Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

July 29-Aug 5 Open~Beach Cottage 3BR/2BA, 2 Pools, Near Sugar-Sand Beach + Gulf

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 28 nights


About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6, Pool Access, Near Gulf, Gulf Shores

Welcome to our charming coastal cottage "Rookery Cottage". This charming beach cottage is offered at at great price for families.

Sit on your screen porch at the back of the cottage and watch the kids enjoy the pool! It's like having a pool in your backyard. We are the closest cottage to the Zero-Entry Pool! Little ones and their parents love the zero-entry pool. Plus, there's a 2nd pool near the entrance to Rookery III, you can walk to that pool as well.

We invite you to experience the quieter side of Gulf Shores, Alabama. As you drive along Ft Morgan Rd, feel your cares slip away. You'll love the beaches which are less crowded. Our guests love the individual cottages with convenient parking for 2 cars just outside the cottage front door.

Rookery Cottage features 3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, and living area which includes kitchen, dining area and living room which are open to each other.

The cottage is located in the tranquil coastal cottage community called Rookery III. Rookery is part of the Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge in historic Fort Morgan, Alabama.

The soft white sugar sand beaches and gorgeous water of the Gulf of Mexico are just 7/10ths of a mile from the cottage. Our guests can either walk or drive to the beach, whichever they decide.

While Ft Morgan is near the activities and action of Gulf Shores and Orange Beach, Al, Fort Morgan is "the road less travelled" - quieter, more private, with sugar sand beaches that are less crowded than the other beach communities in lower Alabama.

Rookery Cottage is an ideal vacation home for those who are ready to unplug from the hustle and bustle of day to day life. Immerse yourself in life's simple pleasures again. Enjoy a hike on a wildlife trail, or go bird watching, there's also a morning run, walk and/or shelling on the beach, a swim in the revitalizing waters of the Gulf of Mexico, a paddleboard excursion, kayaking, bike riding, swimming laps in the adult pool, watch the kids enjoy the Zero-entry pool just behind the cottage, grill on the back deck, make popcorn and enjoy movie or game night at the cottage. There's no shortage of things to do. Watersports rentals, bike rentals and such are available along Ft Morgan Rd, or please feel free to bring your own.

Choosing 'Rookery Cottage' for your next get-away to Ft Morgan / Gulf Shores, AL is very easy too! We offer the very convenient 'BOOK IT' feature! Just click the yellow 'Book It' button to get a detailed quote, you can even PAY for your stay (subject to verification and acceptance), and your vacation is on it's way.....

The Cottage features brand new furnishings and appliances! Our home sleeps up to 6 guests with 2 King beds and 2 Twin beds.

The Rookery is located along Fort Morgan Rd in the heart of the Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge! This is paradise for nature lovers! Enjoy bird watching, hiking, biking, shelling, fishing, swimming in the Gulf of Mexico and swimming in the community pool (located just behind the cottage).

Want to explore the area by car? It's just a 20-25 minute drive to Gulf Shores, a 30 minute drive to Foley (outlet shopping!), 35 minute drive to Orange Beach, and a 45 minute drive to Perdido Key, FL! You can also take the ferry to Dauphin Island.

The Rookery III has two very inviting community pools. The zero entry pool is just outside your door when you stay at The Rookery Cottage! Watch the kids play in the pool as you sit back and relax in the delightful screened porch. The porch has a brand new electric BBQ grill - it's a great place to grill or BBQ a delicious meal!

Other features and amenities in the Cottage:

~ Wood floors throughout the cottage, even in the bathrooms!

~ 3 bedrooms (2 KG beds and 2 Twin beds);

~ 2 Bathrooms;

~ Marble top dining table with seating for 6;

~ Spacious, well equipped kitchen with everything brand new!

~ New, full size washer and dryer;

~ Plenty of off street parking;

~ Screened porch with patio table and chairs, plus electric BBQ grill;

~ Pool view! Pool is just steps away from the Cottage;

~ Flat screen TV in living room and in 2 of the bdrms;

~ Cable TV;

~ No smoking home;

~ Fabulous Ft Morgan beach and the Gulf of Mexico are a short 7/10ths of a mile from the cottage. Walk or drive.

We do not provide internet. So if you need to be connected during your stay, please be sure to make arrangements to use hot spot on your cell phone or some other method.

Area Attractions close by are:

~ Waterville USA,

~ Miniature golf,

~ Historic Ft. Morgan,

~ Ferry to Dauphin Island,

~ Battleship in nearby Mobile, AL

~ Tanger Outlet Mall (shopping and food court) in Foley, AL,

~ Pinnacle Shopping Centre which includes a movie cinema,

~ Nearby exclusive golf courses,

~ And, the gorgeous beaches of Ft Morgan, Gulf Shores and Orange Beach, AL, as well as Perdido Key, FL.

Are you ready to escape the hustle and bustle of your everyday life? Be one of the first guests to enjoy a relaxing stay at The Rookery Cottage! Send us an email or give us a call today!

Keywords: Rookery, Gulf Shores area, pool, Fort Morgan vacation home, Fort Morgan beach

More Details

Property Manager
Val and Renee Morel, 850 377 9130,
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017

Why Val and Renee Morel, 850 377 9130, chose Alabama Gulf Coast

We love the peaceful surroundings at The Rookery III. It's quiet and peaceful, a real retreat! And, we like that you can drive to Gulf Shores in approx 20 minutes! We also LOVE the zero entry pool that is just outside the cottage! Keep an eye on the kids from the screened back porch. The back porch overlooks the zero-entry pool which is very convenient!

The beach is nearby too, just 7/10ths of a mile from the cottage - walk or drive! The beaches are less crowded than Gulf Shores and Orange Beach! But, it's the same soft, white sugar-sand beach!

What makes this cottage unique

Charming and Spacious, this raised Coastal Cottage has everything you'll need for a beach get-away! Located in heart of Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge there are birds, wildlife and interesting foliage all around! The cottage is a short walk, or a shorter drive, to the Gulf of Mexico and soft, white sugar-sand beaches. The complex has 2 terrific pools! The zero-entry pool is within sight of the cottage. Just walk out the cottage's front door and arrive at the pool in a very short walk (2 minutes)! Want more to do? Gulf Shores and Orange Beach are just a short drive! Go to the zoo, see a movie at the cinema, shop at the Foley Outlet mall or the beach T-shirt and souvenier shops! Visit the Hangout or The Wharf! There's so much to do!


Fort Morgan Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Full Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , King master suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , King bedroom with private door to hall bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Two King size beds, and Two Twin beds
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
One of the two community pools, a zero entry pool, is just outside the Cottage's back door. The Cottage's screen patio overlooks the pool! A great way to keep an eye on your kids while they enjoy the pool. The 2nd pool is a short walk from the condo, it's near the entrance to Rookery III. Things to Do in Ft Morgan and Gulf Shores, AL:


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
17% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
July 29-Aug 5 Open~Beach Cottage 3BR/2BA, 2 Pools, Near Sugar-Sand Beach + Gulf
average rating of 4.827586 based on 29 reviews

I loved my stay at this cottage

  • 5 of 5

This property is very family friendly and a nice cottage. I stayed in April and it was very nice. My children enjoyed the swimming pool which was nice. I would definitely stay again

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Wow! We've always stayed in Gulf Shores or Orange Beach and decided we'd like to try the quieter side of Gulf Shores, by staying in the Ft Morgan area. We thoroughly enjoyed Rookery Cottage and this more laid back side of Gulf Shores. The beach was closeby and featured the soft, white sugar sand that we love, and the gulf water was beautiful and blue-green in color. The beach was less crowded that Spring Break in Gulf Shores, so it was perfect for our family getaway. The lovely Rookery community has 2 pools which we enjoyed. The first pool is just behind Rookery Cottage! That pool is a zero-entry pool and was ideal for our toddler. The 2nd pool is also in easy walking distance to from the cottage. Rookery Cottage was everything we were looking for - well equipped, super clean, with plenty of room for us, plus we were able to sleep 6 people without anyone sleeping on a sofa sleeper! The cottage has 2 king beds and 2 twin beds. We loved our stay and hated to leave. But, we are looking forward to coming back during Fall break.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Orleans, Louisiana

Perfect in every way! Just what we needed for impulsive get away!!!

  • 5 of 5

Hubby and I just needed to change the zip code and we found exactly what we needed at Rookery Cottage. So cute and met all of our needs. All we did was book online, packed a couple of bathing suits, bottles of wine, couple evenings of dinner (although local grocery was great for our overdulgence!) and drove right there. The owners sent us the most detailed instructions for our stay so didn't have to think or wonder about anything. Every morning I swam in the pool which was about 3 feet from our private screened in porch! ahhhhh! My hubby was even able to enjoy his coffee from the comfort of the porch while I was in the pool and we were able to chat. My sister and my little niece came by to visit and joined us for dinner. My niece loved the pool so much we ended up having her stay for the evening so not only a romantic get away but a fun, perfect family gathering too. Last morning I walked over to the beach to enjoy walking along the sandy shore. Thank you to the owner for sharing your cottage with us. We are going to make it a every 3 month visit! Was good for us to unwind and reconnect with what is important. Truly helped us stop and take a well deserved break!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you enjoyed the cottage, the convenience of the pools, as well as quiet walks on the beach. For those looking for a quiet beach get away, Rookery Cottage offers just that. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property itself was wonderful...

  • 4 of 5

Property is exactly as we have come to expect with the Rookery Cottages after staying here several times the past 8 years....nice, clean, spacious and well maintained. This is one of the larger homes and in the new Rookery III division, not a "split/duplex" cottage. It is right in front of the pool and is nicely decorated and has a well stocked kitchen. We thoroughly enjoyed the home until the AC went out in the middle of the night. It can happen anywhere we know this and tried to wait out the repair. Unfortunately this lasted over 18 hours with very little communication from the owners. In no way am I upset and writing this review because the AC went out, no one could have predicted that...I am however upset that none of my phone calls were returned by the owner. After multiple phone calls to the owner and to the cleaning/maintenance service number, I received an "email" from the owner. The cleaning/maintenance service returned calls, answered calls and apologized profusely for me not being contacted and informed by the owner what was going on and when repairs would happen. Other than this incident, everything was great and again, I am only bothered by the fact that the owners never felt it to be important to return my phone calls when the AC went out or afterwards when I called to try and find out what was going on as far as any repairs. I had an entire family of 6 to try and keep cool and entertained to not even be told until late afternoon VIA AN EMAIL that the AC had to be completely replaced....just not good customer service when I paid in full months before my trip was planned and calls and emails were answered on the spot in regards to renting and paying for the unit. Their maintenance/cleaning team is awesome when you call them and as I said the cottage was very clean and nice when we arrived. After my last email reply to the owner asking when the new unit would be installed, I received no reply at all, but was sent a refund email from the booking site for one night's stay. Again...a phone call to tell me when the AC company would arrive to replace the unit so I could feed my family and settle in for the night was what I asked for but got no reply.

On the plus side, if you plan on renting this unit, I would recommend it for the unit itself and of course - it now has a new AC unit in it :)

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are disappointed that our fast resolution and steady communications with the guest were not satisfactory to her. In addition to handling the AC repair the same day it was reported, we even refunded 1 night stay. Rest assured the guest was in constant communication with both our staff and our maintenance team. We regret that an AC issue occured during her stay but we feel we did everything in our power to resolve the issue promptly. We pride ourselves on being fast acting and responsive to our guests, especially when problems arise.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Love the laid-back vibe!

  • 5 of 5

We had a very pleasant visit to The Rookery III. First of all, LOVE the lay-out of the cottage. All rooms open into dining area. Very open and relaxing. Also, lots of storage. My mother-in-law (65+) loved that she could sit and watch her grandchildren play in the awesome pool literally feet away from the screened-in porch. (By the way, the area was so quiet that we generally had the pool to ourselves. It was wonderful!) The beach is a little difficult to navigate with smaller children if walking. (Cars SCREAM by on the road. Nerve-wracking!) But once we figured that out on the first day, we just had my father-in-law drop us off with the kids and schedule a time to come back and pick us up. Loved that the beach is so much more quiet than other parts that we have stayed in. Just be prepared to bring bug spray and know that there is far less parking for the beach. All in all, I LOVED it. Once we figured out a game-plan for getting there, it was wonderful. I had a question regarding cable on the first night of our visit. I texted the owner and he responded very quickly. I appreciate that! Just FYI; parents should probably keep the remote control. Obviously, as in any hotel, there is pay-per-view. I assume that it is not easily accessible (wouldn't really know) but it still is a little eyebrow-raising to be scrolling with your seven-year old and see some of the titles come up. Again, that's not a negative because that is something to monitor everywhere--even on smartphones. But there were a LOT of interesting titles listed that I really didn't want to have to explain to my kids on vacation. I can't state enough how much I love the locking system!! So much easier than carrying extra keys around. Big thumbs up!! It would be nice if there were free wifi as many of the tourist attractions and Groupon-type sites offer information and "deals" that aren't readily apparent from a flyer at the visitor center. Also, in fairness, it is stated that there is no wifi access, so we knew that going in. The only other thing that I would change would be to check on the grill periodically. It states clearly that the grill is not cleaned by staff. I think some past visitors interpreted that to mean that it is not checked. And I think that they were right. It was pretty bad. We used it twice and I tried my best to clean it. My hope is that you all find it better than we received it. All in all, a great experience. Thanks so much!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Summer at last!

  • 5 of 5

We loved how private this location was as compared to the tourist part of Gulf Shores. The beach was less crowded and more suitable for a relaxing family getaway. Our small children appreciated the pool more than the beach so this rental had something for everyone.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Tacky Jacks
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Dauphin Island
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Gulf Shores and Foley
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Hwy 59
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Tacky Jacks
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Fort Morgan AL (.5 mi), Gulf Shores (10 miles)
Car: necessary

The Rookery III is an excellent community for bird watching and nature appreciation and people who don't mind a quick drive to get to the Gulf of Mexico. The gulf is just 7/10ths of a mile from the cottage.


Rates & Availability

Fort Morgan Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Peak Summer
Jun 24 2017 - Jun 30 2017
6 night minimum stay
July 4th holiday
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
Jul 29 2017 - Aug 6 2017
5 night minimum stay
Late Summer
Aug 7 2017 - Aug 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
Labor Day holiday
Aug 27 2017 - Sep 6 2017
4 night minimum stay
Early Fall / Fall
Sep 7 2017 - Oct 10 2017
3 night minimum stay
Shrimp Fest
Oct 11 2017 - Oct 16 2017
4 night minimum stay
Oct 17 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
Nov 16 2017 - Nov 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
Christmas/New Years
Dec 15 2017 - Dec 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
Winter 2018
Jan 1 2018 - Mar 1 2018
28 night minimum stay
Early Spring
Mar 3 2018 - Mar 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $45
Cleaning Fee $135 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 6.0%

Summer bookings (May 25 - Aug 16) are weekly-only (Sat -Sat)

Do not choose "Protection Options" before you enter your credit card information.

Accidental Damage Insurance is already included in your quote.


Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Manager

You might like these similar properties