Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious 6 Bedroom Greek Revival in Downtown Historic Salem McIntire District

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Space 2,375 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

6 Bedroom 4 Bathroom Historic former B&B in McIntire District

A favorite destination for travelers from all over the world, The Henry Derby House which was formerly operated as a B&B and was recently converted into a full house rental in 2016. This historic home is perfect for families or large groups traveling together looking to explore downtown Salem. The house is centrally located in walking distance to all of Salem's attractions, but off the beaten path not in the middle of all the action. There is plenty of gathering space for large groups including a sitting room, dining room and large family room all on the first floor. There is an updated kitchen with new appliances and granite counter tops, as well as two full baths on the first floor. There is four bedrooms with five beds on the second floor with 2 more full baths, and two more bedrooms and a small playroom on the third floor. The third floor is best suited for children or smaller guests because of the low sloped ceilings but is very cozy. There is wifi throughout the house and a high def TV in the family room. There is also a working pellet stove in the family room which makes it a very cozy gathering space for the winter months.


Property Manager
Philip Marchand
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2017

About Philip Marchand

I am a letter carrier in Salem, MA and have been there for about 15 years. We inherited the B&B from my mother who converted our family home into a B&B in 2001. We also own and operate the John Edwards House, which is another vacation rental property located right next door. I am dedicated to maintaining these properties and making them a home away from home for travelers looking to visit Salem.

Philip Marchand purchased this house in 2012

Why Philip Marchand chose Merrimack Valley & Essex County

My parents bought this house in 1978 from my great Aunt and raised our family here. My mother decided to convert the home into a B&B after my sister and I had moved on to college. She loved the business and enjoyed meeting people from all over the world and sharing stories. My wife and I took over the B&B when my mother passed away in 2012 and did our best to keep the same warm feel to the home. With one child now and another on the way we decided that the B&B was too much work for our growing family and decided to convert the home into a full house rental. We are certain that families will love staying the Henry Derby House just as much as we did!

What makes this house unique

The unique character of the home makes staying at the Henry Derby House a different experience than your usual hotel stay. Built in 1840 this historic home has seen many transformations over the years but still has maintained the original character of the Greek Revival style home. The proximity to downtown Salem makes it a perfect spot for large groups traveling together to travel to Salem and have their home away from home.

Amenities

Salem House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2375 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • First floor - toilet , combination tub/shower , first floor, off dining room
    Kitchen - toilet , shower , first floor, off kitchen
    Second floor - toilet , combination tub/shower , second floor, off Yellow room
    Red room - toilet , shower , second floor, off Red room
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Blue room - 1 twin/ single , third floor
    Lemon room - 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , third floor
    Red room - 1 queen , second floor, attached bath
    Mauve room - 1 king , second floor
    Gold room - 1 twin/ single , second floor
    Yellow room - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , second floor, attached bath
    Family room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , first floor, Queen sized pull out sofa
    Play room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , third floor, futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Spacious 6 Bedroom Greek Revival in Downtown Historic Salem McIntire District
average rating of 4.357143 based on 14 reviews
2

House was very convenient for our stay

  • 2 of 5

We enjoyed our experience. We had a large group and it catered for our needs. Stairs to attic are quite difficult to climb and very creaky and it's a pity that there isn't a WC on that floor.

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The home is very unique. Full of charm and plenty if rooms for large groups.

  • 5 of 5

Communication with Phil was prompt and accommodating. The beds were comfortable and the property was clean. Coffee and tea were provided.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Plymouth Meeting, PA
5

A wonderful stay.

  • 5 of 5

We came to Salem for a wedding....6 adults and 5 kids. The house was perfect for us. We were all able to sleep on the 2nd floor. (Our kids are young and still want to be close. If they were older, the 3 floor would've been perfect for them. But they did venture up there to play.) Philip quickly responded to any of our concerns. It was great to be able to walk to so many restaurants and shopping. We had a wonderful time.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay at the house. The house was clean and well maintained and was in a great location. My only complaints are: the listing said there was a grill and there was none. Secondly, Phil came by the house and asked for a credit card in case there were any damages to the property. He said that he had bad experiences with insurance companies in the past, so he preferred to work directly with the renters. Even though he seemed like a genuine guy, I did not feel comfortable giving him a copy of our credit card. But, I felt that we had to in order to remain at the property. Since our whole group was already there, I just gave it to him, but I regret it now and will be changing my credit card as a result. The reason we book through sites like this is to avoid giving personal information directly to the owners. We trust that our information is safe with VRBO.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alisha, Thank you for your review of our property, I'm glad your group enjoyed their stay in Salem. If you had reviewed our rental agreement you would have noticed that I require all of our guests to provide a credit card for a damage deposit. We do not charge anything in advance, this is only held in case anyone in the group causes any damage to the property during your stay so that it will be covered. We did require guests to purchase renters insurance in the past but it does not cover all of the damages unfortunately, so I no longer require it, though guests may still purchase it if they prefer that option. We operated the Bed & Breakfast at this property for 3 years and took hundreds of credit cards and never had any issues with guests feeling unsafe with us holding their information. I am entrusting guests to stay at a historic home that has been in my family for almost 70 years so I need to feel confident that they will not be damaging the property. In return I only ask guests to put a hold on their credit card, the same way every hotel and motel in the country does when you stay there. I will also note that one of Alisha's guests moved some of the furniture in the house during the stay and damaged some paint in one of the rooms but I did not charge her for this. Since the damage was minor and could easily be fixed with a new coat of paint I did not bother to request payment for it. I am more concerned with any major damage that may occur intentionally or unintentionally during a stay that would not be covered by insurance. As I told Alisha, I did have some guests who destroyed quite a bit of furniture and doors in my house before and it was not covered by the insurance because it was deemed "intentional" by the insurance company. I don't want to take this risk again by not covering for these albeit rare occurrences. I assure you that your information and all guests information are safe with me during the stay and the credit card information is immediately destroyed or deleted once the stay is over and the check of the house is complete. Thank you again for being our guest. Philip Marchand Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

comfortable, well-kept historic house

  • 4 of 5

We were very pleased to stay in the John Derby House this past weekend with our extended family. It was a well-kept house and we were pleased and comfortable. It is spacious with many rooms for people to gather in comfortably. Some positives things are that the kitchen is updated with nice appliances and there are plenty of bathrooms. It was air conditioned well and there were plenty of comfortable beds for everyone. It was nice to meet Philip, the owner, when he showed up the next morning to water flowers. He was friendly, helpful and flexible. The small garden is kept well and has a nice place to sit.

The things that were inconvenient or that we just disliked were: only 2 spaces for cars in driveway so some had to park further away on the street, house is on a somewhat busy corner, the third floor rooms are very hot in the summer (although one does have AC) and have to go to the first or second floor for bathrooms, the master bedroom can only be accessed from the back stairs or else you have to go thru other rooms to get to it. And, we did not find a fan in the kitchen so, of course, we woke the whole house up when the fire alarms went off when cooking bacon in the morning!

Overall, it was a good place to stay, in a convenient location to Salem town. Also appreciated that Philip was willing to be flexible about check out time as long as the house could get cleaned for the next arriving guests. Thanks for everything, Philip!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Wonderful Stay

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time staying with Philip. Even though his wife was due to give birth at any time (which we hope went well), he was very attentive to our needs. The house was perfect for our two families with many kids. Lots of room, lots of charm and very convenient to walk to Salem attractions. The only reason I gave four stars rather than five is that, during our second night in the house, the fire alarm went off several times in the middle of the night for no apparent reason, which was disruptive. I'm sure Philip will tend to that.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: David, Thank you for your review of our house, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It's true, I was in the hospital all week awaiting the arrival of our second child, Zachary. He finally arrived on the 15th and is happy and healthy! I am sorry to hear about the fire alarm, that has never happened before. We had all new fire alarms hard wired this year so I'm surprised they are acting up. I will look into why they would be going off if there was no smoke. Thanks again! Philip Marchand Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12.3 Miles
Logan Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Tavern In The Square
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Salem Ferry
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Kernwood Country Club
Nearest Train
0.3 Miles
Salem Commuter Rail
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Lobster Shanty
Nearest Ski
50.6 Miles
Wachusett Mountain Ski
Nearest Beach
1.6 Miles
Dead Horse Beach
Car: not necessary

We are located in the McIntire District of Historic Salem. We are closest to the Witch House and the Gedney House, but also walking distance to the Salem Witch Museum, Peabody Essex Museum, and House of Seven Gables. We are also very close to wedding venues like Hamilton Hall, the Hawthorne Hotel and Salem Waterfront Hotel. Families visiting will also like to visit the Salem Willows which is only about a 5 minute drive. The Salem Commuter Rail and Salem Ferry also make for easy day trips into Boston. Other day trips people enjoy are up the coast to scenic Rockport or Gloucester.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Salem House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring
Apr 3 2017 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,500
 
 
October
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$675
From
$975
Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$450
From
$700
Fri,Sat
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $150

A cleaning fee of $150.00 is added to every rental as well as damage protection. Please inquire for rates for long term rentals (more than one week). Also note that our peak season rates are different in the month of October and the week of Halloween.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties