Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

BEST DEAL! 1-bedroom & 1-office Condo ON SLOPES in Tahoe, fireplace, jacuzzi

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

This is one of the most beautiful places in California. This large 725 sq. foot 1-bedroom / 1 full office / 1-bathroom split level condo is located in Tahoe Donner, a resort community, close to Donner Lake, Truckee, and North Lake Tahoe. The unit is on the ski slopes with great views of the chairlifts--and is also very close to Northstar, Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows, Donner Ranch and Boreal, etc. Go to Tahoe Donner website to read about the amenities of the community. It is 10 miles to North Lake Tahoe and 25 miles to Reno where you can gamble in both places. Nearby Truckee, which is just a few minute drive away from the condo, is a historic town with great restaurants, shopping and summer/winter activities for all.

In the condo, there is a Queen bed in the master bedroom, a Queen pull-out couch in the living room, and a high-quality Queen futon in the heated office. It has a full kitchen including a large refrigerator, new 4 burner electric stove and oven, a 32 bottle wine cooler, crock pot. microwave, dishwasher, toaster, blender, coffee machine, French-press, dishes, etc. There is a DVD/VCR, a stereo w/ CD player, a fan, linens, extra blankets, a 4-person dining table, dresser, closet and enclosed patio with a view of the slopes and chairlift. There's a full-size fireplace, and full bathtub and shower. The office has a large work desk. The condo is decorated tastefully with 10 original oil paintings and a good library of books and movies. WiFi is provided by the association, and a free jacuzzi, sauna, and small fitness center are just 50 feet away from the unit. Great views of slopes from condo.

Sorry, NO SMOKING ALLOWED. NO ROWDY OR TROUBLESOME GUESTS ALLOWED. Small, friendly, well-behaved pets may be allowed (possibly for a minimal extra charge).

In addition the condo facilities at the complex itself--at the nearby Trout Creek Recreation center, there are 3 jacuzzis, a steam room, sauna, yoga room and lessons, massage center, heated adult swimming pool, kiddie pool, ping pong table, and fitness center. A small fee with the provided guest card gets you in all day. There is also a championship golf course, equestrian center and camp ground. There is also a private beach and marina with 1,000 feet of lake frontage, hiking trails, tennis center, cross country center and ski trails, and a sledding hill. The whole community is fantastic!!!

PLEASE NOTE, if you rent this unit, we need a filled out and signed (digital or wet) rental agreement, and a copy of your picture ID, in order for you to get into the condo, so please email those in with payment. We do not allow renters in the unit without sending in those things property. Please note, we do not refund money (and allow people to block dates) just because they failed to get us the agreement and picture ID. If you have any questions or concerns, please ask them before you pay via VRBO. We’ll be happy to answer them. Thank you!

ALSO, PLEASE CHECK YOUR SPAM/JUNK EMAIL INBOX FOR CORRESPONDENCE. VRBO EMAILS SOMETIMES GO TO SPAM. Owner is not responsible for emails in spam.

More Details

Owner
Vacation Rental Management
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 17, 2017

About Vacation Rental Management

Small family that likes to ski in winter and hike in summer. Our unit is a great base for eveything in the Tahoe region.

Amenities

Truckee Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Both are queens
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

BEST DEAL! 1-bedroom & 1-office Condo ON SLOPES in Tahoe, fireplace, jacuzzi
average rating of 4.6 based on 15 reviews
3

You get what you pay for

  • 3 of 5

The best things about this place are the relatively low cost, the location, the clubhouse with jacuzzi & pool table & exercise equipment, and the owner who is honest and responsive. His Welcome Letter was a bit more forthcoming about the unit's limitations than was his description on VRBO. Note my comments below are meant as a heads up, and express my wish that the owner, who was terrific, would make some upgrades to this place. If he does, it'd be 5-Star even if he raised the price a little bit. As it stands, I'd recommend only for folks who plan to spend very little time there during their stay and expect to eat elsewhere.

There is no cable or wifi here (you can get wifi at the clubhouse but it doesn't reach to the unit); our cell reception was poor so we were unable to stream video etc to our phones or computers. This matters if you're locked in all day due to heavy snow as happened to us one day, so be sure to bring your own DVDs, board games, etc to entertain yourself. He should provide a steel snow shovel instead of the plastic one that broke the first time we tried to use it. The unit is warm but it's pretty old and the furnishings & kitchen supplies all look like they came from Goodwill. Also I was just not willing to risk using a washer/dryer that he said was basically unreliable, so we brought our own sheets and towels, which is a hassle. And it's a small detail, but I really hate toilet paper that you can literally see through ... why do some places use this stuff? I can't imagine it saves money when you have to use 3 times as much as you would if the stuff was good quality.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the reivew. For other prospective guests, I'd like to point out some issues I have with this review: 1) The washing machine and dryer work fine. The dryer is a tad bit slow (not too slow though) but it does work fine. I do encourage people to bring their own linens (However we also fully provide them). But if people bring their linens, the clean up process for the guests takes 15-30 minutes, rather than waiting for a hour+ wash/dry cycle to complete. 2) There is WiFi, and I used it literally the day after you left. It works from the upstairs bedroom or office, and yes, it is slow. 3) This is the first time I've heard that phone reception is bad from over a 100 guests staying there. On my phone, it's quite good. ATT and Verizon both stream videos on my phones. This is important to me since I have kids. 4) Most of our furniture came from Ikea. Our cooking supplies and utensils came from Target or Walmart. We try to replace worn out items every year. My wife cooks a lot and enjoys cooking there. Our stove is nice and new, and from Home Depot. Our kitchen table is wood and from Ikea. There is a dishwasher. 5) We provide about 25 dvd and vhs tapes in the unit, both for kids and adults. We have a newer flat screen tv, and another tv in the bedroom. There are about at 100 dvd and vhs tapes more you can borrow from the nearby club house. We also have a nice library of books.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

This location is pretty much perfect for skiing. The unit is nice and meets the needs of a weekend ski trip. We enjoyed the use of the movies, but also would have been great to have cable. The condo association amenities are also nice. Would prefer to have the option to add on a cleaning service, but that's just our personal preference.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

Super close to ski lift, very convenient

  • 4 of 5

Owners are very nice and responded immediatly to questions. Apartment is old, but if you are there only to ski and sleep, it is totally fine. Owners give you detailed instructions via email what to watch out for in the home and how things work. There is carpet throughout the place, which was cleaned the morning we arrived. Basic supplies are in the kitchen, even a small coffee machine.

We took sleeping sacks instead of using the sheets due to the dryer being very slow and you have to vacate by noon. Worked well!

The bathroom sink is very old, you habe to be careful closing the handle of the faucet, otherwise it keeps on dripping. We did not use their shower as we went to the spa every evening (hottub!) and showered there (big steam shower). The club is great, located literally steps away from the apartment and includes pool, table tennis, soccer table, a nice fire place with rest area, a small gym and infrared sauna, and the large hottub.

I would give the apartment only three stars, but due to the proximity to the lift (you can cook your own lunch instead of paying at the cafeteria) and due to the spa, I gave it four.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

bay area family

  • 4 of 5

We are a family of 4. We stayed here for 3 nights for this winter holidays. Well maintained and value for money. Didn't find any issues other than no cable TV. Owner is very nice and easily approachable over phone, very prompt in returning the security deposit.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Little Place

  • 5 of 5

We stayed her for a 4 day weekend to attend a wedding in September. It was perfect for us, affordable with all the basic amenities. Our 2 year old slept on the office futon. We brought our own sheets because we had an early flight on our last day and we washed towels the day before departure (took 2 cycles in the dryer). Loved having the option to clean ourselves and waive that fee. The complex was nice and quiet. It's about a 10 minute drive down to Truckee or public access to Donner Lake, and 20 minutes to Lake Tahoe. The owners were responsive and prompt with info. We really enjoyed ourselves. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Santa Cruz, CA
5

Great Spot

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here with my wife and 3 yr old daughter for a few nights while we attended a wedding at Donner Lake. Not far from the lake or downtown Truckee. Very clean and spacious condo. Can't wait for another excuse to go to the area and stay here

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

This unit is just a few minute drive from downtown Truckee, and about a 10-15 minute drive to either Northstar or Squaw Valley.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Truckee Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring and Summer 3
Mar 30 2017 - Jun 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$195
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$100
$650
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

Rates are subject to change until is reservation is complete. We require a rental agreement, photo ID, and payment to complete a reservation, as well as owners acceptance. The prices are seasonal and often change depending on exact date. Holidays more. Please email for exact info and check out the property's private website. Please also check your SPAM email inbox for responses in case they don't make it to your inbox.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties