check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Ronni Drake

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

SUMMER SPECIAL $99 NT NEW HOME GORGEOUS OCEAN VIEWS HOT TUB WALK TO SHOP/ RESTRA

38 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Honomu House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, Sleeps 4

Aloha and welcome to our beautiful new luxury home the 'Tropical Splendor'. We also have VRBO 508842 Gardens of Paradise which is an identical home on the same grounds which is perfect for larger groups or friends traveling together. You are near each other but the houses are seperated by several yards and you have complete privacy. The best of both worlds!The home was built in 2013 and has 14 foot ceilings throughout the entire home, gorgeous bamboo flooring and a great room concept.

Upon entering the spacious great room you will have a magnificent view of the ocean from the floor to ceiling windows. The great room has a large sleeper sofa and new flat screen tv/dvd/entertainment system. The sleeper sofa is a queen bed with a quality mattress and is perfect for adults or children. There is a sliding door that provides privacy should you need privacy. You also have your own private bath with indonesian style vanity with vessel bowl sink, huge 2 person spa style shower with 2 rainfall showerheads and beautiful travertine tile. There is a seperate toilet room and closet. Perfect for your extra guests or family members so they too will have all the comforts of home. You have direct acess to the covered lanai with additional furniture so you can sit back and enjoy the gentle hawaiian breezes and ocean views in style.

There is a kitchenette that has new cabinetry and new stainless steel refridgerator with freezer, microwave, and sink. There is also a new gas grill for your use. We have all new utensils, small appliances, dishware, and drinkware for your convenience in any meal that you may want to prepare. Should you want to eat out or bring food back to the house it is only a 2 minute walk to Hilo Sharks Coffee shop with great coffee drinks, Eds bakery for baked goods and sandwhiches, and Woodshop grill for lunches and dinners.

The Master suite and bath are incredible with floor to ceiling beautiful ocean views and direct access to beautiful outdoor covered lanai which is completely furnished. There is new indonesian furniture and beautiful island decor. The new queen bed has a pillowtop mattress for a great nights sleep with high quality bed linens. The ocean views from the bed are incredible! The Master bath was built with luxury and romance in mind! It features a huge walk in spa shower for 2 with 2 rainfall shower heads, the ultimate shower experience.Beautiful travertine tile, indonesian vanity with vessel bowl sink, seperate toilet room, closet, and two spa robes for use during your stay...which will be perfect for when you get in the hot tub at night to watch the cruise ships go by under the starlit sky...

Outside enjoy the beautifully landscaped tropical garden and fruit trees with beautiful ocean views. All of this and only a 2 minute walk to Charming Honomu town which has the zipline adventure and restraunts and shopping.

Akka Falls is only a 5 minute drive from the house. Umauma Waterfalls and World Botanical Gardens are a 5 minute drive, as well as the scenic Onomea Bay and Hawaii Botanical Gardens. Kolekole Beach Park and Hakalau Bay are under a 5 minute drive, and Honolei Surfing beach is a 10 minute drive. Hilo town with its farmers markets,eclectic shopping and dining is under a 15 minute drive. Volcano National Park is a great day trip and a 45 minute easy drive.

Why pack up and move to several locations when you can relax in complete comfort and luxury and see all of the sights in East Hawaii. We cant wait for you to discover this hidden gem!

HAWAII TAX ID#W26465335-01

Keywords: Plantation Style Home with Tropical Gardens,Koi Pond and Beautiful Ocean Views

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Ronni Drake (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Ronni Drake

We live on site in the main house on the property and had the vacation homes built in 2013 with your utmost comfort and privacy in mind.

Ronni Drake purchased this house in 2012

Why Ronni Drake chose Hawaii

We love the location which is so close to all of our favorite activities, including walking into Honomu Town and getting fresh baked goods and shave ice at Mr Eds, the restraunts, and fun shops. We love that Akka Falls is 5 minute drive from the house and makes a wonderful workout. We also love that Umauma Falls and World Botanical Gardens are so close, as well as Onomea Bay and Hawaii Botanical Gardens.Its great you can be at Honolei Surfing beach in under 10 minutes and that Hilo offers so much culture including the twice weekly farmers markets and any food you could possibly desire, as well as lots of eclectic shops.

What makes this house unique

We love the location. Its so close to so many wonderful attractions, that are literally minutes away. We love that Honomu town is so eclectic and you feel as if you have stepped back in time, to the one of the last remaining old hawaiian towns. We love that everyone is so friendly and the aloha spirit that fills the air...life doesnt get any better than this. We cant wait to share our home with you and hope that you too will fall in love with this beautiful hidden gem of an island. It is truly paradise.

Reviews

4.6
based on 38 traveler reviews

SUMMER SPECIAL $99 NT NEW HOME GORGEOUS OCEAN VIEWS HOT TUB WALK TO SHOP/ RESTRA
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 38 reviews
Palmer, Alaska
5

Better than advertised! Very clean, comfortable, relaxing. Great place!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with my husband for three nights and we loved this place. We spent our days out-and-about exploring and this was the perfect place to come home to each evening.

The property is located on a nice quiet private street in Honomu. We enjoyed walking a very short distance to the local coffee shop and bakery each morning. We found Honomu to be a good centrally located place to stay for exploring the Hilo side of the island. We hiked the Waipio to Waimanu Valley (and back) to the north on one of our days here (AMAZING!!!) and on another day, we snorkeled the Kapoho tidepools and visited Ahalanui geo-thermal pool to the south and also hit the more touristy sites like Rainbow Falls, Boiling Pots, the Botanical Garden, Onomea trail, and Akaka Falls. Hilo also isn't too far away from Honomu and we enjoyed getting take-out from Sombat's Thai Restaurant and eating it on the Lanai, which is so pleasant. Suprisingly, it wasn't buggy at all. We had no issue with the furniture being loosely tacked down. At the table, there are two chairs. I imagine if there were more people staying here and everyone wanted to sit around the table at the same time this might be an issue, but there is also plenty of outdoor couch/chair seating space around a small coffee-table for a larger group of people.

The kitchenette was more than adequate for our purposes --no complaints here. We used the dishes, fridge and freezer (for ice cream!) and had no issues.

The bathrooms were clean. The bathrobes provided were a nice touch. The double-headed showers were great too.

The bed was very comfortable. There is absolutely no need for air conditioning here (and we're from Alaska!) as there was a nice cross breeze through screened windows and there are two ceiling fans. There is another floor-based fan provided that we found in the closet on our last day, but we didn't need it anyway.

Having a hot tub was awesome. It is for shared use with the other units on the property (I'm not sure how many there are - maybe 1 or 2?), but we did not see any one else using the hot tub while we were here. The stars are amazing!

We ended up communicating with the property owner, Ronni, about a small issue with the hot tub that has since been resolved. She responded very quickly. We found her to be very honest and fair. No problems or complaints here. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks Ronni!

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your kind review. It's very rewarding knowing That you enjoyed your stay. We built the vacation homes Because we too had traveled a lot and wanted them to have the comforts Of home be in a great location close to all of the great things Hawaii has to Offer and offer a great value to our guests. Please visit us again. We love Repeat guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Tropical Splendor review from 3/28-3/31/16

  • 4 of 5

My family visited Hilo for the Merrie Monarch festival and had a chance to stay here while in Hawaii. It was a short, scenic drive to downtown Hilo, roughly 15-20 mins. The house was comfortable and well kept. We loved the large showers and bathrooms. We definitely enjoyed our time there. The hot tub was a nice addition although it is shared with other properties on site. We enjoyed hearing the ocean and the sounds of nature. The proximity near Akaka Falls is also great. It gets very dark at night but the stars are beautiful. The only thing that was a downside for us was not having regular kitchen use in a house. The VERY small kitchenette was not as functional as I had hoped for and the refrigerator could not open completely due to the closet-like doors, that when fully opened, hindered the refrigerator door from extending completely. Additionally, the dining table and chairs were tacked down to the lanai & had cabwhich caused limited movement when trying to sit down and eat. We didn't like that at all. Other than that, the home was great. The pullout sofa was comfortable and bedding was included along with towels. It just felt like most of the attention with remodeling was focused on the bathrooms. Since we spent most of our time out and about, this place was functional. Had we have stayed indoors more, this wouldn't have been my first choice due to the small space in the living areas. It's really like a big studio with 2 giant bathrooms. No privacy in the house and the makeshift screens that hang on a rope are difficult & a hassle to maneuver. Because of that we chose not to use them. I traveled with three teenage children and it worked OK for us. If there were more of us, there's no way we would have fit comfortably. It's great for a couple but not ideal for a family. The gentleman who was managing the property, Eric, came over to greet us and was one of the nicest and most humble people I've ever met while in Hawaii. I travel there at least 3 to 4 times a year. We really liked him. He was extremely helpful and very knowledgeable of the area, places to visit and history of the Hilo district. He was full of the aloha spirit that is genuine of Hawaii. We actually went to a few places that he suggested and had the best time. Definitely a highlight of our trip. If I needed to go back to Hilo, I would most likely stay here again even though there were a few things that I did not like. The beautiful, quaint, little town of Honomu is wonderful.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your nice review. I d like to address the furniture on the lanai being tied down with cables. Due to storms and heavy winds that can occur in Hawaii we opted to secure the furniture so that there would be no movement. You can still move it around to use it comfortably just cant pick it up and rearrange the furniture. My apologies for any inconvience but our guests safety is top concern. As I have said many times regarding the small kitchenette all new construction per the county of Hawaii can not have a full kitchen or a stove. With that in mind when the home was built in 2013 we opted to use the space so we could have two very nice baths for guests so that when traveling with family members or friends each has their own private bathrooms and space. I will ask Eric the property manager to take a look at the sliding bamboo doors for privacy. Im thinking they may just need an adjustment then they will slide easily. So glad that you loved your stay and enjoyed sounds of the ocean surf and the town of Honomu. Eric is truly a wonderful reminder of the true hawaiian spirit and what the hawaiian people can share with us. We love Eric and our guests do as well. We would love to have you stay again the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, Colorado
1

Beware of the property owner

  • 1 of 5

Great place to stay, but be willing to give up your deposit and be falsely accused of damage. The property owner never called us back (or our attorney) to discuss and only communicated via email, each time accusing us of damage to floors we never damaged. Apparently photos were taken of the damage, but these were never provided. It's not even about the deposit anymore but the fact that we would be accused of something we didn't do. I still have no idea where the alleged damage was. I hope the deposit was worth getting a bad review.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all it's very obvious you are writing this review because you are angry that Vrbo and their parent company Yapstone both agreed that your minimal deposit should not be returned. I have NEVER kept anyone's deposit but yours since I began renting this property. I personally was in Hawaii I personally saw where you moved outdoor furniture inside. I personally cleaned the house after checkout and had to move the furniture outside. There was major damage to the new bamboo floors. I do have photos and you did have the opportunity to see them. I also responded to every email you sent promptly and did return all calls. We both know you dragged furniture across the floors and it will cost me a lot more than what little deposit I retained to replace that area you dented with and scratched up. You also failed to mention that you did receive a $99 refund out of the deposit which was only $200. I am disappointed that you would write such a bad and mean spirited review to get back at someone who trusted you and gave you the keys to their home. It was an unfortunate situation as I am the one stuck now having to have the new bamboo flooring replaced.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
4

Nice little getaway on the outskirts of Hilo

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here on our honeymoon with our (almost) 1 year old. We are used to a queen sized bed at home so it was nice and cozy with baby sleeping in between us. It was a great little cottage for baby to crawl all over the place and on the lanai. We absolutely loved the little town of Honomu and went to both little restaurants, antique shop and other little shops. We are easy to please and loved the nice showers. It was nice to get ready and spread out in the cottage. We stayed 4 nights and it went fast.. We ate out most nights so only utilized the BBQ one night. It was nice to make dinner there one night. We really appreciated the book of recommendations...the farmers market in Hilo, Hapuna Beach, the volcano, Reuben's Mexican restaurant....all amazing!! Hawaii was hard to leave, we stayed at the Sheraton Kona-Kailua and this was nice for the tail end of our trip. We enjoyed walking to Akaka Falls, the vibes of this side of the island and the people! We hope to come back someday. Only negatives of this property was that I definitely missed having a stove top, the refrigerator was small and actually had a bad smell in it when we checked in (went away after a few days), there was no black washcloths available so I was very careful not to use the white ones for my makeup, the hot water was very temperamental even after we followed the directions to let it warm up but wasn't a big deal at all and we had garbage that needed to be thrown away and the garbage cans we tried to put our trash in were completely full all the days we were there. All in all, those were very minor things and I enjoyed our stay here. Very very clean, comfy and we loved the ocean view/sounds of the evening!

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your kind review. I wish I had known you were on your honeymoon. We give fresh flowers and wine to all couples celebrating a honeymoon or anniversary. We would love to have you as our guest for future anniversaries. Best Wishes!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
3

Comfortable but lacking

  • 3 of 5

I was disappointed that there was no welcome upon my arrival after a long day's travel. I beer and some macadamia nuts or fruit would have been appreciated. However, more importantly a light on in the rural setting is imperative. I don't think that is too demanding to expect a greeting light to wrlcome a guest in the dark in a rural setting. The cottage was comfortable as presented. The showers were delightful. The village of Homomu was a treasure, all I encountered were helpful and pleasant. I enjoyed my overall stay. Parking was a challenge and poorly marked.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you had some issues with lighting. I apologize that the motion sensors outdoor light were not on at your house. The cleaner must have not checked and sometimes guests turn them off as they do not always want outdoor lights on. Again my apologizes for this oversight. There is a spotlight on the address of the property and it's on a orange colored bright sign and it's pretty easy to identify where you are staying based on you know what the house looks like you rented. However anywhere at night can be tricky. With late arrivals we understand being in a new surrounding and being unfamiliar with the area can sometimes be difficult. We are glad you did enjoy the house itself and Honomu town.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Nice Location

  • 4 of 5

Great location for visiting this side of the Big Island. As others have stated the kitchenette is small and I would not expect much more than what you get in a standard hotel room. The property is fairly quiet except in the early evenings when it can sound a bit like a jungle. There is no A/C or heat so there is no way to regulate the temperature other than opening or closing windows. This was not much of an issue for us due to fairly constant temperatures on the Island, but it did get a bit warm for us one night until long after sunset. The property was fairly clean, but we did find places that were not given enough attention by the housekeeper. The showers are great and the lanai is probably the highlight of this property. Overall it satisfied our needs and we would probably stay here again if we ever go back to the Big Island, but may look elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your nice review. I am so surprised you were not cool at night. I have been here myself since mid February and myself and other guests are using blankets...There are extra fans for anyone who wants one but with two ceiling fans and the cool hawaiian breezes most guests do not need anything more. We are so lucky here in Hawaii because of it being a constant year round temperature of about 78 degrees there is no need for heat and a/c. I dont have it in the main house on the property myself. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and with all return guests we are glad to offer you a nice discount for a future stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Hilo
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
19
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Woodshop Cafe, Hilo Coffee Sharks,Eds Bakery
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Kolekole Beach Park
Car: recommended

Ziplines are a 2 minute walk, World Famous Akka Falls 5 minutes, Charming Honomu Town with Bakery, Restraunts, and Shopping 2 minute walk, Umumua Waterfalls and Botanical Gardens 5 minutes, Onomea Bay Scenic Drive and Hawaii Botanical Gardens 5 minutes, Hakalau Beach Park and Kolekole Beach Park 5 minutes, Honolei Surfing Beach 10 minutes, Hilo with Wed and Sat Farmers Markets, Cultural Museums,Rainbow Waterfalls and Boiling Points, Zoo, Hilo Beaches including Richardson with Facilities, Restraunts and Shopping 10 minutes or 9 miles,Volcano National Park 45 minutes easy day trip, Wapio Valley for Tours and Horseback Riding to see Waterfalls and Black Sand Beach 45 minutes,approximately 1 hour plus to world famous Hapuna Beach Ranked Number One Beach by Dr Beach!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Honomu House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Special
Jun 20 2016 - Sep 21 2016
1 night minimum stay
$99
 
 
Fall Special
Sep 22 2016 - Dec 16 2016
1 night minimum stay
$99
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 1 2017
1 night minimum stay
$139
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$139
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $99 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Deposit refunded via method of payment within 3 days of checkout.


Non Refundable. With emergency or legitimate reason for cancelation a full credit will applied one time to be used in 6 months for entire amount of nights booked.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Honomu House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Large Spa style shower for 2 with 2 rainfall showerheads
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Large spa style shower for 2 with 2 rainfall showerheads
  • Two Brand new luxury baths Beautiful indonesian vanities with vessel sinks, huge 2 person shower with 2 rainfall spa showerheads built for relaxation and romance in mind, beautiful travertine tiles, private enclosed toilet, closet, and spa robes for use during your stay.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen Eurotop bed with sleeper sofa - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Eurotop Bed with beautiful ocean view and sleeper sofa
  • Large great room concept will allow you to use the room as one large great room with a queen bed and sleeper sofa or to create privacy by sliding the custom made bamboo doors across room, thus creating a room with a queen bed and full luxury bath and and another room with a sleeper sofa and full luxury bath, both with beautiful ocean views
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beautiful Ocean Views on 1 acre with Tropical Garden and Koi Pond. Walk to town within 2 minutes to shops, restraunts, bakery, ziplines, etc.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties