Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Log Cabin (4 BR/ 2 BA) w/ HOT TUB; sleeps 13, Less than 1 mile to base

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights


About the property

Cozy Log Cabin, 4 BR/ 2 BA (Sleeps 13) great in Summer, Fall & Winter!!

Main house is 1800 square foot open layout with private hot tub for this unit only and beautiful slate fire place: 4BR/ 2 BA. New living room log queen futon in living room - adds to the cozy and warmth of house! We sleep 13 comfortably!!! (Including queen futon in living room that can sleep 2)

House is located on lovely, one acre private wooded lot on Okemo Mountain. Will be right near new South Face Village lift on Trailside (1/4 mile); and Less than 1 mile to base via backroads on Upper Cross road - so avoid access road traffic! So convenient!

Main part of house is 4BR/ 2BA cabin 1800 square feet with many amenities. Spacious and comfortably decorated on three levels; very updated. Large living room and kitchen area, deck with Hot Tub and Weber Gas grill, 2 outdoor fire pit areas (front & back), charming log interior with large slate fireplace and bar area. In 2013, new bathrooms, twin beds; In 2011 - New Flat screen TV's, furniture. In the Summer, 2009 - updated the roof. In Spring 2007, we replaced bedroom mattresses and installed a dishwasher in kitchen.

Bedroom Configuration is as follows:

Bedroom #1: King+ day twin bed

Bedroom #2: Queen

Bedroom #3: Double (plus twin mattress bed / single in room)

Bedroom #4: One bunkset plus one twin and one trundle (FOUR singles total)

Living Room: New Queen Log Futon - sleeps 2

SLEEPS - 13 comfortably.

If extended unit is wanted (normally a seasonal rental)... 3 BR/ 1 BA

Bedroom #1 in downstairs apartment - Queen bed

Bedroom #2 is another Queen Bedroom

Bedroom #3 is 3 twins (1 twin plus ; another twin bed with full twin trundle bed)

Living Room: Another new Queen futon - sleeps 2

(Sleeps 9 comfortably downstairs!)

No guest ever dissatisfied. Some guest comments we have received over the last year include: 'When you walk in, this home gives you a big hug!!' 'What a wonderful and inviting home; we will be back next year.' 'The amenities were amazing; we didn't want for anything during our stay!'

Keywords: Log Cabin Home

More Details

Leslee Ducey
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2017

About Leslee Ducey

Family of 5 from NJ, that own the house and love it all year round!

Leslee Ducey purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Leslee Ducey chose Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area

Beautiful year round location in Ludlow VT - less than 1 mile from Okemo mountain; Great spring, summer and fall activities - Okemo Valley Golf course less than 2 miles away, Echo and Rescue lakes - 3 miles away. All year round fun and relaxation in our cozy log cabin home! Perfect location in winter for skiing, snowboarding, snowmobiling, sledding, and all sorts of cold weather outdoor fun! (Or sit by our beautiful slate fireplace and read a book!!).

What makes this cabin unique

Great family getaway. In the winter, the entire family loves to ski, sled and ice skate. We have taught our 3 kids how to ski and board on Okemo mtn, it has one of the best learning programs around. Truly an incredible family mountain. On cold winter nights, we love to cozy up to the fireplace after a full day of being outdoors. Fall Foliage is also a special time, we love the apple picking and cool air! We instantly relax in the spring, summer and fall with bonfires outside in our front yard, hiking, lakes, and golf. Come and enjoy!


Ludlow Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 14
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 child bed , King + day bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Full bed plus twin mattress/ box spring - so 3 if needed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , 1 Bunk Bed; plus 1 single Twin bed; plus 1 twin trundle
  • King size bed (1) in Master Bedroom with a twin day bed; King bed has beautiful log furniture, Queen size Beds (1) in second bedroom, Double Beds (1) plus twin mattress in Third bedroom, Twin Bunk and 2 Single Beds (total of 4) In our fourth bedroom; Sleep Sofa or Queen Futon in living room (that can sleep 2 more) ; The master bedroom and kids rooms - also have a TV, DVD and VCR in that bedroom
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Hot Springs Hot Tub on Deck, High Speed 'Wireless' Internet throughout house (Just requires your laptop), New 48' flat screen TV with, VCR/DVD in Living Room, New 20 inch Phillips Flat Screen TV in Kid's Bunk Room with DVD/VCR & Cable, 21 inch Toshiba TV with DVD/VCR & Cable in Master Bedroom, Washer & Dryer and Stereo with 5-Changer CD Player Behind Bar, Sleds, Games, Puzzles, Books & Video Library with Over 35 Titles including Pearl Harbor, Vertical Limit, Schindler's List, the Patriot, Rules of Engagement, Titanic, 101 Dalmations, Barney, Saving Private Ryan, National Lampoon's Christmas (Vegas, Top Gun, Toy Story & Many More, Fully-Equipped Kitchen Includes Dining Area, Blender, Toaster Oven, Crock Pot, Pizza Stone, Waffle Iron, Pancake Griddle & Coffee Maker


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

Charming Log Cabin (4 BR/ 2 BA) w/ HOT TUB; sleeps 13, Less than 1 mile to base
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 19 reviews

Ski Trip

  • 5 of 5

Arrived after 3 pm and quickly warmed the cabin with the downstairs heaters, started a wood fire and settled in to a relaxing evening. Others from Boston arrived from 6 till 8 and we enjoyed appetizers, drinks, dinner and dessert retiring to the comfortable living room to debate the Patriot dynasty, Celtics improvement, Bruin struggles, and physics. Waking to falling snow and getting 8" during the day made the skiing the best in years. Later that day some hit the road, while others avoided the snowy roads and enjoyed another great evening at the cabin. Can't wait till next year. Everything you need is there, it is spacious, welcoming and comfortable. Hardest part is leaving.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy, well equipped, spacious and convenient

  • 5 of 5

This was our second visit to this lovely cabin in the woods. We skied Okemo both times and it is so convenient to the base lodge. We had guys coming from Boston and Western Mass and everyone found it easily. We enjoyed great dinners in the well equipped kitchen, lively conversations around the fireplace and great sleeping accommodations for 9. Everything is well thought out and easy to use. Very gracious owner to share their slice of heaven with us.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome house and vacation!

  • 5 of 5

This log cabin is a beautiful place to stay. My party stayed in the upstairs unit and it was a wonderful experience. The location is perfect with it being only about three minutes from the Okemo resort. The hot tub was so much fun we used it every night! It is very peaceful in the mountains. Overall this was a great experience and I cannot wait to book here again!

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bridgewater, NJ

Relaxing Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Great home for a getaway! Whoever commented "When you walk in, this home gives you a big hug!!" was spot on!

We all had a great time as we found the home inviting, clean, and spacious with a very cozy feel. With a well stocked kitchen, was a pleasure to prepare our favorite meal of the day - breakfast! All the required kitchen equipment was right at our fingertips. All we needed was the food we brought to prepare with a pleasant surprise at the house of salt & pepper which we hadn't thought to bring. Fireplace and dinner on a Friday night and Saturday/Sunday morning coffee and a hot tub - life is good!

While not peak season, we still found plenty to do in the area. Looking forward to contacting the owner, very pleasant and considerate, again for our next visit!

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Adorable cabin!

  • 5 of 5

I rented this cabin to celebrate my birthday during the weekend and myfriends and I fell in love with this cabin! We enjoyed walking down the hill and see the beautiful colors of the leaves. Also we had fun taking pictures and playing basketball in the field that is in down the hill... very close from the cabin! The hot tub was fantastic! It was big enough and we didn't even feel cold after getting out from there! The cabin had everything we needed in order to cook, even we could find super markets very close from the area. Definitely my friends and I are coming back pretty soon! :)

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Really Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

Booked on line due to the positive reviews. We were all really looking forward to a nice Autumn getaway with my family. On arrival, we found that it was to be perfectly honest, a really tired looking rental. The lightest coloured sofa in the living area was in need of a good clean and the purple futon had a smell about it. The rugs, pillows and bedsheets are all also in need of replacement. All three couples complained about the comfort of the double beds, with one couple forced to sleep in single beds. The fireplace was choked solid with ash under the grate, which meant we were forced to empty it despite email instructions not to. The front door dead bolt didn't line up with its catch, making locking up feeling a bit insecure. The fridge and cupboards in the kitchen were full of other peoples food, leaving little or no room to store the food that we had brought with us. There was no kettle to make tea with, which is really a must for us Brits. The owners also really need to get rid of redundant clutter lying around, like a shower screen, mirror and other bits and pieces. There were only about four good mugs for a party of six, the rest were either chipped or cracked.

The rental is also a wee bit out of Ludlow, so transport is required for everything. Ludlow itself was a delightful little town but a bit dead during the fall. I would however recommend a drive up to Okemo Mountain Summit, where the views are really special at this time of year.

We were not looking for the Ritz but to be honest we left with a slightly sour taste over our stay. We actually made a joint decision to leave a day early as everyone was in need of a good nights sleep. The home owners are very nice to deal with and they appear to be very nice people--- but the property really needs a bit of money spent on it or this won't be the last poor review. We made the most of our stay none the less, we really enjoyed the hot tub and the surrounding area, which was beautiful but a bit too quiet for our taste and we did get to see Vermont fall colours in all its splendour.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to write your review... I'm so sorry you felt you had a disappointing stay at our log cabin. We pride ourselves on our responsiveness and ensuring our guests have a relaxing stay as seen thru our previous reviews. We wish you called, emailed or texted during your 7-day stay. (Thank you also for the kind words that you felt we were nice!) As you know, we did not know of your concerns until well after your vacation. However after reading your comments - we took action. We immediately changed our cleaning service to rectify and ensure the fireplace ashes are removed between each tenant. I'm sorry you couldn't find the tea pot and this was a source of disappointment. (we wish you contacted us). We did have a tea pot under the kitchen island, and on the kitchen counter itself we had an automatic black tea/ hot water maker that just had to be plugged in. So sorry you didn't see it or realize they were both there. We also did have plenty of mugs for your use (13) most were in the cabinets, and after a recent inventory found only one had a slight chip. (We ask our cleaning service to catch this, and they missed it. Again we have since replaced them). We take all feedback in a constructive and positive way, so appreciate the notification. We do put money back into the property between each season. Finally we allow our tenants to leave 'staple' non perishable food such as : flour, sugar , ketchup etc - to save the next tenant from buying those things for a weekend or week-long stay. It's a pay it forward "Vermont" neighborly mentality. Please note: All perishables are cleaned out after each tenant and the refrigerator emptied. But in our cabinets, our repeat tenants like coming in to see (for example) if they need salt/ pepper or 'baking power or baking soda' for that apple cake before running to the store to buy a new one. Again, I'm so sorry you felt our house was too far away from town. We advertise that we are on a wooded private 1 acre lot. But we are conveniently located because only 1 mile to downtown Ludlow, and less than 1 mile to the Okemo base lodge. We clearly advertise our location for google maps: 63 Edelweiss Rd. Please remember we also offered a free return stay and/ or partial 50% refund once we saw this but you had declined. We want our guests to be satisfied! Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Loft or Killarny's
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Okemo Valley Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
40 Miles
I-91 or I-87
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
The Loft
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Okemo Mtn
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Plymouth State Park at Echo Lake
Car: necessary

Minutes From Excellent Summer Activities Including Waterfall, Swimming Reservoir, 3 Great Lakes, Bromley Thrill Zone, Okemo Adventure Park, Championship Golf Course & State-of-the Art Golf Learning Facilities (Okemo Valley, Just 1, 5 Miles Away), Antiques, Shopping & More, Foliage Season Is Also A Spectacular Time To Stay At Our Place, Just Minutes to Okemo Base Lodge, & Within 30-40 Minutes of Killington, Stratton & Bromley, Perfect For Snowmobilers with Easy Access to Vast & on 1 Wooded Acre


Rates & Availability

Ludlow Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
February - March 2017
Feb 24 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Winter Season
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
Dec Holiday
Dec 26 2017 - Jan 1 2018
6 night minimum stay
January 2018
Jan 2 2018 - Jan 11 2018
2 night minimum stay
MLK 2018 Jan
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
Jan - Feb 2018
Jan 16 2018 - Feb 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
Feb 2018 Holiday President's
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 23 2018
3 night minimum stay
Feb 23 - April 1 2018
Feb 24 2018 - Apr 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee upon depart $100
Pet Fee $25
Laundry fee upon depart $30
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 9.0%

Please inquire within to see if any specials are going on at this time, often we run discounts if rentals booked early. Also, please inquire to see if you want the extended unit to add another family to your party. The two units are extremely private and have separate entrances not connected. Reservations are not final until deposit is received. We rent on a first come, first serve basis.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties