Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Barb

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Pristine Aqua 'Sugar Lake' Wtih Private Shore and Firepit

7 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalize payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Minnesota Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Wiinter Season enjoy Snowmobiling on trails right off of driveway or Quiet Cross Country Skiing at Sugar Hills Cross Country Trails. State Parks offer many winter activities as well as indoor library, YMCA with whirlpool, and many shops, museums and coffee and movies.

In Spring, Summer and Fall....Relax on the Deck with a cold drink while enjoying spectacualr views of the aqua lake called Sissebakwet (It's Indian Name).

Boat or swim right off of the shore. Sandy bottom and crystal clear waters. At night, enjoy the firepit near the shore while viewing wildlife....even blue herons right on the shore if you're lucky.

Loons, ducks, many bird varieties including hummingbirds,bluejays, and Eagles flying over every morning.

Friendly neighbors will help you find the good fishing spots.

Bring your boat and keep it right on the boat launch at the dock.

We enjoy reading in the evenings, while sitting by the fire and watching the sun set.

Keywords: Four Bedrooms,2.5 Baths,Large, fully-stocked eat-in kitchen, living room, family room, laundry, and deck.... all fully furnished and overlooking pristine lake.

Great fishing, boating and swimming!!

Plenty to do in nearby Grand Rapids! Golf, tennis, biking, hiking trails.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Barb (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Barb

I purchased this home on Sugar Lake because I grew up going to my grandfather's cabin on this lake every summer. My extended family continues to have it's family reunions there every two years.

My three children have grown up going to this lake for the reunions and meeting their hundreds of cousins.(yes...hundreds!).

I feel so at home at this cottage, and enjoy the views of the water and the birds we see everyday. I swim every day I am there, no matter what the weather.

Barb purchased this cottage in 2009

Why Barb chose Minnesota

It is perfectly situated on the lot with room for games in the yard and beautiful birch trees in the view. It came with the little dock, which is all we need and the reeds out front are what attract the blue herons in the evenings. We see eagles flying over our heads every morning(early) and will see them circling around the lake in the afternoons. It can hold our large family and even though the dinette is relatively small, we manage to seat everyone inside and out.

It's not too close to the city, as, we want to 'get away from it all', but, it's close enough to run in for shopping or for dinner or museums and movies, mini-golf, etc.

What makes this cottage unique

You won't find a lake this clean or aqua blue.It's a perfect lake for any kind of boating. If you just enjoy a pontoon ride, you'll see several local boats touring at cocktail hour. It's a perfect water-skiing lake as it is very large and round. It is also fun for canoeing when it's not too windy and when it is windy, then, sailing is divine!!!

Reviews

4.4
based on 7 traveler reviews

Pristine Aqua 'Sugar Lake' Wtih Private Shore and Firepit
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews
5

Beautiful stay at this multi bedroom home

  • 5 of 5

We had a very nice staying at this home on the lake. The three levels were great for three couples and two teenagers; we were able to go off to our separate floors to chill and not feel crowded. The deck was great for playing board games in the afternoon and we used the fire pit at night to wind down. Barb was easy to talk to and very informative about the home and the area. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Tammy! Please come back again. We'd love to have you. Barb
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful setting, responsive owner, but house needs help

  • 3 of 5

The Good

- responsiveness & willingness to help, answered texts & calls quickly when we

had questions during stay.

- large property with lots of room to stretch, lots beds or places to put

air mattresses

- beautiful view, right on lake .... Water was very clear - lots of essential spices in kitchen

- map of lake left in area

The Bad

- musty/moldy smell particularly in the basement made basement almost

unusable -- this had been mentioned in 2 separate reviews in 2012 & 2013

- dehumidifier needed to be emptied several times a day to continue to

function

- partially dried laundry left in mildewy basement

- cleaning issues ... Both housekeeping & dishes.

- several mattresses with foul odors (? Cat urine) (main floor bedroom on

corner of foot next to window since we flipped the mattress. Upstairs

bedroom near opening)

- some maintenance issues .... Outside stairs from garage area very unsteady,

missing towel racks, etc leaking fridge

- noise from down stairs & between upstairs bedrooms remains an issue with

opening in bedroom wall

- only working TV was in mildewy basement.

Would be helpful

- including address & directions to property either on VRBO website or in

correspondence

- book or folder with useful information left at property. - a list of important numbers (electric went out for several hours & we

finally found how to call the utility company) - -list/name of restaurants, outfitters, etc. that we may use if

available

- instructions for use of property (eg AC/furnace), what to do when leaving property, etc

- list/map to local hiking or activities

- lids for pots/pans, kettle, etc.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
United States
5

Great Lake, owner and Lake Home!

  • 5 of 5

Owner Barb was very pleasant, flexible and easy to get a hold of with any questions and concerns. My 2 year old loved it. As soon as we got home, she kept asking to go back to the "cabin." The lake is amazing, sand beach that is shallow that is great for kids. Lots of space in the home, we didn't even use the downstairs, and barely used the upstairs. If you are looking to stay at Sugar Lake lodge (also on the lake) you will spend 3-4x as much for this type of space. My only concern would be that 2 of the upstairs bedrooms may not be suitable for kids due to the contemporary style of the home for safety reasons. If the kids are 8 and up, I'm sure it's fine. Thanks for sharing your lake home with us!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We think our Lake Home is great for families and young children because of the shallow, clear water. Thanks so much! Come back and stay with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5

I rented this place for our anniversary over the 4h of july. It was so peaceful there. You didn't even know you had neighbors. The lake was by far the cleanest lake i have ever been on. The water clarity was remarkable. You could see the fish in 15 feet of water. There was very little boat traffic on the lake. For a holiday week that was amazing. It was so relaxing. The cottage worked out great for us. Half way thru the week we had our children and their friends come. We had plenty of room for everyone.

The pictures are exactly what you get when you go there. Barb was awesome with her timely responses to any questions. She has a great property there. I cant wait to do that again next year. Everything worked well.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Mike! We love having families who appreciate Sugar Lake as much as we do. Thanks for being our guests and taking care of our property! See you next year! Barb
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Family of 7 Get-together

  • 4 of 5

A wonderful spot for a quiet vacation. The lake is a very quiet one, and we all loved seeing and hearing the loons and ducks throughout the day and night. My daughter even saw a fawn in the yard early one morning. The pre-schoolers loved the gentle slope into the water and the sandy bottom, but the rest of us found the reeds and the rocks past the dock difficult for walking in the water. We were delighted to find the Cohasset town beach only 15 minutes away and did our swimming there.

The house was O.K. for us, but we could not use the basement bedroom because of the musty smell and the lack of outlet covers - had to keep the door closed to protect the pre-schoolers. ( In Ohio this could not be called a bedroom because there is no closet.) That meant three people in the twin bedroom, which is small. The children and grandchildren did complain about the noise due to the cutouts of the bedrooms to the main floor - and of the lack of ceiling fans. The living room and family room were very comfortable and held us all easily, but the family room was also a bit musty smelling. The deck was a true delight; we had most of our meal there . S'mores at the fire pit was great fun for all of us!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your response! We didn't realize that the painter hadn't replaced the outlet covers. They are there now. We did realize that it didn't have a closet,so, we use the closet outside that door under the stairs.(I will mark it) There is a hanging rod there. (This is the most comfortable bedroom on hot days....my favorite). The early spring deluge brought water right after we installed the new carpet. It was dried in the family room and the bedroom was replaced,but, it sounds like it may need replacing again. We have since added new seemless gutters and have had drain tile installed around that wall and the front wall. Hopefully, this solves any water problem. We've had no smell since we were there in September. We are investigating ideas for the openings upstairs. .....Possibly shutters? The openings were there when we bought the house. I had the lattice installed for safety for the children, but, haven't known the best solution for light and noise. We are being advised to leave the reeds in place for protecting the lake. (they also attract the blue herons at night). But, there is a pathway from the dock that the boats use. I do use water shoes when I think of it, and I do throw rocks out of the pathway when I can, but, every year the waves push some back at us. So, it's a work in progress.. We are trying to make our beach a little more "beach-like",but, again, the lakeshore specialists have asked all lake home owners to do as little as possible to change the lakefront. Thank you so much for your comments. We'd never know if you didn't tell us. So glad you enjoyed our little paradise! Barb
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Hampton, VA
5

Family Vacation at the lake

  • 5 of 5

I thought this property was amazing! My parents, brother & fiance, myself and my 18month son enjoyed our 3 days at the lake. We only wish we could have stayed longer. Meals on the deck were awesome and the water is beautiful! My little one especially enjoyed the slow slope in the water. Thank you so much for sharing your home!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!! We love having guests who love our lake home as much as we do!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Hibbing Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Otis's
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Sugar Lodge Resort Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Otis's
Nearest Point of Interest
Hiking Trails
Nearest Point of Interest
Sugar Hills Ski Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
Judy Garland Museum
Nearest Point of Interest
Library
Car: recommended

This lake home is ideally located 'off the beaten path' but close enough to enjoy lots of outside activities.

There is walking and hiking right out the door.

Nearby is Sugar Hills with some great hiking trails and views.

Enjoy Ruttger's Sugar Lake Lodge Golf Course and the fun atmosphere at the Bar ang Grill after your game.

Drive in to town for movies, pizza parlors, library, the YMCA with a daily fee and lots of activities. You won't want to miss the Judy Garland, Wizard of Oz Museum. Good restaurants and coffee shops and tons of shopping.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Grand Rapids Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring
May 1 2016 - Jun 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,400
$3,000
 
 
Summer
Jun 24 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$350
Thu,Fri,Sat
$2,100
$3,300
 
 
Fall
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
1 night minimum stay
$225
$1,400
$2,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$300
$2,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $50
Pet Fee $100

CALL FOR SPECIAL RATING!!!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Minnesota Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , MAIN FLOOR
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , QUEEN BED UPSTAIRS ROOM
    Bedroom 4 - 3 queen , 2 twin/ single , 2 TWIN BEDS - UPSTAIRS ROOM
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , QUEEN BED IN LOWER LEVEL ROOM
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote