check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Best Location, Beachfront Villa With Infinity Pool Ocean View on a private beach

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Accommodations: House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8)

Casa Borang: is on the North ridge in Playa Flamingo, this large beach front home looks out onto the Pacific Ocean. The main floor is an open concept with lots of space to entertain with the large walk out balcony overlooking the infinity pool and Pacific ocean. The kitchen and bar area and master bedroom suite with private bath are also on this floor. The large terrace is perfect for outdoor dinners or to hang out and relax and watch the ocean and sailboats while listening to the waves.

Downstairs you’ll find two more bedrooms and one bathroom. There is also a washer and dryer and a large room to store all your travel gear. Each room has its own walkout to the beautiful back yard, and infinity pool with deck chairs to lounge on the teak deck. The Tiki bar welcomes you to have drinks and sit by the pool and have a BBQ. There is a staircase that takes you to the private beach which is perfect for everybody, including kids.

Amenities include:

-- Air-conditioning in the bedrooms and main kitchen area

-- Cable television

-- WiFi internet everywhere in the house

-- TV in the living room and on the 3bed bedroom with Neflix

-- Carport

-- King-size bed in Master bedroom

-- King-size bed in first Guest bedroom

-- Double bed in 2nd Guest bedroom and two single beds

-- Laundry room with washer and dryer

Keywords: beachfront, ocean view, private villa, tropical home, Costa Rica Vacation Rental, Flamingo Vacation Home, 3 bedroom home on the beach.

More Details

Gregory & Olivia Kahn
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2017

About Gregory & Olivia Kahn

I am a builder from Canada. I have been living in the house and remodelling it for a few years and it is now ready for other families to enjoy.

Gregory & Olivia Kahn purchased this house in 2008

Why Gregory & Olivia Kahn chose Guanacaste

This property is very private at the end of the road. It is a self contained villa with ocean views, private beach and everything you need for your AMAZING vacation.


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Best Location, Beachfront Villa With Infinity Pool Ocean View on a private beach
average rating of 4.230769 based on 13 reviews

Beautiful home with private beach and stunning ocean views!!

  • 5 of 5

A tropical gem nestled among the trees and birds, perched on a tranquil hill top overlooking the bay. Endless views from the infinity pool with a libation in hand, captures the moment in spectacular fashion.

Enjoy the winding staircase down to the private beach, complete with all the serenity and space to let yourself or little ones indulge on the beach.

Thank you so much Greg & Olivia for an awesome vacation; and of course to Mary & Nestor for every comfort .... Cheers!!

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the good words. Look forward to having you back next year. Greg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful location and great hosts

  • 5 of 5

Our party was 4 adults and 4 children (4,5,7,8) Greg has been very prompt and accommodating from reservation, stay and followup. The property is on top a hill and the infinity pool was clean and provided hours of relaxation and fun. Playa de Flamingo is not the most active for tourism, but they have great restaurants. Do not pass dinner at Coco Locco. The bedrooms have AC which can keep up with the heat. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this property! Thank you, Greg and Olivia for sharing your beautiful house with us!

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the GREAT review and it was great having you here in Costa Rica and the house. We have ordered a A/C for the main area.We have also completely renovated the master shower it looks amazing. Thanks Greg & Olivia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at Casa Borang for a week in March. The house and the views were amazing. All the linens were brand-new the rooms all have AC and were very comfortable for us.The house was very clean the maid was there three times in the week we were there and did a great job she even did our laundry.The Internet was great allowed me to do some work. The kids had a great time in the pool and down at the beach swimming. They also have Internet TV with Netflix YouTube so the kids were very entertained in the evening. The location is extremely private at the end of the road which was so nice. There are a lot of birds and wildlife in the area and of course the weather was perfect.The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed we only ate out once during the whole week. I would definitely recommend Casa Borang.The house is perfect to entertain in we will definitely be coming back.

> M.Ross

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was great having you and your family here in CR. Greg and Olivia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Family Fun in Flamingo

  • 4 of 5

Our family really enjoyed our stay at this location. We have been to Costa Rica many times and enjoyed Flamingo and the nice people in the area. The home is beautifully located on the beach with easy access by stairs to a very quiet beach below. The pool was very refreshing to lounge around with a cool beverage in hand. We barbecued chicken which as always my husband was having so much fun he burned them. :-) The house is very clean and the maid Mary was super nice. She tried so hard to communicate with us but not speaking Spanish made it difficult for all of us, on my to do list for sure. Luckily our adoptive son back in the state is Spanish and helped tremendously. Morning coffee on the balcony was amazing and breakfast with the kiddos made for some interesting conversations, haha!

I will however let you know after talking with the nice neighbor lady, back into the property instead of driving straight in. It makes your leaving SO much easier than backing out.

Thank you Greg and Olivia! :-)

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Dilapidated House/Terrible Customer Service

  • 1 of 5

So many disappointments (the owner will attribute this to the fact that we are in Costa Rica, but that can never excuse the very unprofessional way he handled things).

First, there was the mouse-sized roach that disappeared under the kitchen sink. And the crab that crawled into my daughter's bed. Or the scorpion on the floor of the master bedroom. The sliding door in the main room lacks any kind of seal, with openings big enough for an enormous rodent. Mold in the jets of master bath; a shabby old fridge on the fritz; a filthy oven.... disgusting. It gets worse.

One night, the electricity in the house went out for over 2 hours. I called the owner by phone. He told me how lucky I was because just the week before the water went out in the home. Well guess what? The very next night the water went out, at around 5:30 pm. We had just returned from the beach and were dying to take showers. I called the owner. He said that this is just what happens in Costa Rica, and the water "should" be back by 7 a.m. the next morning. Only when I told him that this was not acceptable did he tell me that he had a back-up water system. He asked if I could jiggle open a locked storage room downstairs and turn on the back-up water system. When I did, the system did not work--no wonder he hesitated to suggest it. At our insistence, the owner then scrambled to get his repairman out. It took three hours to fix, while we sat there sticky and sweaty, not knowing if it would be fixed at all. We learned from his repairman that back-up water systems are standard in Playa Flamingo but this one was old and dilapidated due to a complete lack of maintenance.

Before we knew if the back-up system could be fixed, the owner finally offered to split us into 2 modest hotels for the night. When we said it was unacceptable to split up our family in a foreign country, he refused to give us any refund whatsoever--even for just 1 night. Super cheap.

This guy does not lift a finger unless you complain, and then he tries to do the bare minimum and acts as if he is a great host. But he refuses to part with even a penny. Very rude and unprofessional.

A few more things. There are 103 harrowing steps (including landings) from the beach to this house. It is a big trek.The pictures on VRBO deceptively make it look close. That is a complete misrepresentation.

Overall, a dilapidated house that needs a professional manager/owner, not the frugal guy who runs it.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you where disappointed. We attribute the fact that we are in CR and there is not much we can do when the electricity goes off. Something that doesn’t happen to frequently. You never mentioned to us the roach, crab or scorpion and nobody else has mentioned to us that there is any problem with the sliding doors. The house gets fumigated once a month and we have a cleaning service 3 times a week. We just replaced the fridge for a brand new one. We where told the electricity went off for 1 hour. We told you the water should be back on any time and to turn the back up system on (we don’t use it frequently because the city water is very consistent), we apologized that it wasn’t working and found you two rooms in the best hotels in Flamingo for that evening, because of the new year holiday everything was booked, the hotel room prices where US$270 each. You didn’t want to take the rooms so finally one of our maintenance people responded and he came to fix the pump, making water available on the entire house within 2 hours of it going down. We are alway available on the phone and answer our emails with it minutes to accommodate all your needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2

Trip to paradise

  • 4 of 5

We spend three nights here in early January 2016. The owners were very helpful and responded quite quickly throughout the booking and correspondence throughout our trip.

The reviews are quite accurate - we did notice the ants but we were spending most of our time in the pool, on the beach or eating on the deck that it was not an issue. The beach is amazing and gentle waves which is great for snorkeling! I had lost one of my personal fins earlier on my trip in Playa Grande and was happy to see that when arrived at the house there were two brand new sets available along with the several other sets for borrowing. I would highly recommend the snorkeling off the beach, my husband and I spent most of the day doing this.

The beds were very comfortable - the first soft mattresses we had in Costa Rica!! The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking and then some! The only thing that I was not 100% satisfied with this location was the maid (sorry). Mary does not speak any english and I found it quite awkward on our departure day when I went outside and she was outside resting by the pool side at 8 in the morning. I wasn't too sure why she was here this early -she had not come the day before for cleaning as she comes Mondays, Wednesday and Fridays, so we had thought maybe she was wanting to clean Saturday morning but as we were leaving Saturday .. it didn't make much sense. It was just slightly awkward as we were not expecting her until closer to the departure time and she started cleaning while we were still packing. But everything else was grand and I would come back again ( we really loved the beach!!!)

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1


Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Nearest Golf
3 Kilometres
Trent jones Junior
Nearest Restaurant
150 Metres

Flamingo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, Central America. We have a private beach where you can snorkel, swim, play on the rocks. Perfect for kids. The ocean is very calm in our bay.


Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $760
Tax Rate 13.0%

Please feel free to contact us LAST MINUTE about our special deals when the house is not rented

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Playa Flamingo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Double sink
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , One sink in between the bedrooms and one on the washroom.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • botanical garden
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers