check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Charming Log Cabin (4 BR/ 2 BA) w/ HOT TUB; sleeps 13, Less than 1 mile to base

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
14
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
1 - 6 nights

Description

Ludlow Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cozy Log Cabin, 4 BR/ 2 BA (Sleeps 13) great in Summer, Fall & Winter!!

Main house is 1800 square foot open layout with private hot tub for this unit only and beautiful slate fire place: 4BR/ 2 BA. New living room log queen futon in living room - adds to the cozy and warmth of house! We sleep 13 comfortably!!! (Including queen futon in living room that can sleep 2)

House is located on lovely, one acre private wooded lot on Okemo Mountain. Will be right near new South Face Village lift on Trailside (1/4 mile); and Less than 1 mile to base via backroads on Upper Cross road - so avoid access road traffic! So convenient!

Main part of house is 4BR/ 2BA cabin 1800 square feet with many amenities. Spacious and comfortably decorated on three levels; very updated. Large living room and kitchen area, deck with Hot Tub and Weber Gas grill, 2 outdoor fire pit areas (front & back), charming log interior with large slate fireplace and bar area. In 2013, new bathrooms, twin beds; In 2011 - New Flat screen TV's, furniture. In the Summer, 2009 - updated the roof. In Spring 2007, we replaced bedroom mattresses and installed a dishwasher in kitchen.

Bedroom Configuration is as follows:

Bedroom #1: King+ day twin bed

Bedroom #2: Queen

Bedroom #3: Double (plus twin mattress bed / single in room)

Bedroom #4: One bunkset plus one twin and one trundle (FOUR singles total)

Living Room: New Queen Log Futon - sleeps 2

SLEEPS - 13 comfortably.

If extended unit is wanted (normally a seasonal rental)... 3 BR/ 1 BA

Bedroom #1 in downstairs apartment - Queen bed

Bedroom #2 is another Queen Bedroom

Bedroom #3 is 3 twins (1 twin plus ; another twin bed with full twin trundle bed)

Living Room: Another new Queen futon - sleeps 2

(Sleeps 9 comfortably downstairs!)

No guest ever dissatisfied. Some guest comments we have received over the last year include: 'When you walk in, this home gives you a big hug!!' 'What a wonderful and inviting home; we will be back next year.' 'The amenities were amazing; we didn't want for anything during our stay!'

Keywords: Log Cabin Home

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Leslee Ducey
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 30, 2016
Call Owner

About Leslee Ducey

Family of 5 from NJ, that own the house and love it all year round!

Leslee Ducey purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Leslee Ducey chose Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area

Beautiful year round location in Ludlow VT - less than 1 mile from Okemo mountain; Great spring, summer and fall activities - Okemo Valley Golf course less than 2 miles away, Echo and Rescue lakes - 3 miles away. All year round fun and relaxation in our cozy log cabin home! Perfect location in winter for skiing, snowboarding, snowmobiling, sledding, and all sorts of cold weather outdoor fun! (Or sit by our beautiful slate fireplace and read a book!!).

What makes this cabin unique

Great family getaway. In the winter, the entire family loves to ski, sled and ice skate. We have taught our 3 kids how to ski and board on Okemo mtn, it has one of the best learning programs around. Truly an incredible family mountain. On cold winter nights, we love to cozy up to the fireplace after a full day of being outdoors. Fall Foliage is also a special time, we love the apple picking and cool air! We instantly relax in the spring, summer and fall with bonfires outside in our front yard, hiking, lakes, and golf. Come and enjoy!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Charming Log Cabin (4 BR/ 2 BA) w/ HOT TUB; sleeps 13, Less than 1 mile to base
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews
Bridgewater, NJ
5

Relaxing Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Great home for a getaway! Whoever commented "When you walk in, this home gives you a big hug!!" was spot on!

We all had a great time as we found the home inviting, clean, and spacious with a very cozy feel. With a well stocked kitchen, was a pleasure to prepare our favorite meal of the day - breakfast! All the required kitchen equipment was right at our fingertips. All we needed was the food we brought to prepare with a pleasant surprise at the house of salt & pepper which we hadn't thought to bring. Fireplace and dinner on a Friday night and Saturday/Sunday morning coffee and a hot tub - life is good!

While not peak season, we still found plenty to do in the area. Looking forward to contacting the owner, very pleasant and considerate, again for our next visit!

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Adorable cabin!

  • 5 of 5

I rented this cabin to celebrate my birthday during the weekend and myfriends and I fell in love with this cabin! We enjoyed walking down the hill and see the beautiful colors of the leaves. Also we had fun taking pictures and playing basketball in the field that is in down the hill... very close from the cabin! The hot tub was fantastic! It was big enough and we didn't even feel cold after getting out from there! The cabin had everything we needed in order to cook, even we could find super markets very close from the area. Definitely my friends and I are coming back pretty soon! :)

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Really Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

Booked on line due to the positive reviews. We were all really looking forward to a nice Autumn getaway with my family. On arrival, we found that it was to be perfectly honest, a really tired looking rental. The lightest coloured sofa in the living area was in need of a good clean and the purple futon had a smell about it. The rugs, pillows and bedsheets are all also in need of replacement. All three couples complained about the comfort of the double beds, with one couple forced to sleep in single beds. The fireplace was choked solid with ash under the grate, which meant we were forced to empty it despite email instructions not to. The front door dead bolt didn't line up with its catch, making locking up feeling a bit insecure. The fridge and cupboards in the kitchen were full of other peoples food, leaving little or no room to store the food that we had brought with us. There was no kettle to make tea with, which is really a must for us Brits. The owners also really need to get rid of redundant clutter lying around, like a shower screen, mirror and other bits and pieces. There were only about four good mugs for a party of six, the rest were either chipped or cracked.

The rental is also a wee bit out of Ludlow, so transport is required for everything. Ludlow itself was a delightful little town but a bit dead during the fall. I would however recommend a drive up to Okemo Mountain Summit, where the views are really special at this time of year.

We were not looking for the Ritz but to be honest we left with a slightly sour taste over our stay. We actually made a joint decision to leave a day early as everyone was in need of a good nights sleep. The home owners are very nice to deal with and they appear to be very nice people--- but the property really needs a bit of money spent on it or this won't be the last poor review. We made the most of our stay none the less, we really enjoyed the hot tub and the surrounding area, which was beautiful but a bit too quiet for our taste and we did get to see Vermont fall colours in all its splendour.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to write your review... I'm so sorry you felt you had a disappointing stay at our log cabin. We pride ourselves on our responsiveness and ensuring our guests have a relaxing stay as seen thru our previous reviews. We wish you called, emailed or texted during your 7-day stay. (Thank you also for the kind words that you felt we were nice!) As you know, we did not know of your concerns until well after your vacation. However after reading your comments - we took action. We immediately changed our cleaning service to rectify and ensure the fireplace ashes are removed between each tenant. I'm sorry you couldn't find the tea pot and this was a source of disappointment. (we wish you contacted us). We did have a tea pot under the kitchen island, and on the kitchen counter itself we had an automatic black tea/ hot water maker that just had to be plugged in. So sorry you didn't see it or realize they were both there. We also did have plenty of mugs for your use (13) most were in the cabinets, and after a recent inventory found only one had a slight chip. (We ask our cleaning service to catch this, and they missed it. Again we have since replaced them). We take all feedback in a constructive and positive way, so appreciate the notification. We do put money back into the property between each season. Finally we allow our tenants to leave 'staple' non perishable food such as : flour, sugar , ketchup etc - to save the next tenant from buying those things for a weekend or week-long stay. It's a pay it forward "Vermont" neighborly mentality. Please note: All perishables are cleaned out after each tenant and the refrigerator emptied. But in our cabinets, our repeat tenants like coming in to see (for example) if they need salt/ pepper or 'baking power or baking soda' for that apple cake before running to the store to buy a new one. Again, I'm so sorry you felt our house was too far away from town. We advertise that we are on a wooded private 1 acre lot. But we are conveniently located because only 1 mile to downtown Ludlow, and less than 1 mile to the Okemo base lodge. We clearly advertise our location for google maps: 63 Edelweiss Rd. Please remember we also offered a free return stay and/ or partial 50% refund once we saw this but you had declined. We want our guests to be satisfied! Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Home away from home

  • 4 of 5

What a comfortable peaceful place to spend some winter time! After an "interesting" ride up the road, passing a beautiful lake on the left and Okemo trails on the right, we pulled up to the log cabin which was secluded enough without being in the middle of nowhere. The house is beyond comfortable with plenty of sleeping and seating room. The kitchen is huge with more than enough supplies. The hot tub was a real treat! The living room has three walls of windows with a wood burning stove. I slept in that room one night and woke up to a magnificent sunrise. Leslee was easily reachable and caretaker Jim was a gem! The back road to Okemo was useful. All of my guests were quite impressed with the comfort of this house and it's location.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Family Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5

This home is absolutely amazing! We love it!! This was our 2nd time vacationing here in this adorable log cabin. It is very spacious, clean and so comfy!! We loved being able to come home after a long day of skiing to sit by the fireplace to relax and cook dinner in the well equipped kitchen. The home is set back so privacy is assured and the neighborhood is all so peaceful! It's very close to Okemo Mountain, so getting there was a breeze.

Leslee, the owner is really a pleasure to work with! Very accommodating and responsive. I would highly recommend this as a rental. Thank you Leslee for opening your home! We had a wonderful time!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Charming and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Although we only stayed one night we were able to enjoy a a great dinner, a hot tub plunge, warming up by the fireplace, a fresh dusting of snow and a great day on the slopes. Plenty of room and sleeping accommodations with a well equipped kitchen. Lived up to it's description. It was clean and fully functional. I'd recommend it to others and hope to return myself. Owner was very responsive and flexible.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Rutland
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Loft or Killarny's
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Okemo Valley Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
40 Miles
I-91 or I-87
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
The Loft
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Okemo Mtn
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Plymouth State Park at Echo Lake
Car: necessary

Minutes From Excellent Summer Activities Including Waterfall, Swimming Reservoir, 3 Great Lakes, Bromley Thrill Zone, Okemo Adventure Park, Championship Golf Course & State-of-the Art Golf Learning Facilities (Okemo Valley, Just 1, 5 Miles Away), Antiques, Shopping & More, Foliage Season Is Also A Spectacular Time To Stay At Our Place, Just Minutes to Okemo Base Lodge, & Within 30-40 Minutes of Killington, Stratton & Bromley, Perfect For Snowmobilers with Easy Access to Vast & on 1 Wooded Acre

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ludlow Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Early Winter 2016
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 15 2016
1 night minimum stay
$200
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,200
 
 
Dec 2016
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 25 2016
1 night minimum stay
$225
From
$475
Fri,Sat
$1,400
 
 
Winter break 2016
Dec 26 2016 - Jan 1 2017
6 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
January, 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Jan 12 2017
1 night minimum stay
$225
From
$475
Fri,Sat
$1,200
 
 
MLK 2017
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
Feb Holiday 2017
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 23 2017
3 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
February - March 2017
Feb 24 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$475
Fri,Sat
$1,450
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$200
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$980
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Laundry fee upon depart $30
Cleaning fee upon depart $100
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 9.0%

Please inquire within to see if any specials are going on at this time, often we run discounts if rentals booked early. Also, please inquire to see if you want the extended unit to add another family to your party. The two units are extremely private and have separate entrances not connected. Reservations are not final until deposit is received. We rent on a first come, first serve basis.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ludlow Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 child bed , King + day bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Full bed plus twin mattress/ box spring - so 3 if needed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , 1 Bunk Bed; plus 1 single Twin bed; plus 1 twin trundle
  • King size bed (1) in Master Bedroom with a twin day bed; King bed has beautiful log furniture, Queen size Beds (1) in second bedroom, Double Beds (1) plus twin mattress in Third bedroom, Twin Bunk and 2 Single Beds (total of 4) In our fourth bedroom; Sleep Sofa or Queen Futon in living room (that can sleep 2 more) ; The master bedroom and kids rooms - also have a TV, DVD and VCR in that bedroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Hot Springs Hot Tub on Deck, High Speed 'Wireless' Internet throughout house (Just requires your laptop), New 48' flat screen TV with, VCR/DVD in Living Room, New 20 inch Phillips Flat Screen TV in Kid's Bunk Room with DVD/VCR & Cable, 21 inch Toshiba TV with DVD/VCR & Cable in Master Bedroom, Washer & Dryer and Stereo with 5-Changer CD Player Behind Bar, Sleds, Games, Puzzles, Books & Video Library with Over 35 Titles including Pearl Harbor, Vertical Limit, Schindler's List, the Patriot, Rules of Engagement, Titanic, 101 Dalmations, Barney, Saving Private Ryan, National Lampoon's Christmas (Vegas, Top Gun, Toy Story & Many More, Fully-Equipped Kitchen Includes Dining Area, Blender, Toaster Oven, Crock Pot, Pizza Stone, Waffle Iron, Pancake Griddle & Coffee Maker

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties