Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sunny San Rafael 2 Bed 2 Bath Flat in Historic Gerstle Park

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

This beautiful house, located on a quiet, tree lined street close to downtown San Rafael, is available for both short term (two night minimum) or long term (month to month) rental. Perfect for families touring Northern California, or those needing a base while doing business in the Bay Area or seeking more permanent housing. Centrally located near the Hwy 101 corridor, the house provides easy access to Bay Area destinations: half hour drive to Sonoma and Napa Wine Country, San Francisco, East Bay and coastal beaches… 15 minute drive to spectacular Mt. Tam hiking and biking trails… 3-4 hours to Lake Tahoe skiing and water sports. Lots of great shops and restaurants are just a few blocks away.


Owner
Fred Warnecke
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Fred!

Just a short note to thank you for providing us with shelter the last few days. We loved the neighborhood and found the home quite suitable for our needs. I would like to let you know that the water tap in the master BR dribbles constantly and should be attended to. Other than that, we found everything in good shape and the kitchen very nice, even tho we never did use the kitchen for cooking. We would gladly recommend your rental to anyone.

Best regards,

Fred & Kitty Meyer
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Picnic Valley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 bathrooms , a larger one off dining room w shower, toilet sink and linen closet; second smaller one off master bedroom with bath, sink and toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • 2 bedrooms, (2) queen size beds (1) roll away bed (1), large sofa
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Light filled rooms, 10' tall ceilings, newly remodeled kitchen w granite counters and small computer work/desk space, small garden area w sitting area, wood floors with area rugs, large shower and bath tub, laundry room in basement. Conveniently located walking distance to Downtown stores and restaurants, parks and open space. Located close to Highway 101; south to San Francisco and north to Sonoma and Napa Wine country, and Bay Bridge to Oakland and East Bay destinations; or head to West Marin Open space trails and coastal beaches and Towns. For massage service, contact Jen Winter 415-302-1313.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
Sunny San Rafael 2 Bed 2 Bath Flat in Historic Gerstle Park
average rating of 4.4814816 based on 30 reviews
Los Angeles
4

Charming Eclectic Home Away From Home

  • 4 of 5

The home is full of character and charm. Loved the artwork, decor and overall "Bohemian Chic" feel of the place. Nicely updated kitchen and comfy beds. Overall, a great place to stay in a tree lined historic neighborhood that's only a heartbeat away from San Francisco.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Charming apartment with everything one might need. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great option for San Rafael

  • 4 of 5

The interior of this home is just lovely. It is spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. The photos of the interior don't do it justice. The kitchen is completely outfitted for cooking. There is a Safeway in easy walking distance. The neighborhood overall is older, with some nice looking Victorian style homes mixed with more dilapidated homes and multi-family units. The front of this home is somewhat overgrown, but the interior was immaculate.

Our only negative was the lack of air conditioning, with the exception of a small window unit in the master bathroom. We visited during a major heat wave, and the inside of the home was stifling. We couldn't have hung out there all day--way too hot. I would imagine this is only a problem during these rare heat waves, since normally San Rafael's temperatures are fairly mild. But it's something to keep in mind. Overall it was a great stay though.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

Great little apartment, wonderful location and close to markets, restaurants and everything we wanted to do. If we ever come back to this area we will defenitively stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Review #1. We loved the old house, location & porch sitting in the evenings. Lovely, lively neighborhood. Nice remodeled kitchen, beds very comfortable. Kitchen Windows kept open for a wonderful breeze. There was a wash cloth shortage, but a quick trip to TJMaxx solved that. We just hated to leave.

Review #2. 1969 hippy chic. Well bought furnishings. A real pleasure to enjoy for our short time there. Good water pressure, good appliances all in working order. A very quiet neighborhood. We hope to come back.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Great location but needs some attention

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at Fred’s San Rafael property for 5 weeks during November and December. We found the home to be very well equipped and nicely located within walking distance to grocery, bars and restaurants.

The home is older and comes with its own unusual odours, which were easily masked after picking up some scented candles at Walgreens. The laundry facilities are in the unfinished basement and are shared with other tenants and also used by others who do not live in the building. A few days after arriving, small brown roach-like insects that came up the wall from behind the stove and ran across the kitchen counter began to greet us each morning. After locating some bug spray in the laundry room, we were able to keep the insects under control with a spray every few days. About half way through our stay, following a substantial rainfall, the bathroom off the master bedroom became infested with ants – literally thousands of them were tracking across the floor and around the edges of the room. The same bug spray also seemed to eliminate that issue. We have to assume that this is an ongoing problem as there were two large cans of ant and cockroach spray in the laundry room.

We were a little disappointed in the lack of response from Fred when we emailed him about the insect issues and a couple of other concerns. We received only one email response indicating where to find the bug spray and then seemed to be ignored on subsequent messages. We then attempted to phone Fred, leaving a voice message, which he responded to, via text message. We finally gave up and made the best of the situation; but as a result ended up eating most meals outside of the home, which significantly added to the cost of our stay.

I should also comment that the guest access to wifi was a little unstable. The modem required periodic re-booting and access seemed to be set to time out regularly, which was not an issue for laptops, but often forced our iPhones and iPad to lock up.

Fred did send a text message during our last week apologizing for the issues we had experienced, thanking us for renting his property and asking us to come back soon (which I can assure you will not happen).

Luckily, his is the first unpleasant experience we have had with a VRBO property.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Karen, Again I am so sorry for the problems you encountered during your stay with the insects and internet, and my slow response. I had no idea how serious it was, I imagined just a few and spray would take care of it. If I had known you had to eat out a lot I would of had a service there immediately. I am meeting with an insect service next Monday, as well as the internet provider to resolve these issues. Thank you and sorry for the inconveniences you had to deal with at the house. Sincerely Fred
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Map

Muffin Mania
Vin Antico
Cheese Factory
Samuel P Taylor State Park

This unit is in central San Rafael, Marin County, 30 mins to SF, 45 mins to Sonoma and Napa counties (wine country), 40 mins to coastal beaches (Stinson, Bolinas, and many more), 15 mins to Mt. Tamalpias (biking, hiking) and 3-4 hours to Lake Tahoe (water sports, skiing).

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100

I ask for a $200 deposit fee thru paypal to hold the reservation. The deposit goes toward the balance due. The balance is due once you arrive and occupy the house. The balance due is also sent thru paypal.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties