check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Carmen Ottaway

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Stone Gatehouse in Mt. Robson Park Near Jasper Nat. Park, Ab

43 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Fraser-Fort George H House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4, strictly enforced)

The Goat's Head Gatehouse is a quaint, stone chalet designed in the image of National Park Gatehouses and is surrounded by the wilderness of Mt. Robson Park. The unique two story structure offers a sun room with floor to ceiling windows and a massive natural stone wood burning fireplace.

French doors open to a flagstone patio from which to enjoy a morning coffee or, for an evening barbeque to grill that perfect fresh caught trout. The patio overlooks a lovely flower garden with hummingbirds and butterflies and in the background, the glacial peaks of Mt. Robson, the highest mountain in the Canadian Rockies.

The post and beam structure of the Gatehouse was made from pine-beetle killed trees that were cut on the property. Stones for the exterior and interior were gathered locally from quarries and cliffsides but one stone from each of the mountain national parks of western North America were also embedded within the walls.

The wood furnishings and woodwork in the gatehouse were made locally by artisans using reclaimed and recycled wood.

The kitchen contains all the amenities needed to make complete meals and make your stay comfortable. It will be equipped with many staples and pantry items so you need not purchase bulky products to carry around e.g. coffee, tea, condiments, spices, oils, vinegars, etc.

There are two baths, one with a free standing large tub in a cedar plank spa-like bathroom---a perfect way to relax and refresh after a day of sight-seeing or hiking. A walk-in shower with stone walls for that ‘au natural’ feeling is on the main level.

The two bedrooms in the loft each contain a queen, custom-made platform bed---both bedrooms overlook the sun room from a balcony. Each bedroom opens to the upstairs bathroom.

Take a gentle hike right from the front door into pristine meadows (a short trail has been mapped out for you) or walk around the twelve acre private property to find the best view of Mt. Robson and Swift Current Creek. A natural waterfall on Swift Current Creek is 300 meters from your door. Sometimes the view is so stunning it's difficult to know which direction to point your camera!

There are many walks and hikes within 5 km of the Gatehouse. Rearguard Falls is the furthest point of travel for Pacific Salmon and they can be seen in late summer by driving a few km and taking a short walk to the waterfall. Overlander Falls and Hargreaves Canyon are scenic short hikes that are also staging areas for raft tours and high level kayaking. The Trail head for the Swift Current Creek trail starts within walking distance of the Gatehouse and leads up the Revelation Valley (Swift Current Creek) to the headwall of the 91st highest waterfall in the world (currently inaccessible except for real adventurers). The world famous Berg Lake Trail and the start of the 110 km long north boundary trail are also within 5 km.

There are restaurants and shops in the nearby towns of Valemount and Jasper---a 55 minute drive---that offer additional amenities, recreational activities and, world renowned mountain vistas.

Keywords: mountain chalet, chalet in the rockies, Rocky mountain cabin, Mt. Robson vacation home rental, Jasper vacation home rental, Valemount vacation home rental, cabin at Mt. Robson, cabin at Jasper

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Carmen Ottaway (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Carmen Ottaway

We are anxious to offer our gatehouse to guests to enjoy the spectacular mountain vistas and diversity and abundance of wildlife in Mt. Robson Park. The Park sets an example of how wildlife works best i.e., left alone---allowing nature to take its course---little doubt that wildlife thrive in the Park. Ask to see our vast array of wildlife photos caught on our trail cameras: grizzly and black bears, cougars, lynx, wolves, coyotes, deer, elk, moose and the illusive wolverine along with a myriad of small mammals. Also of interest are the many birds and wildflowers that abound in this microclimate, one of the few inland rainforest areas in North America.

Carmen Ottaway purchased this house in 1978

Why Carmen Ottaway chose British Columbia

The owners are long time residents of the area. The property borders Swift Current Creek and offers a spectacular view of Mt. Robson---people say our view is unique in Canada.

What makes this house unique

Perhaps the most exciting part of living here is the wildlife---almost daily a black bear or a deer munching on new shrub growth can be seen in front of the sun room windows. The view is spectacular. The sound of Swift Current Creek is relaxing. The spring water (Norlander Springs) is the freshest and cleanest anywhere---makes for a great cup of coffee and, the air is always filled with the freshness of vegetation.

Reviews

4.9
based on 43 traveler reviews

Stone Gatehouse in Mt. Robson Park Near Jasper Nat. Park, Ab
average rating of 4.883721 based on 43 reviews
Sylvania, OH
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful place, nice setting - very clean and comfortable. I'd recommend it highly. We've used vrbo/home away many times around the world and this is a top 3 for sure!

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Owner created a very negative environment one week before our stay

  • 1 of 5

She was quick to take our money, but then sent an email one week prior to our stay with many unlawful and additional rules inferring that we were going to have parties in this place. We are elderly, our son is disabled and our primary visitor was my 85 year old aunt. It left a poor taste with us, so much so, that we didn't enjoy the property. I can't recommend this property. It's unfortunate that other people may not have respected this place but that should be dealt with individually. Our daughter got married at Mount Robson in huge rental tents and we spent the majority of time there instead.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There is nary a grain of truth in this guest!s statements. We can only surmise that our pre-visit comments about not entertaining wedding guests at the Gatehouse spoiled her plans.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful property; unexpected luxury.

  • 5 of 5

Having hiked the Berg Lake trail numerous times over 30 years, my wife and I are very familiar with local accommodations. With the passing of Murray and Ishbel and the closing of the Mt. Robson ranch, in my view, there really are no accommodations to match the setting prior to the Stone Gatehouse -- moreover, there really is nothing comparable in Jasper, including the Chateau.

As others have noted, the kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms are particularly nice -- of note is the living room -- two story sun room with impressive fireplace and a view of part of Mt. Robson.

The one drawback is the proximity to the highway. It was cool enough on our 5 day stay to be able to keep the windows closed on the road side. While the traffic is not constant, it can be unsettling to be in the woods and hear occasional road noise. For some, this may not be acceptable.

Carmen and Glen are very accommodating. If you prefer, complete privacy, it is your choice.

This is a great place.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfy retreat!

  • 5 of 5

Stone Gatehouse is wonderful, and I highly recommend it. We enjoyed our stay there very much. Loved being able to walk to the nearby falls. The house and grounds are beautiful, and we had a restful stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful mountain retreat

  • 5 of 5

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Goat House Guest Cottage in Mt. Robson Provincial Park. My husband and I and our two teenage children stayed for two nights in mid-July. The cottage had every convenience and then some. We have rented homes many times all over the world, and this was the best equipped home among them all. Our hosts even left us a little welcome gift! The house is a small, architectural gem, beautifully decorated. It's located right off of the highway, so that it is convenient to access, but tucked away so that you don't even notice the road, just the surrounding woods and the (partial) view of the mountains. The short hike to the river and waterfall on the property is very nice as well. It's only about a five-minute drive from the visitor center, behind which you can find the trailhead to one of our favorite day hikes in the region....the Berg Lake Trail taken only up to Kinney Lake. There were many other fantastic hikes nearby as well. Our hosts were nearby and available, but still left us to our space and privacy. The only cons aren't really cons, just surprises for us. Both rooms are located in the large loft, which means your privacy is limited. In both bedrooms, one of the room walls is open to the downstairs living space. Also, there are no shades on any of the windows. I wouldn't want to put a covering on any of those gorgeous floor-to-ceiling windows that let in the amazing surroundings, but if sunlight disturbs your sleep, you might want to take that into account. (It's light almost all the time in the summer.) Finally, the tub in the upstairs bathroom is not very comfortable for showering. You could easily end up spraying the whole bathroom if you aren't careful. We all used the downstairs bathroom, which was fine. It also has a somewhat unorthodox but architecturally pleasing arrangement, with the shower head mounted in the corner of the stone walls of the bathroom, but no shower curtain to protect the rest of the room from some splashing. It was different, but we liked it fine. Again, not really a con, just something to consider. We highly recommend this rental!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cottage in the woods

  • 5 of 5

This was such a lovely cottage. Its very close to the Mt. Robson visitor centre and a perfect location if you are hiking to Berg Lake or Kinney Lake. We rode our bikes up to Kinney Lake. It was wonderful!!!

We would definitely stay here again! The cottage was very clean and the kitchen is very well stocked. This cottage is truly a special place where we created wonderful family time. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

heli-skiiing, heli-hiking, helicopter tours, dog sled tours, salmon spawning rivers, gold panning

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fraser-Fort George H House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$273
$1,723
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Fraser-Fort George H House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (2) one queen size bed in each bedroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
Notes:
Both Mt. Robson Park and Jasper National Park are UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Along with breathtaking mountain vistas both Parks have world renowned features e.g, Berg Lake Trail and Maligne Lake, Maligne Canyon as well as an exceptional diversity of flora and fauna. The drive between the Gatehouse and Jasper is spectacular and parellels several beautiful mountain lakes and follows the headwaters of the Fraser River crossing the Continental Divide at the entrance to Jasper National Park.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties