Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Reykjavik Apartment - Fantastic Location in Heart of Downtown

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

Self-catering downtown central Reykjavik apartment

Large 3 bedroom Reykjavik apartment in the heart of the city for family holidays or romantic get aways. Walking distance to most everything in Reykjavik. The apartment is 1.5 blocks to main shopping, cafe, restaurant, gallery street and 2.5 blocks from shoreline, but on a quiet street just steps to the action. Plenty of space for a family to spread out and eat in. Located so that you can walk out for a pizza or a romantic dinner near by. The apartment has 3 bedrooms that can sleep 6 people in beds and we can provide a floor mattress for additional travellers. There are 2 couches that children can easily sleep on too. We offer a home like environment which appeals to travellers who do not like cold hotel environments. This is our family home when we are in Reykjavik and offer it to our guests when we are away for most of the year. A playground around the corner for the kids. The kitchen is equipped for cooking full meals. There is a full dining and kitchen table for meals. We have a parking spot in front of the apartment. And just a few minutes out of the city you have all the great nature that Iceland has to offer.


Owner
Brian Schriefer
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, Icelandic
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2017

About Brian Schriefer

We use the apartment part of the year and rent it out on occasion when family members are not using it.

Brian Schriefer purchased this apartment in 2006

Why Brian Schriefer chose Reykjavik

We bought this property because it is centrally located in Reykjavik and close to family.

What makes this apartment unique

We loved the location of this apartment, in the heart of Reykjavik. When you walk out the door you are where you want to be.

Amenities

Miðborg Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 100 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • The bedroom can sleep 6, plus 2 children can sleep on a floor mattress.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Television ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
There is a city playground around the corner for the kids.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(68 traveler reviews)

Reykjavik Apartment - Fantastic Location in Heart of Downtown
average rating of 4.5588236 based on 68 reviews
5

Perfect all around

  • 5 of 5

Brian was an outstanding host, superbly responsive and accommodating. The apartment was clean and had everything you might need at home. Lots of room and yes the location is second to none, a block from the action, but quiet with private parking.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great little flat in a fantastic location!

  • 5 of 5

The location could not have been better. Right in the center of things close to shops and restaurants. The apartment itself was exactly described, and working with Brian on logistics could not have been more simple. We were very happy with our stay there and will definitely be coming back!

Our only issue was the bathroom door that did not close fully and did not have a door knob, but it looked like that was an issue that was in the process of being fixed.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your nice review. Indeed the bathroom door was in need of repair. The prior guest had a problem with the door and we needed a locksmith out to repair the issue. We took care of the repair just after you departed. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful apartment in a great location

  • 5 of 5

It was our first time to Iceland and we couldn't have been happier with our trip. This apartment is in a beautiful, quiet neighborhood, but within walking distance of all Reykjavik has to offer. We could walk to many restaurants and bars. The waterfront is just down the street. Brian was so helpful! He provided us with a very nice list of restaurants that he recommended. The apartment was perfect for our group of six. Beds were comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. Thanks so much, Brian!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic Location

  • 5 of 5

Thank You Brian! This apartment is in a great location, close to many shops and restaurants. As well, even booking tour pickups was easy - we just went to hotel a block away. The key access and information package was easy and super helpful. I think this location is perfect for short or long stays!

Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Great location in the heart of downtown!

  • 3 of 5

The apartment was perfect for our family of 4. It was in the perfect location for exploring Reykjavik by foot. Everything was within walking distance. There are restaurants, pubs, and shopping all nearby. The Old Harbor is just a short walk.

The owner, sent us very detailed directions in terms of how to find the apartment, where the key would be located and also provided lots of local tips in terms of groceries and best restaurants.

The apartment itself was comfortable and clean. It had all amenities we needed to cook meals in. We ate breakfast in and packed lunches daily to save some money.

Only negative we had was the bedding. The pillows were horrible. They were old and flat. The comforters were very small and we ended up having to double them up. As a result, we had to use some older blankets from the closet. Thankfully, there were lots of extras.

Overall, we would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi we are thrilled you enjoy your stay In Iceland and found our apartment comfortable and clean. Our family lives abroad and return to Iceland several times a year and we use the apartment. Our family moved into the apartment in July. Upon arrival we noted the condition of the pillows, which we did replace immediately. As for the comforters, we use the standard comforter size that you will find in 100% of Icelandic homes. Many of our comforters we provide are stuffed with down rather than foam. This makes them lighter in weight and a more stream line appearance, but provides greater warmth. We are happy you were able to double up to meet your comfort needs. I hope you stay with us again if you return to Iceland one day.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Super Location! Didn't want to come home!

  • 4 of 5

This 2nd floor apartment was perfect for our recent visit, although somewhat older we found it charming and spacious. It is within walking distance to museums, restaurants, shops, harbor, Grayline bus stop etc. It was also surprisingly very quiet. We found an amazing bakery in a brightly painted building on Frakkastigur St.; don't miss their pastries, we had the best fish ever at Hornid & Iceland Fish & Chips & loved watching the Euro Cup on the big screens in the City Center. We felt incredibly safe even in the very large, well behaved crowds, & felt comfortable allowing our 2 teens to explore the street art together without us. Thanks to Anna for allowing us drop off our luggage before she was finished cleaning the apt- greatly appreciated.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Rates & Availability

Miðborg Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Normal
Jan 5 2017 - May 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season
May 15 2017 - Sep 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
$250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Normal
Sep 16 2017 - Dec 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday
Dec 16 2017 - Jan 7 2018
4 night minimum stay
$250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Booking $75

The rates can change depending on the number of guests staying at the apartment. Please inquire for current rates. Rates listed are for 2 people. An additional nightly amount is charged for additonal guests. We can offer a better per night rate for longer stays. We do not rent the apartment for less than $700, therefore one or two night stays are not very economical. Please inquire.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Kilometres
Keflavik International Airport
Car: not necessary

The apartment is in the heart of Reykjavik with easy access to all the sites, shopping, restaurants, night life, museums and the ocean front. Tour buses leave from around the corner to all the major out of town sites, Golden Circle, Blue Lagoon, Northern Lights, Glacier Lagoon, Hot Springs and Waterfalls. If you have a car these are all easy day trips.

Other Activities: Museums, cafes, concerts, theatre, galleries and shops.

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties