check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Rest, Relax, Rejuvenate @ "Rookery Cottage" Walk to Sugar Sand Beach + Gulf

27 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights


Fort Morgan Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6, Pool Access, Near Gulf, Gulf Shores

Welcome to The Rookery Cottage! A fabulous 3 bdrm, 2 bath cottage in the tranquil coastal community called Rookery III. Rookery is part of the Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge in historic Fort Morgan, Alabama.

The soft white sugar sand beach and gorgeous waters of the Gulf of Mexico are 7/10ths of a mile. Our guests walk or drive to the beach, whichever they decide.

While Ft Morgan is near the activities and action of Gulf Shores and Orange Beach, Al, Fort Morgan is "the road less travelled" - quieter, more private, with sugar sand beaches that are less crowded than the other beach communities in lower Alabama.

Rookery Cottage is an ideal vacation home for those who are ready to unplug from the hustle and bustle of day to day life. Immerse yourself in life's simple pleasures again. Enjoy a hike on a wildlife trail, or go bird watching, there's also a morning run, walk and/or shelling on the beach, a swim in the revitalizing waters of the Gulf of Mexico, a paddleboard excursion, kayaking, bike riding, swimming laps in the adult pool, watch the kids enjoy the Zero-entry pool just behind the cottage, grill on the back deck, make popcorn and enjoy movie or game night at the cottage. There's no shortage of things to do. Watersports rentals, bike rentals and such are available along Ft Morgan Rd, or please feel free to bring your own.

Choosing 'Rookery Cottage' for your next get-away to Ft Morgan / Gulf Shores, AL is very easy too! We offer the very convenient 'BOOK IT' feature! Just click the yellow 'Book It' button to get a detailed quote, you can even PAY for your stay (subject to verification and acceptance), and your vacation is on it's way.....

The Cottage features brand new furnishings and appliances! Our home sleeps up to 6 guests with 2 King beds and 2 Twin beds.

The Rookery is located along Fort Morgan Rd in the heart of the Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge! This is paradise for nature lovers! Enjoy bird watching, hiking, biking, shelling, fishing, swimming in the Gulf of Mexico and swimming in the community pool (located just behind the cottage).

Want to explore the area by car? It's just a 20-25 minute drive to Gulf Shores, a 30 minute drive to Foley (outlet shopping!), 35 minute drive to Orange Beach, and a 45 minute drive to Perdido Key, FL! You can also take the ferry to Dauphin Island.

The Rookery III has two very inviting community pools. The zero entry pool is just outside your door when you stay at The Rookery Cottage! Watch the kids play in the pool as you sit back and relax in the delightful screened porch. The porch has a brand new electric BBQ grill - it's a great place to grill or BBQ a delicious meal!

Other features and amenities in the Cottage:

~ Wood floors throughout the cottage, even in the bathrooms!

~ 3 bedrooms (2 KG beds and 2 Twin beds);

~ 2 Bathrooms;

~ Marble top dining table with seating for 6;

~ Spacious, well equipped kitchen with everything brand new!

~ New, full size washer and dryer;

~ Plenty of off street parking;

~ Screened porch with patio table and chairs, plus electric BBQ grill;

~ Pool view! Pool is just steps away from the Cottage;

~ Flat screen TV in living room and in 2 of the bdrms;

~ Cable TV;

~ No smoking home;

~ Fabulous Ft Morgan beach and the Gulf of Mexico are a short 7/10ths of a mile from the cottage. Walk or drive.

Area Attractions close by are:

~ Waterville USA,

~ Miniature golf,

~ Historic Ft. Morgan,

~ Ferry to Dauphin Island,

~ Battleship in nearby Mobile, AL

~ Tanger Outlet Mall (shopping and food court) in Foley, AL,

~ Pinnacle Shopping Centre which includes a movie cinema,

~ Nearby exclusive golf courses,

~ And, the gorgeous beaches of Ft Morgan, Gulf Shores and Orange Beach, AL, as well as Perdido Key, FL.

Are you ready to escape the hustle and bustle of your everyday life? Be one of the first guests to enjoy a relaxing stay at The Rookery Cottage! Send us an email or give us a call today!

Keywords: Rookery, Gulf Shores area, pool, Fort Morgan vacation home, Fort Morgan beach

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Val and Renee Morel, 850 377 9130,
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
September 25, 2016
Call Manager

Why Val and Renee Morel, 850 377 9130, chose

We love the peaceful surroundings at The Rookery III. It's quiet and peaceful, a real retreat! And, we like that you can drive to Gulf Shores in approx 20 minutes! We also LOVE the zero entry pool that is just outside the cottage! Keep an eye on the kids from the screened back porch. The back porch overlooks the zero-entry pool which is very convenient!

The beach is nearby too, just 7/10ths of a mile from the cottage - walk or drive! The beaches are less crowded than Gulf Shores and Orange Beach! But, it's the same soft, white sugar-sand beach!

What makes this cottage unique

Charming and Spacious, this raised Coastal Cottage has everything you'll need for a beach get-away! Located in heart of Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge there are birds, wildlife and interesting foliage all around! The cottage is a short walk, or a shorter drive, to the Gulf of Mexico and soft, white sugar-sand beaches. The complex has 2 terrific pools! The zero-entry pool is within sight of the cottage. Just walk out the cottage's front door and arrive at the pool in a very short walk (2 minutes)! Want more to do? Gulf Shores and Orange Beach are just a short drive! Go to the zoo, see a movie at the cinema, shop at the Foley Outlet mall or the beach T-shirt and souvenier shops! Visit the Hangout or The Wharf! There's so much to do!


based on 27 traveler reviews

Rest, Relax, Rejuvenate @ "Rookery Cottage" Walk to Sugar Sand Beach + Gulf
average rating of 4.814815 based on 27 reviews
New Orleans, Louisiana

Perfect in every way! Just what we needed for impulsive get away!!!

  • 5 of 5

Hubby and I just needed to change the zip code and we found exactly what we needed at Rookery Cottage. So cute and met all of our needs. All we did was book online, packed a couple of bathing suits, bottles of wine, couple evenings of dinner (although local grocery was great for our overdulgence!) and drove right there. The owners sent us the most detailed instructions for our stay so didn't have to think or wonder about anything. Every morning I swam in the pool which was about 3 feet from our private screened in porch! ahhhhh! My hubby was even able to enjoy his coffee from the comfort of the porch while I was in the pool and we were able to chat. My sister and my little niece came by to visit and joined us for dinner. My niece loved the pool so much we ended up having her stay for the evening so not only a romantic get away but a fun, perfect family gathering too. Last morning I walked over to the beach to enjoy walking along the sandy shore. Thank you to the owner for sharing your cottage with us. We are going to make it a every 3 month visit! Was good for us to unwind and reconnect with what is important. Truly helped us stop and take a well deserved break!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property itself was wonderful...

  • 4 of 5

Property is exactly as we have come to expect with the Rookery Cottages after staying here several times the past 8 years....nice, clean, spacious and well maintained. This is one of the larger homes and in the new Rookery III division, not a "split/duplex" cottage. It is right in front of the pool and is nicely decorated and has a well stocked kitchen. We thoroughly enjoyed the home until the AC went out in the middle of the night. It can happen anywhere we know this and tried to wait out the repair. Unfortunately this lasted over 18 hours with very little communication from the owners. In no way am I upset and writing this review because the AC went out, no one could have predicted that...I am however upset that none of my phone calls were returned by the owner. After multiple phone calls to the owner and to the cleaning/maintenance service number, I received an "email" from the owner. The cleaning/maintenance service returned calls, answered calls and apologized profusely for me not being contacted and informed by the owner what was going on and when repairs would happen. Other than this incident, everything was great and again, I am only bothered by the fact that the owners never felt it to be important to return my phone calls when the AC went out or afterwards when I called to try and find out what was going on as far as any repairs. I had an entire family of 6 to try and keep cool and entertained to not even be told until late afternoon VIA AN EMAIL that the AC had to be completely replaced....just not good customer service when I paid in full months before my trip was planned and calls and emails were answered on the spot in regards to renting and paying for the unit. Their maintenance/cleaning team is awesome when you call them and as I said the cottage was very clean and nice when we arrived. After my last email reply to the owner asking when the new unit would be installed, I received no reply at all, but was sent a refund email from the booking site for one night's stay. Again...a phone call to tell me when the AC company would arrive to replace the unit so I could feed my family and settle in for the night was what I asked for but got no reply.

On the plus side, if you plan on renting this unit, I would recommend it for the unit itself and of course - it now has a new AC unit in it :)

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are disappointed that our fast resolution and steady communications with the guest were not satisfactory to her. In addition to handling the AC repair the same day it was reported, we even refunded 1 night stay. Rest assured the guest was in constant communication with both our staff and our maintenance team. We regret that an AC issue occured during her stay but we feel we did everything in our power to resolve the issue promptly. We pride ourselves on being fast acting and responsive to our guests, especially when problems arise.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Love the laid-back vibe!

  • 5 of 5

We had a very pleasant visit to The Rookery III. First of all, LOVE the lay-out of the cottage. All rooms open into dining area. Very open and relaxing. Also, lots of storage. My mother-in-law (65+) loved that she could sit and watch her grandchildren play in the awesome pool literally feet away from the screened-in porch. (By the way, the area was so quiet that we generally had the pool to ourselves. It was wonderful!) The beach is a little difficult to navigate with smaller children if walking. (Cars SCREAM by on the road. Nerve-wracking!) But once we figured that out on the first day, we just had my father-in-law drop us off with the kids and schedule a time to come back and pick us up. Loved that the beach is so much more quiet than other parts that we have stayed in. Just be prepared to bring bug spray and know that there is far less parking for the beach. All in all, I LOVED it. Once we figured out a game-plan for getting there, it was wonderful. I had a question regarding cable on the first night of our visit. I texted the owner and he responded very quickly. I appreciate that! Just FYI; parents should probably keep the remote control. Obviously, as in any hotel, there is pay-per-view. I assume that it is not easily accessible (wouldn't really know) but it still is a little eyebrow-raising to be scrolling with your seven-year old and see some of the titles come up. Again, that's not a negative because that is something to monitor everywhere--even on smartphones. But there were a LOT of interesting titles listed that I really didn't want to have to explain to my kids on vacation. I can't state enough how much I love the locking system!! So much easier than carrying extra keys around. Big thumbs up!! It would be nice if there were free wifi as many of the tourist attractions and Groupon-type sites offer information and "deals" that aren't readily apparent from a flyer at the visitor center. Also, in fairness, it is stated that there is no wifi access, so we knew that going in. The only other thing that I would change would be to check on the grill periodically. It states clearly that the grill is not cleaned by staff. I think some past visitors interpreted that to mean that it is not checked. And I think that they were right. It was pretty bad. We used it twice and I tried my best to clean it. My hope is that you all find it better than we received it. All in all, a great experience. Thanks so much!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Summer at last!

  • 5 of 5

We loved how private this location was as compared to the tourist part of Gulf Shores. The beach was less crowded and more suitable for a relaxing family getaway. Our small children appreciated the pool more than the beach so this rental had something for everyone.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice little get away.

  • 4 of 5

Nice little house. Very clean. Good layout. Only negative is the bugs on the back porch. The porch is screened in, but that didn't stop the little biting things from coming in from under the plank flooring. Got eaten up!

The beach is just a short drive away. Very quiet area. Good for a family. We enjoyed our stay overall .

We even used their beach chairs.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Solitude and quiet beaches

  • 4 of 5

The Rookery III is a wonderful quiet retreat. The beach is within walking distance or a short drive if you tote a lot of stuff with you. The floor plan is open and great for gatherings. We stayed for a month and loved the location away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


This manager has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the manager.
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Tacky Jacks
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Dauphin Island
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Gulf Shores and Foley
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Hwy 59
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Tacky Jacks
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Fort Morgan AL (.5 mi), Gulf Shores (10 miles)
Car: recommended

The Rookery III is an excellent community for bird watching and nature appreciation and people who don't mind a quick drive to get to the Gulf of Mexico. The gulf is just 7/10ths of a mile from the cottage.


Rates & Availability

Fort Morgan Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Oct 18 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
Early Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 17 2016
3 night minimum stay
Nov 18 2016 - Nov 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
Christmas/New Years
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 3 2017
5 night minimum stay
Late Winter
Jan 4 2017 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
Early Spring
Mar 1 2017 - Apr 11 2017
3 night minimum stay
Spring Break/Easter
Apr 12 2017 - Apr 19 2017
4 night minimum stay
Apr 20 2017 - May 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
Early Summer
May 22 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
July 4th holiday
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Jul 9 2017 - Aug 14 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Late Summer
Aug 15 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Damage Insurance $45
Cleaning Fee $135 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

Summer bookings (May 25 - Aug 16) are weekly-only (Sat -Sat)

Do not choose "Protection Options" before you enter your credit card information.

Accidental Damage Insurance is already included in your quote.


Manager's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Fort Morgan Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Full Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , King master suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , King bedroom with private door to hall bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2)
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
One of the two community pools, a zero entry pool, is just outside the Cottage's back door. The Cottage's screen patio overlooks the pool! A great way to keep an eye on your kids while they enjoy the pool. The 2nd pool is a short walk from the condo, it's near the entrance to Rookery III. Things to Do in Ft Morgan and Gulf Shores, AL:

Partner Offers