Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Considering visiting Virginia Beach? 2b/1bth house

Bedrooms 2
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type house


About the property

We know how important to have an ocean relaxation and a sunny impulse to your health. After many years of traveling south of America we have settled in the area of Norfolk,VA because of many reasons : 1) sea shore is calm and so gentle that is hard to imagine you are on the ocean beach – no need to keep holding your kids` hands when you are in the water; 2)the climate here is more comfortable because of low humidity – no need to keep air conditioner on during the summer nights; 3) the long beach line gives you feeling that it is a private beach – you won`t be squeezed by others while you are swimming; 4) historical and cultural benefits in the area are endless >>>;5)our house is very cozy – 2 bed rooms , 1 bathroom, laundry with dryer, kitchen with all tools if you like to cook , tv, internet (high speed ,WiFi access), a little library with old and new magazines, and a bunch of toys for kids, a wooden gazebo ( 7x10f) to relax on backyard and make a barbecue for your family and your pets ( a pet house with separate rooms for cats and dogs); 6)the walk to the ocean takes 7-10 min on the beautiful alley of oak and pine trees , or you can always leave your car at secured public beach parking ( 300 m from the house); 7) Ocean Beach Blvd is a place where a lot of pubs restaurants café pizza houses located, the closest one (250m) is with alive music on weekends. Fishing pear - 2 km and big grocery store with organic section – 2 km; 8) great ambiance of friendly neighborhood; 9) a 30 min way to numerous attractions and fun destinations of Virginia Beach, largest attic stores in America, zoo, museums, arenas etc.

Member since: 2016
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2018


Bay View House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Books
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

42% Complete
35% Complete
14% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Considering visiting Virginia Beach? 2b/1bth house
average rating of 4.142857 based on 14 reviews

Terrible bed, tiny bathroom, no dishwasher, random constuction material in kitchen cabinets

  • 2 of 5

Not as advertised. Overall we made it work. We were there for almost 3 months for a military school. Review would be better if it was only for a weekend - here's why:

The lady next door handles everything for the owners. She's nice, but creepily watches EVERYTHING.

The "king size" bed is two bed put together with sheets on top - not a king size bed! They feel like box springs, not a mattress. We had to buy a really nice topper to even try to sleep. The beds are chained together so they stay together, mostly, but they also roll so we would wake up and the bed would be a few inches off the wall and the pillows would fall.

Unless they install one and state it in the ad, there's no dishwasher. Fine for a weekend, not for months at a time.

I am a 5'11" average-athletic man. I cannot walk straight into the bathroom, I have to turn to my side to get past the sink and wall. I have to open the shower doo to sit on the toilet.

Upstairs started to remodel but was gutted. Junk everywhere and unusual.

A/C situation is two window units, one for each room, and one that plugs in. The plugged in one cannot keep up in hotter months. Heat is a few space heaters that work fine for one room each, but the rest of the house can get cold, but overall not a big deal. Don't run more than 3 at a time. Even with 3 it sometimes threw the breaker.

Parked on the street because it was inconvenient to have to open the gate, pull onto the street, then get out and shut the gate.

Corner house with a surprising amount of traffic. A ton of people blow right through the stop signs (4-way) even when kids are around.

There's a relatively deep hole in the front yard about the size of a softball. Dangerous if children are playing. Not sure what it was used for but it isn't like someone just dug some dirt out.

Furniture is not as pictured in the ad. We were there with our three kids, which is probably why this happened, but there was a bed in the living room. The neighbor lady probably put it there trying to help, I guess, but we ended up putting it in the 2nd bedroom next to the other bed.

House was a little dirty and had a weird smell. My wife had to dust and clean a lot the first week. Smell went away after that and from having windows open a lot.

When just walking normal the floor is loud and shakes the whole house. Hated that

Quick walk to the beach (.5 mi).

Quick drive to grocery stores, a few restaurants, etc. A little over 20 to get downtown.

Friendly neighbors and a lot of kids

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry you did not have a good experience staying at my place and my property did not meet your expectations. I hoped to create a nice cozy home and can only say that if you read other reviews, you will see that this is not how I operate. I would be happy to help you if you had contacted me during your stay and had told me about your inconveniences. My apologies again for caused disappointments. Thank you. Marine D.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2

Simple and clean and it was much bigger on the inside than it looks from the outside

  • 5 of 5

I've never stayed in Virginia before me and my kids had a wonderful time the neighborhood is beautiful it really is an easy 10 minute walk to the beach but for those that don't feel like walking there is plenty of parking up by the beach it almost felt like you had your own private beach because there was almost nobody there the water was clear and shallow and there wasn't many waves I almost felt like we were on a lake I would definitely go back

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

it is confortable

  • 4 of 5

it is confortable

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

5 Stars!

  • 5 of 5

Great little spot on a perfect street. Everything was lovely. Check in was a breeze. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: ok!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Charming and Quaint

  • 5 of 5

We were in town for a graduation and had reservations at a hotel downtown but at the last second we decided to extend our trip and we needed a place that would accommodate our three small dogs. This place was perfect!!! It was clean and in a charming neighborhood. The neighbors were friendly and welcoming and the house was located close to everything we could need, including the beach. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Temporary Housing

  • 4 of 5

Relocated to area, stayed 41 days as temporary housing. Worked just fine for my needs.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Damage Deposit $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties