expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Newly Renovated Downtown 1 Bedroom Apartment

U Street Corridor, Washington, DC, USA
  • Apartment
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay3 nights

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Just 1.5 blocks to the Green/Yellow Line Metro at U St./Cardozo you can easily traverse the city for sightseeing and business meetings alike. The Convention Center is just two stops from this lovely home. The National Mall is less than a 10 minute ride from the U St./Cardozo stop. Walking about this safe Neighborhood (with in 10 minutes) you will find a Whole Foods Market for groceries, Starbucks on the corner, Rite Aid Pharmacy, Lincoln Theater, Studio Theater, and some of the hottest clubs in DC with plenty of great restaurants including Ben's Famous Chili Bowl, The Islander Restaurant, Logan Circle Tavern, and Right Next Door just to name a few.

This bright, newly renovated English garden basement level apartment features, all new appliances, furniture, hardwood floors, central heat and window unit air conditioners. The bedroom offers a queen sized bed, reading lamps on either side, dresser and plenty of closet space. All bed and bath linens are provided.. The Living room features a queen sized sleeper sofa with memory foam topper available for extra guests.The single Jacuzzi tub in the private bathroom gives you the chance to soak away a long hard day of sightseeing or business meetings before you head out for dinner to one of the many great restaurants with in easy walking distance of this lovely home. The eat-in kitchen includes all appliances, pots, pans, dishes and utensils.The walk out rear patio is a perfect spot to relax and sip wine or enjoy a pizza. Sorry the pool is Not for guest use. Just 1 and a half blocks to the Green/Yellow Line Metro at U St./Cardozo, free Direct TV and Wi-Fi included makes this home away from home perfect for both tourists and business travelers alike.

Property Manager

Katch Tracy or Steve

Member Since 2006
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within a few hours
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 13, 2018
About Katch Tracy or Steve

Serving guests since 1984, our reservation service offers stays at Vacation Rentals and Bed and Breakfasts in the Washington D.C. area. Originally founded as a way to serve Peace Corps Volunteers for training or between assignments, our business has grown to serve visitors from all over the world. If you are coming for business, sightseeing or a family getaway, we have options for you! Some of our hosts have been with us since the beginning; others we have recently welcomed to our family. We enjoy a close relationship with our hosts and take great pride in helping match our visitors to the best property to create a comfortable, safe and memorable visit to our Nation’s Capitol!

Why Katch Tracy or Steve chose Cardozo

This is my private home with a separate rental apartment.

What makes this Apartment unique

Safe Neighborhood, 8 minutes to the Convention Center, 10 Minutes to the Smithsonian. Whole Foods Grocery 10 minute walk. U Street/Jazz Corridor 1 block away. Quiet comfortable home away from home apartment.

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Heater
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 1 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
        • Queen size Beds (1) Queen bed in the Bedroom, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen sleeper sofa in the Living Room

        Bathrooms

        • 1 Bathroom
          • Full bath with Jacuzzi tub

          Theme

            • Family
            • Historic
            • Tourist Attractions

              Meals

                • Guests provide their own meals

                  General

                    • Linens Provided
                      All bed and bath linens are provided
                    • Air Conditioning
                      Window AC, Ceiling Fans
                    • Hair Dryer
                    • Heating
                    • Iron & Board
                    • Clothes Dryer
                      Common Laundry shared with 1 other unit
                    • Living Room
                    • Parking Off Street
                      Reserved off-street parking may be available. Please inquire if you are traveling to DC with a car.
                    • Towels Provided
                    • Washing Machine
                      Common Laundry shared with 1 other unit
                    • Wireless Internet
                      Wireless Internet access provided throughout the apartment

                      Kitchen

                        • Coffee Maker
                        • Cooking Utensils
                        • Dishes & Utensils
                        • Dishwasher
                        • Kitchen
                          Kitchen includes dishwasher, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster oven, and all dishes, flatware and glass ware
                        • Microwave
                        • Oven
                        • Refrigerator
                        • Stove
                        • Toaster

                          Dining

                            • Dining Area

                              Entertainment

                                • DVD Player
                                • Satellite / Cable
                                • Television

                                  Outside

                                    • Deck / Patio

                                      Suitability

                                        • wheelchair inaccessible

                                          Pool / Spa

                                            • jetted tub
                                              Single sized Jetted tub with shower

                                              Attractions

                                                • arboretum
                                                • botanical garden
                                                • churches
                                                • cinemas
                                                • library
                                                • live theater
                                                • museums
                                                • restaurants
                                                • synagogues
                                                • zoo

                                                  Leisure Activities

                                                    • antiquing
                                                    • horseback riding
                                                    • shopping
                                                    • sight seeing

                                                      Local Services & Businesses

                                                        • ATM/bank
                                                        • groceries

                                                          Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                            • cycling
                                                            • golf
                                                            • hiking
                                                            • tennis

                                                              Notes

                                                                • ceiling fans hair dryer soaps basic towels provided central heating shampoo toilet paper paper towels jacuzzi coffee maker oven 4 ring stove toaster iron & board

                                                                  House Rules

                                                                  Check-in: 2:00 PM

                                                                  Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                                                  Cancellation Policy

                                                                  100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                                  40 Reviews

                                                                  Excellent4.7/5

                                                                  Latest reviews

                                                                  Good Value with Many Extras and Walkability in Logan Circle

                                                                  Sara E.Portland, Or

                                                                  My husband and I stayed at The Hideaway while visiting our son, and Logan Circle provides a straight shot on the green line to the Univ. of Maryland area where he studies. The area is very lively and full of countless restaurants within a couple blocks. (Put your name in early on the weekends!) The basement space was clean and light and we especially loved having the full kitchen to make coffee and breakfast eggs. Although the neighborhood is quite busy, the space is just beyond the big bustle. Communication was good. We did hear some noise from above, as might be expected for a basement space, but it was not at abnormal hours and did not disrupt our sleep.

                                                                  Great location, well kept Apt.

                                                                  Jens O.

                                                                  We (family of 4) loved the Apt. The location is impeccable - one block from the green/yellow line and perfect for our sightseeing adventures. You are also just around the block from 14th Street with its incredible bar/restaurant scene and great vibe to relax at night. Every amenity is literally steps away (groceries, Starbucks, Trader Joe's etc.). Of course, being a typical basement Apt., it does not have a lot of natural light but that was irrelevant since we were out and about all day(s) long. Most important it was very clean, well furnished and comfortable. The owner was very helpful as well and we would certainly stay there again when we return.

                                                                  great stay

                                                                  Elan A.

                                                                  Apartment was very clean and well-furnished. It is a great location but parking can be difficult so I recommend paying the extra fee for parking in the back. The bed was too high for me, but owner gave me a step stool!! Host/owner was terrific. Definitely recommended.

                                                                  Comfort and convenience

                                                                  Clean, nicely appointed, quiet apartment near great restaurants. Metro is nearby to connect to all that D.C. has to offer. Owner is helpful and available. Lovely garden area behind building. Laundry facilities a plus. We've stayed three times and will probably do so again. Highly recommended.

                                                                  Comfortable and well located one bedroom apartment.

                                                                  Janet B.

                                                                  Great location....one block from 14th street which has lots of shops, restaurants and a Trader Joes. Apt. is nice, clean and comfortable with very well equipped with everything you would need. Lovely back yard and parking space available for extra fee. Street parking is also available.

                                                                  Depressing dark basement so noisy

                                                                  juan g.

                                                                  Old house. It s a dark terrible basement.. it s depressing. I was all august 2016 such a great summer but the apartment is depressing and dark... using electricity light at 3pm. The owner who lives 1 floor above wakes up at 5am.. walking and the old house floor is made of wood... and making noisies and waking me up at 5am every single morning and when he comes back around 4pm is exactly the same.... the heating instruments are just beside the bathroom making terrible noisies all day long. Such a bad experience for that huge price; i pay the same in a hotel where i have a maid everyday changing towels and sheets. But it s really depressing because it s so dark and noisy

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  This is a very interesting review, though perhaps not so surprising from this guest. During his month long stay, there was never a mention of any of the issues stated here. Every conversation was cordial and positive. We believe the review has its roots with his departure. We do not normally charge a cleaning fee for our guests, however we do ask that the apartment is left picked up & tidy, with trash in containers, perishable food discarded, wet towels placed in the bathtub, dirty dishes placed in the dishwasher & started. Guests are not required or asked to perform formal or extensive cleaning. This guest left the apartment completely opposite of “picked up & tidy”, with a sink full of dishes (almost every dish provided), perishable foods (& dishes) in the refrigerator, trash & dirty dishes throughout the apartment; even a used male contraceptive on the nightstand. We provided pictures to the guest, showing how the apartment was left, along with a copy of our rental agreement & charged him a cleaning fee. He did not believe that a cleaning fee was fair, & that all of these services are provided with a hotel. Our conversation did not improve, ending with each of us holding to our opinions.

                                                                  We have never received a complaint regarding the light. There are 5 windows & 2 doors with glass inserts. In comparison to similar English basement units; this apartment has a lot of natural light.

                                                                  The owner of the house does live in the main house, & there are wood floors. We have not had other guests comment on noise, but it is certainly something that can be looked into.

                                                                  This guest stayed the month of August. No heat was not operating during this time. The AC unit is mounted in the window across from the bathroom, perhaps this is what he is referencing? Again, we can look into this to see if the unit is making excessive noise.

                                                                  We do not know of any hotels in Washington that would provide the same amenities that this apartment offers at the rate extended to this guest. He paid $73.33 per day for a one-bedroom apartment with private bath (with jetted tub), a full kitchen, satellite TV in the living & bedroom, a large living room & laundry facilities. It is located 2 blocks from the Metro (U Street/Cardozo) station just north of the White House. Daily housekeeping, is not provided an amenity common to a hotel, but not a vacation rental.

                                                                  We believe the Hydeaway apartment offers a lot of value, convenience & a much different experience than this review suggests.

                                                                  Location

                                                                  U Street Corridor, Washington, DC, USA

                                                                  Smithsonian Museums, Washington Convention Center, White House, Library of Congress, Air and Space Museum, Georgetown University, George Washington University. 1.5 Blocks to the U Street/ Cardozo Metro station (Green/Yellow lines). Whole Foods Grocery and Safeway 10 minute walk. Less than 10 minutes to the Convention Center, 12 minutes to the National Mall.

                                                                  Rates & Availability

                                                                  Additional information about rental rates

                                                                  Cleaning Fee
                                                                  $75
                                                                  Additional Guest Fee
                                                                  $25
                                                                  Tax Rate
                                                                  14.5%

                                                                  Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

                                                                  $170avg/night
                                                                  40 Reviews
                                                                  Excellent 4.7/5
                                                                  Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                  For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                  Property # 408743vb

                                                                  x