check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar


61 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
1 - 2 nights


Southwark Apartment Rental Photos and Description


Central London holiday apartments set in the heart of the romantic SHAD THAMES district (QUEEN ELIZABETH STREET SE1) just ONE MINUTE'S walk to The River Thames & Tower Bridge. These comfortable apartments are set over-looking Queen Elizabeth Street. They benefit from a bright aspect and large private roof terraces. The apartments provide comfort for vacation or business travellers.Very suitable for entertaining with plentiful lounge and dining seating. The kitchen is fully equipped and features a washing machine and dishwasher. High ceilings and tall windows provide a light and calming environment. In addition to the two double beds in the bedroom; the sofa beds in the lounge areas are perfectly suitable for 2 adults. The lounge areas are completely separate from the bedrooms with their full king size beds. This ensures sleeping privacy if required. 8 minutes walk to Tube station.

APARTMENT 1. One bedroom apartment. This is complete with 2 king size double beds in the bedroom. 2 sofa beds in the lounge. Sleeps 5 persons maximum. 830 square feet. Great for families sharing.

We have two apartments, both within the same beautiful building on Queen Elizabeth Street.

APARTMENT 2. Two bedrooms & two bathrooms. This is complete with a king size double bed in each bedroom. One king size sofa bed in the lounge and one single guest bed. 885 square feet.

WE ARE FAMILY RUN BUSINESS.: Shad Thames is an extremely desirable area for both visitors, and those who live here. Shad Thames is truly an oasis in the heart of central London. We have two apartments all within the same building. Please email or call for availability. We can accommodate upto 12 persons.

Many holiday apartments advertise that they are situated on the South Bank, when actually they are 10-20 minutes from the river. Our apartments really do have the river and Bankside right on the doorstep.

More Details

Details for Apartment 1 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5, 1 Bathroom

A perfect home-away-from-home apartment. Represents fantastic value for money, within a luxury apartment block.

These apartments have large private terraces. Free WiFi

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible

Property Manager
Marian Selby
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 12, 2016
Call Manager

About Marian Selby

We are a family run business. We have just two apartments, and both are within the stunning Circle Apartment building. We are not a large business with multiple apartments. Having just two units allows us to offer a very personal approach for our guests. We handle all our own bookings, and will be the single point of contact. We do not use agents.


based on 61 traveler reviews

Apartment 1
average rating of 4.5901637 based on 61 reviews

Wonderful flat, perfect situation and loved it, coming back another time !!

  • 5 of 5

Very well situated, very quiet too (maybe because Tower Bridge was closed). Clean and comfortable, everything you could possibly want or need. Absolutely loved it and would like to come back again.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location but needs attention

  • 3 of 5

We were impressed with the really good location, generous size, cleanliness of bedding and furniture. Could be and probably has been a top notch apartment within the secure and well kept building. Has a really good sized balcony which can be accessed from both the living room and the bedroom.We really liked the setting and the Circle apartments.

We were disappointed with the sparseness of the bedroom furniture, no bedside tables and very little storage in the wardrobe space. Would be OK for two but not enough for four. We were equally disappointed with the lack of dvd player ...there was one there in a cupboard but no power lead. No instructions for use of appliances including a complicated combi cooker. Light bulbs missing and broken plug on living room lamp. The kitchen was very dark as all the under unit light bulbs didn't work ...we attempted to switch on the extractor fan when cooking and the electrics blew! We lost the use of one side of the kitchen and realised the next day this included the fridge freezer which stored holiday ice creams for the children. The matter was quickly attended to when reported to the owners representative who also promised a small refund to recompense our loss but so far this has not happened.

Furniture on the balcony was shoddy and broken.

This apartment could be a real gem with some care and attention and even though we had a very good stay in London, I knew when asked that I couldn't recommend it to my friend, who was looking for a London break.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are obviously disappointed to read much of this review. We are equally disappointed in understanding why these issues weren't raised when we spoke on the telephone during your stay?? Instead you have chosen this global forum to alert us... All issues raised in this review have been investigated, and those that were genuine (garden furniture) are being addressed. A formal written offer of a 'complimentary stay' for your next visit, was left for you at reception. However, we have recently discovered this was not collected. We do our best to get things right, but ocassionally issues such as the extractor failing occur. We then do our best to put things right. We believe you are quite rightly upset at not receiving any recompence which was suggested to you. However, we also believe this review is misleading.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Second time here, love it!

  • 5 of 5

Great apartment, clean, spacious, and minutes from Tower Bridge, and Tower of London. Grocery store down the street, restaurants close by, underground about 10 min walk. Great for families in safe area with security.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, good apartment

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at The Circle. Its a great location for walking to The Globe Theater and Tate Modern. Apartment is very spacious with nice light and not noisy. Carpet could be replaced and water in bath was either scalding hot or too cold. The doormen were courteous which made the key access and drop very easy.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Friendly staff, spacious and clean!!! I loved this place, well worth the money!

  • 5 of 5

I really enjoyed my stay here! It was very spacious and I didn't expect it to be so nice, clean and accommodating. The apartment was in close proximity to tower bridge, London Eye, big Ben etc. Front desk was very friendly and provided information without hesitation. Very friendly! I loved this place! If I ever come back, I know exactly where I'm going to stay. Thank you so much for your kind and friendly hospitality.


  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, Australia

Roomy apartment in a great location

  • 4 of 5

This apartment was in a terrific location - just a 5 minute walk to Tower Bridge, with lots of cafes and restaurants along the Thames. The apartment was very light and airy, surprisingly spacious and had everything we needed. It was centrally heated and lovely and cosy to come 'home' to. Lovely fresh linens in the bedroom and the beds were comfy. Our contact was with Neill who was lovely, very helpful and friendly. The only down side, and is typical with this type of rental, is that it is heavily reliant on guests cleaning everything they use before returning it to cupboards. The crockery was generally a bit grubby and I felt it necessary to wash things before use. I went to make myself a cuppa on the first day and took the lid off the kettle to fill it, and the inside was appalling. I don't know what is was, possibly rust but also a buildup of lime maybe, but I couldn't use it and I really don't know how anyone could use it. There were bits floating everywhere. I placed it in a bottom cupboard so the next guest wouldn't use it, and thankfully found a brand new plastic jug which we used for the duration of our stay. The bathroom & kitchen could do with refurbishing but was completely adequate for our needs. Overall I would rate this apartment highly as it was our lovely little home for our week in London.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
100 Kilometres
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
London Bridge
Nearest Motorway
15 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
100 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

This Central London (Zone 1) residence is situated within a stunning building, on QUEEN ELIZABETH STREET SE1. Set in the heart of the SHAD THAMES district, you are less than a minute's walk from the River Thames and the breath-taking sight of Tower Bridge. SHAD THAMES offers the perfect location for all visitors to Central London. The area is rich in history, with its Dickensian (Dickens based Oliver Twist here) cobbled streets and converted warehouses which are now host to countless restaurants, cafes, coffee shops, bars, boutiques and of course apartments. SHAD THAMES is an oasis within the Capital. However, The Financial District (City of London & Canary Whar'f) The West end, Tower of London, London Eye, South Bank, Shakespeare's Globe, St Paul's Cathedral... to name just a few, are all within walking distance. 8 minutes walk to London Bridge TUBE, RAIL & BUS station. Tower Hill and TowerGateway TUBE stations 10 minutes..



Rates & Availability

Southwark Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Sep 5 2016 - Oct 31 2016
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $9 per night, per additional guest
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 22 2016
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $4 per night, per additional guest
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
Jan 2 2017 - Feb 28 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $4 per night, per additional guest
Mar 1 2017 - May 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $4 per night, per additional guest
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 10 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $4 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Discount for single person or couple sharing

£50 surcharge on midweek stays of fewer than 3 nights. No surcharge for weekends or midweek stays of 3 or more nights.
A 20% deposit will be payable to confirm your booking. The balance owing plus security deposit will be due 28 days before the check-in date, or upon reservation if the check-in date is less than 28 days away.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Southwark Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 5
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Basic Soaps
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • A good size modern family bathroom . Shower and Bath.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Very comfortable airy bedroom with large walk-in wardrobe. Two (2) Large double beds.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Radio
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Gated Community
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Terrace
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
The Circle Spa and Gym is located on the ground floor of the building. This is a members club but available on a daily or weekly basis to guests.

Partner Offers