Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

WINTER SPECIAL - DISCOUNT BLUE MOUNTAIN SKI LIFT TICKETS

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

This welcoming small 2 story house is circa 1853 and is where the coal miners lived. We have created a very comfortable, private, cozy and safe environment for our guests. All you need to bring is your enthusiasm for a great vacation. Relax on the deck with a drink and your loved ones and look out over town through the beautiful scenery.

A Continental Breakfast is included in your stay and the house is well stocked with snacks, cereal and lots more.

The Van Pelt House is right in the heart of town but secluded and private. Steps away from shops, biking, hiking, rafting, restaurants and entertainment. This is the perfect place for a romantic weekend or a family vacation.

Walk into the house and you are in the living room with a Flat-screen Smart TV, Electric Fireplace, Air-conditioner and a brand new leather Queen Sleeper Sofa with a plush mattress. Continue on and you have a newly remodeled Fully Functional Kitchen with the attached Deck out back.. If you choose to go out to eat, restaurants are all walking distance from the house. No need to drive anywhere. Upstairs is the Master Bedroom with very comfortable Queen Mattress ,Ceiling fan and Air-conditioning, a Sitting Room with a new Futon and a Full Bath with Claw Foot Tub. We have also added WiFi.

The Van Pelt House is available for the weekend, week, month or for extended stays.

PLEASE NOTE: THIS PROPERTY SLEEPS A MAXIMUM OF 5 PEOPLE.

Linens and towels are supplied.

Bike and ski storage is available.

Keywords: Private & secluded Row House, hiking, mountain biking, whitewater rafting, kayaking, skiing, paint ball, fishing, hunting, Mauch Chunk Lake Park, Big Boulder, Lake Harmony, Blue Mountain Ski Area, Fall Foliage, Olde Time Christmas, Mauch Chunk Opera House, Penns Peak, Festivals, Glen Onoko Falls, Asa Packer Mansion, Harry Packer Mansion, Old Jail, Mauch Chunk Museum.

More Details

Owner
Helen Van Pelt
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 10, 2017

About Helen Van Pelt

We are originally from NJ but my husband's grandparents lived in Coaldale, PA which is about 20 minutes from Jim Thorpe. When we were going to retire we decided to look around this area and found this magnificent town of Jim Thorpe. We love the history, the architecture and the fact that there is so much to do in this small town. When we bought our house we decided to invest in other properties and that is how we acquired our rental property. We also liked the fact that the house is just above our home so we are not absentee landlords.

Helen Van Pelt purchased this house in 2005

Why Helen Van Pelt chose Jim Thorpe

You are staying right in the heart of downtown but in a quiet and secluded area. Steps away from Broadway where all the restaurants, shops and local attractions are located.

What makes this house unique

Staying at our house enables you to not have to drive anywhere. You can walk to everything in town including rafting, biking, hiking, restaurants and shops. Want to see a great show at the Mauch Chunk Opera House? Because you are our guests, you will receive $5 off each ticket. We can reserve them for you, just let us know!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Spent a week here and it was just great. Convenient to all in town.

The house was clean and comfortable. Hosts went out of their way to make us comfortable.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 3

Map

Car: not necessary

Mauch Chunk Opera House, Asa Packer Mansion, Harry Packer Mansion, #9 Mine Company, Butterfly Sanctuary, Jim Thorpe Memorial, Old Jail, Glen Onoko Falls, Whitewater Rafting and much more.

Amenities

Jim Thorpe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
  • Our bathroom has a claw foot tub with a shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa with plush mattress and Futon (1)
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Complimentary Continental Breakfast including muffins or scones, fruit, and butter for your first nights stay. Homemade by your Host.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
22% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
WINTER SPECIAL - DISCOUNT BLUE MOUNTAIN SKI LIFT TICKETS
average rating of 4.709677 based on 34 reviews
Harrison City, PA
5

Neat house in the heart of Jim Thorpe!

  • 5 of 5

This place was pretty cool! I think it says in the description it was built in the 1850's...so it's old...but that is what I thought made it so neat! The house is located on the hillside right above town and the area in which it is located makes one feel as though they have stepped back in time. The whole atmosphere is just really cool. Both the house and the town.

The house was clean and well kept. It has all the modern amenities so you can feel like you stepped back in time without actually having to live like it's 1850. The house is a short walking distance from the main road in Jim Thorpe which is lined with bars, restaurants, shops, etc. You almost wouldn't have to use your vehicle at all after you arrive unless you wanted to venture outside of town.

The owners were extremely accommodating and easy to communicate with. When we arrived at the house, there were 4 fresh pastries waiting for us on the kitchen table! I've rented a bunch of different properties from VRBO and that was a first for me...it was much appreciated.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this place and would definitely stay there again. This place would be great for a couples weekend...even more so if the couple were history buffs. The town is over 1.5 centuries old, well preserved, and has a lot of history. The house fits right in with that theme. The whole trip was like stepping back in time and it was really neat!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Tom, Your review is one of the best I've ever received and is so appreciated! I'm thrilled you had such a great experience in the house and in our lovely town, Your experience is exactly what we've strived for in our house. I'm so glad you "got it"! So happy you enjoyed the muffins! Thank you for leaving the house so neat and I hope to see you folks again and again! It was a pleasure having you as guests. Best regards, Helen
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Morehead City, NC
5

Jim Thorpe Gem !!!

  • 5 of 5

Loved our stay at the Van Pelt House !!! Home is very cozy ! Helen and Steve are super ! Helen even had "treats" waiting for us when we arrived - delicious muffins and items stocked in the fridge! We will definitely be back !

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. I’m really happy that you had a great experience at the house. Our neighbors loved you both. Hope to see you again! Happy holidays!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute little house in a cute little town!

  • 4 of 5

The house was perfect for our stay in Jim Thorpe. We were there for a wedding so we didn’t get to enjoy the house much but all our needs were met there. The deck and outdoor area was lovely, surrounded by the forest. We were minutes walk away from everything we needed to access in downtown Jim Thorpe but also had quiet serenity at the house being up on the hill, through the trees! Upon arrival we were met with fresh baked pumpkin spice (guessing?), some fruit and snacks. The antique claw tub and other features were great for vintage lovers. Since we had lots of family in the area for a wedding, it was nice to have some space to relax with relatives beyond small hotel rooms at the Inn or in the small streets of Jim Thorpe! Having a parking spot with the house was definitely a plus!! We really had a great time and would stay there again!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Rhianna, First of all, I was so happy to meet you! I am so glad you had such a great experience in the house! It sure sounds like you were at a great wedding. I’m glad your family was able to relax and enjoy the house also. Keeping in the season, yes, it was pumpkin bread! Thank you so much for the great review and please visit us again. Happy upcoming holidays! Helen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Tree Top Get-Away

  • 5 of 5

We loved our quaint tree top get-away. It was just the right size for celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary. Absolutely loved the firepit setup & the deck off of the kitchen. The house was lovely & the queen size bed was comfy.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Joseph, It was a pleasure having you and your wife as our guests! I'm so glad you enjoyed our house. The fire pit is new and is a great addition for our guests, happy you used it and hopefully relaxed in that beautiful space! Thank you for respecting the house and leaving it so neat. We hope to see you again! Your neighbor, Kim, was thrilled to receive your note! Take good care! Best regards, Helen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house was charming. It is located in a quiet part of town. but near the center of town.

  • 5 of 5

The owners Helen and Steve are terrific hosts. There were fresh blueberry muffins (absolutely delicious) and other snacks and juice upon our arrival. We have never been anywhere else with that special touch. There were even fresh flowers on the kitchen table, of course there are flowers all around the front of the house. Everything in the house was comfortable and relaxing. I, in my great wisdom, couldn't figure out how to turn on the living room air conditioner. We called Helen and in a mere matter of minutes Steve was there and showed me how to use it. We truly enjoyed ourselves and look forward to going back again.

We unfortunately had to cut the trip short a day due to a scheduling problem. We had a wonderful and very relaxing time and look forward to going back in the future. Thank You so very much Helen and Steve for allowing us to enjoy your house.

Sandy and Howard Wood

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sandy & Howard, It was a pleasure being your host! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed our house so much and did the one thing you came for, relaxed! Thank you for this wonderful review. I too am sorry you had to cut your trip short. Thank you for leaving the house so neat. We hope to see you again. Enjoy the rest of the summer! Helen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Great location. Lovely accommodations. Solicitous owners.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nancy, I'm so happy you enjoyed The Van Pelt House. Yes, we care very much for our guests. I want them to be comfortable, feel safe and have a memorable experience. I'm glad you did. Hope to see you again! Thanks so much for your review! Best regards, Helen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $95
Cleaning $50
Tax Rate 9.0%

The first floor of our house has been renovated. Newly painted, new leather sofa bed with plush mattress. It is a very warm and cozy space. If you have children under 12 please do not include them because VRBO will charge $25/child per night. When you write to me tell me you have children. Thanks
My policies are different than what VRBO is stating:

A 50 percent deposit is required for reservations of two nights or more. Full payment is due in advance for a one-night stay. Refunds in full are given 10 business days in advance of reservation. After that time, if we can re-book your room, we shall refund your payment for that portion which is covered by the new reservation minus a 10 percent service charge on the total bill.

Balance is due at check-in. You can pay by cash, Traveler’s Check, Visa, MasterCard . We’ll accept personal checks one month in advance of your stay.

A 6% Pennsylvania Sales Tax and 3% Carbon County, PA Hotel Room Tax are additional.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties