night on the hardwood floor.

2. You need a new couch. The poor thing is so badly broken down, and the cushions have zero firmness.

3. All rooms need light blocking curtains. Our (23month old) had a hard time sleeping in there.

4. Dinning room needs something in there, for blocking late afternoon sun. Really hard to eat in there, with sun glaring in your face., and one of the chairs has a broken backing to it.

5. Not your fault, but the washer broke down, just before we landed, and Ashley tired to have it fixed. We were hoping for you guys to help out with cost of Lauder, seeing we paid, for that in the rental, but she did not offer. She just implied that we go to coin place to wash our clothes.

6. I would leave the extra pillows in the closets, for guest to change out at their will, along with fans for each room. The house the last two days was 76, and 75 and night. SF, was having a heat wave this weekend and going into the week. I know, normally it is cold, put in the rare situations, like,it is this good to have extra cooling fans.

Thank you, for the rental for our stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate the thorough feedback you have given us. I was glad to be able to help you with your needs during your stay! We will look into replacing the beds and couch. I am sorry that your husband had to sleep on the floor. We really did try to have it repaired before your arrival but unfortunately we couldn't get the parts in time. Some of our guests don't even get to see the amazing view from the dining room or sunshine at all during their stay - it sounds like you had great weather and no fog. You were really lucky! Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Versailles - France

Large and well located appartment with 3 separate bedrooms

  • 4 of 5

Great view, quiet, lots of space and well equiped.

The area is nice and easy access to public transportation.

Mattress need to be replaced to get a 5 stars rating.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Very appreciated! Since we your review, we have added some more padding to the mattresses and I have started research on replacing them. Glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great home base for our family of 5!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay, we loved the neighborhood and found that we were a 10 minute walk from the main attractions of Golden Gate Park including Stow Lake, the California Academy of Science, and the de Young Museum. It was also about a 10 minute walk to the thriving 9th and Irving intersection which had some great shops, bakeries, and restaurants. Andronico's is an even shorter walk, a great grocery store with a wonderful selection of pastries and pre-made items.

The apartment was wonderful, a spacious light-filled top floor unit with views in 3 directions. I thought the deck was "undersold" - we enjoyed a glass of wine outside most evenings with amazing 180 degree views from the beach all the way downtown. The apartment was also a great home base for working while we were away, the small office area was well equipped with wifi and a hardwire internet connection and a print station.

Overall a great experience and highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! The deck is my favorite part of the house too! Glad you made good use out of it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay in San Francisco!

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect place for our family of 5 to stay while visiting San Francisco for 4 days! We loved having it as our "home base" after touring the city all day. It was super convenient to public transportation and easy to navigate with a rental car as well. It's just minutes from the Golden Gate Park and Ocean Beach (we walked to the park!). There are also many wonderful restaurants within walking distance (plus a grocery store!). The apartment was spacious and had everything we needed. While we only ate breakfast there, the kitchen had everything we needed. The parking was a little tricky, but it became a game for our boys to find a "spot" for us to park. We really did enjoy this area of San Francisco and this apartment made our stay in the city a very memorable one.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the thoughtful review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Extremely comfortable apartment

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in this apartment for 5 nights. A true home away from home. The apartment is spacious and the location is perfect. Fantastic views of the ocean and the city centre. Close to the park and the local neighbourhood is great with gooed connections with either public transport or with your car. We traveled with our two teenagers and they enjoyed it, however the smallest (third) bedroom did not have enough darkening curtains. That can be improved. Also the outside of the windows could benefit from a rinse.

We would recommend this property to everyone. A truly great way to stay in San Francisco.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review. I will get some darkening curtains for the 3rd bedroom with a twin. Believe it or not the windows are washed pretty often, the salt air gets them really dirty, really quickly. I will speak with our window cleaners about other options. I hate to ruin the amazing view. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely apartment in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed this light and airy apartment so much. Our only complaint would be that it is so pleasant and the views so great that it's tempting just to stay at 'home'! Coming 'home' is pretty much always going to be uphill and up some very steep stairs - but definitely worth the effort, provided you're fit. :-) Downtown San Francisco was easily accessible via the frequent MUNI and local shops and cafes are a short walk away.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have the same problem when I am at the apartment - I never want to leave! So glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you got to see at least some of the sights beyond the apartment!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Underdogs, Fireside, Little Shamrock, Social Brew.
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Ferry Building
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
TPC or Presidio
Nearest Train
0.2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
19th/ Hwy 1
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Izakaya Sozai
Nearest Ski
200 Miles
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Ocean's Beach or Baker Beach
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Inner Sunset Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee (regular) $150
Property Damage Protection $59

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Inner Sunset Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 full bathroom with shower over tub
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) Portacot available upon request. Booster seat available upon request.
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Partner Offers