check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Elaine Alpert

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Elegant Berkeley Hills Retreat

39 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Berkeley Hills Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment -1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)

More than a few of our visitors have told us this is the nicest VRBO rental they've ever stayed in!

Nestled in one of Berkeley's most exclusive and quiet neighborhoods, this exquisite apartment is an ideal place to spend a few days, weeks or months. Lounge on the large private patio or in the spacious living room complete with beamed cathedral ceiling, wood floors,a slate hearth with gas fireplace.

The newly remodeled kitchen opens onto the living/dining area and has granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances including dishwasher, microwave oven and coffee maker. Beautiful unique custom built furniture adorns the living /dining area. The bedroom features a flat screen TV, cathedral ceiling, wood floors, comfortable exotic hardwood queen size bed with European mattress and a gorgeous garden view. Enter this charming slate roofed flat through a separate front door entrance.

RATED AS BERKELEY'S SAFEST NEIGHBORHOOD

Wi-fi, 40' cable HDTV, DVD player

Washer/dryer in unit

While we are within 1 block of public transportation, it is advisable to bring or rent a car when staying at this location. We are a 5 minute drive to UC Berkeley and 4 minutes to popular shops/restaurants.

Hike to nearby Tilden Park with redwoods, hiking trails, Lake Anza, and a public award winning golf course or take a leisurely stroll around the neighborhood with it's breathtaking views of San Francisco. Visit the nearby Berkeley Rose Garden or the spectacular U.C. Botanical garden. Take advantage of the cuisine at one of Berkeley's many remarkable restaurants.

Enjoy the proximity to San Francisco's many attractions: Pt. Reyes National Seashore and the Napa Valley wineries. Also, within 2.5 hours of Monterey/Carmel for an easy day trip or use as a base to visit Lake Tahoe (3 hours) or Yosemite National Park (4 hours)

Keywords: One bedroom flat, patio, gourmet kitchen, washer/dryer

PLEASE CHECK CALENDAR FOR AVAILABILITY AND WEBSITE FOR RATES

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Elaine Alpert (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Elaine Alpert

I am a retired public health professional whose favorite hobbies include gardening, traveling, studying Spanish and doing sculpture. My husband is a general contractor who enjoys playing golf in his limited spare time. We've raised 4 children and now spend our time with our loveable Springer Spaniel.

Elaine Alpert purchased this apartment in 2005

Why Elaine Alpert chose Berkeley

The consistent feedback we receive from our guests, is that our flat is the nicest Berkeley rental they have stayed at by far. They rave about the decor, the garden and the quiet bucolic location minutes from downtown Berkeley and the

University.

Reviews

4.9
based on 39 traveler reviews

Elegant Berkeley Hills Retreat
average rating of 4.948718 based on 39 reviews
5

overall excellant

  • 5 of 5

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this home. It as located high in the Berkeley Hills for which you need a car; which is overall expected in California. It's way up there with great views but it's just not walkable. That said, this is the best spot that I've rented in Berkeley including four or five previous locations in three years. With the one bedroom located well to the rear, it's devoid of intrusive noise, is laid out intelligently and very tastefully appointed. All appliances seem new. There are clean lines to the interior, ample room for two people and a lovely hardwood floor throughout. It's in a very safe and serene neighborhood. There is ample parking.

The bathroom is a delight with good water force and plenty of hot water. As with Massachusetts there is a drought in place that deserves respect, which deserves mentioning on behalf of the hosts. The one time that I had a bit of a problem with the DVD player the hostess, Elaine; came right over and helped figure it out.

I heartily look forward to returning.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
south pasadena, ca
4

A Very Nice Stay

  • 4 of 5

Our family of four had a very nice stay at this well appointed home atop the hills of Berkeley. Easy parking in front, a quiet street, and attention to detail in everything they do. Towels, blankets, pillows all quality and in abundance. My young daughter slept on a twin blow-up in the main bedroom, and my college-age son slept in the larger blow-up in the living room. Most of Berkeley and the University are about a ten minute drive down hilly Marin Avenue, and when the fog burns off you are treated to a number of surprise/dramatic views.

Quiet and classy with lovely gardens, a great kitchen and nice appointments.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Place - Our Second Visit!

  • 5 of 5

It was our second time at this rental, and we planned our trip around this property’s availability, since we loved it so much on our first stay. We were not disappointed in any way – the apartment was just as beautiful and peaceful as we remembered. The living room/dining room/kitchen areas were spacious and inviting, full of natural light and quality furnishings; the garden was even lovelier than two years ago; and the private sunshiny patio was still our favorite place to enjoy morning coffee or an afternoon glass of wine. The pretty bedroom had a very comfortable bed, and everything was spotlessly clean throughout the apartment. This is truly a special place.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very tasteful and comfortable.

  • 4 of 5

We have been coming to Berkeley for years, and always rented a house instead of staying in a hotel. We have been content with several places, but never said: "Let's come back here", until we stayed at Elaine's rental. It was exactly right for us. Not too much and not too little. It was very tasteful and had everything we could want. It is on a quiet street, where we started the day with a morning walk. Just lovely!

Ken and Annette Herman

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning place - a real gem

  • 5 of 5

This was our first VRBO, and it was spectacular. Every room is beautifully crafted with high quality materials. The kitchen has rich cherry cabinets, black granite counters, and a slate floor that complements the cherry colors. The living room is comfortable and roomy, with a couch, two leather chairs, a small, handmade table and chairs for eating, a bookcase, large cable TV, and a great fireplace for warming up a bit on cool nights. The handmade queen bed is absolutely gorgeous. The bathroom had a bath and shower, and was also tasteful. We didn't use the patio because it rained when we were there, but it would be a nice place to hang out and relax with some sunshine. The kitchen was extraordinarily well stocked with everything that you could want, the laundry "closet" was nice to have for washing clothes, and there were ample towels and linens. The bed was very comfortable, and the bedroom was lovely - it also had a long narrow table that could be used as a desk, a second TV, and lots of storage space. Elaine was very accommodating and flexible with our situation. She also has very clear instructions and a lot of well organized materials to assist in your stay. Tom is the carpenter, and a true craftsman with furniture. The approach to the retreat was charming, with slate walks between prolific gardens. As noted in the description, this is a good place for two adults (one queen bed), and up to two children (air mattresses). This place is aesthetically over-the-top, squeaky clean, with high quality furnishings throughout. And the Berkeley hills are beautiful as well, near great restaurants and activities as well as nature in Tilden Park. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Garden Cottage in Great Location

  • 5 of 5

This lovely garden cottage offered privacy, serenity, and the perfect location to take in attractions throughout the SF Bay Area. We enjoyed visits to San Francisco to attend the symphony, ballet and art museum, as well as a fabulous meal at Chez Panisse (just down the hill) and a day trip to Point Reyes National Seashore. The cozy living room fireplace took the chill off any drizzly days. Elaine's gardens are spectacular! The cottage was especially well-furnished and well-equipped, and I would highly recommend a stay here for any couple seeking comfortable and convenient accommodations in the Bay Area.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Berkeley Hills Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,125
$3,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100

No smoking
No pets
Additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Berkeley Hills Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • tiled shower with glass door
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , twin/queen air mattresses also available
  • Queen size Bed (1) Custom made Craftsman style bed with European Sleepworks mattress Queen size and twin air mattress also available
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
40' HD TV in living room; TV in bedroom

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties