check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Journey's End, the Best of Both Worlds. Beach, Bay and More.

22 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Gulf Shores House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 4.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 8 adults comfortably)

Journey's End is a unique, family owned get-away situated on beautiful Mobile Bay. This (4) bedroom (4 &1/2) bath private home is part of the Bay to Breakers beach community. With a 400 ft. fishing pier, beach access and swimming pool there is something for everyone. The comfortably appointed home has a chef's kitchen, free wi-fi, 42 inch television with satellite, surround sound and entertainment center in the great room. The third floor cupola, with its 360 degree view is a great place to spend a rainy day. Upstairs entertainment center for kids with Xbox and DVD gives mom and dad time to enjoy watching sunsets over Mobile Bay on the 25 ft. screened-in porch. Bed linens and bath towels are provided, we suggest you bring your own beach towels and paper products.

Journey's End is part of the Bay to Breakers Beach community with private Gulf beach access and a shared pool. There is also a shared fishing pier directly next to the house.

The house is located a few minutes from the Dauphin Island/Ft. Morgan Ferry which runs every 45 minutes and a short drive into Gulf Shores. The Gulf Shores Marina and Yacht Club offers charter fishing jet ski and bicycle rentals. Tacky Jack's 2 restaurant is a great place to take the night off from cooking and enjoy the beautiful bay views. Several companies on the pennisula offer kayak, jet ski, and yolo board rentals as well as para-sailing. There are world class public golf courses near by for the golfer in your family.

Our rental weeks run from Saturday to Saturday. If the house is not booked, over flow nights are available at additional cost.

Keywords: Private home ready for you, your family and friends. Come enjoy the best of both worlds without the noisy neighbors. Quiet, spacious, well appointed, comfortable, relaxing and fun!

*For more information about the house and the area, find Journey's End on Facebook*

*NO SPRING BREAK GROUPS*

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

The Eastin family built this home in 1998. We look forward to sharing our dream house with you.

The Owner purchased this house in 1998

Reviews

4.8
based on 22 traveler reviews

Journey's End, the Best of Both Worlds. Beach, Bay and More.
average rating of 4.818182 based on 22 reviews
Spanish Fort, AL
5

Family Fun and Making Memories!

  • 5 of 5

We had an awesome time at Journey's End. It is truly the perfect location for access to the bay and the beach. The 400' pier was great for crabbing and night fishing. I have three little boys, who had a great time and we made some great memories. The house has a great layout with a lot of open space. The back porch became our staple lounge location. I believe the owners are planning to complete interior renovations, which will only make this vacation destination even better. We certainly have it on our radar for vacationing again next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Shop around

  • 2 of 5

This is a great place but needs a lot of attention. We had a very enjoyable stay but: It took 2 hours with a machete just to get a lane wide enough to pull a full size truck in the lane; the parking area does not allow for turning around without almost hitting concrete or marsh; many windows were shuttered; ants and spiders were everywhere inside; water depth at pier was not deep enough for moderate sized boat; this place looks like a home that has been allowed to age without much time, effort, money put back in. We've been VRBO renters for over 15 years in many different locations. This home was marketed well with very flattering pictures but was by no means comparable to other homes we've rented for much less. I would have let the owner know some of my concerns but there was never any attempt to make contact with me to confirm that everything was working. Keep shopping. There are better locations for this kind of money out there.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always rely on our guests to let us know if they need anything. As you can see from previous reviews anything that needed attention was immediately handled. We immediately answered all of your many questions before your arrival and pride ourselves on good communication with our guests. There is a full maintenance team that is available to meet any of our guests needs. We have had many guests with boats who have had no problem with either water depths or dealing with the driveway. In the future we will advise guests with large boats to dock at the nearby marina. As noted there is a parking area just next to the board walk if guest feel they cannot navigate the drive . If our home did not meet your standards, please continue to "shop around".
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location and everything we wanted

  • 5 of 5

The location is perfect for a private stay. Everything we needed was a short walk or drive away. The home and the lot are exactly what we had hoped for.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago
5

Wonderful vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Journey's end and just loved everything about it!The location was perfect, with private beach by the bay for paddle boarding, crabbing, fishing and jet skiing,yet a close walk to the pool and beach. We could watch both sunrises and sunsets from the porch, our favorite room of the house. At first, we were worried that we were too far away from town, but that ended up being the best part -being away from the crowds and congestion, free to relax in peace! We will look forward to renting again when we come back to the area!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Bonnie Jasper

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week at Jorrney's Endi. t was a family vacation. There were 11 of us six adults and five teenagers. The floor plan of the house worked perfectly. The owner, MELISSA was very helpful with tips to entertain teens on nearby things, besides crabbing the pool and the Gulf beach. We certainly hope to return.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Bonnie! We loved having y'all stay and we hope you come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rogersville Missouri
5

Loved

  • 5 of 5

The house was very comfortable. Just as pictured. We used the pool on days they had red flags out on the beach. Only thing I didn't care for was the shared dock. Everyone was friendly and respectful. But while sitting on the back porch you could hear them talking and they also walked right by our vehicles and fishing stuff we left under the house. We would rent it again. Great for families with children. Our children loved the xbox and movies.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Heather, thanks for your feedback. People are not allowed to walk anywhere but on the boardwalk. Anyone on the grounds of the house that are not guests of Journey's End are trespassing. We will let the Association members know to inform their guests to stick to the boardwalk. Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Ferry
1.7 Miles
Mobile Bay Ferry
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gulf Shores House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall/Winter
Sep 25 2016 - Feb 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,200
 
 
Early Spring
Feb 26 2017 - Apr 29 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$300
$2,000
 
 
Spring 2015
Apr 30 2017 - Jun 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,600
 
 
Summer 2015
Jun 3 2017 - Aug 5 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
Cleaning Fee $250 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.5%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Nightly and monthly rates are available. Contact owner for details.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Gulf Shores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4.5+
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Suite - 1 king
    Upstairs with full bath - 1 queen
    Upstairs King Room - 1 king
    Second upstairs queen - 1 queen
    2nd floor landing with fold-out futon - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • The house will comfortably sleep 8 adults with room for children on the futon. Downstairs bedroom is a Master suite with a king bed and jacuzzi tub. Upstairs there is a queen bedroom with full bath, king bedroom with shower/bath, and queenbed with shower/bath. There is a fold out futon on the second floor landing that sleeps 2.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
There is a shared 400 ft. fishing pier. We provide (2) crab traps. The Gulf Shores Yacht Club is within walking distance an offers boat slip rentals, fishing supplies and charters. There is a public boat launch two miles away near the ferry landing.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties